Ford Kuga – seen at 1U roadshow, also on test at JPJ

Ford Kuga roadshow 4

Not long more to go before the Ford Kuga makes its Malaysian market debut, by the looks of it – a Ginger Ale-coloured example undergoing type approval evaluation has been spotted in the JPJ Putrajaya car park by reader ApexKit.

On top of that, two Frozen White units are currently on display at the Ford roadshow in 1Utama this weekend, which means you can get up close and personal with the vehicle. Order books opened earlier in the month, with estimated pricing being RM168,000, and word is that it’ll come with a five-year warranty and three-year free service package when launched.

Only one variant of the Spanish-assembled SUV will be arriving here, a 1.6 litre EcoBoost Titanium version. The 180 PS and 240 Nm turbocharged lump will be paired to a six-speed SelectShift automatic transmission featuring revised gear ratios and a new torque converter.

Ford Kuga roadshow 13

Aside from the segment-first hands-free tailgate, in which simply sweeping a foot under the rear bumper allows the opening or closing of the rear tailgate automatically, the Kuga will come with seven airbags, Electronic Stability Control (ESP) with ABS, Trailer Sway Control and Hill Start Assist, Brake Assist and rear parking sensors.

The Titanium specification level for Malaysia includes fabric/leather combination seat material as well as 17-inch nine double-spoke alloys, wrapped with 235/55 profile tyres; in the case of the two display Kugas, Hankook DynaPro HP RA23s. Available colours in addition to the above-mentioned shades are Moondust Silver and Panther Black.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• PauKaya on May 26, 2013 at 12:46 am

would love to see how it compares against the cx-5. but right now, the way it looks just doesn’t do enough to steer me away from the mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
    • Dr Mamak on May 26, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Compared to CRV, both Kuga and CX5 got no rear aircon vents – now thats a deal breaker for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 55
      • Moores on May 26, 2013 at 8:46 pm

You conveniently ignored all these features in Cx5 like 6 airbags against 4, tire monitoring, leather seats, power seat, rear n front sensor, 6speed, best fuel consumption in its class, traction control and etc. Just one air con vent can break your deal. No wonder Malaysians are flooded with under specced H and T.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 22
        • Ford Owner on May 27, 2013 at 9:20 am

I would really stay away from Ford. Yes, the car maybe good and all that and with all sorts of features but the service is very bad. I have had several Fords and I can verify and confirm with you, Ford parts take a hell of a long time to arrive. You have to wait for 3 months for the most basic parts. If big parts, I don’t know, maybe even longer. So, if you car is “undriveable”, you will have no car for 3 months, assuming you don’t have a 2nd car at home. My car side mirror got smashed by a motorbike and it took them 3 months to replace it. The same thing happened to my Honda and Honda took 2 hours to replace it. That is the difference between Honda and Ford. 3 months vs 2 hours. If you ever wondered why people in Malaysia worship Honda and Toyota even though both Honda and Toyota give us under specced cars and rip us off, this is the reason. Secondly, Ford cars are plagued with gearbox failures. I think they use the same concept gearbox as VW, though I am not sure. But my car had several times gearbox failures. 3rdly, also an important fact, Ford RV drops like a stone. You buy this car for RM170,000, you try to sell it next year, you will get about RM90,000 only. Ford cars, though they are so continental to drive, their RV is one of the worst. Don’t talk about RV, just trying to sell the car alone will take you at least a year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 21
          • Ford yes and I heard about their poor after sales. Having said that, Honda are also not perfect depending what you want and coincidentally they don’t have that particular part. I once owned a City and later changed to the previous Mazda 6 model. Claimed warranty on both brand. City with leaked fog light and waiting for almost 1 month. Mazda6 with faulty tweeter but it only takes 1 week. I consider tweeter is a very rare part which most center will not store it. SO I was pleasantly surprised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • RejimKejamGanas on May 26, 2013 at 11:56 pm

