New Peugeot 308 – first details and hi-res photos

peugeot-308-2014-04

Following the initial images seen earlier today, here are the first details about the second-generation Peugeot 308, which will make its debut in Frankfurt in September.

Some basic figures to start with. The C-segment offering, which sits on the company’s new EMP2 modular platform (which has no less than 116 technology patent applications, so it goes), measures in a 4.25 metres long and 1.46 metres tall, while boot volume is rated at 470 litres. Weight is also down from its predecessor, the new car tipping the scales up to 140 kg less.

In addition to the new exterior lines and flow, the new 308 features a more refined and upmarket interior, in line with the move to bring the marque upmarket in terms of presentation. Elements in the i-cockpit offer improved ergonomics, with a more complete integration of controls translates to fewer buttons and a cleaner dashboard. A 9.7-inch touchscreen is integral to things.

As yet, no mention of powertrain/drivetrain choices, but the automaker says that the new 308 will be more dynamic than the outgoing car, but also offer more in the way of general comfort as well. European sales of the car, which will be built at the company’s Sochaux plant in France, begins in autumn after the showing in Frankfurt.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• gavin on May 13, 2013 at 3:46 pm

and when the screen decides it’s fed up, you’re utterly stuffed. no air cond or heating for you, smart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 58
    • wow, you didn’t hear the word “replace” before?

smart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
      • gavin on May 13, 2013 at 4:59 pm

enjoy your sauana drive to the service centre and 3 months waiting for parts to come and no courtesy car provided.

replace, talk easy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 42
        • You must be retarded, what european car is any different. Also, you go to a toyota/even a proton dealer you still need to order.
          Only difference is once the demand for the said parts go up, the higher the chance of getting that part immediately. Also, you have not owned one so what would you know about faulty screens?
          “Talk easy” yeah, that applies to you as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 27
          • wekwek on May 14, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Just tell the mechanics to bypass the virtual button and turn on the air cond everytime you start the engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • actually he has the point…furthermore, if the screen also incoporates gps and multimedia functions..imagine u need to change the screen while using the gps to access to the aircond screen… im not saying it’s unusable, but the real buttons for aircond are easier and more straight forward, besides, the “one screen for all” design has no significant benefits or better practicality…and to say it looks prettier is a very subjective thing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
        • gavin on May 14, 2013 at 7:52 am

Having all touch is utterly stupid because you can longer memorize where the buttons are since they can display multiple functions all over the screen.

with conventional buttons you memorize where the knobs are and dont need to take your eyes off the road to adjust. with this touchscreen and no tactile feedback, you never can remember what is where hence always taking your eyes off the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 25
    • Even tot this car looks great but rear looks like the Lexus CT200… just like what RCZ did is copy TT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • this is how the golf should hv looked like..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • mcgan on May 13, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Is that a good idea to have anticlockwise rpm meter?

• Xefron on May 13, 2013 at 4:20 pm

“golf mk ix”

• I hope they managed to do something about the chrome finishings. It’s very glaring under the Malaysian sun and I think it would help if they made it slightly opaque at least.

• Monsieur on May 13, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Oh La La…bye bye to Preve hatchback lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • unforgiven on May 13, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Why not if both are priced the same? Especially the hope for change is still there…

• No point comparing with then Preve. Price point different and looking at different customers anyway.

• Sgt Scoop on May 13, 2013 at 4:24 pm

The DLRs and chrome grill surround looks like it’s been driven through a little girls bedroom for a make-over.

• Jaybond on May 13, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Looks way better than the new Golf? Definitely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Although duller and more conservative in design compared to the ol’Big Smiley Head, which I absolutely distaste(and funnily many find attractive), this is definitely a winner to my eyes compared to the old one. Interior made a huge leap in looks and is now more French quality than German quality.
    This is definitely uniquely French instead of attempting to be German like the last one, of so I felt. Awesome job by the Frenchman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Turboman on May 17, 2013 at 4:27 pm

AVH : your distaste doesn’t apply in general. It is subjective when it comes to design, some may find it appealing and some may not. So it isn’t right to say that many others preference is funny just bcuz you think differently. Just like the dislikes and likes you get for this posting.

..and yes, i am an owner of the current 308 but i do agree the upcoming 308 is much sleeker.

• love pug hate pug on May 13, 2013 at 4:58 pm

the design is gorgeous inside out, but doubt on the feasibility:
    1} able look at the pretty meter cluster without being blocked by wheel? just as 208…
    2) if you wanna adjust the aircon control while the screen showing ur song info, it’s believed u need to switch something like “mode” from audio to air con, and you have to look at the screen to ensure ur fingers touch correctly, is this a wise move when driving?

just question for ur thinking…. no offense…

• 140kg less???! WOW!

• meng meng on May 13, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Im waiting kia k3 sooooo long already…

• lobservateur on May 13, 2013 at 5:35 pm

sacré bleu! can’t believe the Teutonic DNAs are slowly eating up the quirky Gallic charm!

imo, this new design language gave the 308 (and 208) a more subdued feline look. heck, even the 508 and the 301 looks slightly more aggressive.

aside from the distractingly placed inversed tachometer, probably for a more balanced look on the instrument cluster, it may take some time to get used to it.

lastly, not to keen on it, but it’s an ok effort, Peugeot.

sigh.

• seancorr on May 13, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Exterior looks good but this design will make the old 308 feel super outdated. Interior looks clean and following some cues from the 208.

Now to wait for them to release the spec sheet so we can compare the goodies among its rivals.

• alldisc on May 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm

running out of numbers i think… LOL.

