BMW 5 Series LCI – Sedan, Touring and Gran Turismo

BMW_5_Series_LCI_0002

BMW has facelifted the entire 5 Series line-up, including the Sedan, Touring and Gran Turismo ranges. We’ve seen this coming from a long way back with a series of spyshots and now we have full details of the 5-er mid-life refresher. Here’s the low down on all the updates made for the BMW 5 Series LCI.

Looks wise, BMW is taking the “if it ain’t broke…” path. All three bodystyles get a slightly different kidney grille, with redesigned bumpers and new front and rear light clusters with updated graphics. BMW Luxury and Modern Line packages are introduced to the 5 Series line-up for the first time. An M-Sport option is still around too.

All models now get Xenon headlights as standard, while Adaptive LED Headlights take their place on the options list alongside LED fogs. Elsewhere, the side indicator lights are now integrated into the exterior mirrors. New wheels complete the minor visual update. BMW anoraks will have a hard time with this one, when it comes to the sedan and the touring. The 5 Gran Turismo gets a sleeker, slimmed down version of the tail lamps.

Inside, all models get rejigged and more accommodating storage compartments and cup holders. The Gran Turismo gets a much-needed redesigned boot which now holds 500 litres of space, 60 up from before. More chrome is added all around, with a frame now surrounding the iDrive display. The ambient lighting option can now be alternated in tone between orange and white.

On the tech list is a new iDrive controller with a touch-sensitive surface. It allows character input as well as access to other function of the operating system. Meanwhile, the rear cabin can now be specified with a new rear-seat entertainment system with tablet-style displays.

The engine range has been updated too, and all options now meet the EU6 exhaust gas standard. They all come off cleaner, more efficient, and some with even more performance. Diesel models get nitrogen oxide-reducing BMW BluePerformance technology as standard. Smoother aerodynamics on all models help with the efficiency gains too.

A 518d variant is now the base diesel option for the 5 Series Sedan and Touring, using a reworked 520d engine that’s downtuned to 143 hp and 360 Nm of torque. Along with the 520d it records an impressive average fuel economy of 4.5 litres per 100 km and CO2 emissions of 119 grams per kilometre, matching the now-discontinued 520d EfficientDynamics Edition. The 518d’s 0-100 km/h time is 9.6 seconds.

On the other end of the scale is the 550i Sedan, Touring and Gran Turismo, which has now been updated to offer 450 hp and 650 Nm of torque as seen on the facelifted 7 Series. The full model line-up is as such: 518d (143 hp), 520d (184 hp), 525d (218 hp), 530d (258 hp), 535d (313 hp), M550d (381 hp), 520i (184 hp), 528i (245 hp), 535i (306 hp) and 550i (450hp).

For the Malaysian market expect to see these updates on local cars within the next year or so. The mechanical and aesthetic changes aren’t at all ground-breaking in any sense but the entry-level 518d model does sound rather interesting. Give us your opinion: how does BMW’s subtle Five updates compare to Mercedes-Benz’s bold E-Class revisions?

BMW 5 Series Sedan LCI

BMW 5 Series Touring LCI

BMW 5 Series Gran Turismo LCI

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• muhammadmeorothman on May 19, 2013 at 4:58 pm

BMW is da best..high above da rest..noooott

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • Ah Beng Kia on May 19, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Servers, PCs and notebooks, multimedia for you….

• Jimmy on May 21, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Instead of giving us facelifts, stop cheating Malaysians by just giving us a mere 2 years warranty. Everyone else has moved to 5 years. Ford, Honda, Hyundai, VW, Kia etc etc. Even Mercedes is giving 4 years. They got no confidence in their products because they know, after 2 years, their parts fail quite rampantly. And then, you pay through your nose. BMW gearbox is famous for failing after 2 years. then you have to cough out RM80k just for the gearbox. BMW Malaysia knows this.

• can hardly spot any difference…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr on May 19, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Have to admit BMW’s FL isn’t as thorough as Mercedes’ FL…I mean take a look at how much Mercedes has done for the C and E Class facelifts and u’ll understand why.

Anyhow updating an existing car is always a welcome and BMW has done well in updating it to rival the new E Class.

Have to agree that the 518d sounds good for our local market but if BMW decides to be selfish on the equipment list then they better not bother bringing that model in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on May 19, 2013 at 10:13 pm

518d can definitely be sold below RM300K even without any tax restructuring by BN. It’s whether they, I repeat they, want or otherwise.
      No doubt 5-series is good & cantiq, but I am not a potential customer for this particular series, for sure.

• sudonano on May 19, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Besides the new iDrive, in terms of features nothing much changes. Not a fan of the chrome on the front bumper, but the M Sport kit will settle that. All in all, I’d take it. Smart move by not messing with something already good. I think many people already like the F10, cause it’s more ‘simple and sophisticated’ in design, like an iPhone. After all simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.

And I hope that for the M Sport edition, in place of the Luxury or Modern badge they give a ///M SPORT badge. Cause after all the M Sport cars have the M Dampers. But that’s a minor thing

• Jimmy on May 19, 2013 at 10:18 pm

And, simplicity is the ultimate elegance as well.

It is not easy to design something to look simple/plain yet elegant. Audi did a few good jobs, too bad it is Malaysia here.

• what is.LCI?

• PauKaya on May 19, 2013 at 9:22 pm

“side indicator lights are now integrated into the exterior mirrors” …. great….most costly to replace. Sure it looks nice but ask anyone who has to replace his due to unforeseen accidents and he will tell you just how expensive these mirrors are.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 19, 2013 at 9:56 pm

That’s the problem with side indicator lights. For any other cars flanking on its sides, it’s sometimes hard to notice the side indicator lights since they are facing forwards, hardly any way to tell the direction the driver wish to go.

Sadly more cars, including local cars are copying this concept…

• Guys should take a look on facelifted e class…way more stylish…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Proud Mercedes Benz Owner on May 20, 2013 at 9:44 am

i agree but then again u cannot compare mercedes benz with bmw, mercedes benz always aim to be best or nothing

anyway F10 is a great car ,the best bmw after x6. unfortunately its overflooding the road in malaysia now…

• I agreed with u totally. F10 is just too much in Malaysia. New+recond. Everytime Im driving mine out to a restaurant, of coz i feel like abit “cool” driving a Msport 6 cyl. Whenever i wanna park my car, surely there are alrdy a few F10 on the lot.. lol!!! compared to A6 and Jag, F10 is just way too much. Ppl, please buy more jag and Audi, so our road wont be so uniformed. LOL..

• Have they fixed the cup holder? The current one rattles a lot because it is cheapo and flimsy.

• same, my cup holder lit is screwed up, i have to push it hard to open it and have to close it tight to ensure the mechanism wont pop up. the cover is just faulty..

• longjaafar on May 20, 2013 at 8:18 am

So many diesel variants, and yet we are still using dirty diesel. “auto hub”, it seems….Mana boleh??

• BlackBJQ on May 20, 2013 at 4:11 pm

To-date: the most masculine look 5 series is E60.

F10 is just too elegance.

• bmw-fan on May 20, 2013 at 8:47 pm

E60 is feminine with long “eyebrows” on the upper headlamps