SPIED: Volvo V40 Cross Country spotted in Shah Alam

Volvo_V40_Cross_Country_Malaysia_1

Here are the first pictures of a Volvo V40 Cross Country seen on Malaysian roads, sent in by eagle-eyed reader Mesh Naidu. Thanks mate! The new Swedish crossover was spotted along the Federal Highway nearby Volvo’s assembly plant in Shah Alam.

We can confirm that the V40 hatchback and its Cross Country relative will be launched here sometime in August. Here’s the kicker though: they will both be offered in CKD form, which is an unprecedented move by Volvo considering that it has barely been a year since the V40’s global debut. The Cross Country is newer still!

Volvo Car Malaysia’s entire range, the S60, V60, XC60, S80 and XC90 are all assembled at the Shah Alam plant, which is now the brand’s ASEAN manufacturing hub since it closed its Thailand assembly line in 2011. The S60 was first launched in CBU form before more affordable CKD models were introduced. It looks like the V40 pair is skipping that first step altogether.

Volvo_V40_Cross_Country_Malaysia_3

The V40 Cross Country caught testing above is a front-wheel drive T5 variant. In most other markets the badge points to a turbocharged 2.5 litre inline-five engine with 254 hp and 360 Nm of torque, but for Malaysia expect it to use the familiar Ford-sourced 240 hp/320 Nm 2.0 litre turbo four seen on other local Volvos.

A 180 hp, 270 Nm T4 1.6 litre turbo option should be available too, mirroring the S60 and V60’s engine line-up. And should Volvo Malaysia choose to have a third and cheaper engine variant, there’s also a 150 hp/240 Nm T3 version of the same engine. All motors will be mated to a six-speed dual-clutch Powershift gearbox.

In T4 or T3 form the V40, if not necessarily the Cross Country, should significantly undercut the S60 T4’s RM220,000 price tag, putting it rather close to the similarly-sized but less powerful Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI. Now that should be interesting. Which European hatchback would you choose then; the one with genuine or perceived premium credentials?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• mtbking on May 17, 2013 at 3:26 pm

An affordable vulva is definitely appealing.

• vulva.. me like!

• Jimmy on May 21, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Volvo car stinks. I saw in the showroom, nearly everything now Made in China. When Geely took over, they said everything would be Sweedish. They were just taking over the business but quality would strictly remain Sweedish. Now, open every part, its Made in China. Even all the windscreens and door screens got words there Made in China. Buy a Volvo and you are buying a Geely in disguise. So why pay over RM300,000 for an XC60? You can fool yourself thinking there is quality control but China is China lah. If they can poison babies with melamin in the milk and still not feel remorse, you and I know lah what kind of quality Volvo is today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Looks great!

• VW Fanboi on May 18, 2013 at 10:11 am

Appealing? Golf will eat this any day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
      • No way to on May 19, 2013 at 1:53 am

volvo always not for racing
        never will be

the steering dont have good feedback
        its ride is also soso
        dont forget maintenance and resale value; NO NO…

for racing go for BMW as any of its RWD platform has perfect balance for handling

for luxury go for Merc as its always been luxury stats in mental of malaysian

for safety go for Audi as its quattro will stick on the road like glue

alternative cheaper version of germamic would be the VW

for simple/easy maintain/safety of $$ pocket go for Japan’s toyota/nissan or honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
        • Hmmmm, i wonder which brand is perceived the poor man’s german car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • frenzyaustin on May 19, 2013 at 7:23 pm

My friend’s father has a Volvo, don’t know specific model, but around year 2000, a 1st gen Serena and a 4th Gen Sentra, he rather sit in a Nissan than a Volvo, he complain about it’s terrible A/C and bad FC. But Volvo nowadays I’m not quite sure about that.

• BMWfanboy on May 19, 2013 at 8:53 am

Still cannot beat PREVE..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 27
  • Refuse n Resist on May 17, 2013 at 3:43 pm

wow….. i like, totally fallin in love with their new face and new bumper to bumper :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • comrade on May 17, 2013 at 4:52 pm

I really like this volvo looks…. one for the future..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • No way to on May 19, 2013 at 12:53 pm

like only whats the point; u dont even buy..
        talk talk no action..

• comparable to the freelander in terms of design….maybe better..

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 139
    • its true rite u all cant denied it….u all said quality suck la, substandard la, cbu much better la, workforce not so quality la, minum teh la, made cincai la, oni help croni la etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • unforgiven on May 18, 2013 at 10:40 am

Please come out, open up your heart, and look at things in global perspective, look into the future, look into the country deficit, try to understand it… even without protection/no NAP, we are no where near to compete, cronies just made us double worst, not attractive for investors…

• not attractive?…indo is one of most corrupt in the world n many cronies oso many company come…that mean cronyism make thing worst invalid..

