SPIED: Longer BMW 1 Series GT – is it a seven-seater?

BMW_1_GT_7_LWB_1

BMW has long announced that they are developing a range of smaller front-wheel drive vehicles, citing vastly improved rear cabin space compared to its more traditional rear-wheel drive offerings. And what better way to maximise the space advantage than to offer a mini MPV variant with roomy rear quarters?

We are already waiting to see the Active Tourer Concept turn into reality this September in Frankfurt as the BMW 1 Series GT in production form and now we have this – a previously unheard of, longer version of the tall hatchback captured on camera for the first time by our resident European spy photographers CarPix.

This is a BMW as you’ve never seen before. It’s all change aft of the B-pillar with longer rear doors and overhang. The rear hatch is more upright too, a la traditional MPVs which begs the question: is this a seven seater people carrier? By BMW?

These pictures are all we have to speculate over for now so we can’t yet confirm if it will indeed seat seven or whether it’s just a longer Touring variant with a larger boot. Either way, it’s interesting times indeed for BMW. Colour us intrigued.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• stang8888 on May 20, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Front wheel drive MPV and a side profile like that, it looks just like a Wish!

• BlackBJQ on May 21, 2013 at 12:21 pm

FF Beemer?? Naahhh..eat your own words bavarians!
      http://www.carbodydesign.com/gallery/2010/04/bmw-design-analysis-of-joy-part-2/8/

• jeremy on May 20, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Yahoo…makcik jual nasi lemak kat pasar malam dah boleh pakai BMW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • What happens to BMW? Too many cars at same time can be boring, not to mention will reduce its uniqueness

I smell greediness

• Hadi75 on May 20, 2013 at 10:28 pm

That’s capitalism to you…..

• tishaban on May 21, 2013 at 7:10 am

When a company limits their models to very few for example Apple, people say they’re boring. Or when Ferrari does it buyers complain because there’s a 2-3 year waitlist for new cars.

Yet Apple and Ferrari on one extreme, and Samsung, Toyota and BMW on the other side are all making tons of money. All of them must be doing something right…

• 4G63T DSM on May 21, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Greediness you bet.

You are discounting badge value. People will still buy. But BMW isn’t without its misses. The 5GT was sold heavily discounted to move…. so was the X3. and the 1er hatch didn’t do very well.

BMW would be better off with its staple and let MINI handle its FWD division.

• Why bother , its not like BMW Malaysia is goin to bring any of thes3 1 series in !

• It makes other beemer cars here boring cars., less interesting anymore

• agent orange on May 21, 2013 at 2:58 pm

more option for those who afford it !