SPIED: Next-gen Mazda3 looking good inside and out

Mazda-3-2

Mazda is on a roll these days. The new Mazda6 and CX-5 are both in contention for class supremacy. Even the aging Mazda3, despite its lack of dynamic ability compared to more contemporary European rivals, is much loved among the online community, though less so the buying crowd. A brand new 3 is imminent however, and we have an early scoop!

These photos, supplied by our European spyshots regular CarPix, reveal the car in its entirety months before it’s expected to debut at the Frankfurt International Motor Show in September. There’s camouflage abounds but there’s more than enough detail in these pictures to work out the new Mazda3’s final shape.

As expected, it takes heavy cues from the Mazda6, as it’s penned around same Kodo design language. Mazda was even kind enough to have the larger car follow the test mule around for easy comparison.

Mazda-3-7

Don’t be fooled by the white tapes; the grille is shapely and upright, much like the Mazda6’s. The far edges of the opening, likely to be chromed in production trim, elegantly connect to the bulging headlights. The side profile has a more modern hatchback shape, with tapered down window lines neatly matched by a sloping rear hatch.

One shot also shows the next Mazda3’s dashboard with minimal disguise. Again, much is shared with the Mazda6 and CX-5 but as it’s bound to carry a lighter pricetag, that’s hardly a complaint. The instrument cluster is entirely new though, as is the freestanding LCD screen on the dash top.

The Mazda3 will be launched in European-friendly hatchback form first, with a sedan variant to follow at a later date. No technical details as of yet, but you’ll know more when we do. Like what you see so far?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• jilbaber on May 08, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Woah look so like Preve mature brother. So nice even in disguise. If price similar with current Civic + 30% Gov promised price reduction then I can buy la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • jilbaber on May 08, 2013 at 6:56 pm

*Preve hatchback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 41
    • Preve? hello this is Mazda not P1 ok?! plus Mazda is better looking and better name!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 34
      • leongJ on May 08, 2013 at 9:02 pm

If it only comes with n/a 2.0l, better put money for turbocharged CFE, it’s more powerful. This is normal mazda3, the turbo version is mazda3 MPS, should be much pricier and thus lesser value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 42
        • Proton Preve (1.6CFE):
          103 kW @ 5000rpm
          205 Nm @ 2000 ~ 4000

Skyactive 2.0G:
          114 kW @ 6,000 rpm
          200 Nm @ 4,000 rpm

In how exactly is turbocharged CFE “more” powerful than the Skyactive engine.

If you tell me it’s more fuel saving than maybe it makes sense. Engine to engine, is equivalent. Transmission wise, skyactive tranny will beat the mush out of the cvt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 14
          • beach on May 08, 2013 at 11:12 pm

It’s underpowered from standstill position. Have to push the pedal harder than preve everytime to milk the torque out.

Pity skyactive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
          • kentan on May 08, 2013 at 11:51 pm

That SkyActive is still NOT for sale in Malaysia version of mazda3, haiz~. What we have here’s chapalang MZR engine, only 145hp at 6,500rpm and 182nm at 4,500rpm. No powerful low end torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • @beach, yes you’re right, leongJ said it is more powerful. Which when you put both at peak power, it’s not much difference anyway. Any you’ll be surprise that the skyactiv engine doesn’t lose out that much at lower band (170Nm @ 2k rpm). But let’s just wait until the car is out and let Mr. Paul mythbust this? Please Mr. Paul, do a mythbuster!

@kentan, the new car will have the skyactiv, the old car on old platform of course have the chapalang engine. *facepalm

• kentan on May 09, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Don’t be too sure, skyactive has been around for some times in USA. It should arrive since previous version of mazda3. Malaysians always chopped specs ones.

• kentan on May 09, 2013 at 11:47 pm

@Name
            “skyactiv engine doesn’t lose out that much at lower band (170Nm @ 2k rpm)”

Source ????