The Kuga does have rear air-cond vents. Saw it in the flesh at 1U today. Now you can fast-fast go and book one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
      • i tot safety is the priority when buy a car..u all said that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Danial Lim on May 27, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I own a F10 BMW and a Ford Escape. The Ford Escape maintenance is far more than the BMW. The past 3 years has been a nightmare. Ford parts are not just expensive but super expernsive.
        Only buy Ford if you are very rich and buying it because you prefer the brand. Otherwise, if you are a normal wage earner, please be careful. I earn 5 figures also, I myself think Ford parts prices are just too exorbitant. Don’t be fooled also buy the high number of Fiestas on the road. These people are like the “Printer theory” or Gillete theory. Buy a printer, it is so cheap, but the ink cartridge is far more than the printer. Gillete the same. The gillete shaver is so cheap but you kena hantam with the high prices of the blades. Now, Fiesta buyers are crying to the bank. They all though it was super cheap, but everytime they send for service, then they feel it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
        • printershop on May 27, 2013 at 6:01 pm

It is more like canon VS hp printers, lol. Canon printer is quite expensive, the ink is cheap, hp printer is cheaper but the ink is quite expensive.

Choose wich one is better for you.

• Ppl who choose this SUV, let me tell u, u got good taste!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • 1.6 litre EcoBoost Titanium version. The 180 PS and 240 Nm turbocharged lump ….lower road tax, higher power & torque compared to both the CX5 & CRV 2.0 litre NA engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • OMG…the exterior design is ugly…CRV & CX5 look nicer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Maniac on Jun 19, 2013 at 1:03 pm

CRV is way uglier than Kuga la …OMG no wonder so many uncle n aunty design in the market gosh! This year Honda designers r sucks look at the awful Civic!

• YAY!! It’ s here. but aside from the obvious positive points of the Kuga(I like the Escape name batter), Not liking the placement instrument, looks to low and does malaysian really tow things o have that Trailer Sway Control? I’ ll ditch that GPS Navigation.

I’ll stop by on Monday to see weather it’s still there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • SUV lover on May 26, 2013 at 1:17 am

abit pricey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • iLoveFord on May 26, 2013 at 9:28 am

I agree. If this come as a replacement for Ford Escape. Seems more reasonable.

RM170k price range should just leave it for Ford Everest Huge 7 seater SUV to compete with Toyota Fortuner and Mitsu Pajero Sport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • ford kuga white colour is beautiful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • how come the rear (right to the liftgate) doesn’t have titanium logo? I thought we are getting a titanium version for Malaysia? or they are realizing the user backlash from passing-off underspec machine as titanium model? no powerseat, no autopark, no front sensor, no sunroof? come on ford you can do better than this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
  • King kong on May 26, 2013 at 7:42 am

I would love to get this or the cx 5 but the wife says CRV look more sexy, Soccer mom’s SUV it is, sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • yeah I agree the wife finally decides what car to buy..the husband just pays..in my case it was originally K2 or Rio but wife had eyes set on K3..more delay and she would switch to K5..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Ford should have brought in the 2.0 model rather than 1.6cc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • there is no such thing as a 2.0 kuga worldwide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Colin Wong on May 26, 2013 at 8:45 pm

That is true. Check out Wikipedia. 2.0 diesel yes.

• RejimKejamGanas on May 27, 2013 at 12:01 am

They have it in 2.0 Ecoboost in the US:
        http://www.ford.com/suvs/escape/trim/titanium/

It is the same vehicle just different name.

• Ford Owner on May 27, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Unless you mean 2.0 Kuga in Malaysia, then there isnt any. But in the US, they’ve re-badged the Kuga as an Escape and they have a 2.0 ecoboost (240ps) engine used in the Mondeo and S-Max. The 1.6 ecoboost is a lower spec of engine available.

