Lexus IS – TRD works its magic on the third-gen

lexus-is-trd-1

We knew it was simply a matter of time before TRD would wave its wand over the new Lexus IS. Now the third-gen‘s already a looker in factory form, but those seeking to stand out (and for whatever reason don’t want the IS F Sport) can ask for an aero kit that comprises a front spoiler, new side skirts, a rear diffuser and a boot spoiler.

TRD has also come up with sports springs and dampers that lower ride height and underbody braces to make the IS more of a hoot around the bends, while a sports exhaust system with quad tailpipes and 19-inch forged aluminium wheels helps the compact exec climb a few rungs up the cred ladder.

The package is available only in Japan at the moment. Full information on the third-gen Lexus IS can be had here, or feast your eyes on our live on-stand pictures of the car at the Bangkok and Seoul shows.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Ah Beng Kia on May 19, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Looks like the new Infiniti Q50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • Alpha on May 19, 2013 at 2:12 pm

If it’s me, I’d opt for this TRD kit rather than the F-Sport. This TRD is more subtle and less weird.

• Mean while in Malaysia, you get TRD radiator cap and fuel filler cover, as well as a TRD gear shift lever for the Toyota Vios. Tada, TRD Toyota VIOS. ABSOLUTELY amazing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on May 19, 2013 at 7:16 pm

TRD and TRD Sportivo. Damn, why we can’t use JDM TRD parts but Thai TRD Sportivo?

• Toyota: “Jangan bising, nanti Thai TRD also tak da. Be glad that I even give you TRD badges.”

• beatnik on May 20, 2013 at 8:01 am

No problem if no TRD Sportivo.. we will get TRD Gaya, exclusive for malaysian market.

• BlackBJQ on May 20, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Where’s SamLoo? dont wanna say something?

• I like the looks of the plain normal IS, no F-sport or TRD for me, the grill just makes it look over design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • berserker on May 19, 2013 at 7:02 pm

A very powerful fierce looking design combination with the TRD

• frenzyaustin on May 19, 2013 at 7:18 pm

New IS in black, now no more car in black looks bad-ass than IS, especially with F-Sport or TRD. Looks so Japanese Mecha.

• ae101 on May 20, 2013 at 9:42 am

I like the shark nose designed and the rims are sexy

• namanama on May 20, 2013 at 1:50 pm

every cars have potential…this is one of ’em.

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Saw the new GS is Taipei. Dem chun in design.

BTW, hardly see any kimchis in Taiwan. Only a few old Tucson and Ssangyong Rexton. Did not even see the new Sonata.

Looks like Taiwanese are definitely smarter than Malaysians