After WYY 9999, Wilayah plates to restart with W 1 A

W1A

Many, including us, have wondered what format Wilayah Persekutuan vehicle registration plates will take after the inevitable WYY 9999? We’re now at WYK and WYY 9999 (the letter Z is reseved for the army) is expected to roll out in July.

Why are we at the end? The Star points out that some 1.3 million new vehicles were registered last year, with Kuala Lumpur recording the highest number of new vehicles (359,239), followed by Johor (172,608) and Penang (113,340). On average, some 1,100 new vehicle numbers are recorded in KL daily, compared to about 500 in Johor and 300 in Selangor.

Well, we now have an answer. After WYY 9999, the next number will be W 1 A, followed by W 2 A, W 3 A till W 9999 A. This was revealed today by acting Transport Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein. From what we understand, the number that follows W 9999 A is W 1 B. After W 9999 B, it will be W 1 C.

Eventually when the plates reach W 9999 Y, the next plate will be WA 1 A – WA 9999 A up to WY 1 Y – WY 9999 Y. Once the two alphabet series are over, we’ll go to WAA 1 A – WAA 9999 A up to WAY 1 – WAY 9999 Y. I that should give you a clear idea of the new pattern. This means the last number in this new series will eventually be WYY 9999 Y.

Now that the new format is released, will we see a bidding frenzy for the opening W1A to W9999A sequence ala WWW? Plenty of new possibilities with an alphabet at the end – what is your dream number plate?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kok Chi on May 23, 2013 at 4:53 pm

W 1 P

• I’ll go for W15H since i drive wish. hahaha! if only i still drive wish by the time the number come. LOL.

• ToyotaWish on Jun 11, 2013 at 3:40 pm

I’ll go for W15H since i drive wish. hihi. :) If only i still drive wish till the time that number out. LOL.

• Fianola Lee on Jan 26, 2014 at 1:39 pm

W 1 A is indeed a good start to promote fancy number plate. Who doesn’t want to have number plate from US or Germany and so on? I would suggest the following plate number as well as the color of the plate shall be -white base w/ blue number just like in Europe. The front & rear plate are similar color either both in white or yellow for night visibility.

For JPJ, Wilayah Persekutuan comprises of 5 major districts.
      1. KL – W 1 A-KL
      2. Mont Kiara – W 1 A-MK
      3. Ampang – W 1 A-AP
      4. Bangsar – W 1 A-BS
      5. Cheras – W 1 A-CR

For Pulau Pinang,
      1. Island/Georgetown – P-1 A-GT
      2. Butterworth P-1 A-BW
      3. Kepala Batas P-1 A-KB
      4. Bukit Mertajam P-1 A-BM
      5. Nibong Tebal P-1 A-NT

• W 3 E

• Here in Sarawak, Sibu plate QSY almost ending. What come after QSY9999? Is it will be QS1A – QS9999A? Follow by QS1B – QS9999B. Until QS1Y – QS9999Y. Then what? QSA1A – QSA9999A?? Then continue QSB1A – QSB9999A. Till the end QSY1Y – QSY9999Y?
      Then till my great grand children era, QSY1Y – QSY9999Y. haha! After that QS1AA – QS9999AA till QSY1YY – QSY9999YY. Fuh..

• pelam on May 23, 2013 at 5:00 pm

lets start bidding thousands of ringgit

• ToyotaWish on Jun 11, 2013 at 3:41 pm

I’ll go for W15H since i drive wish. hihi. :) If only i still drive wish till the time that number out. LOL.

• Deluxe on May 23, 2013 at 5:01 pm

W 0 A H

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • Setiapaduka on May 23, 2013 at 5:02 pm

I thought after W9999A is WA9999A what about after W9999Y which is about 1 year after..?

• Ya thought the same as well…9999 x 26 (total count of alphabets) = 259974, which is 100k short than 2012 number of registration..what would be next ?

• @Mox…nope. not 26. Letters I, O, and Z are not used/reserved.

• W1AA la..

• They must have mistaken then. It should be W9999Y then after that it goes to WA 1 A and until WA9999Y. then to WB1A.

It’s quite confusing though. but the number of cars on the road is going up higher.

• Buskas on May 23, 2013 at 5:04 pm

This will take an eternity to get through. Also leaves some room for very funny plates with the extra alphabet at the end.

• I’ll go with “W41T”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • ammar on May 23, 2013 at 5:08 pm

W9A

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • But what about the trade plates ? Don’t they start with W 1234 A as well ?