• wat make not attractive is politic 24-7 till nex GE

• unforgiven on May 18, 2013 at 3:15 pm

You need to look even further, and foresee the future in global perspective

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano on May 17, 2013 at 4:18 pm

One thing. Volvo interiors are VERY good. In the front especially.

“Which European hatchback would you choose then; the one with genuine or perceived premium credentials?”

And I like that line :D

• zack randolph on May 17, 2013 at 4:24 pm

If volvo price it below RM170k, this would be like the Audi A6 hybrid, suck away all the auto market within Rm160k to RM200k

• sudonano on May 17, 2013 at 10:38 pm

I hope they do that. Teach VW a lesson not to treat VW like how they treat all the DSG cases here.

• Wow…

• sepul on May 17, 2013 at 4:31 pm

I like the Cross Country one.

• Scandinavian sex appeal, really a great looking euro hatch aside from the A-class.

• Meltsh on May 17, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Scandinavian? It’s a china whore now! Lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
      • No this is Scandinavian still, anything after this is Chinese. And looking at where their design is heading with the recent slew of facelift on the XC60 and S60, I’am kinda worried as far as design goes.

Hope Volvo doesn’t loose it’s innovation in coming out safety tech

• Lotus is a malaysian whore, Range rover is an indian whore, Rolls Royce and Bently are german whores…So?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • frenzyaustin on May 19, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Owned by China isn’t a bad thing, unlimited budget and non-stop RnD. But if engineered by China people, cost cutting, high profit margin, low quality parts….etc

• very nice exterior but boring interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • seancorr on May 17, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Nice….hopefully the price n spec will be good too but the model I am waiting to see is the all new S40 sedan…should look awesome too.

• Jimmy on May 17, 2013 at 5:20 pm

‘large hatchback’ are X6, ML, XC90(if larger than Ninja King) and Q7.
    Little one: Beetle, A-class.

• jeremy on May 17, 2013 at 9:53 pm

All of those are SUV’s (sporty), not ‘large hatchbacks’….

• vodevil on May 17, 2013 at 5:23 pm

i’m pretty keen with the design but not the brand.

Volvo is trying really hard to shift it’s brand image to more sporty & younger appeal. Kudos to their effort but I think they still have a long way to go…

• abcde on May 17, 2013 at 5:32 pm

your expectation is too high then..
    volvo has the longevity history..similar to volkswagen, 6-7 years back they are nowhere in malaysia..we only see the beetles..but now, they are common.. that is what volvo targeting..

• I wonder if there’s any sacrifice in quality since it became Geely?

• sedusax4 on May 17, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Let it be the price region of honda crv, Mazda cx5, ford kuga etc etc

• Grandma police on May 17, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Dang i thought it was the new Honda crv. Who copied who?

Yours truly,
    Grandma police

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • If you look at the XC60’s tail lamp (2008 Model), you know who copied who, obviously.

Yours truly,
      jim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Pls… CRV is awful. It’s a grandma’s car.

• sonyman on May 17, 2013 at 6:59 pm

oooo, nice nice. very sexy.

• tokmoh on May 17, 2013 at 7:09 pm

You smexy Volvo. Aww yeaaa, it’s about time!

the distributors better be sensible and avoid the s60 overpriced failure. they’re no bmw or merc, so don’t price it like one. damn shame there used to be more volvos on the road, but now it’s gone down a lot.

this v40, should be cheaper than a golf. don’t, f**k it up, federal auto, swedish marque. and pls don’t overprice service cost too

• carco on May 17, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Bro, volvo is continental brand like bee-em, merc, audi,volkswagen and pug..its price should be like other continental brand..if u cant afford..u can buy kia or hyundai bro…and i think u didnt know that volvo is known by its safety technology..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • tokmoh on May 17, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Don’t be ignorant. Volvo before this wasn’t priced as premium as bmw, merc. The current s60 broke that rule, and it was a disaster.

First, there are less takers. Second, some time back I saw in the papers they were giving huge discounts (though word on the net says there had always been great discounts if one pushes the salesmen a bit). It’ll impact the resale value, though most likely most Volvoist aren’t too concerned cuz that’s not what they buy a Volvo for, it’ll still be a heartbreak they overpaid for their car.

VW and Peug aren’t priced as premium as bmw or merc, so it is possible to be conti yet not crazy expensive.

