Fast VW Golfs to get a carbonfibre roof as an option?

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_027

Rumours are circling around the Internet that Volkswagen is in the midst of developing a carbonfibre roof for future high performance Golf models. American auto site Edmunds have reported that such a feature will be offered as an optional extra, though no timeline is mentioned.

Use of the once-exotic material to replace the current steel-constructed roof will provide a weight saving benefit of eight to nine kilograms, which in turn will improve the car’s performance and fuel efficiency. Another bi-product is a lower centre of gravity, further aiding handling.

BMW’s M division started this trend with the E46 M3 CSL in 2003, the first production car to feature a carbonfibre roof. All BMW M coupes since then have used the lightweight technology, and just recently it filtered down to the latest four-door M6 Gran Coupe.

For Volkswagen, the next generation Golf R seems a likely venue to introduce its own version of a carbonfibre roof, though we wouldn’t count out its availability on the Golf GTI (pictured above) in the near future too. The R certainly wouldn’t need any extra go if its rumoured 300 hp proves true, but you’d want the fancy roof anyway, wouldn’t you?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• _xXx_ on May 09, 2013 at 10:02 am

settle the transmission 1st laa….who care bout the roof???

• Ah Beng Kia on May 09, 2013 at 10:22 am

Fast VW Golfs to get working gearbox?

• sepul on May 09, 2013 at 11:13 am

VW Malaysia, just bring the manual in already.

• chillex on May 09, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Guys. Stop hantam the wrong thing. We shud hantam the tsi lower end model that are using dry clutch 7speed dsg. Not the high-end wet clutch 6 speed dsg. Get the fact right. Then only hantam.

• smarties on May 09, 2013 at 11:20 pm

We are not Malaysian if we think first and hantam later….we must hantam first and regret later.

• chillex on May 10, 2013 at 6:57 am

I have to agree with u. Malaysian.. do first think later… we all do that… ahhahah.. nice 1.. but i think the carbon roof is just waste of time and $$. I hope vw msia bring in the manual version gti.

• GT-Rider on May 09, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Don’t ever think if the roof made from carbonfibre then it can tarpau a GT-R. GT-R is way much faster.