Infiniti Q50 coming to Malaysia, first unit rolls off line

infiniti q50 ghosn

The first production unit of the Infiniti Q50, the Nissan luxury brand’s 3-Series fighter, has rolled off the Tochigi assembly line in Japan. The official off-line ceremony was presided over by Carlos Ghosn, president and CEO of Nissan, and Johan de Nysschen, president of the Infiniti division.

The first of a new generation of Infiniti vehicles, the Q50 made its world debut earlier this year at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit. The Q50 is smaller than the Infiniti M and replaces the brand’s G sedan.

At Detroit, two engines were announced, a 3.7 litre V6 and the Q50 Hybrid with a 3.5 litre V6. At the car’s European premiere in Geneva two months later, Infiniti included a 170 hp/400 Nm 2.2 litre turbodiesel sourced from Mercedes to the menu.

infiniti q50 tochigi

The Infiniti Q50 diesel gets to 100 km/h from rest in under nine seconds and tops out at about 230 km/h, whilst being capable of returning a quoted 4.4 litres per 100 km. Transmission choices are a six-speed manual or seven-speed auto. The hybrid is much faster, doing 0-100 km/h in under 5.5 seconds before reaching a 250 km/h top speed. AWD is available.

It is reported that triple F1 World Champion, Sebastian Vettel, played an active role in the testing and evaluation programme of the Q50 in his capacity as Infiniti’s Director of Performance. “I’m glad I was involved in the development of the Q50 and I wish you a very good ‘birthday’ and success for the future,” he said in a congratulatory video message to the production team at Tochigi.

Coming to Malaysia? Yes, Inspired Motor has confirmed that they will be bringing the Infiniti Q50 in to fight the BMW 3-Series, Audi A4, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Lexus IS. Click here to see more of the Q50.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 中山郎 on May 18, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Hyundai sonata wannabe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 47
    • It’s a Infiniti. If wannabe also not those cheap Korean car la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 19
      • Ah Beng Kia on May 18, 2013 at 3:37 pm

3-Series fighter? Hahahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 37
        • Kimi_ on May 18, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Seriously,the rear looks exactly like sonata!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
          • Grandma police on May 18, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Did you notice even the interior looks like the sonata dashboard?

Yours truly,
            Grandma police

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • No way to on May 19, 2013 at 2:00 am

wow this car is faster then f30 3 series..
      also its AWD..
      sure stick on the road like super glue..
      im sure the Audi A4 with its quattro no match one..

germanic beware…
      Jap will bite your butt and smoke ur face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Rear looks like the sonata, front looks like the Mazda 6! nice mix lolx

• sudonano on May 18, 2013 at 2:01 pm

With a CVT, good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
  • 2 screens on dash looks awesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Grandma police on May 18, 2013 at 2:39 pm

I hope it handles well. No idea why the same company can produce the gtr and that boat that they call the m37

Yours truly,
    Grandma police

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • it looks exactly like the new mazda 6….both front and back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • DonkeyKong on May 18, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Good luck trying to sell 3.7- and 3.5-liter cars up against turbocharged 2-liter cars. Malaysians look at total cost of ownership and will stay away from big engines. RM380 per year for BMW’s 328 vs. RM5280 per year for Infiniti’s 3.7-liter V6. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Grandma police on May 18, 2013 at 3:23 pm

That’s the problem with designing cars for the wasteful American market. Maybe Infiniti will take the c200 cgi and c250 cgi engine and make a q50 that’s usable

• jeremy on May 18, 2013 at 8:31 pm

In the US, this is the most ‘affordable’ luxury car with the most power….you can only get the equivalent power BMW with the 335i, and you have to pay more than 50k for that (includin options)…for this car, you ‘only’ have to pay around 37k…so, I thinnk this car will sell well in the US since Infiniti have got a good reputation in the US…here, people think it is a ‘Chery’

• sick&tired on May 18, 2013 at 4:07 pm

i thought it was a lexus IS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • qwerty on May 18, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Somehow, I think I prefer this over the new 3-series. The 3-series’ headlights just turn people off~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • Zubair on May 18, 2013 at 4:52 pm

I can say the first 3 series fighter,but i think malaysians would love the 2.2 turbodiesel more than hybrid and patrol,anyway finally there is someone to fight with BMW and other germans people need something new and this is something new

• frenzyaustin on May 18, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Wish them good luck doing here in Malaysia. BMW and Mercedes is unbeatable here even Audi and Lexus. But, more choice isn’t something bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Maserati on May 18, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Ppl downsizing, these jokers selling all big CC cars. How to compete lah? And then sell this junk at 400k?