• zamer on May 26, 2013 at 11:38 am

2.0 is a numb engine..driven the focus and its not up to my expectation.
      2.0: 200nm
      1.6T: 240nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Ford Owner on May 27, 2013 at 12:13 pm

I agree with you. The 2.0 found in the current Focus is nothing like the 2.0 ecoboost engine compared to the one used in Mondeo. That is whats lacking in the Ford focus as its using a 2.0 NA. They should have used the ecoboost as standard

• 1.6 + ecoboost is better than most 2.0 suv…not suprise if kuga perform even better than crv 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Honda on May 27, 2013 at 9:13 am

For sure this Kuga will perform better for day to day drive compared to a CRV….the Kuga 1.6 ecoboost churned out 240nm from low 1,500 rpm compared to CRV’s 2.0ivtec which only churned out a puny 190nm from very high 4,000rpm….its reknowned worldwide that honda’s ivtec are torqueless at low rpm, u need to rev its to make decent progress which will hurts your FC (but its a sweet revving engine which more suited for the track)

• lonelyobserve on May 26, 2013 at 6:37 pm

So you want the 2.0L Duratorq engine? It has two configurations: 140ps with 320Nm and 163ps with 340Nm.

• They should bring the focus with this engine

• CarBuyer on May 26, 2013 at 8:34 am

International specs are attractive. Unfortunately when it comes to Malaysia, most of the equipment are taken out. At this price point, it compares with VW Cross Touran and if the international specs are included, price might well be same as that of a Mercedes B-Class !! Is it worth that price for a Ford ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • pity..!! there is no REVERSE CAMERA which is a common item in most SUV nowadays…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • Titanium spec should come with full leather seats. Dislike the fabric/leather combination seat material just down graded the interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • richard912 on May 26, 2013 at 9:08 am

No electric seats, not even for the driver :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Gegary on May 26, 2013 at 9:47 am

Serious question: A lot of people seem to like SUVs, but rarely go off-road. Is the higher FC, bumpier ride worth it? Is it just the bigger space?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Malaysian on May 26, 2013 at 10:11 am

Bitch, people buy what they want, so shut up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 43
      • Colin Wong on May 26, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Malaysian, spare the B*** word, wouldn’t want anyone to use it on your Mum or Sis right? Cut the habit. It will do you good.

BTW, do not hide behind a pseudonym while you are at it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
      • Rulered on May 27, 2013 at 5:33 am

Worthwhile if you take account the amount of flash floods and huge puddles in city areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • the looks and space

• frustrated on May 26, 2013 at 11:08 am

It’s not just the extra space. SUVs give the impression that its safer due to size n height. U can’t tell how an accident will happen but it gives extra level of comfort to u for any fender bender.
      Had a kimchi. Sold it. Sustained great losses. U guysknow the story.
      Changed to suv. Had a tough time choosing. Again u guys know the story
      I have opted for a more sustained value.

• Speedo Swimming Trunks on May 26, 2013 at 11:55 am

actually you get a more comfortable ride

• guess7 on May 26, 2013 at 10:06 am

Crv also pricey, even with incoming 2.4 version.

• Henry Leong on May 26, 2013 at 10:29 am

Funny that the salesman told me it is made in Germany when I asked him where it is assembled. Was stoned awhile when I heard the word ‘Germany’= Ford. Huh! Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • tokmoh on May 26, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Kesian, rusa masuk kampung tak tau Ford ada research facility kat Germany.

“The Ford Research Center Aachen, founded in 1994, is dedicated to basic as well as applied research, and collaborates with suppliers, institutions and universities worldwide. It is the only Ford Motor Company research location in the world outside of Detroit and has around 250 employees from over 25 nations. ”

http://designtaxi.com/news/24004/New-Managing-Directors-At-Ford-Aachen-Research-Centre/

But I think I read somewhere say all these Kuga are CBU from Spain for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • blems on May 26, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Assembly plant is different from research facility. Got it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Henry Ford the XII on May 27, 2013 at 8:38 am

If aint mistaken Ford Focus Mk2 was assembled in Germany.

• tokmoh on May 27, 2013 at 3:00 pm

My point is some Fords such as Kuga is thoroughly Conti, despite being American brand.