305, 309, 306, 307, 308… but still not all used up.

302 and 303 is still available, right?. or 304, unless for chinese oriented market lah. but Alfa 164 was doing fine.. as well as Volvo 144 and 244.

• sickandtired on May 13, 2013 at 6:52 pm

intergrating aircon control to the touch screen headunit is not a good idea. adjusting the aircon temperature and fan speed is something people always do. there should be a dedicated controller for it. even in bmw even though you can adjust the aircon settings via the idrive; there is still an external climate control.

• NeoLover on May 13, 2013 at 7:59 pm

I think there should be a trackpad built in the steering wheel for thumb maneuver for easy control of the screen instead of extending your hand to change mode and control the aircond at the touch screen. safer…

• droll on May 13, 2013 at 8:16 pm

won’t that touch screen be a finger print magnet??

• GreenMonster on May 13, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Peugeot is really stepping up. Putting the potential faulty screen yada yada aside, this car screams premium! Bravo!!

• Alan Tan on May 14, 2013 at 12:03 am

the rear resemble of Lexus CT200 Hybrid, side profile window line like VW Golf. Anyway this new 308 looks futuristic, maybe due to all the lines it has.

• Sulaiman Sabur on May 14, 2013 at 2:43 am

Not dare to owned any more Peugeot here in Malaysia. The Current 308 gave enough problems already. Switched to VW Golf and already hit 15k mileage with no prob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
    • All initial owners have problems, Kia, Hyundai, Peugeot, VW. But if the experience scars you badly, it’s rational. But as for me, I look at the current offering, it’s a risk/gamble. BMW and Mercedes have their own problems as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • intermilan on May 15, 2013 at 11:18 am

Hope the world-famous DSG mechatronic failure won’t catch your Golf.
      If not it will be a real pity and like “keluar mulut harimau, masuk mulut buaya” or “pisang berbuah dua kali”.

• Sulaiman Sabur on May 15, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Hi Intermilan, yup hopefully no problem with my DSG. So far so good. VW have shown their commitment by doing some recalls (i’m not affected MK6). Really disappointed with my previous ride due to no permanent solution to the frequent ‘Depollution error’, Limp Mode (Very dangerous especially when trying to overtake), Turbo Cracked etc … Read the Autoworld forum. & for sure there is no intention ‘Utk Kembali ke Mulut Harimau/singa’. But im taking a calculated risk with VW. Btw, i’m still enjoying my 308 (But only for travelling less than 20km frm home :) )

• Espresso! Quick! on May 15, 2013 at 11:52 pm

we don’t know what’s under the bonnet yet. let’s hope that it is better than whatever there is now.

• Way better than my current Pug 308. Damn, does any Pug owner 308 has problem with their gearbox? Mine was keep rattling and jerking whenever i accelerated it at 5000rpm and downshift a gear. All being done in auto transmission. Brought to service once and now problem is recurring. My fren has one which cost him RM48k to change the entire gearbox..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Johnny on May 14, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Hahaha…… Gearbox problem again! all Euro cars no good! problem here and there. same like DSG!

• Jules on May 14, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Revving to 5000 rpm then down shift? What do u expect? Any g/box will also spoil..

• intermilan on May 15, 2013 at 11:13 am

“Mine was keep rattling and jerking whenever i accelerated it at 5000rpm and downshift a gear. All being done in auto transmission.”

The statement / accusation contains contradicting and misleading statements. Read them properly.

How could you downshift.. yes, downshift at 5,000rpm and expect any gearbox not to jerk?

Logik sikit la bro..

This one must be a saboteur or a liar or nut or plain idiot. So does anyone who like his comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • lobservateur on May 15, 2013 at 5:31 pm

perhaps john mistakenly referred to his problematic VW Golf DSG gearbox instead of the old 308. :)

• Johnny on May 14, 2013 at 2:39 pm

By the ay Preve still smoke you all Euro cars! kekekkee……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • hayabusa on May 14, 2013 at 8:04 pm

No, Civic FD is still the king on road. It can take over preve but losses control and ditches into longkang because it’s sampan handling, haha!

• jojomedina on May 20, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Hi Bro, don’t underestimate proton cars. PROTON SAGA is king of road. Believe me, I’ve been on 190km/h on the highway and this white PROTON SAGA with green spot rims was just an inch behind me, no choice but to pull left…and guess what, an E series black Mercedes was struggling to get near this guy afterwards. Still not believe me, try ram your engine besides a PROTON SAGA..they’ll catch you in no time at all…and easily, ha ha ha !!!

• anymore? on May 20, 2013 at 2:02 pm

and a super stock looking persona iafm with roof rack can easily keep up with a 508. serious. i was in the 508. do not underestimate them.

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:10 pm

All I can advise is, have many tow truck operators phone no. stored in your mobile phone if you intend to get Pijats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • GoodnBad on May 26, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Shouldnt this be 309 if its New Gen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • laluan sehala on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:30 am

‘8’ is where it ends. they don’t follow the generation numbering already. new system.

• Getting 308 is like digging your own graveyard.
    Can you imagine a car that with timing CHAIN even broken before 60k mileage?

Drive to to experience it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • that is the old one. it would probably be improved with the new one.

• New model old model if the service center with same attitude, it fails you still.

Don’t tell me you upgrade your car every new model?

• loner on Jul 08, 2013 at 12:19 am

this all in one touch screen looks soooo creepy … just like a timed bomb …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • massrazz on Nov 18, 2013 at 11:49 am

does anyone know when the new peugeot 308 will be open for booking in KL ??? please advise…… :D