First official pix of W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Mercedes-Benz S 350 BlueTec ( W222) 2012

Though only due to be unveiled in about 2 hours time at an event in Hamburg, here are the first photos of the new W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class, which made their way onto the internet just a couple of hours ago.

We will be back with proper coverage of the S-Class after the official unveiling of course, with a full high res gallery as well as the complete technical low down on Mercedes-Benz’s new flagship vehicle. For now, you’ll have to make do with these first batch of photos, as well as the technical details unveiled via the leaked German language brochure we published earlier this week.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anon Kneemas on May 16, 2013 at 12:33 am

I think MB has done it again. The W222 is going to cause some waves in the premium luxo-barge market. BMW/Audi/Lexus/Jaguar will have step it up somehow in the next chassis development. I think MB played the intro timing well, most of the competitors have gone through mid-cycle refreshing.

• sudonano on May 16, 2013 at 12:34 am

Cannot accept the fact that they used a 2 spoke steering wheel that looks so similar in shape as the Kia Picanto one. o.o

Which looks like a clown face with a big gaping mouth -.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • Couldn’t agree more. A 2 spoke steering wheel In this day & age? Crazy!!!

• PauKaya on May 16, 2013 at 12:37 am

I like it!

• Dontbother on May 16, 2013 at 1:54 am

What a disturbing similarity with the e class facelift.. Very dissapointing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • I am not liking Mercedes-Benz latest design language, same reason I dislike Hyundai’s fluidic design; There’s simply too much complex curve, and I’am not a fan of organic design [our opinions may differ]. This new S-class looks….okay, but I prefer the W221 design over this. The Predecessor’s design, has simpler lines going through it, but they are more pronounce, there’s a more executive feeling to it.

the Interior is where this car shines, Mercedes made those air-vents less of a Spider eyes than I initially thought [thou they look too much Rolls-Royce now]. It really feels more opulent and rich than executive of the W221, a more special place to be. Those twin massive screens looks Epic!

So Kudos to Mercedes for the Interior, but I’am not liking the exterior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • U r too old… every future cars r going to be look like this! LED lights, stylish shapes and more… except Japanese cars.

• LED lights agreed, stylish shapes? Whats your definition of a stylish shapes and how is it applied here? A quick look at the W124 E-class and the newer W210 you can see why organic shape of the W210 didn’t make quite a statement as the W124 did. But it’s less a problem on the organic Part of the design but how it’s arrange, Hyundais fluidic design and Mercedes’s current language tend to put in too many curves that just makes it look messy. BMW and Kia at least simplifies the design to make it look clean. Japanese also tends to simplify their design lines, and they’ve seen to have a habit to sharpen their lines to a certain degree: LF-A, new NSX and Mazda 6

Sigh, haven’t reach my silver jubilee and I am criticize to be old. .

• Dr Cooper on May 16, 2013 at 11:27 am

BMW with simplifies design ?…All their cars are curvier than this s-class

• Most BMW lately only have a single line going through the side profile, the one going down the door handle. The slight extruding wheel arches give the side a more pronounce overall shape. I and M cars aside, BMW use very slight bevel to give in more flow through it. Mercedes tends to give at least 2 lines that flows quite unnaturally to the direction of the car. The front they’ve used rather extreme Bavel to make what looks like a cheek. Not to say its ugly, but I like the previous disign language better, the one that have the C-class FL, CLS and original E class

• abcde on May 16, 2013 at 1:05 pm

you can always go to paint shop bawah pokok to resurface the area you dont want. lol..this the sarcastic i can be

but the question is, if they make it clean design like what u wanted, do u really buying it?

• Right now, my comment will remain a comment from a fan. There are certain Mercedes that I really love;the W221 S-class was my primary choice for a large German luxo-barge, A 2-door W124 E-class is a car I really wish to own, they symbolize to me what a Mercedes should have, German presence. They are driven by people that have achieved something in life, the three pointed star symbolize power. This W222 is not ugly, but compared with the W221, it just doesn’t have the same aura. But Mercedes have been there before, the W220 S-class.

On the subject of weather ill buy it, I’ll take a W221 over this. But like I said Mercedes are driven by people that have achieved something, I haven’t achieve anything yet, money is one of them.

• Is the steering wheel, looks like a smily face, lol, what a joke from mercedes…

• Watch this!! Mercedes S-class w222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GMxdciXNqLs

• Congrats Merc its a well thought design inside out the interior its like a airplane cockpit….full of gadget what if battery kong then black out la…..luxury car look a like now days Rolls Royce copy merc and merc copy RR it doesnt matter. Rich folks dont care coz they are all buzy with their business. exterior light looks like S Klasse W220 la….front light resemble E class not exactly la. You look at Audi or BMW front light same ma no one complain. Cammon la give Mercedes Benz designers credit la. Luxury car of the year. Its difficult to top the perfact W221 design. Anyways kodus to Mercedes BMW and Audi have to work hard now.

• Bro sudonano itu steering bole tukar ma,….mau tukar 3 spoke or 4 spoke if you dont like the 2 spoke….lu ada luit RM kacing macam x2 bole tukar.

• Idania on May 16, 2013 at 10:02 am

Don’t worry..after u see it on the road later, u’ll like it

• Thanks yufa for the video. Damn nice a mobile office full of technology a corporate limo of the future. Like I said a well thought of car. I like the ambience led light… wifi connectivity…a true luxury limo for CEO’s, Presidents, Head of State now can BMW and Audi top that….

• droll on May 16, 2013 at 1:34 pm

not bad looking. i thought the rear lights would end up looking droopy and chinese-ish but it turned out quite ok. the 2 spoke steering wheel is really odd though

• Tawkey, kereta baru dah sampai!!!! Boleh tukar

• teamsleepnine on May 16, 2013 at 1:59 pm

that’s future of automobile.

I still thinks w220 s is the best looking…but the w220 interior just dull …
    nevertheless…lexus & infinty need to work harder since there’s a new bench mark..I’m sure they can’t even archive the w221 level yet..

• Jaybond on May 16, 2013 at 2:41 pm

This new Mercedes S Class will not wait too long to meet its first also-recently-launched match, the new Maserati Quattroporte.The first fight of the new generation of luxury giants..

• vwowner on May 16, 2013 at 2:44 pm

I m planning on buying A8L or should i wait for this to come to Msia….is it worth it???

• If u r a practical low-key person. A8L is the way. personally i would go for A8L if i have the money. its faster and better. too bad, due to financial issue, i would have stick to my F10 528i for now. :(

• Said Ganu on May 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Those commenting, any of you dreamers can afford it anyway?

If not keep on driving your old Perdana ok

• Fahmi on May 17, 2013 at 1:24 am

Looks “softer” than W221… Some people might like it that way…. The design is nice though I prefer W221 design more… This is more like W220 with more luxurious interior and curvy exterior… I hope that W222 will fill the gap left by “Ultra-Luxury” Maybach while keeping the good virtues of the S-class…