BMW M Performance Power Kit for the F10 520d

520d-powerkit

BMW Malaysia is now offering the BMW M Performance Power Kit for the F10 BMW 520d with 8-speed automatic transmission. Previously it was only available for the manual transmission versions of the F10, so F10 520d owners had to wait for the auto version to be released while the E90 and F30 320d owners who opted for the upgrade were happily enjoying their increased power.

The kit includes a new ECU with updated data, an upgraded charge air cooler, a plastic air guide, various required small parts, as well as aesthetic bits such as a BMW M Performance Power Kit Aluminium badge and BMW M Performance sticker for the side sill.

520d owners can expect to shave 0.5 seconds off their 0 to 100km/h sprint, as well as increase their top speed by 5km/h. In-gear acceleration time needed from 80km/h to 120km/h in 4th gear will decrease by 0.8 seconds, or 5th gear by 1 second. This is thanks to maximum horsepower increasing from 184 PS to 200 PS at 4,000rpm, and maximum torque from 380Nm to 420Nm at 1,750rpm. Interestingly, fuel consumption and emissions is also expected to improve based on ECE driving cycle numbers.

Warranty remains intact, and the kit goes for a retail price of RM8,513.61.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Matchbox on May 17, 2013 at 11:50 am

RM 8500+ in order to improve 0.5 sec in century sprint. How about removing the spare wheel minor weight trimming here and there? Can achieve similar result?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • I dunno abt 5 series…but for 3 series…dun hv spare tyre… :)

• Jimmy on May 21, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Instead of giving us this trash, stop cheating Malaysians by ONLY giving 2 years warranty. Many people pay even up to RM80,000 to get their gearbox replace when your mere 2 year warranty finishes so fast.

BMW = stinking 2-year warranty
        Volvo, Audi = 3-year warranty
        Porsche, Mercedes = 4-year warranty
        VW, Honda, Ford, Kia, Hyundai = 5-year warranty
        Ferrari = warranty up to 10 years

• TurboMan on May 17, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Kawan.

BMW doesnt have a spare wheel. They are on run flats.

And removing trims from a 1.8 ton car won’t yield significant performance improvement. Unless you reckon you can remove 90-180kg without sacrificing comfort, noise insulation and general “luxury-ness” of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • clearly u dont drive a bimmer. So, i guess u wont understand the urge of bimmer owner to upgrade. RM8.5k is nothing for those BMW enthusiast who love their car more than anything else. Too bad im drving petrol version 528i. if they have a performance kits for petrol version then it will be sweet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • its not about the amount of money alone. for 2k bmw owners can get a piggyback which gives more extra power than this kit, more worth it right? of course their warranty will be risked.

• sepuct9a on May 17, 2013 at 3:35 pm

considering Rm10k R3 kit upgrade plus 20hp/18Nm for Neo CPS, BMW offer plus of 16PS/40Nm is quite bargain with intact warranty summore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Heybadigol on May 17, 2013 at 12:59 pm

So much money to spend for re-writing software code?? Heheheh. Maybe someone can copy the new code, and just jailbreak the CPU :) Free update.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • gavin on May 17, 2013 at 1:40 pm

absolutely worth the upgrade, sadly bmw positions their diesel models as low end models which sucks

• klata-klata on May 17, 2013 at 8:40 pm

This BMW 2.0 diesel engine out performs any other 2.0 diesel engine introduced in Malaysia to date on all counts of power, torque, and matching 8-speed transmission.

• I drive a 6 month old 520D…one of the best cars I have drive amd owned. I choose the diesel for the torque and getting about 800K+ for city driving.

• For my opinion, sprint booster is aldy enuf since it doesn’t increase for horsepower, but it does increase bit for top speed…jz press for the red light…

• TurboMan on May 17, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Guys

Not only code. There is a charge cooler aka intercooler, and a bunch of small pieces.

So this is a good upgrade at a good price. If you think this price is too expensive, then u can wait as some BMW dealers offered a substantial discount in the past for E90 owners.

And don’t forget, ppl who can afford a 300k++ car most likely can afford 8k to make their car quicker without voiding the warranty. Its a question of whether the owner feels a need for speed or not.

• NissanGTR on May 17, 2013 at 2:06 pm

There’s always piggyback ECU tuning solutions like the RaceChip CR Ultimate that can boost torque up to 530Nm and HP to 268PS for the 520d F10. Of course there would be arranty issues if anything goes wrong.

http://www.racechip.de/en/chiptuning/bmw/5er/f10/525d-150kw/index.php

• grandma police on May 17, 2013 at 3:30 pm

I would rather they upgrade the warranty to a respectable 4 year like mercedes and audi rather than offer all this stuff

• tishaban on May 17, 2013 at 4:19 pm

I completely agree with this. I’ve been saying this for years but they don’t listen to their customers unfortunately.

BMW = 2-year warranty
      Volvo, Audi = 3-year warranty
      Porsche, Mercedes = 4-year warranty
      VW = 5-year warranty
      Ferrari = warranty up to 10 years, free service for 7 years!

Sorry BMW, looks like my next car will be a Ferrari lah :D

• ZeroPointFiveSeries on May 17, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Satisfaction guaranteeeed! So e60 525i owners, beware of this one 520d. Don play-play…