“Made” may refer to whether it’s “designed” or “assembled”.

• Checked out the Kuga last nite, i must say i was astounded by how premium the interior felt. It shares alot of parts with the focus, but sitting in the Kuga, it oozes quality, everything in the focus feels cheap compared to the Kuga.

We are currently looking at the Kuga/CX5/V40 (launching soon) but right now the Kuga is def no.1 on the list. yes its 20k more then the CRV, but for 20k you get +3 airbags, xenons, powered liftgate, torque vectoring, keyless and leather. Arguably the kuga is less “hot” then CRV/CX5, so less worry about carjacking and theft. For ppl who prefer japs, its a free country, buy the jap, but dont hate on a very nice alternative

The Kuga is CBU from spain, so its naturally more expensive then the CKD CX5 and CRV, for ppl who are saying its expensive, please compare to the 1.4tsi Golf which is almost the same price, but you get smaller cc, less space, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 18
    • gynecologist on May 26, 2013 at 12:56 pm

u smell like a ford’s sales agent!
      u worried that the sales will be bad isn’t ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 52
  • ford fan on May 26, 2013 at 11:11 am

a built sat nav is not important for me since i have a smartphone, but the 1.6 ecoboost engine does sound tempting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • jilbaber on May 26, 2013 at 11:45 am

Please review it against Sportage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • _xXx_ on May 26, 2013 at 2:55 pm

im waiting for big discount like the one given to mondeo ecoboost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Shawn on May 26, 2013 at 2:57 pm

No offense but this kuga aint better than crv or cx5 in terms of interior and exterior.
    Interior looks messy and exterior design looks belong to older generation of vehicles

Lets see how the price and its performance goes to finalise the evaluation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Moores on May 26, 2013 at 8:49 pm

100% agreed. Design looks old and interior looks even worse, old and messy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • xiper on May 26, 2013 at 3:40 pm

CX5 is on the upper hand overall except for the engine! This ecoboost engine is the only selling point imho..

• akula on May 26, 2013 at 4:23 pm

ahhhh…no blue colour, no sunroof, no 19″ wheels, no 8″ display c/w navi and reverse camera…etc, etc..I hate SDAC…at least give the option laa….
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKXHlmT61QA&feature=player_embedded

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • So you want to tell me that you wish ford to be bombarded by buyers about how expensive the tires will be when you changed them and did what mazda did by reducing the size of the rims? They learn from others’ mistakes. But can’t argue about the other ones. So, still bad.

• akula on May 27, 2013 at 9:50 am

that’s why I said `at least give the option’ maa..
        so, people who got extra money can buy a better one maa..

• No no on May 26, 2013 at 7:18 pm

I am in One U New Wing now. Sat on the Kuga. It looks good but pity that those front seats can’t fully support my big buttock.

• Gavin on May 26, 2013 at 7:31 pm

If it came with a diesel, it’s a good buy but otherwise the new Santa fe is my choice

• dozy8888 on May 26, 2013 at 10:38 pm

cheapo tyres???~~!!!

• Mat Global on May 26, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Somehow, Ford Kuga won’t be popular here. The choice right now is still between Crv and CX 5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • I really dont understand Ford dont they do research….Malaysian do not need towing or dont tow much except tow water craft. Please include sat nav.

• Michael on May 27, 2013 at 10:09 am

Looks like a turd with a high price tag.

• gOOsh on May 27, 2013 at 10:21 am

so, need to do some homework… either to choose CX-5 or Kuga…

• pelams on May 27, 2013 at 10:22 am

i prefer diesel though..

• Kuga is “better” car than CRV and CX5, but the price is formidable.And again I think FORD Malaysia has to reconsider its pricing strategy and specs offering.We Malaysians want a better spec, at reasonable market price.

• gerald on Jun 02, 2013 at 9:23 pm

agree with siva, ford Malaysia should give better specs and reasonable sale and parts price.