Ford EcoSport 1.0L EcoBoost: first impressions

IMG_7813

Compact SUVs have all of a sudden come into focus. The Renault Duster has been doing very well sales-wise globally, which has prompted many automakers to bring their own versions about.

The Ford EcoSport is Ford’s contender for the segment, and it was first launched in Brazil in 2003. The second-gen model was unveiled at the 2012 Delhi Auto Expo, and India will be one of the EcoSport’s global right-hand drive manufacturing bases. Thailand will be another, for the ASEAN region.

The EcoSport will feature 70% local (Indian) content (to be increased to 85% in the near future). Contrary to rumours, at this point of time there is no long wheelbase or seven-seater version of the EcoSport on the cards. A 4WD version will be launched in the future, but in this review we’re looking at the 2WD.

IMG_7823

First glance at the Ford EcoSport and you immediately realise it is no longer than a hatchback – about a Hyundai i20’s length. It is under four metres long, without considering the length of the spare wheel, which makes the EcoSport really compact, and also conveniently puts it in a lower tax bracket in India.

Despite its small size, the SUV elements make the vehicle really stand out, like the body cladding which runs on the lower side of the car, tailgate-mounted spare wheel, smooth flowing lines on the hood which join the A-pillar and wrap around rear windscreen with an integrated spoiler above it. The biggest design highlight is the right rear tail light, which integrates the boot hatch opener.

The Ford EcoSport is based on the Fiesta platform, and thus the interiors are pretty similar. Thankfully, Ford has increased the wheelbase, which means the EcoSport is blessed with good amounts of interior room. The seats are very supportive, offering excellent back and thigh support.

The driver seat gets lumbar adjustment along with height adjustment, and the steering wheel is adjustable for both rake and reach – it also gets an integrated arm rest, which is not available for the front or rear seat passengers. The rear bench has two recline settings and the foot well is deep, which along with scooped front seatback yields better space at the rear. However, the rear seat is not wide enough, thus you should treat the EcoSport as strictly a four-seater.

IMG_7738

Material and build quality of the EcoSport are average. Cost cutting is evident in quite a few places, like the use of single blade wiper instead of twin-blade ones, lack of an engine guard and engine cover, sub standard plastics at some places, etc.

However, the Indian-spec EcoSport as tested is feature loaded with the top-end Titanium option getting six airbags, ABS, EBD, Ford SYNC, steering-mounted audio controls, 16-inch wheels, leather seats, keyless entry, push-button start, climate control, etc. The automatic version gets ESP stability control and hill hold assist as well.

The boot of the EcoSport is small-ish at just 346 litres. The rear seats can be folded in 60:40 split to boost volume up to 705 litres (the company claims a washing machine can fit in there).

Three engines are offered on the Ford EcoSport in India. First is a 1.5 litre petrol Ti-VCT engine that produces 112 PS of power and 140 Nm of torque, paired to either a five-speed manual or a six-speed PowerShift automatic gearbox. For oil burner lovers, you have a 1.5 litre diesel engine producing 91 PS of power and 200 Nm of torque, mated to a five-speed manual gearbox.

Ford EcoSport Goa (36)

However, the third engine is really the most exciting, which is the 1.0 litre EcoBoost petrol engine, producing 125 PS of power and 170 Nm of torque, mated to a five-speed manual gearbox. Performance numbers include a 0-100 km/h time of less than 11 seconds and a top speed of around 190 km/h.

The 2012 International Engine of The Year winner is a gem – the three-cylinder turbo mill is thoroughly refined throughout, and there are very little vibrations that only filter through the pedals post 4,500 rpm. There is some turbo lag below 1,600 rpm, but once past 2,000 rpm, the engine offers strong performance.

It doesn’t give a kick in the pants feel though, with power delivery being linear. The clutch is extremely light, and the gearshift is very positive. Overall, the EcoBoost engine offers thrilling performance, even with such a small displacement.