• fretnot on May 10, 2013 at 12:20 am

170nm vs 205nm. SkyActiv low torque is way left behind CFE. They should just plonk in turbocharged engines instead or N?A

• Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 11:20 pm

From the comparison above Skyactive 2.0G not far better than Proton Preve (1.6CFE)… I think 2.0CFE far better than Skyactive 2.0G… But still not developed yet…

• Moore on May 08, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Please la, I know some of you Preve owners are proud of your car but really, please don’t compare your car with every car including this Mazda 3. It’s way ahead for Preve to even smell..Just because this put in this tiny ‘turbo’ with CVT some more ….you guys start comparing with every single car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 23
          • It’s not being put in, it’s a real turbocharged engine. This is only normal engine, noob. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
        • Storm on May 08, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Hello, a car is not only about turbo. The quality of every single part of this Mazda 3 are way way higher quality than this Preve crony quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 13
          • How do you know? you already have one. Belum launch sudah tau, hebat hebat LOL

Oh, you only see the badge right? Kudos to blind badge supporters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 46
          • Storm, forget about that ugly car and that badge P1. they thing that can be against Japanese and continental cars but cant even compared with Korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • sresi on May 09, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Japs and korean normal cars are never known by their superb ride and handling.

• eddy, you asked “how do you know”? My dear friend, we may not know for sure (because new Mazda 3 is not out yet), but there is this thing called “track record”. Based on the track records of Mazda and P1, i will put my money on Mazda’s quality on any given day, hour and minute.

• sorry i meant “effy”

• Storm on May 09, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Ya lah, Preve better la. No car, not even the Conti can come near them in term of quality la. The Malaysian cronies done a fantastic job la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • jilbaber on May 09, 2013 at 6:51 am

Rear look so like Preve hatchback meh..even related stories below the articles also most about Preve Hatchback what..

• The only thing I found that looks like the Preve hatchback is the checkered stickers…

Please la.. This is way out of league for Preve to touch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 11
      • hengs on May 08, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Mazda rnh cannot beat proton/lotus one. If you watch mazda international review, it’s rnh is wayyyyy out of league from conti. Proton? Of course not, because its from Lotus. Oh it’s not Lotus Curry yeah LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • Yep, you’re totally correct! If a car is only judge from R&H, Proton would be one of the best car in the world. Even better than Mercedes and alike.

* smell the sarcasm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
          • hygiene on May 08, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Why so butthurt? Your kaput mazda selalu kena take over by preve? Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
          • ferry on May 08, 2013 at 11:28 pm

You can get better ride and handling with jap cars, but not as good as ford/proton/conti. Turn on your VSC/VSA and alike but you don’t have the fun as it controls your driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Storm on May 09, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Ya…why do people still buy Mazda at almost double the price of Preve arr? They must be stupid and you must be the smartest man..Go and enjoy your meal at Lotus curry house, smart fellow.

• hengs on May 09, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Wah you sure believe if many people go for a thing it must be very good. If you are smart enough, you will say it’s not necessary good. Oh, Top Gear is for laughing, it’s a joke!

• Yes P1 is the best and i can watch the Top Gear international review i mean bash lolx

• jilbaber on May 09, 2013 at 6:53 am

Meh, I see the rear look so similar la

• Cookies Monster on May 08, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Preve Hatchback or Peugeot 208 definitely better than New Mazda 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 53
  • dzulx on May 08, 2013 at 7:24 pm

The knob dial is new?

• flat_tire on May 08, 2013 at 7:57 pm

looking good even with those camouflage stickers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • the dashboard looks like that of the f30, which is a good thing. kudos on mazda for including an idrive like system in the new 3;

• seancorr on May 08, 2013 at 8:20 pm

The front looks like a copy and paste from the Mazda 6 but looks good nonetheless and the interior looks much better than the 6. Why? Coz the LCD was designed along with the dashboard and it looks like a tablet design first seen in the Merc B Class.

