Car price drop to happen, will take some time

used-car-dealer1

Well, not that it’s any surprise, but don’t be expecting cheaper cars in the near future – Bernama reports that a research house has indicated that the government is likely to take some time to implement a plan to reduce car prices in Malaysia.

According to a note issued by JF Apex Securities, the government would need to consider the potential outcome, given that it would dampen Proton’s market share. It added that a feasibility study on the overall impact needed to be carried out so as to avoid disruptions to the automotive ecosystem.

As such, the research house said it didn’t foresee changes in the coming months while waiting for the revised National Automotive Policy to come about.

In its election campaign, the government had pledged to reduce car prices by 20% to 30%. It had earlier said in 2012 that there were no plans to reduce excise duties, stating that doing so would collapse the used car market and significantly reduce revenue for the government.

The note stated that the second-hand car market would take a hit should the prices be reduced by such via a reduction in excise duties – which make up the largest bulk of a car’s price – of between 75% and 105%.

While such a move would be a boon for first-time buyers, especially in the B-segment, JF Apex said that it would not be the same for existing owners looking to trade-in used cars, what with the drop in second-hand values. It added that the move towards reduction would be through manageable means, saying that the government wouldn’t allow drastic changes overnight, given the implications for the entire industry.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kerol on May 28, 2013 at 1:30 pm

as expected from BN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 462 Thumb down 48
    • Petrolhead on May 28, 2013 at 2:25 pm

“significantly reduce revenue for the government” my ass! more like the government needs more cash to cover its debt over the cash vouchers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 320 Thumb down 24
      • Jimmy on May 28, 2013 at 4:33 pm

I have been commenting here for a while and I can tell you one thing, there are many stupid Malaysians still wanting high car prices. No idea why. Tak cantiq lah this attitude. It is silly people like this that makes our government want to put high car prices. Selfish attitude. So scared your RV will drop. But you don’t think about your kids generation and their generation after that or even the number of cars you are going to buy in your lifetime. All this small minded people think about is their current RV. Please stop being short sighted. Yes, you lose a bit now but in your lifetime, you will save even up to a million. We all buy about 6 to 8 cars in our lifetime and if we are overcharged per car so much, yes, it will run into more than a million in your lifetime. But you are so worried about your RV now and that little 20 or 30k you are going to lose now. This is bodohism. Which is greater lose RM20k now or lose RM1 million over your lifetime? Please lah people, use your brains a bit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 410 Thumb down 33
        • Turunkan Harga Kereta on May 28, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Come and see how much your BN government is cheating you all. With the average Malaysian buying at least 8 cars in their lifetime, your entire family, including your wife and kids over pay in the millions. Per family alone overpays by 2 to 3 million in their lifetime. You times that with millions of families in Malaysia, government gets trillions. But it goes into few pockets.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/opinion/2012/08/16/why-are-malaysian-car-prices-so-expensive/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 74
          • Johnny on May 28, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Dude, have a look at fuel prices in USA and you’ll shit bricks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 96
          • FaithLess on May 29, 2013 at 12:31 am

To Johnny,

According to GasBuddy, the average fuel price in the USA currently is USD3.65/US Gallon. That works out to about RM2.94 per litre which is only about RM1.00 more.

Now considering that a 2013 Honda Civic is around RM57K cheaper in the USA compared to Malaysia, how do you justify your “fuel prices in the USA = shit bricks” statement?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 9
          • Johnny on May 29, 2013 at 8:50 am

BN: because they are BIG BOSS in Malaysia. thats why do what they like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
          • MrDDR on May 29, 2013 at 9:23 am

Because off fuel price rising other item also will be rise. Sugar, Salt, Kicap, Laksa, Nasi Lemak also up la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • I don’t understand why the car owners are so concern about RV. Car is not an investment, but normally people sell car because they want to exchange/upgrade with better cars. Eg. 5 years vios current RV is 45k and to upgrade to Altis of RM120k you need to top up another 75k. With the abolishment of exise duties, no doubt the RV may go down to 15k to 20k but the altis price will also go down to 90k. So you will still ended paying 75k for the new car. It will benefit the young generation and the first time car buyers. The one who need to be worried are not the owner, but the second hand dealers and the cronies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 14
          • Wow, since couple of weeks before GE13, I’ve realized that DAP Cybertroopers are on Paultan.org too.
            Spewing disinformation and hate around.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 199 Thumb down 289
          • @jack No shit bro…BN tropper here too claiming that we are misinformed when the tweet came from your boss. Dont tell me his tweet account got hack. Cant even tell between disinformation and information. idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
        • angry bird2 on May 28, 2013 at 9:46 pm

This is rakyat diperbodohkan, kedudukan di utamakan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 28
      • Jimmy on May 28, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Lets also face facts. all this high prices is to protect the AP Bumi cronies. The high prices benefit them the most. They cheat people left right and centre and they are all cronies of the BN government. The rakyat must stop buying from this Bumiputera AP cronies completely as this is encouraging and creating demand for them. The whole idea of the AP policy was to encourage Bumiputera participation in the car industry. But we all know, 99% of all AP holders sell the APs to the Chinaman. And it is the Chinaman that is doing the car business. So, what is the whole purpose of the AP system in the first place? Also, we all know what these AP holders do. They all buy heavily used ex car rental cars that have been trashed beyong kingdom come. They all have very high mileage of around 100,000KM. They come to Malaysia, these AP cronies clock down the odometer to some low figure, say 8000KM. You see, in the UK, its opposite from Malaysia. The price of a car is determined by mileage and not year of make. For example, a 2012 Mercedes E250 with 100,000 KM on it will be sold very much cheaper than a same 2010 Mercedes E250 with 30,000KM on it. Any car in the UK with high milegae is sold for dirt cheap prices eventhough the year of make is new eg 2012 or 2011. So, these AP cronies bring these cars down, 99% of which a ex rental cars, and then clock the odometer down and bluff you that the car has hardly been used. As Malaysian prices are based on year of make, they make a killing of a profit selling 2009/2010/2011/2012 cars that they bought cheaply because they were high mileage cars. You as the consumer lose out big time. Because, not only you are paying high prices thinking it is a new car, you will have to spend a couple of hundred thousand more to just change parts alone because all the parts have been worn out as these cars have done over 100,000KM. You have been conned. You think seeing 8000km on the odometer that you are getting a good deal ie brand new car but at the end, you get a car needing so much repair. Ask the Porsche Centre in Glenmarie. 9 out of 10 AP cars that go to them using Porsche proprietory diagnostic machine, the owner gets a shock of their lives. They see their so called 8000K or 10,000KM mileage actually showing 100,000KM or even 300,000KM. There was one Porsche owner who bought his 2007 C2S with 25,000KM got a shock of his life seeing 300,000 KM on Porsche’s ECU proprietory diagnostic machine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 292 Thumb down 41
        • Sadly most BN don’t have such intelligence to understand it…hence undilah BN forever…BR1M RM1200 lagi…mana tidak mati-mati undi BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 88
        • Jimmy on May 28, 2013 at 5:26 pm

