2nd-gen Isuzu D-Max launched – RM70k to RM101k

Isuzu_D-Max_launch_live_photos_011

The wait has been a long one, but for many, it’s worth it. Here’s the Malaysian-market all-new Isuzu D-Max, replacing the current long-standing model that’s been in service (through various incarnations) since 2003. The second-generation D-Max is priced between RM69,799 to RM100,689 across five variants.

No questions about it, this pick-up is new from the ground up. Built on the i-GRIP (Isuzu Gravity Response Intelligent Platform) base, it’s significantly larger than before in every measurement – 5,295 mm long (+260 mm), 1,860 mm wide (+60 mm), 1,795 mm high (+60 mm) with a wheelbase of 3,095 mm (+45 mm). Ground clearance too has been increased by 10 mm to 235 mm.

The larger dimensions translate to a much more spacious cabin and bigger cargo area. It now has a more SUV-like interior with a bigger focus on passenger comfort, especially those sitting in the back. Isuzu claims that the angled rear seats backs are the best in the class. New additions include isofix mounting points, folding rear seats plus various cupholders and storage compartments.

If the interior looks familiar to you, that’s because the new D-Max shares it with the Chevrolet Colorado. The platform and interior were co-developed with parent company GM, but the running gear, dynamics and exterior styling are completely bespoke to each brand.

It’s a good looking truck isn’t it? There’s a big and bold grille up front, flanked by sharp looking projector headlamps. The bulging wheelarches are now part of the sheetmetal, no longer plastic add-ons. Aerodynamic efficiency is the best in the class, with a 5% improvement in drag coefficient (Cd) than before.

All but the base model get a new 2.5 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel engine producing 136 hp at 3,600 rpm and 320 Nm of torque between 1,800-2,800 rpm, making use of a Variable Geometry System (VGS) turbocharger to outpower the old 3.0 litre motor. Two five-speed transmissions are offered either in manual or automatic flavours; the latter with a manual override function.

The D-Max features an advanced crash protection structure on the passive safety front. Dual airbags, three-point seat belts for all occupants plus ABS, BA, EBD, Traction Control (TCS) and Electronic Stability Control (ESC) systems are also on offer, but only on the two top models.

At the bottom of the range sits the RM69,799 2.5L 4×2 MT low rider variant, using an older 79 hp/176 Nm turbodiesel engine. It gets base-spec reflector-type headlamps, grey grille, 15-inch steel wheels, single airbag and black wing mirrors and rear bumper but keeps the Load Sensing Proportional Valve (LSPV) and limited slip differential (LSD).

The next two models in the line-up, the 2.5L 4×2 MT Hi-Ride (RM79,899) and 2.5L 4×4 MT-L (RM85,499) use the newer, more powerful engine and are equipped with 16-inch alloy wheels, projector headlamps and chrome finish on the grille, wing mirrors and rear bumper as standard. Airbag count stays at one though.

Isuzu_D-Max_launch_live_photos_017

Moving up to the top spec D-Max 2.5L 4×4 in manual (RM94,619) and automatic (RM100,689) forms get you the e-LUMAX multi-info display, leather-wrapped steering with audio and handsfree controls, 2-DIN multimedia player with Bluetooth connectivity and a six-speaker audio system (with ‘Exciter’ surround speakers embedded into the roof lining).

Exterior additions such as fog lamps, LED rear lights, 17-inch wheels, roof rails, bed liner and side steps are also thrown in as standard on the two most expensive models. As these variants are more likely to be used as family recreational vehicles rather than for commercial or heavy duty use, they go without the LSPV and LSD.