The Mazda 6 LCD looks like an after thought…design the dash first then include a 2 DIN system into it.

• zamer on May 08, 2013 at 8:47 pm

gonna love it..would like the mazda 6 but the 2.0 is not worth. no features. seems this one looks comprehensive.

i assume the sedan version will look something like elantra. if yes, then its a win for mazda. no more altis and civic

• Personally the biggest downside of the ‘Kodo’ Mazdas is the dashboard, they look to plain to compliment the attractive exterior design. This one does look better inside, but still not ‘great’, but since its not launch I won’t give a final comment. But that looks like the dials, or at least inspired, from a 12C or a 458, hopefully with twin LCD flanking a analog dials.

• meng meng on May 08, 2013 at 9:09 pm

With sky active technology?

• Monster on May 08, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Wow the interior is like a BMW ripoff

• GrandSavrify on May 08, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Waiting for New Mazda 3 MPS! It would be great if it comes with Auto transmission!

• new mazda 3??? that means new MPS… :D
    dear gomen, kata nak turunkan harga kreta by 30%… hehe~

• Eddy Lee on May 09, 2013 at 12:09 am

This looks promising. A new 2 way fight between this and the focus replacing the once all-conquering altis vs civic.

• frenzyaustin on May 09, 2013 at 1:16 am

That tablet like screen, looks terrible. Even in Mercedes. Like simply take any car and put a Nexus 7 on it. Integrated into dash looks better, this is so afterthought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Joe Radzif on May 09, 2013 at 8:16 am

Nice skin…
    heh hhehheh

• nice car

• kevin on May 09, 2013 at 11:51 am

i don’t get why are people comparing the car to the preve, i get it PREVE adalah flagship proton, but have you drove one before? i tekan 1/3 pedal engine dah gila gila bising, with 200km on it(grandfathers) other than that, handling isn’t bad. but again, you pay 70K for a car that’s annoying to accelerate in, that’s not value for me to me. it gets ANNOYING WHEN PULLING OFF A TRAFFIC LIGHT.

• muller on May 09, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Learn how to drive modern cars. It’s absolutely not like outdated overrated Japs cars

• mazda 6 on May 09, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Preve exterior design is square-ish. It doesn’t has any similarity compared to the new Mazda 3. I understand that some Preve owner just wanted to blindly associate their car with car that looks great in order to get the glamour from it. For example, you sure feel happy when ppl said: “wah, your Preve looks like the Mazda 3 man”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Zend3r on May 09, 2013 at 4:36 pm

apa preve owner mau lagi?

Preve VS Vios = Preve is still a better car
    Preve VS City = Preve is still a better car
    Preve VS Polo Sedan = Preve is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Nice car but smiley grill is a major turn off…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Abg Long on May 09, 2013 at 7:07 pm

haha.. rear looks like our proton preve hehe. recently i test drive preve, handling is good, power is good. for me, better than vios :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Stealth on May 09, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Good for you then Abg Long. Preve is a good car, for Ah Long….

• kiahonda on May 10, 2013 at 12:02 am

Ala, cantik sikit je dari preve, tapi bab RnH, sprinting memang tak boleh lawan preve la

• aww…dont look to nice

• They said preve is better than mazda 3 cause they cannot afford to buy mazda3. If you only can afford to buy malaysian car keep your shut up, work harder earn extra money for foreign car

• P1 is on the track with Preve but way a lot more to workout, seriously. P1 suffers from C segmen (and above) capability. Entry level no doubt.

Mazda, if only you could reduce your road noise and your plastic-y dashboard.

• MazdaTheAwakening on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Ed, if you say Mazda have plastic-y dashboard; how would you describe Toyota and Honda?

• Autokennzeichen on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:11 am

its in german!HG is the car plate from Bad Homburg near Hessen. is it produced over there? or for testing purpose by ADAC?