1. There are so many young Jimmys around.
          2. Too many kawans to take care, so little work can be done.
          3. All vehicles should not be tax free; take care of common rakyats and, luxurious vehicles need to pay more, and I am willing to pay.
          4. Do not reduce company taxes or % of maximal personal tax(honest people are willing to pay, hopefully no makan suap of our tax money); as a trade off, do not, I repeat, do not implement GST, as this is forcing the poors to pay equal amount of tax like the richs, and it has huge impact on the poors.
          5. Many of yous and us who have computers have done good jobs by voting wisely in urban areas.
          6. Hello, kawans Sabah & Sarawak, salam sejahtera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 69
          • On your comment about GST affecting the poor, please educate yourself about the proposed GST in Malaysia.
            Obviously you don’t pay personal income tax and don’t believe in a holistic tax system.
            And you sound condescending when you imply the rural and Sabah Sarawak voters are less smarter compared to you. I would love to know your background and accomplishment that you think so highly of yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 105
        • RedLine on May 29, 2013 at 12:43 pm

If what you say is true, then why don’t these car owners (like this porsche owner SUE the hell out of the car dealer? If cases like these truly happens on the scale that you are suggesting, I’m sure there must be people who complaint or sue this people by now….Cases like these should make headlines in the newspapers and blogs.

• carazy on May 28, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Capati anyone?? or “Janji Dicapati”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 53
    • Owrly on May 28, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Wonder who get the last laugh? Kronies or BN voters???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
    • i dont like when everything become politic..it suck!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 17
    • Kumar san on May 28, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Agreed bro,yeah right BN,keep them lies coming,you can’t even get the freakin NAP right in the first place and you want to reduce car prices?We hardworking Malaysians are so touched by your empathy..really.we are so moved.

Come 2017 you will give more excuses and it will be again as expected like Kerol said..yada,yada,yada..we are used to this bull so what else is new?

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 43
    • Apa lagi rakyat mahu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
  • WHY?! on May 28, 2013 at 1:33 pm

you voted for them…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 212 Thumb down 122
    • Owrly on May 28, 2013 at 4:19 pm

BN voters now feeling like ostrich bury their heads in sand…aduhh mana nak letak muka malu ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 70
  • Implication to the automotive industry if car prices reduced.

(refer: cronies that would lost their massive profit, and car taxes that the govt considered as their “permanent source of income”)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 35
    • AKULA on May 28, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 362
      • Orly? on May 28, 2013 at 3:26 pm

I see no reduction by the government, fact.
        PR may do the same thing, pure speculation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 43
      • artworks on May 28, 2013 at 3:46 pm

no need help ur beloved PM to say anything by blaming PR or say PR also same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 78
      • driver on May 28, 2013 at 4:13 pm

bai.. PR xpernah diberi peluang pn.. tapi BN dh lebih 50 tahun. kroni di jaga, rakyat dapat apa? aku tak paham org yg xnk kebaikan ni. pelik.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 83
        • akula on May 28, 2013 at 4:31 pm

bukan tak mau kebaikan bai..aku pun nak kereta murah gak…tapi kita kena tengok pada reality..kerajaan akan kehilangan RM7 billion setahun..adakah kerajaan PR kalau mmemerintah ingin kehilangan wang sebanyak itu? Aku rasa tidak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 162
          • Medic on May 28, 2013 at 4:42 pm

U rasa saje kan,bukan realiti.Kalau rakyat Msia boleh bagi BN peluang memerintah 50 thn,apa rugi kalau PR di beri peluang 5 thn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 107
          • Medic on May 28, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Yang realiti karang harge kereta mahal.Walau pun u sangsi PR boleh turun kan harga kereta,yang confirm ia tak kan lebih mahal daripada harga tinggi karang.Means car prices will stay or go down if PR takes over..So what u gotta lose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 68
          • prussiablue on May 28, 2013 at 4:48 pm

7 billion, if no corruption, what is RM7 billion!! Furthermore, cheaper car would actually mean consumers would have more money to spend on other things, like property or entertainment. All these will also boost economy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 48
          • Kalau PR dapat kurangkan Rasuah dapat balik berapa? RM70 Billion setahun? OK lah tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 55
          • driver on May 29, 2013 at 2:58 am

bukan tak tengok pada realiti bai.. tapi aku yakin dgn dorg nye manifesto sbb dorg bagitau MEKANISMA utk laksanakan. tak macam BN.. sampai sekarang aku tak tau mekanisma dorg nk turunkan rege kete.

ko kena ingat, ekonomi ni berpusing2. 7 bilion tu akan masuk balik dalam ekonomi bila rakyat guna duit tu utk beli benda2 lain. Bezanya ialah digunakan utk benda lain jugak, instead of spending solely on car. Hasilnya, kitaran 7 bilion tu akan lebih meluas, jadi ekonomi tak akan bergantung/pengkhususan pada satu jenis/sektor sahaja (kete).