• jeremy on May 18, 2013 at 8:26 pm

I doubt they will sell this at 400k…maybe closer to 300k

• Well boy, i dont think 3.7 litre will be launched in Malaysia even if u pray hard it to come here. Due to Malaysian market where ppl just buy car based on brand and not performance, I think Infiniti will only launch 2 litre 4cyl over here. Which is a collaboration between Infiniti and Merc.

• if u buy..sure ppl will say..”waaa..new cherry ka?..china made ah?” coz d emblem is nearly d same as cherry hahahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • e class owner on May 18, 2013 at 7:38 pm

this car has really nice design … i would rate this car at 2nd place right below c class in its class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • shawal on May 18, 2013 at 8:11 pm

err…. bt it loses out on roadtax against the c200k and 328i …. ,
    q50 looks better thsn the lexus is ( 3series being best in class for looks ) , bt hands down the lexus is f sport has the best interior in its class , lfa derived gauge n touch sensitive climare control …

• jeremy on May 18, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Looks like a lot of people are laughing at Infiniti..even comparing to Chery lolz….but don’t be surprised if they overtake Lexus as the no 1 luxury brand from Japan in the near future….the guy you see on the left above is the same guy responsible for Audi’s turnaround about 10 years ago…look where Audi is now, even with FWD and the ‘expensive VW’ tag people still buy Audi…

Expect an aggressive challenge from Infiniti in the next few years…this q50 really looks great, and will be using Mercedes engine from 2015, so this car will

• jeremy on May 18, 2013 at 8:22 pm

be more ‘affordable’ in Malaysia when the new turbocharged engine comes in…

• frenzyaustin on May 18, 2013 at 10:46 pm

They need to improve their design a bit more. Not their car is ugly, it’s quite nice looking, but still has a “Expensive Nissan” feel. Lexus has totally differentiate it’s design between Toyota, can stand at the level with Volvo and Jaguar, but lacks of marketing. Audi marketing is the best among these luxury brand so it can stand at this level, like it’s successfully used their R8 in 3 Iron Man movie and a S7 Sportpack. And also they used their car in Transporter 2 and 3. Now when people drive Audi, they feel “Cool” and no more leather wrap Volkswagen feel. So, Lexus and Infiniti, marketing campaign through movie is the best way to gain reputation.

• Grandma police on May 19, 2013 at 12:47 am

Even Acura sponsor the avengers.

Lexus and Infiniti still sleeping or too arrogant maybe.

Yours truly
        Grandma police

• frenzyaustin on May 19, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Just few second scene only, and few people recognize it is NSX, that is failed.

• TrustMeImAnEngineer on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Lol avengers is what, compared to infiniti sponsored the F1 team for a few years d…and infiniti has the same pool of engineers from Renault and nissan, lately they collaborated with Merc…to produce more road-tax friendly cars

• jeremy on May 20, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Agree with you 100%…BTW, do you guys know that this car share the same chassis as the next gen Merc C-Class W205?

• frenzyaustin on May 18, 2013 at 10:47 pm

And also, Carlos Ghosn, the man on the right, Nissan’s CEO, looks like fat Rowan Atkinson, LOL!

• Grandma police on May 19, 2013 at 12:45 am

Beanfiniti?

Yours truly,
        Grandma police

• Please try not to intimidate the person for his looks. If he had been Proton’s CEO many years ago, the brand would have been in the world top 10 Auto Manufacturer by now.

• jeremy on May 20, 2013 at 10:37 pm

He also makes more money in one month than what you get in your whole lifetime, LOL!

• Flat Black on May 18, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Here comes another angry sedan… a lot of car nowadays look agrier every time. maybe this shows how angry people are inside… huhuhu

• AvidReader on May 19, 2013 at 12:25 am

Seriously the rear really really agree like HYUNDAI SONATA

• effort lab on May 19, 2013 at 1:06 pm

i tot brand ini from china

• This car is really beautiful compared to teutonic brand. If Infiniti is smart enough to bring in turbo 4 which it will. then this car will surely gain some market share in Malaysia.

• Proud Mercedes Benz Owner on May 20, 2013 at 9:48 am

why so much hate on infiniti? i personally find their design better than Lexus..

• walao eh– COPYCAT
    rear view & interior 90% copy Hyundai Sonata..but price x3..lol

• What so special about this car? Better buy Sonata, you get those sharp rear lamps, sharp shoulders, and merc look alike front lamps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • mirror mirror on May 26, 2013 at 12:33 am

The M25 is such a comfortable car but too bad it is a bit under powered or maybe the gear is rather lazy. Hopefully the Q50 comes with a 2.5l hybrid producing something like 230 – 240 hp, then perhaps Malaysian may consider this as a 3 series competitor. Some buyers out there may still prefer a V6 engine or the softer and more oriental lines of Japanese design.