Anyway, I guess this new format ain’t all that bad. I was hoping the JPJ would go for a total revamp altogether…. but of course, laziness and cronyism saw to the demise of creativity. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
    • Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 8:38 pm

I believe WAA 1234 A… Because W 1234 A is a traders plate plus Kuching adopted QAA 1234 A from QAY 9999 instead QA 1234 A in 2011…

• xenogearz™ on May 23, 2013 at 5:15 pm

I would like that WYY 9999 plate number…

• annonim on May 23, 2013 at 5:17 pm

maybe after WYY 9999 is WAA XXXX A…is same as Singapore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • tHe^CuLpRit on May 23, 2013 at 5:19 pm

W 4444 H .. not bad hor this idea (see what i did there? no?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Anwar on May 23, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Wonder how much does WYY9999 COST after WWW1…

W1A… Looks like those old plates before the 70’s.. I saw a Morris minor in a classic car show, bears the plate S80A something like this, if i remember correctly..

• TapaC on May 23, 2013 at 5:22 pm

WTF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • W33D ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • thiaguest on May 23, 2013 at 5:25 pm

W1N – care for bidding?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on May 23, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Good news is: More income for JPJ revenue
    Bad news is: Raykat need for out more $ for this numbers.
    Bang Balls: those current drivers especially 1 owning so call “nice plate” DON’T expect can sell higher price in future.

Damn good news to runners because now they can charge extra for this new plates!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
  • sick&tired on May 23, 2013 at 5:26 pm

whats with the e36?

• Short sighted JPJ, W1A to W9999Y will not work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
  • W1A for RM10 only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • watdehek on May 23, 2013 at 5:54 pm

jpj should do W1A 1-W1A 9999 then change it to W2A 1-W2A 9999 THEN CHANGE TO W9A 1-W9A 9999 THEN AFTER THAT COMES LETTER ‘B’ W1B 1-W1B 9999, AFTER W1Y9999,COMES W2A 1-W2A 9999…UNTIL W9Y 9999..I THINK THIS METHOD WILL LAST LONGER..AFTER THAT MAYBE CAN U W1AA 1 UNTIL W1YY 9999

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
  • JOHNNY on May 23, 2013 at 5:56 pm

AFTER WYY WILL BE V ONLY THGEN VA , VB, VC.
    W X A IS ALREADY BEEN REGISTER BY CAR TRADE PLATE.

• why not WAAA ?? JPJ is such a DUMB !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 51
  • Audi Faliq Ibrahim on May 23, 2013 at 6:02 pm

I think the better format after WYY 9999 is WA xxxx A, then WA xxxx B, etc. Simpler and understandable, and no conflict with those trade plates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Black on May 23, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Kinda dumb if u ask me, swapping 26 permutation alphabets to 10 permutation digits.

What’s the problem with WAAA xxxx to WYYY xxxx, then WAAAA xxxx. The length would grow slower wouldn’t it.

New minister wanting to leave a legacy I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Our PM will bid for W1M. For sure one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 6:04 pm

I believe WAA 1234 A because Kuching adopted QAA 1234 A from QAY 9999 in 2011… Instead of QA 1234 A, Kuching choose to adopt QAA 1234 A…

W 1234 A is not being issued due to trade plates…

• let see who will own these two plates

• borabora on May 23, 2013 at 6:24 pm

what’s so dumb about the idea? W1A till W9999Y finish then they can do WA1A till WA9999Y, WB1A – WB9999Y and so on. If that’s not enough, then still got WAA1A till WYY9999Y. That is a lot of cars mind u..and don’t be so ‘jakun”, sabah and sarawak already implemented letters at the back way before us.

• Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Sarawak Kuching adopted QAA 1234 A from QAY 9999 instead of QA 1234 A… High possibility WAA 1234 A since Kuching started QAA 1234 A on 2011…

Also W 1234 A is a traders plate… No way to use such format..

• rosdan teh on May 23, 2013 at 6:27 pm

JPJ should start it with WAAA1234, instead of W1A
    but the tender income for the latter would be much much higher…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • akula on May 23, 2013 at 9:17 pm

too long man…still don’t understand why ka? aiyoooo…

• With your suggestion, the car registration plate will clash with some proton waja when it reaches WAJA9999

• rosdan teh on May 23, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Sabah already got alphabet at the back of its plate..
    what would happen after SYY9999A?.
    thats why we should use WAAA1234 instead of W1A

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 7:44 pm

No such thing SYY 9999 Y… Sabah and Sarawak number plates registered according to districts… SAB 1234 N = Kota Kinabalu, SB 1234 A = Beaufort, SS 1234 K = Sandakan, ST 1234 C = Tawau, SK 1234 A = Kudat… QAA 1234 F = Kuching, QMV 1234 = Miri, QSY 1234 = Sibu…

• Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Quite long time for Kota Kinabalu to get SAY 9999 Y… SAA 1234 A introduced on 2001.. SAY 9999 Y maybe at year 2030++… Right now is SAB 1234 N… Very long time to become SAC 1234 A…

• Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Maybe year 2100++ to get SAY 9999 Y… Year 2020, Kota Kinabalu maybe SAB 1234 Y…

• Abg Long on May 23, 2013 at 6:31 pm

i’m ok with this format :)

• Alan Lee on May 23, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Luckily not WAAA 1234, i hate this kind of format, ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • mustafa on May 23, 2013 at 8:00 pm

from W1A to W9999Y = 23 x 9999 = 222,977 vehicle
    from W1A to WY9999Y = 24 x 23 x 9999 = 5,519, 448 vehicle
    from WAA1A to WAY9999Y = 23 x 23 x9999 = 5,289,471 vehicle
    from WAA1A to WYY9999Y = 23 x 23 x 23 x 9999 = 121,657,833 vehicle
    so from W1A to WYY9999Y will require 127,177,281 vehicle to be registered in KL…

if my maths is correct….

• Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Have you seen Kuching number plate?.. It never start QA 1234 A from QAY 9999… It begin QAA 1234 A in 2011…

W 1234 A is a traders plate… Impossible to use…

• I don’t think it will follow kuching plate. KL vehicle adopter rate is higher compared to kuching. If they start with WAA1A, KL will runs out of number fast.

• versionX on Jun 07, 2013 at 6:40 am

from W1A to W9999Y = 23 x 9999 = 222,977 vehicle

this part i already dont understand… A-Z there are 26 characters… minus Z should have 25 characters… so why 23 x 9999?

• samloo on May 23, 2013 at 8:24 pm

W7F

• this type of plates had been in place in sarawak n sabah, running number in swk is QAA 1234 F, but they started this version with QAA 1 A and not like in wilayah, with W 1 A

• Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 9:32 pm

W 1 A is traders plate… Not possible to issue… WAA 1 A is possible…

• Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 8:41 pm

QAA 1989 C… Kuching number plate…

http://europlateblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/p1030090.jpg

• frenzyaustin on May 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm

W222 S. Future S-Class owner dream plate.

• Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 8:55 pm

SAB 1234 N = Kota Kinabalu

KV 1234 D = Langkawi

QAA 1234 F = Kuching

Nothing is confusing… But remember… Kuching adopted QAA 1234 A on 2011 from QAY 9999… High possibility WAA 1234 A…

• Ah Long on May 23, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Look on Sibu number plate… Right now is QSY 6445… High possibility will become QSA 1234 A after QSY 9999 because Kuching adopted QAA 1234 F…

• APKing on May 23, 2013 at 9:23 pm

from W1A to W9999Y = 23 x 9999 = 229,977
    from WA1A to WY9999Y = 23 x 23 x 9999 = 5,289,471
    from WAA1A to WYY9999Y = 23 x 23 x 23 x 9999 = 121,657,833

which will be enough to last for around 350 years at current kl reg rate.

• SomeOne on May 23, 2013 at 9:38 pm

I’m wondering who will buy this number at Penang
    PUK1, PUK11, PUK111, PUK1111 and PQL15

• Noname on May 23, 2013 at 10:30 pm

List of latest number plate from jpj website – http://www.jpj.gov.my/transaksi-percuma-no.-pendaftaran-terkini

• me and rosdan , WAAA xxxx !!
    last longer ,simple and no conflict !
    JPJ is SUCK !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • I was thinking a bit and though of cars that were “condame” due to accident or other reasons. Since the plates are not in used, would it be possible for JPJ to revive it and sell those plates??

• W 8888 B

• CommonSense on May 23, 2013 at 11:47 pm

It looks messy. What happened to the proposal to introduce personalized number plates?

• Jay Cee on May 24, 2013 at 12:26 am

In my opinion, it should continue it with YAA. No state is using Y alphabet. After W is Y. Why not continue with the Alphabet Sequencing. after WYY -> YAA 1-9999. Then YAB 1-9999. If YAB doesn’t fit, then why not use XAA, XAB and XAC. at least it’s not messy. Introducing 1 Character at the back might caused confusion. Imagine the A at the back is dropped. It might be duplicate car plate OTR.