Lagi satu, duit tu dapat masuk poket lebih ramai rakyat, bukan segelintir saja. Mana lebih elok, kebaikan majoriti atau segelintir? Aku rasa ko dh cukup bijak untuk menilai, cuma antara berani atau tak je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • angry bird2 on May 28, 2013 at 10:02 pm

You been diperbodohkan and still proud.wah kesianlah you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
      • yea…..betul…manifesto memang bukan janji…..good explain with regards to Najib’s tweet. I’ll keep that in mind for GE14 when I read BN’s bullshit copy PKR manifesto again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • No Hope on May 28, 2013 at 1:37 pm

As expected, the government will not reduce the excise duties. But will impose new tax – Sales tax.
    Sweet talk before general election, change face after general election. No hope. No hope.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 252 Thumb down 47
    • sales tax is new tax? i tot 10% sales tax is sales tax?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
      • why? you wanna increase it? Padan muka undi BN lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 64
        • FYI GST that gov want to implement is 4%…6% less than current sales tax of 10%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • azroy on May 28, 2013 at 9:45 pm

kemon bai… GST is 7% najib cakap 6%… dah menang 7%… FYI goods tax soon only 7% and service tax became 10%.. so total is 16% when u pay for a KFC meal.. padan moka hang.. itu baru KFC.. blom lain2 lagi… GST dilaksana utk menghapus cukai2 jualan yg dikenakan kepada pengilang dan pengeluar pd masa skrg ni.. almost 5%-20% according to company capital.. oi!! brapa banyak mau cukai ni????? dlm newspaper just bgtau GST dilaksana utk tambah pendapatan negara sbyk 20b-27b setahun.. xde pon dicakap utk menghapuskan cukai2 jualan yg dikenakan pd pengilang dan pengeluar tu.. oi!!! tau x national debt almost 490b dah skrg.. interest per second is rm514.00 sehingga 8hari ni, dah naik 400m sapa nk baya tu? klu x diorg mestila rakyat.. sbb tu dikenekan cukai tinggi2.. so hutang dibaya kroni kaut utg dgn sales yg cukainya tinggi.. mslhnya there are no any payments for our national debt!!! klu x pandai ekonomi jgn sembang psl tax!!! fukg looser bn supporters!!! sll the stupid in malaysia is bn supporters.. x pernah nk kaji betol2 what where happen in our economy scenario!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 26
    • james on May 28, 2013 at 10:36 pm

if car prices go down drastically, it will affected the industry greatly. for instance, the banks will have large writedowns of assets.secondly, we cant expect to have 9 year loans with low interest rates like rite now. thirdly, proton and produa sales will dropped like hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
      • kevkev on May 29, 2013 at 9:29 am

car manufacturers like proton don’t deserve to be treated like our country’s pet, it should be given minimal help when stable, to be able to compete with the international level, same goes to say, if my teacher allow me to cheat, HOW AM I SMARTER THAN EVERYONE ELSE IN CLASS???!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • your statement is correct. but let me tell you that the main reason the AP still stands is because of croynism and NEP policy. In reality, this can be rectified over time, but BN keeps giving excuses and delaying. WE WANT A PLAN. WHAT IS THE PLAN? We are not saying to drop it the price tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Valeo on May 29, 2013 at 10:32 am

Hello bro. If car prices come down, it will not cause the banks to write down their loans. The write-down happens only if the borrowers fail to repay their debts. I can tell you the probability of default is higher when borrowers need to borrow more and for longer periods. Also, you and I will not need a 9 year loan if car prices are cheaper, so why do you need to worry about this matter? Finally I believe its wrong for our Government to collect so much taxes from car sales as owning a car is a necessity nowadays. We have been screwed for so many years so please stop getting comfortable with it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • bystander on May 29, 2013 at 12:53 pm

when car prices went up artificially in the 80’s, did anyone care about the rakyat? did used car dealers complain then? did the rakyat who sold their cars and made money complain then? My aunt traded in her daihatsu charade for more than what she bought it for as foreign brands had to increase their prices, no one complain about making money even though it was MORALLY wrong. now wanna complain, bleh.

• Wait 5 more years la brother and sisters. Don’t need to get your hopes up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 18
    • Matchbox on May 28, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Useless bro, on the 4th year, they reduce tax by 10%, janji dicapati. 5th year, BN menang majoriti. So the cycle repeats.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 54
    • Yea and they got 5 more years to plan how to cheat votes again :((

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 31
  • salesman jalanan on May 28, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Semua ini cuma janji politik sahaja.
    Podah….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 64
  • Henry on May 28, 2013 at 1:41 pm

This Gomen is all talk no action. If they had started ten years ago by reducing 3% a year then car prices would be 30% lower by now. It is a painless way. Time passes by before you know it.

I guess the tax from cars is too damn good to forgo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 35
    • Gegary on May 28, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Or started 20 years ago by reducing corruption and stupidity in Proton, so don’t have to keep protecting those useless, rebadging, power-windowless buggers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 41
    • Henry on May 28, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Mustapha Mohammad said that the excise duty on cars is worth RM7 billion a year. That’s how good it is.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
      • Imagine also how much banks raking up profits from car loan interest 2-3% at least RM300-400 million per year out of nothing…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
      • that’s excluding the billions the cronies get from selling AP, one of the reasons to keep the prices high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Valeo on May 29, 2013 at 10:39 am

mzk, you are right about banks earning more profits from car loans. Due to the high car taxes, the man on the street is actually borrowing money to pay these taxes, not for the actual price of the car manufacturers

• policeman on May 28, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Biasalah, BN. I always practice “no expectations, no disappointments”
    Now, I am not disappointed .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 51
  • antaras on May 28, 2013 at 1:45 pm

I’m not surprised. Why am I not surprised with this? LOL~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 6
  • they’ve said it out loud it would hurt proton,
    so as long as proton still exist, car price will
    never be cheap…dream on

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 6
  • SonnyT on May 28, 2013 at 1:57 pm

E.X.C.U.S.E.S!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
  • CleverMunkey on May 28, 2013 at 2:01 pm

They said if car prices reduced, proton will suffer… proton has been selling cheaper cars in oversea oversea market with better specs. How come they didn’t suffer yet? I don’t really support on cheaper cars lah… it only benefits the rich. Make better infra and improve on public transport better… make the touch & go card just like ezlink card in Singapore. Everyone happy!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 4
    • Do you know who owns touch n go? CIMB. And who owns CIMB. Adik Najib lor…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 9
    • i see….let me draw a conclusion here. I assume you are not rich because you said cheaper priced cars benefit the rich. As such, you rather pay high car prices so that the rich cannot benefit? hahaha….sorry bro…but you’re stupid!