Ford engineers have given the EcoSport a 200 mm ground clearance along with a water wading capability of 550 mm. Handling of the car is crisp – despite the steering feeling a little too light at low speeds, it is decently weighed at higher speeds. Brakes are sharp, but there is a slight bit of nose dive under heavy braking.

EcoSport_INDIA_042

Ride quality is good even at the rear and it’s only on very bad roads that the EcoSport feels harsh. Specially-developed tyres (MRF ZV2K and Goodyear Assurance) for the car reduce road noise and boost economy. Sadly, these tyres are very poor in terms of grip and tend to screech on hard braking and cornering.

The Ford EcoSport is a very good product, but could have been better. Cost cutting is evident in some places but hopefully the asking price will mask the negatives of this compact SUV. While the Renault Duster is bigger, the EcoSport is better equipped and funkier in terms of appearance. A change of tyres should result in drastically improved dynamics, as the chassis is simply brilliant.

As a vehicle, the EcoSport is a good proposition for the urban driver who is looking for a vehicle that’s easy to drive and manoeuvre, while at the same time offers a commanding driving position and good driving dynamics.

Faisal Ali Khan

Faisal Ali Khan is an MBA by qualification but his attention is always occupied by wheels. Both a 2-wheeler and 4-wheeler lover, he prefers handling over comfort, performance over efficiency and most importantly exhaust note over low cabin NVH. Founder and editor of MotorBeam, he has been reviewing both cars and bikes on his website since 5 years now and still can't get enough of it.

• I have a rather mix feelings for the ecosport. Positively speaking, it is one of the most ideal car for Malaysia; small enough to take the tight back-lanes of KL and squeeze through the small parking space we Malaysian are cursed with, all while still tall enough to have a commanding view of the road as if you are a Nimitz-class aircraft carrier looking over. It also has high-ish ground clearance to clear flooded roads and potholes and is blessed with a rather good amount of safety kits.

However, through my eyes, it looks hideous; that chrome up lower grill looks very glaring in my eyes. It looks like big mouth ,but unlike say a Pug 408 or Dugong-Vios I don’t know what expression it’s making, definitely not a huge grin like the cars I mention. There’s the rear spare tires that I know many hate and until the writer pointed it out, did I notice that the interior quality doesn’t look up to par.

It’s not a car that I’ll dislike ,but its also pretty hard to like it. But if price well it’ll definitely be a hit in Malaysia, after all , most of us still wants something like a Kembara that is not a perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 8
    • sudonano on May 14, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Exactly. there are many people who like their Kenari and Kembaras cause it is small and tall. So yea. Ford MY, I hope you are taking notes.

• Black Dog on May 14, 2013 at 6:42 pm

Yes, there’s a huge void after the death of Kembara. P1 & P2 still ‘tidur ke?

• Jimmy on May 15, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Dont ask SDAC to bring this car in. Ask them to sort their inventory problem and buck up their service centre. Small part also got to wait 3 months. If that part renders your car undrivable, say hello to the Intrakota and Len Seng busses.

• Quite true. If popular models like Focus have to wait 3 months for spare parts what about less popular models? I won’t touch a Ford with a 10ft pole after all the horror stories I’ve heard. Really dishonest to bring in a car without adequate spare parts support.

• sudonano on May 14, 2013 at 1:22 pm

If they bring it in, price at about 70+k, it will kill the already dying Rush, and maybe, revitalise the Kembara days? All in all, smart car from FoMoCo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • lonelyobserve on May 14, 2013 at 1:40 pm

SDA may reluctant to bring the 1.0 EcoBoost engine variant because that engine is only mated with 5-speed conventional manual transmission. 6-speed Powershift gearbox is only available in 1.5 Duratec Ti-VCT engine.

• Matchbox on May 14, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Can’t wait for the ecoboost to come with the Fiesta in Bolehland

• Gerard on May 14, 2013 at 1:58 pm

This could be the future trend of autos … may be timely to bring back the Perodua Nautica. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • howbout 75k for starting price incik bos ford?

