Mitsubishi Mirage sedan: Thailand, Philippines first

Mirage-Sedan-front-render

The sedan form of the Mitsubishi Mirage is set to begin sales in ASEAN by the end of fiscal 2013. The Nikkei reports that the Mitsubishi Mirage Sedan will be introduced first in Thailand – where the car will be assembled – and the Philippines.

Seeing as the Mirage hatch has already made its way here, we can expect the sedan to do the same sometime next year. The report adds that plans are afoot to increase annual production at the Thai plant from 150,000 vehicles at present to 200,000 units.

The booted form of the Mirage was previewed at the 2013 Bangkok Motor Show in a study form called the Mitsubishi Concept G4. Last month, Theophilus Chin came up with renderings suggesting what the productionised form of the G4 might well look like.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• beatnik on May 20, 2013 at 11:06 am

The new ‘Wira’.. hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Green on May 20, 2013 at 11:26 am

on the trend::
      Hatchback is priced>>> more expensive>>> sedan

Mirage Hatchback 1.2 CVT high end RM64k
      Mirage low end 1.2 Manual RM56k.

Mirage Sedan 1.2 CVT high end easily RM60k??
      hooray! with the 21km/L city driving as proven from Mirage hatchback.

• Jimmy on May 21, 2013 at 1:14 pm

This car looks like a toilet. Anything from Mitsubishi has lost appeal with Malaysians. Why buy Mitsubishi when you can get a Proton? a Rebadged Mitsubishi for half the price!

• eyeSpecialists on May 20, 2013 at 11:55 am

wow look like the new c-class! good job..

• Looks like a fish! hmm i am hungry now!

• ben yap on May 20, 2013 at 11:11 am

Inspira better la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
  • TapaC on May 20, 2013 at 11:17 am

ok but no RalliArt bodykit meh??

• syed aboo on May 20, 2013 at 11:27 am

..DRB time to wake up from slumberland.
    Proton has not progressed an inch since u guys
    came in. Khazanah shd have just hived Proton
    to Mitsu to see real progress !!

• amin77 on May 20, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Harga turun 20-30%
    Lain kali lah !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
  • Sami Lou on May 20, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Looks like a curry puff

• Ong chin aun on May 20, 2013 at 1:55 pm

If the mirage sedan is fixed with at least 1.5- 1.6 L. Then can sell well. 1.2 L. with turbo charged .

• will consider this one to replace my stone age iswara that still servr me well…….

• BlackBJQ on May 20, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Wonder why all these models look the same:
    Vios
    Almera
    ..and now..Mirage

Those were the days..Mirage Cyborg, Levin, Bluebird Atessa..

• DRB Boss on May 20, 2013 at 3:43 pm

I see saga blm replacement model.

• yingyang on May 20, 2013 at 8:27 pm

BLM is more beautiful. It’s proportionate body, not too high at back, but not too squarish like VW cars.

• passerby on May 20, 2013 at 4:26 pm

yeah; new Saga; this is probably what we can afford now after GST-ized 4-7% of everything in the coming 1-2 years !

• tokyoprotocol on May 20, 2013 at 4:28 pm

I would not mind having one as long as the price is right. I’m already driving a persona. This one should not be worse than persona.

• gOOsh on May 20, 2013 at 4:32 pm

kalau PROTON rebadge kereta ni, confirm korang tak beli punyer… period!

• Abg Long on May 20, 2013 at 5:11 pm

about the car.. for me it is ugly.
    about GST.. currently we hv (SST)sales 10% n service tax 6%, so this gst will replace this right? SST is 16%, but propose GST is only 4%.. right?

• Lenny on May 21, 2013 at 8:27 am

It have a silhouette and curvy of Peugeot 408 ! I compare it side by side with the Peugeot advert pic on the right

• namanama on May 21, 2013 at 10:09 am

nice renderings Theo..Vray 3ds Max?

• Ermm 12years car cannot be on the road and minyak naik sumore, so I try this attrage izzt value for my pocket is ok lah… damnt y you do this to me gov.. i force to keep my 206 rally car on garage… huhuhu bye2 baby lion.. we having good time before and i will miss u much on the road.