A roll bar is a RM1,200 option on all variants bar the base model. Five colours are available – Phoenix Red Mica, Phantom Grey Mica, Stallion Black Metallic, Titanium Silver Metallic and Magnum White Solid, with the first two offered only on 4×4 models. Isuzu offers a three year or 100,000 km warranty.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• After the super-expensive Porsche Cayennes Ses launched now something more down to earth. It’s amazing that a company that makes commercial trucks with no civilian models other than this can do so well here. The top specs looks amazing and spec are good, really like that Exciter roof mounted speaker, why can’t other cars do that?
    But the medium specs?one airbags and no fog lamps? I guess that fits the 79-85k asking price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Sgt Scoop on May 15, 2013 at 11:13 pm

I’d much rather read about vehicles like this than Porsches and Bentleys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • that is because the people that can afford those expensive cars are out there making money, and we the low budget low income people sitting at our desk procrastinating.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Loo on May 16, 2013 at 1:07 pm

This car is for low class contractors. Hilux on the other hand is smooth and serene suitable for the business as well as a good family car. Isuzu also got bad RV. By the way, can’t you find better lady models? This girl is so short and stumpy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 102
    • Sam Loo on May 16, 2013 at 12:59 pm

AVH, do you have a life or a job? Caus eI see you comment in every single post. Are you bored? Please do some work and not just post and post just for the sake of posting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 47
      • tkling on May 25, 2013 at 10:13 pm

u r wrong, this new D-Max are way better than Hilux now, I tested already….. but still, most impresive are Nissan Navara & Ford Ranger!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Mozilla Chrome on May 15, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Too many chrome on the front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • i have seen this in phuket thailand a few month ago.. a tough pickup truck and very mouth watering on their body shape,, especially when replace with big chrome wheel..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Cant wait to test drive d new drivetrain.

But y do they need to equip d 4×2 MT Hi-Ride & 4×4 MT-L with just 1 airbag? Another “Almera” story?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • About time.. I have seen this truck running around in Thailand. They have even launched the X-Series that trump our top spec here.. Isuzu malaysia should have launched the X-Series as well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • TSC and isofix, win my heart….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Why Honda does not want to launch Pick up truck ? It will be nice then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
    • Sgt Scoop on May 15, 2013 at 11:12 pm

They sell something called a Ridgeline in the States but they don’t even sell a pick up in Thailand where sales of pick ups are very strong.

• Gavin on May 15, 2013 at 10:36 pm

handsome truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Sgt Scoop on May 15, 2013 at 11:07 pm

This was one of my top choices for a pick up but it came 6 months too late for me.

• lokam on May 16, 2013 at 8:04 am

Low specs ute with high price tag..no.tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • apeng on May 16, 2013 at 9:58 am

looks value for money on the full spec but too late for me as already order & waiting for Navara LE..
    huuhhh..

• Hadi75 on May 16, 2013 at 10:07 am

Trucks are getting bigger in size and in output…..and comfortable.

• 3.0 VGS not available? Isuzu should launch that as well. Make it top variant.

• Netsoft on May 16, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Engine option is disappointing. 320Nm is like the lowest engine output in the entire pick-up truck segment. Come on Isuzu! Give us the twin turbos like what you offered for UK variants.

• Khalieda on May 16, 2013 at 8:15 pm

We can’t afford to build up Twin Turbo unless we have yet to complete our Malaysian diesel to Euro 4.

• Oh my English!

• In fact the UK 2.5 litres twin turbo use the same engine, 4JK1 as our current 136HP 320NM and previous 116HP 280NM. But because marketing issues, the twin turbo might cost more than RM110,000 so they don’t produce that. That variant will also affects the 3 litres VGS price as well because it cost almost the same. I think the reason Isuzu Malaysia not selling 3 litres because it could be too expensive which exceeded RM110,000.

• ezracopters on May 16, 2013 at 12:41 pm

vs New Ford Ranger?, navara? vs hilux? Comparison review maybe anytime soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Don’t forget the VW Amarok. Hope they start selling them here soon.

• Semlu on May 16, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Hilux really in trouble now…Sam Loo better admit it lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Babemoon on May 16, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Interior and exterior are awesome just abit dissapointing with the engine output :(

• Why Malaysia always be the last to have it? with standard lower specs?

• As usual. Malaysia always the place to clear up old stocks. Look at vios, they start to sell new model in Thailand. But ours, still old & try to ‘make up’ to make it sexy.

• MiniRider on May 22, 2013 at 8:34 pm

no more talk as most fuel efficient ute?

• olddmax on May 31, 2013 at 7:43 pm

which is better?this new dmax or chevrolet colorado?