• Sgt Scoop on May 14, 2013 at 5:02 pm

My guess is that it will cost RM9Xk, similar to the Rush. At RM75k it will take away sales from the Fiesta which is the bottom rung of Ford’s ladder.

• pororo on May 14, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Look like a wildboar..

• droll on May 14, 2013 at 3:10 pm

the moment you see any of the new ecoboost engines arrive in MY it means the fiesta ST should also be coming!

• George on May 14, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Hello matchbox, the SA from SDA rang me up the other day to nudge me on the ETA for Ford Fiesta 2014 in Malaysia. 4th quarter of 2013 would be the time where we will see them in showroom, but no final decisions are being made yet to bring in 1.0L ecoboost engine.
    Anyone has more info on these, please feel free to chip in. Cheers!

• lonelyobserve on May 14, 2013 at 3:41 pm

The answer is reluctant. Fiesta with EcoBoost engines are only mated with conventional manual transmission (as in UK). The 6-speed Powershift gearbox is only available on 1.5L/1.6L Duratec Ti-VCT engine.

• Steve Barker on May 14, 2013 at 3:19 pm

There are all sorts of figures quoted above, but for an “Eco” car. where are the impressive fuel consumptions?

• Faisal on May 15, 2013 at 1:37 am

Steve, according to Indian fuel certification organisation, the EcoBoost powered EcoBoost returns 18.9 km/l, which is more than the Honda Brio 1.2-litre petrol. However these figures provided by the Government agency are always over optimistic.

• sepul on May 14, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Yep, some who loves the Kembara will definitely interested in this one. While the Ecoboost will not be in the Thai made Ecosport, it will be in the Fiesta, at least in Thailand.

• powershot on May 14, 2013 at 3:55 pm

the price of this car in India is about RM49k when converted. imagine what is the price of it here in Bolehland?

• rosdi on May 14, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Ah.. Preve and CFE is better lah!..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • helmet goyang on May 14, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Wah..Today many car makers want to produce smaller engine but the output produce more powerfull for effeciency fuel consumption,, I heard also about the Proton want to produce the new 1.2 engine development for their global car..hopefully it will be hit on 2014..

• it looks downright silly.

looks like some japanese character

• huorang on May 14, 2013 at 6:00 pm

So is there any ETA and price? Would be probably be sold at 90k-ish which is crap..

• budlee on May 14, 2013 at 8:55 pm

the picture you took of the rear seat, it looks very claustrophobic

• Faisal on May 15, 2013 at 1:39 am

Budlee, its not as bad as it appears. The seat was pushed to my driving position (6 feet 1), but the rear window should have been bigger.

• Design looks beautiful until you see the spare tyre at the back of the tail gate! CRV was the last one to ditch this and Ford is bringing this back? It is hideous! But it has a purpose..in event of rear end collision this spare tyre will cushion the rear passengers I guess

• Faisal on May 15, 2013 at 1:38 am

Zanm, there is no space in the boot for the spare wheel. They have no option.

• Sgt Scoop on May 15, 2013 at 2:22 am

I guess it’s a design feature to make it look more like a 4X4. It’s very old fashioned but the posh shoppers who buy these kinds of cars want to pretend they are capable of going off-road.

• It’s just to leave you with more space inside only la…

• frenzyaustin on May 15, 2013 at 10:49 am

Definitely an eye catching vehicle. But the look is too hideous for me. Every angle of the car looks like it;s being designed to make you laugh, it’s definitely a fun car. Interior like a Fiesta. Priced at 70K? Impossible, must be at 90-100K. SUV usually priced higher than it’s compact siblings. Like Nautica > Myvi, Rush > Vios.

• SD should consider to bring in this model as this can fill the void of kembara after so many year and i believe this can replace the market share with this one…the nautica that came in cbu is one of the killing point for P2…

• when this car will enter malaysian market?

• extremist on May 21, 2013 at 10:56 am

Looks abit cartoonish.Price wise should be similar to Toyota Rush +/-