How the heck you conclude I dunno much about Volvo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Yes the Volvo’s are priced as premium as the BMW or Mercs, also it is not perceived as premium as those two. But this is only because they don’t make fast or superluxury full sizes. For all the other range, they are not far off from the two germans, hence they’re priced slightly lower than them. Eg. XC60 (300k) vs. X3 (330k).

The S60 didn’t break the rule, it is bigger and it’s entry level is cheaper. The top spec isn’t as expensive too. Volvo knows where they are, and VWs and Pugs are definitely not as premium as Volvo. I’d give you that, VW is not too far off, but Peugeot? Come on.

I’ll therefore conclude that you don’t know much about volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • jeremy on May 17, 2013 at 9:59 pm

VW not priced as premium? Last time I checked, the ‘people’s car’ is still expensively priced for a common car….even Peugeot’s are much cheaper despite it being continental…

• CARtoon on May 18, 2013 at 9:00 am

Precisely, VWs are way overpriced here .. just look elsewhere for its pricing bracket and you can clearly see who it’s major competitors are…the Focus, 308s …

• tokmoh on May 18, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Yes, VW is overpriced if compared to how it’s priced in other countries. But in my statement, I mentioned VW is not priced as premium as bmw/merc.

• carco on May 18, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Haha..s60 broke the rules? Bro? U know the price of 2002 s60? It almost 200k without insurance..n thats is 11 years b4..n please compare the car with the same segment.. if u compare pug 308 with s60,no wonder u think volvo is overprice….eg volvo s60= vw cc = pug 508…pug n vw is still continental car but the different is, the pug n vw produce more affordable car like 207,208, vw polo sedan to get more market…n some of vw cars is more expensive than volvo bro…eg: please check toureg price n compare it with xc90…for ur info, i own 2 volvos..2002 volvo s60 which i used until today and 2012 v60…thats why i keep defend volvo because i know bout it..n also..volvo didnt have 2nd value like bmw and merc…please check with ur salesman again..haha

• tokmoh on May 18, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Fine la, let’s wind the clock back to first gen S60 broke the rule, then can see the 940, 850, S70 was more sensibly priced (against bmw/merc). You know better.

When the current S60 was launched, CBU T5 was rm280k++, brought down to around rm250k after CKDed. They intro 1.6L T4 at rm220k.

Still, at rm220k it broke the rm200k barrier, and that’s when I deem the dealers here are too overconfident. Passat CKD now is rm170k, pug 508 premium spec is rm170k, distant cousin ford mondeo is just <rm200k, how is volvo going to play the game here? Being conti is a huge disadvantage without the branding as powerful as bmw/merc, even bigger if it's non-German. It's damn shame cuz volvo I see is seriously underrated here, yet the dealers are not making it easier. Well, at least they're giving discount and 5+5+5 offer, still I'm not convinced.

XC90 is so old, and toureg's 3.6 V6 may trigger higher tax band than xc's 2.5 T5.

• Kereta Man on May 20, 2013 at 4:27 pm

FYI – Swedish Marque is no more in business. Also its not up to the dealers like Federal Auto or Swedish Marque to set prices. Its set by Volvo Car Malaysia, the principal..

• I am 25-year-old teacher. I love Volvo. Despite people’s perceptions that Volvo is for oldies, I am, on the other hand, love their design and everything esp. this baby and XC60. However, they are too overpriced and I couldn’t afford one. Though I’m a little bit disappointed, but every cloud has a silver lining. Gonna own this mean machine soon! Have faith!

Vulva for life!

• Once you see this video you will fall in love with it!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxu353Dj4Yk

• skypirate on May 17, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Hafriz,

“…the one with genuine or perceived premium credentials?” I just love this line btw, and very much what I have in mind too!

• neutral on May 17, 2013 at 8:37 pm

clean and simple design…hope it’s priced well…under 170k would be great!

• I don’t think it will be under 170k, the current s40 is priced as so only because of the age of the model, it used to be almost 190-200k. So i’m expecting 190k for the T4.

• zamer on May 17, 2013 at 10:16 pm

if they price it circular 160k-180k, the golf will have a hard time..honestly the new golf is just not exciting at all.its similar to the mk6, anyway i hardly see the new mk7 on the road.

this new v40 seems a potential next hot hatch here.

the era of golf is slowing down. this v40 and the new a class are coming up..simply bcos they look funky,easy and fun. that conclude as excitement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • CARtoon on May 18, 2013 at 9:02 am

believe the negative words that are going around with regards to its lack of reliability and after sales service is really denting its prospect. I have one now and this could well be the first and the last VW in the near future.
      If this model is sensibly priced, i’d definitely consider.