• Never make empty promises. It’s always about credibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • Cosmo Artemis on May 28, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 223
    • PR would do the same ? Duhhhh, get your facts right first !
      BN just copy PR manifesto without proper study, unlike PR.

As expected, flip flop government with minority support

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 69
      • they won 130 seats rite? how can minority support?..the largest community still support them..how can minority support?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 138
        • alvin on May 28, 2013 at 3:06 pm

they won with more seats not by popular vote!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 10
          • kasitaroh on May 28, 2013 at 4:17 pm

hoi, you want to win with a popular vote? than go to other country la..this country use british parlimentary system..duhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 119
        • janji dicapati on May 28, 2013 at 3:16 pm

130 its only parliamentary seats..but overall votes, pr gets 5.6 million votes..while BN get 5.2 million votes,I think u dint get this fact on tv3 rite?bukak sikit minda tu,jgn byk sgt tgk tv3 je

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 65
          • kasitaroh on May 28, 2013 at 4:18 pm

hoi, you want to win with a popular vote? than go to other country la..this country use british parlimentary system..duhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 90
          • Medic on May 28, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Nama only use british parliment.In Britain election,postal box don’t drop from sky,black out during vote counting is un-heard of,didn’t use foreigners to vote in their election…lastly British ministers never ask their citizens to migrate if you don’t support the Gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 69
          • kasitaroh, don’t say anything if you don’t really know what the british is using. The set a maximum difference of only 15% between the smaller constituencies and the bigger one. The same as was practised in Malaysia when we took over from british in 1957. Then BN changed to “unlimited” difference in no. of voters between smaller and larger seats, so now we have up to 900% difference, certainly not what the british allow. My vote is only worth about 10% of the one in sarawak although I paid hundreds of thousands in tax but the sarawak voter in the jungle pays nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 44
          • i don watch tv3 or read utusan…but i do read manga online and streaming movie beside doing my online biz…my politic talk can wait 5 year later..for me BN suck PR even sucker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 74
          • Just because Malaysians watch BPL and Top Gear, do you think that Malaysians would love everything British?
            British “gerrymandering” system is a big joke and being criticized openly in their mainstream media like The Telegraph and The Independent.

Either party that became government either Labor or Conservative would use this system to their benefit. For example, the Labor who won 55.2% of seats in 2005 with just 35.2% of votes.

Moreover, we said that we are independent from the British, why do we need to follow British?
            Take their good qualities and leave their bad qualities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • daamz on May 28, 2013 at 3:34 pm

bro, 51% of rakyat voted for PR, 47% for BN. Majority? Who majority now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 51
        • artworks on May 28, 2013 at 3:47 pm

BN won rural area aka menteri kampung while PR won more city/town

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 46
          • Not just kampung, more like hutan in sarawak and sabah. menteri dalam hutan. they should be the ones to migrate to the jungle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 46
        • shoguniphicus on May 28, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Check where those seats are coming from. Quite a big chunk of the said 130 is from east Malaysia. These people are least affected by these auto stuff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
        • since when bolehland change voting system?bolehland system based on how many seat won not how much popular u r….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 22
          • MrDDR on May 28, 2013 at 6:55 pm

If we count by popular than please include with siti murhaliza. Shes more popular.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • MrDDR on May 28, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Agree with u kzm. For them (Popular voter should win thinker) Baclays Premier League should won by how many goal you score instead of how many points you have.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
        • RS Sick on May 28, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Yeah2…..majority vote for bn only for state seat fools!…better accept that you also feel “aiyoo jib ah goor…i already wanna book proton inspirate maaa….now have to wait another decades…ok…i love you jib ahh gorr”…rite…

• Most of these noisy people are not yet registered voters. They are just the so called keyboard red bean army .They cant even afford to buy a Viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 55
        • Medic on May 28, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Red bean army is just a myth made up by utusan & gomen media.U must have been brain-washed liao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 83
        • yeah than 51% of malaysians are red bean army, and you are those remaining one who are very clean and civilized people. And do u want me to belanja u ais kacang red bean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 56
          • RS Sick on May 28, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Oh..yeah…you are the person who flips Berita harian and said come jib,,,brim 1200…is all i want…

• valjean on May 28, 2013 at 3:08 pm

I guess we will never know don’t we?

• Gokul on May 28, 2013 at 4:25 pm

It is morons like you whom ruining this country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • because BN is incharged now. So who else to blame?

• longjaafar on May 28, 2013 at 2:05 pm

It is gross injustice that so many have to sacrifice so much for so long in order to benefit so few. What kind of people did we choose to manage our country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 42
    • majority of the people DID NOT choose them to manage the country. most people do not want them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
  • Stupid BN. Anyway, it is expected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 77
    • Even more stupid those keep vote BN. Padan muka kena tipu lagi wakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 68
      • Chong on May 28, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Aiya, BN supporters will never wake up one. They sold their rights for a couple of hundred ringgit. This is payback for them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 51
  • BN talk so many, in the end still wan to protect their baby proton……….. Talk so many for what.. wan monopolise the market then say la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 77
    • Medic on May 28, 2013 at 4:09 pm

People is forced to buy proton because it is cheaper..forced to use sub-standard car with low safety features & low reliability,putting their family lives at risk…All these proctection for one company,putting the interest of the ‘rakyat’ aside.BN supporter wake up ler,even if you stay in the kampung,you still have to use a car right.

Whether your car bang a buffalo or city folks bang a lamp post,you still die.Where is the compulsory safety features like dual airbag,ESP etc?Use hard earn money to buy a tin can?no brain!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 44
  • alvin on May 28, 2013 at 2:13 pm

with this present government, don’t get our hope too high….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 37
  • Bolehland on May 28, 2013 at 2:16 pm

They will keep their promises but that time could be near next election… 5% may be??? 1Malaysia! Memang boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Johnny on May 28, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Sometimes, we BN bashers can take things too far. But let’s take a step back and look at the reality of things. Prices of cars cannot be messed with at such a fast rate and that may cause unforeseen complications in the industry (eg.inflation of cars,more cars on the road,worse traffic jams) and therefore will require the govt to take other restrictive measures (eg.high road tax,max number of yrs ownership (like Singapore), max number of cars per family,etc.).