• Anti-Ah Long on May 24, 2013 at 1:47 am

Ah Long, what’s the issue of keep telling us about Kuching. What happens to Kuching might not be implemented here. Speculation is the mother of all evil. :)

• Ah Long on May 24, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Because Kuching adopted in 2011 (most recent)… I don’t know about Peninsular…

• fairgo on May 24, 2013 at 2:27 am

the government seems to lack verve these days.

to me V1, V2, V3 etc is much neater and better looking.

in singapore plates the last character is a ‘checksum digit’ designed to catch data entry errors.

on a related note, JPJ/RTD must implement a high security plate system and vehicle identification system immediately. fake number plates are great friends to criminals (editors: can you do an article on this?)

• fairgo on May 24, 2013 at 2:32 am

[please delete/ignore previous comment]

the government seems to lack verve these days.

to me V1, V2, V3 etc is much neater and better looking.

in singapore plates the last character is a ‘checksum digit’ designed to catch data entry errors.

on a related note, JPJ/RTD must implement a high security plate system immediately. fake number plates are great friends to criminals (editors: it will be great if you could look into doing an article on this.)

• jeremy on May 24, 2013 at 3:44 am

W176A for future a-class owners…

• Khir Toyota on May 24, 2013 at 9:07 am

It’s a W33P for me…

• X Lupa Dot Com on May 24, 2013 at 9:47 am

Our PM will bid for W1M. For sure one.

• Modesto.hann on May 24, 2013 at 9:57 am

How many increment of last letter a normal human being can manage to see before he’ s gone? 1 or 2? By the time it is B, I think half of the people here are no longer breathing oxigen.

• Ah Long on May 24, 2013 at 10:41 am

I prefer UK or Ireland style age identifier number plate because some of new car adopts old number plate and some old cars were using number plate… The car must carry current number plate to know what year is registered or the age of the car..

UK LA13 ABC or Ireland 131-D-12345

• Ah Long on May 24, 2013 at 10:51 am

Such age identifier number plate is very useful to determine exactly the age of the car and new cars must carry new number plate or old cars need to re-register carry the year identifier number plate to know the age of the car…

in UK… It is illegal to use new number plate at the old car… For example car MY 2006… It must carry LA55 ABC, LA06 ABC or LA56 ABC number plate only… Not allowed newer than that…

Plus… Used recondition cars are many in Malaysia… With age identifier number plate, able to determine the age of the car and must register the number plate according to the age of the car.

• Ah Long on May 24, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Finally… I prove myself that I’m wrong… I’m Happy…

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2013/5/23/nation/20130523141807&sec=nation

• Pure Stupid ! coz JPJ dun even know ‘W’ was not Wilayah but province wellesley (Prai/Penang) ; Wilayah number started with’WA” initially … Why I complain coz I hv WA plate which now worthless…Idiot

• MrDDR on May 24, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Just thinking should start with F since for Federal. Imagine how much “F 1” worth.

• Ah Long on May 24, 2013 at 9:18 pm

http://www.jpj.gov.my/siri-nombor-pendaftaran-wilayah-persekutuan-kuala-lumpur

• wa hai say w h 4

• Takeo1070 on May 26, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Am looking forward to selangor plate no…..BMW……wow…..

• Yuzdi on May 27, 2013 at 10:00 am

I suggest:
    1. The plate number background shall be different color instead black now;
    2. Government cars should register different alphabet so it won’t run that fast. Like now most registered in Wilayah. Say “G” alphabet. So, ez for us to know those gov staff misuse their car for personal;
    3. Police should use special alphabet similar like army, say “Y”.

• Ah Long on May 27, 2013 at 3:03 pm

I like your idea because Sabah and Sarawak have government plates which is SG and QSG… Y is keep unused because letter Y is being used in Singapore… Y is Singapore container number plate… Government cars must carry “Kerajaan Malaysia” road tax which is RM 0 for 5 years… With G number plate, “Kerajaan Malaysia” road tax can only be issued with the G number plates…

example:

GA = Perak Govt
      GB = Selangor Govt
      GC = Pahang Govt
      GW = Ministries and Federal Govt (Example Prime Minister must carry GW 1 number plate)
      GX = Police
      GH = Public Hospital Ambulances
      GF = Fire Brigades

and many more…

• assholes on May 27, 2013 at 1:54 pm

I love W15E

• Bantuan Wanita Satu Malaysia W1M

• anWar on Jul 18, 2013 at 2:24 pm

W 2786 A…

• 1W 1 to 1W 9999; 1WA 1 to 1WA 9999 better lah

• WYY9999 n WYY1 belong to sultan johor……

• Ali Karim on Sep 12, 2013 at 6:35 am

On top of which, JPJ should relook at its number formatting and immolate Europe/Singapore to have a set that communicates more than just a car identification.

• leewl on Sep 12, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Endless possibilities.

• Navin Tharan on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:36 am

W111Y – can or not?

• Faisal on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:46 pm

WH4T???? Haha