• i’m waiting ur review and test drive of new dmax.did she has same comfortness level with triton?

• I am currently driving the older model, 2006 DMax, pulling a 2.5-3.0 tonne horse trailer across the country, clocking 525,000 km in mileage. This also includes off road runs to accommodate my horse trekking activities in Janda Baik hills, Terengganu sandy trails, and palm oil estate tracks. Yet, no breakdown, no mechanical failure, always deliver top notch performance. My friends’ trucks, Triton, Hilux, Navara etc, always came across with problems along the road such as gearbox malfunction, axle, and other mechanical-stress induced malfunctions. Even the visiting Japanese engineer that did a thorough analysis on my Dmax was amazed with the mileage and only commented on the worn parts of the auto gearbox (seals etc). Everything else was FINE. The problem is, I am yet to be sure if the new Dmax could deliver the same performance and reliability of the older model… and to Sam Loo who commented on May 16, 2013 at 1:07 pm:

This car is for low class contractors. Hilux on the other hand is smooth and serene suitable for the business as well as a good family car. Isuzu also got bad RV. By the way, can’t you find better lady models? This girl is so short and stumpy!

Dear Sam, the 3.0 DMax price is more expensive than most of it’s competitors. Brand new hilux is far cheaper than DMax, ride is bumpier, and resale value drops really slow year by year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • engineblock on Aug 12, 2013 at 3:39 pm

i had test this pick up…really nice power output..the power will be more consistent from 80km/h & above compare to ranger 2.2 which feel undeprower once it hit 80km/h..
    advantage behind dmax engine is the consistent torque whcih give up much for the paper performance as stated..test drive it then you find out the power doesn’t feel any different than other pick up which rated higher on paper output..truct me this time dmax is somuch better..

• I am using ford ranger 2.2 xlt auto for more than a year now . One of the first batch ranger in malaysia . So far so good only minor problem like reverse sensor . No underpower issue , can eassily climb hill on the way to penang or kuantan on 6 gear with auto cruise on and my rpm is just 1900 at 110 kmh . Fuel consumptian can get 850 km per tank of rm 130 on mix driving .

• Noel de Jesus on Aug 28, 2013 at 12:05 pm

hi paul+malaysia,

congratulations for getting the all new isuzu dmax.have read in an article that a malaysian group had a chance to visit the new gateway factory and specially mentions the ro-dip process. are all new isuzu dmax will be manufactured at gateway plant? the samrong does not have the ro-dip system hence the dmax assembled there is unfortunate not to get this. yr comments pls

Many Thanks/Salamat
    p.s im from PHL

• desmond s on Sep 22, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Still prefer Honda Ridgeline AWD 4X4 for safety reason during high speed.

• Charles Fletcher on Oct 20, 2013 at 3:45 pm

3+ months ago I bought the top of the line LS model 4×4 dual cab with leather seats in New Zealand. On the hard seal it is ok but off road it is useless. An expensive mistake.
    If you are looking to buy this check it out and try it out doing everything you want it to do before you buy, otherwise you will be very disappointed. Dealer in NZ not interested in my disappointment once he had my money so BEWARE

• Goerry on Mar 02, 2014 at 11:52 am

I’m from malaysia…i already drive old dmax & hilux with some load of cargo…now i already booked new dmax…huhuhu….l luv suzies so much than hilux…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Teo Tiong Nen on Jul 26, 2015 at 11:33 pm

I owned a D/Max double cab and is now five years old. I used it for plantation work, sometimes carrying loads. Four years trouble free, but now is starting to incur higher maintenance cost. Monthly servicing at every 5000 km. Good for highways, but not for off roads. Clearance very low! Very economical in diesel consumption. A good car indeed.
    Recently I introduced a friend for a brand new 2.5 D/Max double cab for town use. No hard driving!! One weekend he drove to his kampong in the interior of Sabah. There the right side front drive shaft gave way and he has to dismantle it and drove back to town.The car was sent to the agent for warranty claim and repair but he was told that this damage has NO WARRANTY claim. My friend was very disappointed indeed. Could you please explain about this problem. The car has clocked in around 20000 km.only. Thank you.