The govt is hugely subsidizing our fuel as well. So it’s a trade off we have to accept. Imagine us having to pay RM2.xx for RON95. This reduction of price will mainly benefit the mid to high class, there must be a counter measure taken into account.

So guys, please be patient and don’t jump to conclusions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 104
    • familyman on May 28, 2013 at 2:58 pm

I totally agree… but no use trying to appeal to some BN basher’s common sense. Most of those who were hoping for 30-40% price reduction under P.R can’t really afford to “own” any expensive marques anyways.

Imagine for a minute, if Audi S4 (not A4 mind u) were to experience price drop available at RM150k, how many of those BN bashers can immediately go out and buy it.

I purposely quoted the “own” since, ownership includes maintenance. Do you think maintenance/repair prices will go down if suddenly everyone is driving Audi S4?

If the tax is do away with/reduce.. do you think the manufacturers will pass the savings to consumers? like what Honda, Toyota etcs are doing right now where they are pocketing the money.

yes, people tend to “tutup mata” about the gezillion we already spend on fuel subsidies. These are effective money down the exhaust that could be better spend for our nation building especially education etcs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 61
    • dude. we have our own crude oil. Whats the point of selling our high quality crude oil, and import low quality crude oil from arab ? Mind you I am a chemical engineer and I know well the quality of msia fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 60
      • tupakamaru on May 28, 2013 at 3:42 pm

dear mr engineer, have you heard about crude oil blending???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 12
        • RedLine on May 29, 2013 at 12:54 pm

phc….you who is an educated engineer still don’t see the point??? I really pity you….its because economy la…We get more money that way…..if petronas use our high grade crude oil locally then petronas is truly STUPID…thankfully petronas is not….in fact, petronas quite high up in the forbes 500 list…

• mrnoengineer on May 29, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Releks arr bro….he just graduated. Btw, do you know any vacancy suite him

• u think u onli know that…even we have crude oil still not enough to feed all car in bolehland..we sell some high quality to buy more oil that r lower quality to meet demand n subsidies..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
      • Lol,why’s everyone all Caps Rage?No matter,the thing you guyz need to to understand is although Malaysia can be consider as one of oil producing countries the fact is that they don’t have an abundant amount of fuel like stated by some of us here and also it’s very unstrategic for Malaysia to do so.Problem is back in somewhere around the 90’s we have reserve that’ll last for 20 years until we struck gold(oil) but it won’t last very long.Plus oil are not all the same.we differentiate it to ‘sweet plum'(high grade less sulphur) or ‘sour plum’ (low grade high sulphur).What we have is ‘sweet plum’ which only suitable for more complex machinery/engine i.e planes,rockets.Which is why we need to import our oil in exchange for low grade oil.This is ‘butter for margarine’ concept.In fact we only have surplus(gain) by importing (depend on price oil and the contract time span) but we loose a lot in local market.so those surplus are use to cover upp all your necessities heck even your scholarships for god sake.So that’s basically it.If you wanna rebut please do your research rather than blinded and bias perception. CP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • alahai on May 28, 2013 at 11:15 pm

phc,
        which univ. are you graduated?i am no engineer u know..but i know economy ..

• We all know the conclusion:

Reduce car excise duty = No more BR1M RM1200

No need wayang kulit to fool rakyat lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
    • Johnny on May 28, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Yup, those that really want a price drop would probably be the wealthy few.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • kevkev on May 29, 2013 at 9:35 am

johnny, why not you consider where the BR1M, 1M4U, etc money comes from before you think government doesn’t already have a surplus they cease to make us believe.

• HAHA !! HIDUP HIDUP BN !! HIDUP BN DULU KINI SELAMANYA !!

PILIHANRAYA KE-14 !!

Rakyat Malaysia yang undi = 10 Juta

Rakyat Sekeliling Malaysa yang undi = 10 Juta

HAHAHA !!! HIDUP HIDUP BN DULU KINI SELAMANYA !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 63
    • mxxxxp on May 28, 2013 at 3:53 pm

adohai! org kg ni….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Dont worry, BN is goin down soon. I dont understand u guys always hidup BN… Even if BN sell the country? bankrupt the country u monkey still hidup BN? realli funny mentality. so u r citizen of BN? not Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 70
  • gavin on May 28, 2013 at 2:24 pm

I love how these unknown ‘research’ house can make a statement out of the blue and then it becomes law

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • With beautiful phrase like “to avoid disruptions to the automotive ecosystem”…

Why not use “to keep Kronies alive and well”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 50
  • Well, there is always some kind of pain when there is going to be change. There is no satisfying everyone and to some people, this pill is bitter to swallow, whilst to others, it is a long time coming. Overall, if this medicine brings about a cure to the whole industry and puts it in a better position for all in the long term, then why not?! What is a little pain now for the long term good? Are we more willing to suffer in the long term instead?

• err… isnt proton privately owned nowadays?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 0
    • DRB will not tahan losing money on Proton lah

Sooner or later DRB will call SOS to EPF, Petronas, Tabung Haji to buy back Proton again ha ha ha joke lah this Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 52
    • Medic on May 28, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Proton is owned by DRB-hicom,a GLC(Gomen linked company),meaning gomen still have a large interest in it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
      • sepul on May 28, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Nope, DRB is privately owned.

The GLC was Khazanah who sells Proton to DRB.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
      • DRB Hicom is owned by Syed Mokhtar Albukhary.

I guess, he is not a government leader. Or maybe he is behind the scenes? Perhaps that’s why you said that DRB Hicom is a GLC.

