W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class brochure leaked!

w222-s-class-leaked-brochure-17

The new W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class is due to be unveiled tomorrow, but thanks to a GermanCarForum poster Meilensammler who scanned a copy of the brochure that he had, we now have a sneak preview of the car together with technical details.

The pictures in the brochure showcase an incredibly detailed interior – just look at all that cross stitching patterns on the vast leather expanse on the dashboard. If every S-Class looked like that on the inside it would be terrific, but this brochure probably shows the top of the line Designo interior, complete with the top of the range Burmester sound system.

w222-s-class-leaked-brochure-03

The brochure also shows a very luxurious rear cabin in the long wheelbase model, but no doubt there’ll be a 3-seater rear bench as well especially for the short wheelbase model. There will be 6 different interior colours available as standard. The meter panel is now completely digital, as compared to the W221 which had a digital speedometer.

The spec sheet shows the W222 to have a 3,035mm wheelbase, and the V222 long wheelbase model to have a 3,165mm wheelbase, which happens to be the exact same numbers for the current generation W221 and V221. The W222 is 5,116mm long, 1,899mm wide and 1,496mm tall, while the V222 is a little longer at 5,246mm.

w222-s-class-leaked-brochure-18

In terms of engine choices, this particular German brochure scans show 3 engine variants – the S 350 BlueTEC which is a diesel, the S 500 which has a twin-turbo V8, and the S 400 HYBRID which is a V6 with an electric motor. There’ll no doubt be a few other engine choices and these will vary based on markets. The S 300 will probably return for emerging markets like Malaysia. While there is still a 3.5 litre engine in the S 400 HYBRID, I think the S 350 will be replaced by a S 400 which will feature a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6, just like the W212 E-Class facelift.

The S 500 is now slightly more powerful, with it’s 4.6 litre V8 engine making 455 horsepower (up from 435 horsepower) from 5,250rpm to 5,500rpm, and 700Nm of torque (same as the outgoing S 500) from 1,800rpm to 3,500rpm. All engines are mated to the 7-speed 7G-TRONIC PLUS transmission (where’s 9G-TRONIC?).

We’ve already seen the exterior of the car many times, but thanks to these brochures a new detail has been revealed – there appears to be two different version of the headlamps – both LED powered, but probably differ in the amount of LED technology used. The headlamp of the silver car in the brochure scan above is called LED High Performance, while the blue car uses version called LED Intelligent Light System.

Enjoy the leaked brochure scans for now, and we’ll be back with full details of the new S-Klasse tomorrow once the full details are in the open.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow, they are actually going with the two-spoke steering wheel. Brave. Anyway, Mercedes has defenitly brought it up a notch with this one. Audi and BMW are going to have to try real hard to impress. I mean look at that dash! Classy, sexy and elegant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • 6series on May 14, 2013 at 7:54 pm

The rear phailed big time. It just looks like 90’s hyundai or kia cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • That’s the same thing everyone said when they facelifted the E-Class. After a while, it grew on people. This will too.

• Abdul Khalid T on May 15, 2013 at 9:36 am

S400 Hybrid Sedan with a 3.5L V-6 + hybrid electric motor that gives a whopping 275HP of power is US$92,000. CBU German car.

We will get one outdated S300, Pekan made CKD for close to RM$700,000.

Is this fair? RM270,000 vs RM700,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Abdul Khalid T on May 15, 2013 at 9:59 am

MBM Malaysia, can we please get then400 Hybrid Sedan into Malaysia. Since we got no tax for Hybrid cars, it is highly possible for the S400 to be sold at RM300,000. Even if you all want to makan RM100,000 clean profit, you still can sell it for RM400,000. Still untung RM100,000 per car. No where in the world a dealership can make a clean RM100,000 per car you know. So its still good money.

Or are you going to screw ALL Malaysians by just giving us S300 and S350 at RM700,000?

Why aren’t you taking advantage of our Government’s hybrid tax rules?

• I cant believe that the tail light is directly copy from d Bentley Mulsanne! but i quite like this thing.

• Same wheelbase means carry over platform ah?

• Jimmy on May 14, 2013 at 10:20 pm

From the pics, it seems that this new S-class is a bit more sporty in look than expectations from the target customers. This is especially prominent in the rear view. Look at A8.
    BTW, there is a significant gap between E-class and S-class in terms of interior luxury. Choose S-class.

• beemerfan on May 15, 2013 at 3:36 am

Even princess diana died in s keras despite the its luxury.

• Well, Mayb merc is trying to change ppl perceptions of being an Uncle car. I guess they are targeting rich folks in mid 40-50 who wanna being perceived as young and sporty middle-age uncle rather than bald big-belly uncle who always being chauffeured.

• zamer on May 14, 2013 at 10:40 pm

omg..the steering wheel…its a one real boring look..like old cadilacs or lorries to be exact

• spock1976 on May 15, 2013 at 3:42 am

Eek… not so pretty in my opinion. Will wait to see it in the flesh.

• IMHO, this new S-Class is way better than the current one except for the back. The interior in top-knot compares to 7 series. But i think still lags behind if compared with the Audi A8. Hopefuly Paul Tan can have a showdown of cars in the large luxury segment like S-Class, 7 series and also A8. Mayb with Jag XJL to spice it up.

• Jimmy on May 15, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Spend more time on stuffs that benefit most people common rakyats.
      Some of my cars were bought with no test drive.

• Their still gear heads like me in Malaysia who test driven all car back to back before buying. I test drove e-class, 528i, lexus, audi Q5 back to back before finally decided to settle with the 5. same goes to during my procurement of SLK200.

• frenzyaustin on May 15, 2013 at 10:40 am

This S-Class easily won for best interior in any mass production vehicle. It can even match hand built Rolls Royce and Bently Mulsanne.

• Faizal on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:43 pm

How much the cost for W222 S500 ..and when it will be available here in Malaysia?

Thanks.