• lepry on May 18, 2013 at 10:52 am

What fun? Waiting your car to be repaired? Funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • zamer on May 18, 2013 at 12:43 pm

lol..can you name what car doesnt/seldom need to be repaired? yaa probably you’ll name toyota, but naahhh..dont compare it with volvo..its funnier than you think

• A diesel plugin hybrid would be perfect!

• nasi ayam on May 18, 2013 at 10:46 am

i wonder how much it cost,if below 200k.
    i probably get one.

• Gracke on May 18, 2013 at 2:27 pm

GORGEOUS!!! Price it below RM190k….everyone is waiting for it!!!!Come on…

• tingtong on May 19, 2013 at 6:00 pm

this car was sent to thai last friday…

• frenzyaustin on May 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Priced around 170K? I don’t think it’s possible. CT200h is lucky because it’s a Hybrid, X1 and A-Class are priced around 200k, so V40 is around that price range too, or maybe 190K.

• Volvofrenz on May 20, 2013 at 6:23 am

First of all, may I add that many of your comments here reflect your personal preference and does not actually affect real sales of cars in Malaysia. For instance, I have noticed that very often the very cars criticised in this blog are the ones that are the best sellers in Malaysia. Note: Toyota, Nissan, VW.

Therefore, stop being granny’s and start doing constructive criticism and not destructive! Malaysians need to wake up and be more mature about cars. Take a leaf from the Europeans and Japanese. Heck even the Koreans are a more matured lot, if you watch ‘Top Gear Korea’, you will get an idea about how they generally perceive cars. Wake up guys, don’t be left in the critical rot of destruction! It wont be good if we want to follow in the path of a developed nation status.

• continen on May 20, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Just sell cheap, then we start to praise. Thumb up if you agree.

• nissangtrfans on May 20, 2013 at 9:35 am

Agree. Once you drive Nissan CVT, you don’t want to drive any 4,5or 6 speed auto anymore. The Nissan CVT is so good and smooth you don’t feel like going back to normal auto transmission anymore, except DSG la (a bit better)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • sleman on May 21, 2013 at 9:54 am

will they have normal v40 wagon? felt kinda sad volvo didn’t bring in cool wagons here

• crops on May 21, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Volvo has always been the last car to own before you die. Volvo was said to have the safest system that a person would be safe in an accident. they would guarantee one would not die in a volvo. thats is how safety was portrait in a volvo. i would love a V40 T4, hope its priced affordable in the B segment…rm150-200k. Even the fifth gear and top gear would agree with me on this…

• The V40 is a true premium hatchback.. really beautiful and luxurious. I want one and from what i heard the price is going to be well below RM200K

• Superb build, superb quality, superb design , gorgeous look and awesome auto pilot parking…!!
    trust me !! Volvo.life

• My life My Volvo on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:24 pm

I own a S40 and XC90, and still consider to marry a V40 XC! Merc n BMW is tempting like a high class pro, always satisfying! But I know my Volvo, it does not look as sexy and not always run fast! But they are just like my wife, in my eye, the best!

• Volvo since '70s on Jul 27, 2013 at 11:03 am

Keep in mind that no other car manufacturer has an automatic braking system that works to 50km/h. Automatic braking will also work all the way beyond 200km/h, as long as the speed difference between you and the car in front is 15 or below. You could be doing 160 and the guy doing 145 in front, and the Volvo will automatically brake itself once reaching too close to the car in front. Also, remember that it has the blind-angle cameras and automatic parking (like the Ford Focus). For this price tag, it’s quite good.

• Volvo since '70s on Jul 27, 2013 at 11:07 am

Also remember that if you crash a Volvo and BMW together, the Volvo has a better chance of surviving a crash.

• aspiro on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:47 pm

look forward to checkout the v40 cross country, it is a functional compact car. yes it is own by china, so?…if the british monarchy continue to ride on jaguar and land rover (notice how many evogue on the street?), surely nothing wrong with volvo being own by geely, that means capital to spend on technology bring forward to car safety with more attractive packaging from the old boxy volvos. not bragging, just lil credentials of personal experience, our household currently using hybrid of cars, between us happily hop around MB s-classes (grey w140, white w220 and silver w221), MB e-class (blue w211), bmw 5 (grey f10), mazda cx7 (white), toyota altis (grey), jaguar xj (grey x351), a toyota velfire (white) and a volvo xc90 (white). between them i go for xc90, its what we call “workhorse”, practical, effortless, despite launched in 2002, and still admire its line occasionally.

• a big v40 fan on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:54 am

why.. why malaysia do not have the side skirts on the v40 CC??