Facelifted Nissan Grand Livina launching next week in Indonesia – improved 1.5L engine, X-Tronic CVT

nissan-livina-10

The facelifted Nissan Grand Livina has been introduced to journalists in Indonesia, ahead of an official launch next week. Readers of this website would have already seen the revised Livina range, via spyshots and a live gallery from Auto Shanghai 2013.

The Indonesian market, the first in the region to get the refreshed Grand Livina, will get an improved MPV. Besides the exterior updates, which we have detailed in full here, there’s an updated HR15DE 1.5 litre engine with dual injectors and twin CVTC for both intake and exhaust. This mill alone is said to be 4% more fuel efficient than the outgoing 1.5L engine in Indonesia.

More importantly, the seven-seater will come with Nissan’s X-Tronic CVT gearbox in Indonesia, replacing the torque converter four-speed automatic. This should further imporve economy, besides providing a smooth, silent ride. A five-speed manual will be the other transmission on offer.

The facelifted Livina range is sure to arrive in the near future, and Tan Chong has already been spotted testing the MPV ahead of local assembly. But what remains unknown is the chosen powertrain for Malaysia – carryover 1.6L or updated 1.5L, conventional automatic or CVT.

The pics below are of the facelifted Livina from Auto Shanghai 2013.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• carking on May 21, 2013 at 4:51 pm

boring design…i want to sleep already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • I dont care about the design (as most people too), what is the price? It will still selling like hot cake if it is sub-100k mpv

• I rather have it that Nissan just keeps the existing design and upgrade the internals instead.

• theanswer on May 21, 2013 at 10:34 pm

the current one looks ok. but yeah, should update the spec. audio steering wheel control. leather seat. automatic aircond.

• The rear design especially the rear lamp is so unacceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • can TC put that damn adjustable seat belts. i wonder why that tiny feature not being put on 98K MPV. better buy exora. im not a proton SA okay!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Asshl on May 21, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Exora CFE can eat this for breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner, supper, anytime. Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Adoiii! When lah they are going to announce the Serena c26. Boring boring nissan.

• boringgggggg design from latest nissan design

• Peter on May 22, 2013 at 9:23 am

Holy shittttt… the same HR15DE engine as Almera on the heavier MPV!? I tell you as an Almera owner (yes I chg my car) the pickup at this size will be … … … (go test drive with >2 pax will you?)

• gOOsh on May 22, 2013 at 10:35 am

personally, Exora CFE is much better…

• gOOsh on May 22, 2013 at 10:41 am

Exora CFE is much better… :)

• Abg Long on May 22, 2013 at 11:28 am

ya.. exora cfe is more value for my money.

• mycar on May 22, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Sad isn’t it? Like grandma putting up makeup to woo the customers in the street…

• Norman on May 27, 2013 at 8:26 am

Will be another hit in Indonesia.But seriously most Indonesians prefer manual over auto.Ive rent several compact mpvs from Bali to Jakarta from Suzuki APV 1.5,Grand Livina 1.5,Nissan Elvaria 1.5,Toyota Avanza 1.5 and the only ASEAN MPV with 1.6 is Proton Exora star 1.6

• harry on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Look like toyota Ipsum 2004 model.. blurghh