• orispuma on May 28, 2013 at 2:28 pm

balik balik nak jaga proton. nak selamatkan proton. proton already 30++ years. masih perlukan government for everything. btw, nak jaga proton punya pasal, rakyat suffer. thanks kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 48
  • Najib on May 28, 2013 at 2:30 pm

As expected. BN will always lie to you. THen next election they will make empty promises. Who will suffer? ordinary Rakyat like you and me. I proposed them to increase car prices and shorten loan period to 5 years. As well taken increase oil prices and toll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
  • Xefron on May 28, 2013 at 2:34 pm

“mau kereta murah… ? semua *orang kena rugi dulu ”

*except 1st time buyer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 3
    • artworks on May 28, 2013 at 3:49 pm

kan bodoh…aku rugi masa jual kereta lama tapi aku untung balik masa beli kereta baru….ada paham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • LainKaliLAh on May 28, 2013 at 2:39 pm

They can start reducing the new car price.
    For the existing model, just leave it.
    It will not bring down any market or resale value of the current market.
    Just focus on the new model that have not yet being launch in Malaysia. Give it 20-30% price reduction.
    Rakyat will be happy. Please BN. honor your promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • Before 2017 they will install many more AES system, increase oil price and summon bill. After that they will consider reducing tax. Do we feel great on that time? No.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Where else BN can find money to pay BR1M RM1200 per year??? Bank Negara also bankrap if like this feeding easy money to lazy bums

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
  • Abg Long on May 28, 2013 at 2:43 pm

what??? ayooo BN.. why u do this.. this will only increase the rakyat’s dissatisfaction with u.. x bleh fikir kah??? shud ASAP reduce.. so sad lah.. now PR also talk talk talk only, BN also talk talk talk only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • MrDDR on May 28, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Wonder why people here always said gov this gov that, stupid, change gov, should lower the price etc etc. Instead of just asking gov change all policies that will effect all ecosystem, why not just ask your employer to rise your salary. Better for every body since will add more buying power not only for car. More salary but current car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 25
      • Banyak cantik you cakap senang lah

Wait and see all cars selling without tyres and doors to maintain same or lower price Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • MrDDR on May 28, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Bash your boss la why they give you cheap salary. Because your boss very stingy you cannot afford a car that you like very much. But your boss can drive ferrari even thought you work like hell for them. there money is your money maaaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • MrDDR on May 28, 2013 at 7:12 pm

error. “There” Change to “Their”. Their money is your money maaaa.

• VOTED on May 28, 2013 at 2:49 pm

The next statement will tell citizens who wants cheaper cars can to move to a country with cheaper car brands of their liking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • Not really, just migrate to Labuan or Langkawi

Tak Suka, Pindah ke Labuan Langkawi! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Lim guan eng on May 28, 2013 at 2:53 pm

you farkers just want it to be so cheap and make the current traffic even worse. Go ahead. I dont care even if the traffic is a standstill becoz i travel by LRT. I save money in not buying cars, the money i save can pay prostitute from china. And enjoy life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 59
    • i hope you enjoy walking to LRT station during rainy season, better still without umbrella :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • nothing_special on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Well Said. I hope he enjoys LRT together with bangla everyday.

• meng meng on May 28, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Dont know got any one feel the car price they already increase for ‘reduce’ 20-30% or not.
    Like honda ckd cheap a bit but move away many spec.

• helmi on May 28, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Grrrr…

• It will take 4 years to study. Then only start to gradually reduce on the car price…..ops…it is GE14….wait after GE14, then I will tell you what will happend

• fairgo on May 28, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Not sure why paultan.org quoted from an obscure source ‘JF Apex Securities’ rather than the minister himself. Here’s what the minister said today:

Car prices will be reduced gradually until 2017, says International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

As outlined in the 13th General Election BN Manifesto, Mustapa said the government had promised to trim car prices between 20 per cent and 30 per cent over five years.

“In fact, since October last year, the price of 10 popular models in the country have come down an average 7.3 per cent,” he told reporters after attending the ministry’s monthly gathering, the first after Mustapa was re-appointed to the Cabinet.

Source: http://www.thesundaily.my/news/711005

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • tupakamaru on May 28, 2013 at 3:32 pm

wonder why……btw who is JF Apex Securities?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Medic on May 28, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Most likely a company set up just yesterday to do this survey,probably owned by some UMNO crony,paid millions with tax payer money..Doesn’t the trend looks familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 48
        • Yes next they’ll claim Proton better quality than BMW…Asia answer to 3-series Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • MrDDR on May 28, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Instead of UMNO, I think maybe setup by DAP to bash proton and government. You know their agenda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • For such as joke analysis wonder how much they getting paid for

• Jaywat on May 28, 2013 at 3:11 pm

I want new car price reduction very much too, but very large portion of our automotive market is from used car market. Can’t say just reduce the price, and kill half of the automotive industry. I also understand being a selfish individual (me too), many couldn’t care less as long as we can buy new car cheap. But having said that, i think most used car dealers are secretly thanking proton for buying them some time, because government couldn’t care less about used car dealers. This is just some thing to think about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • How many used car dealers compare to 28 million rakyat to take care of?

They can dump those junk cars to Afrika lah as new market

• Krasher on May 28, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Sorry bro, you can’t do that.
        Africa is filled with VW and the selling price is cheaper than M’sia

• BR1M 2.0 will cost higher than RM2 billion previously…of course BN is pokai so cannot simply remove car exise duty Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • valjean on May 28, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Guys, please think over this carefully. I think this is the done purposely to get us all work up. Then suddenly said they will reduce (a little bit) and then ALL HURRAY!!!

Govt meust make some drama a bit so that the meagre reduction will seems prevalen. All pyshocological warafare. Just like the petrol price reduction, make some drama by pretending there will be increase then suddenly reduce and majority happy. Just to get more impact.

• Yes we all know it very well…it’s called the “Bersyukurlah kepada BN” ploy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • No worries. DAP will extend contract for all peanut army since we LOST GE13. Will get more money n richer. No need to wait car price to go down. Being a LOSER is not so bad after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Reduce excise duty = No more BR1M RM1200

Keep excise duty = BR1M RM1200 easy money

Mana satu lu mau Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • tupakamaru on May 28, 2013 at 3:38 pm

I don’t think people who entitled for BR1M are busy looking for a new car…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • Owrly on May 28, 2013 at 4:02 pm

They will waste it on Saga or Viva deposit get 10 years full loan

Bayar tak bayar loan itu belakang cerita LoL!

• Hey, who said so?

A BR1M voucher can pay for a Preve tau!

• mathforidiots on May 28, 2013 at 4:16 pm

RM1200?

Have you actually calculated how much you’re paying for excise duty & bank interest for your car?

Minus that from your BR1M and see how much you actually profited. (Spoiler: you are paying tens of thousands of Ringgit in excise duty)

• ya so many army for your imagination huh?? really wonder do you knows anything from malaysia be end government??

• kingkong on May 28, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Wonder why u guys were concerned that low price will equate to more cars on the road? No such problem in OZ or US. Cheap cars meant we can change to new models with better tech & safety frequently. Gomen can implement measures such as congestion charges or improve the PT to ensure less cars at city center during peak hours.

• Owrly on May 28, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Even with highways but still jam and wasted RM200-300 monthly on toll. For what? Pay toll to get stucked in jam?

Highways cost already recovered many times by Kronies why don’t govt take it over and let JKR do maintenance

Silly voters = Silly govt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Shouldn’t really compare to US and OZ bro. They have heaps of Land area. But fully agree with congestion charges etc.

It’s sad really with all these years of having significantly high taxes on cars. You think they would give a bit back to society and atleast give us better public transport and proper roads.

What i am angry about these days is BN are so reactive and only does anything if there’s money to be pocketed somewhere. You would think that with a minority gomen, they TRY to put on a good showing for the next 5 years and change our minds some what. Corruption is corruption but control abit lah. If got 100Million to pocket. Take 50Mil enough already right. Then the other 50m spend on the rakyat.

• sepul on May 28, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Why must bring Proton as a reason to keep the prices as it is? Of course, the price reduction cannot be done overnight and a proper study is much needed, but to put that as a factor (Proton) is a joke. Every motor vehicles in Malaysia is heavily taxed, the excise duty is around 100-300% for all car brands, including Proton and Perodua. They enjoy lower prices because they are given rebates since their operation (RnD, manufacturing, part sourcing, etc.) is done locally, it is the same for other makes (take the Nissan Almera for example, selling very cheap with cheap quality and equipment). The more local content in a car, the cheaper the selling price.

They just making excuses to keep their cronies’ pocket full and overflowing. And why they never mention Perodua at all? If they really do it to babysit local car makes, then shouldn’t Perodua be their love child as well? And Proton is a private company now, why government even bother with them anymore? Lame excuses.

Still, public transport should be the main issue. It is the major plague for us all.

• “As a tiny nation of 20 million, Malaysia has to believe in an open market,”

Allahyarham Tan Sri Yahaya Ahmad, former chairman of DRB-Hicom regarding high automotive tariffs.

• Nicholas on May 28, 2013 at 3:54 pm

All these talk are just rubbish. How many year have we seen the same being said over and over again. Gradual i can undertand. ‘When’ will is start is something everyone in ‘power’ has been skirting around like dumb blondes for ages!

• Owrly on May 28, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Not surprised if even Myanmar attract more new car factories than Malaysia soon…bravo BN bravo…

• amfin on May 28, 2013 at 4:01 pm

So AKU JANJI BARISAN NASIONAL now becomes AKU TIPU and BARANG NAIK :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Two methods of ‘reducing’ price:

1. Explicit: similar specs with lower price.
    2. Implicit: HIGHER specs with same price.

Method no. 2 is better b’coz the used cars’ price will not be decreased.

• Polo Saga on May 28, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Same old crap from Be-eNd which has no integrity at all. Our illegitimated government is totally good at nothing but cheating in General Election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Badri on May 28, 2013 at 4:15 pm

with 1Malaysia already dead, one thing still remains the same
    “JANJI DICAPATI, RAKYAT DIKETUPATI”
    #terimakasihbn #hidupumno

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
  • will reducing car price increase the number of cars on the road….not that significant….ppl who can afford a car will still buy a car….a person wont say i pay 50k for a rubbish myvi or proton so i dun buy a car…and if car price reduces i will buy a car cuz i am paying 50k for a toyota or honda….rubbish BN…will pkr remove car tax if malaysia being govern by them? No bodies knows so pls dun assumed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Owrly on May 28, 2013 at 4:27 pm

BN should impose mandatory ABS, 20 airbags, Traction Control, Radar-based passive safety system, 10 years car warranty, 10 years car free service (labour+parts) for such 75% excise duty rate.

Only then it’s worth paying any car price with crazy tax rate!

• Robot Boy on May 28, 2013 at 4:23 pm

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/711005

it will happen. not to worry

• Owrly on May 28, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Yes but with no tyres or doors at cheaper car price.

Lu bayar pasang sendiri lah Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • LOL… BN.. Another joke? hopefully u make it right this time as ur joke isnt fresh anymore. Why reduced the duty by 25% but have a regulation that each malaysian household should buy at least one national brand car. Its a win2 situation.

• Henry on May 28, 2013 at 4:39 pm

BN get income from rakyat. Proton export price is lower than Malaysia price. Oil n gas all goes out, buy cheap oil, but selling higher petro price than non oil n gas producing country. Well, undilah BN.

• albag on May 28, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Orang kampung and old fags not affected.. So they will still keep voting bn..

• Tok Kok on May 28, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Sorry lah … Lain Kali lah!!!

• barum on May 28, 2013 at 4:59 pm

shit happens

• Abg Long on May 28, 2013 at 5:29 pm

anyone can speak their mind. but for me, i still want cheaper cars!!! majority of us just want a DECENT CAR that is AFFORDABLE with let say MAXIMUM 5YRS LOAN. ok la, buy saga, pay rm500 monthly for 5yrs. now u pay rm500 monthly for 9yrs!!!

• RejimKejamGanas on May 28, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Good point. Unfortunately there are too many narrow minded idiots to think of it this way. They think everyone who wants cheaper car prices are waiting to buy lambos, audis, etc.

When in actual fact people just want to be able to save more for their family while having a decent living. Not every medium sized family can earn a 5 figure salary and maintain overpriced cars. When you have 2-4 kids and old parents needing care, how are you going to afford a car if your gross salary is RM5K? How much would you have left for savings and your children’s future?

The idiots who cannot see the above scenario are just as arrogant and ignorant as our “ubah gaya hidup” jokers.

• Anton Forker on May 28, 2013 at 5:43 pm

This is it, the moment of truth! Either you like it or not, BN will failed the people on their empty manifestos. As BN cannot change, and the car industry hard to change, as many peoples profited from it. To change means, loss of revenues, and profits. The business communities in this field will reject it as hard as possible and the people benefits doesn’t matter.

• rezale on May 28, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Just wait & see the BN drama. 5 tahun kita diperkudakan lagi. I do believe ‘orang pandai’ choose for ‘perubahan’ & i do believe ‘orang 1/2 pandai’ choose for BR1M RM1,200.

• nighttrain on May 28, 2013 at 5:55 pm

While I read the comments, why is Bob Marley’s ‘no woman no cry’ keep playing in my head?

• nighttrain – Bob Marley’s ” No Women No Cry” means “he don’t want any women to cry…..” maybe you might think that without women, there’s no cry………..find the facts thru the net..

• They said not to dampen Proton’s market share. But proton also need to pay excise duty like any other. So it the gomen reduce price by 20%, proton car price also reduce 20%, profit margin still same but with more sales. Gomen thinks we are stupid. Period.

• driver 2.0 on May 28, 2013 at 6:13 pm

anyone thought about implications of a sudden influx of new cars due to cheaper prices? at the end of the day, like sgpore, taxes (especially in KL) will be increased just to discourage people from driving in the city. don’t say i’m selfish. look at the number of new cars registered everyday.

• I think you missed out some points here. Influx of new car will not be due to cheaper price, but is very much due to our not up to mark public transportation system. For example, if you can buy additional cars due to the cheaper price, will you be able to drive 2 cars to work at the same time?

Car in Australia is cheap, but that itself doesn’t encourage people to buy cars because they have good public transportation system.

• driver 2.0 on May 28, 2013 at 6:34 pm

i use our public transportation rather than drive to city center by choice because of bad traffic and crazy expensive parking. our public transportation system, trains, have come a long way and is now significantly improved. buses have countdown timers now (but of course a fixed schedule will be better) and i’m sure it will come soon.

a family who has 4 drivers but 1 car is common. it’s really up to a person on whether he or she wants to take public transportation or not.

i spent some time in east australia. their buses are good but their trains are no better. and taxis are a rip off.

• driver 2.0 on May 28, 2013 at 6:38 pm

by the way, you won’t want to live in a housing area/high rise with a family with 1 driver and 3 cars. or maybe you will. :)

• salim on May 28, 2013 at 6:15 pm

makcik2 felda semua kaya2. tu pasal x nak kereta murah. kaya sgt sampai kalo kereta murah nanti depa leh beli 10 biji sorang.

• RejimKejamGanas on May 28, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Jangan Salim, balik raya nanti, makcik lempang kang.

• “Makcik tak suka kereta murah, nanti kalau kereta murah langkah suami makcik jadi lagi panjang dengan kereta baru. Maklumlah, ramai anak dara boleh terpikat. Jadi tak payahlah kereta murah-murah ni.”

• Anwar Ibrahim on May 28, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Semua nak murah..
    nak kereta murah.. nak minyak murah.. nak rumah murah
    nak belajar percuma.. cakap apa lagi nak?
    semua aku boleh bagi. selama nie aku pernah bohong rakyat tak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Hang Totok on May 28, 2013 at 6:33 pm

In 5 years time, cheaper car prices will remain as one of BN manifesto… and people will still buy it.

• syzwnindon on May 28, 2013 at 6:56 pm

i disagree with car price reduction. this will increase amount of cars at road thus enhancing pollution more. i love barisan nasional. najib did his work very well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • nothing_special on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:52 pm

1. You can drive hybrid car for minimal pollution. Reducing car prices would help citizen buys more hybrid car (currently is expensive) which would solve pollution problem.

2. Increasing cars on the road? I think is more on increasing quality car on the road. From 100 myvi change to 100 honda city.

• paulz on May 28, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Actually I really wanna own an affordable house in urban or suburban area, because of this fiasco…we all been f*** up, period. It really hurt our wallets or handbag, savings, future generations, social living and so on continues.

• mustafa on May 28, 2013 at 7:03 pm

They said manifesto is a promise to be fulfilled ie janji ditepati…so will this janji be tepati?

• PM Najib had twitted that Govt will reduce car price 20%-30% gradually up till 2017.
      We are just approaching 1 month after GE13 and already naysayers are condemning Govt that the car prices will not be reduced.
      Base on what eveidence?
      Is it already 2017? or 2015? that people can already say that the Govt broke their promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • RejimKejamGanas on May 28, 2013 at 9:03 pm

The fact that the govt is already announcing that they will drag their feet on this issue, shows very little confidence in implementing it. By the way 2017/18 is another election year, are they going to dangle it like a bloody carrot to coerce people to vote them again?

• I can see u r hardcore BN supporter. Im a strong DAP/PKR supporter but if Najib manage this issue well. I will still at least show some support and respect to him. But if G keep breaking promises. then the next election they are goin down.

• paulz on May 30, 2013 at 8:04 am

Gradually he misfired mega projects most of the time thanks to his incompetent ministers advisory. It’s all about short term project only tho successfully launched but guarantee will never last in the market field. Why? Cronies wants it, FAST CASH and of coz this is their sole “rice bowl”.

• Anwar Ibrahim on May 28, 2013 at 7:06 pm

undilah aku, jadikan aku PM ke 7
    semua yang mahal akan jadi murah
    semua akan kaya, tidak akan ada yang miskin
    semua cukai yang korang benci akan ku hapuskan
    percayalah pada semua janji aku
    generasi akan datang pasti hidup senang
    percaya tak aku boleh buat semua tu??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • BUDAK BAIK on May 29, 2013 at 9:58 am

Don’t forget to bring more Chinadoll here…and, make them cheaper….heheheh.

• Manny on May 28, 2013 at 7:20 pm

BRB..calling all the Red Bean Army

• in your brainwashed imagination huh?? good luck then, 51% of malaysians are red bean army according to your wonderful imaginations

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • carlisle on May 28, 2013 at 7:28 pm

x perlu nk berpolitik lagi, sepatutnya mendengarkan berita ini ada lah suatu berita yang baik.. tidak perlu kritik lgi pada mana2 parti politik mengenai isu ini… usaha ini adalah tanggungjawab kerajaan yang melihatkan masyrakt secara majaoriti menginginkan penurunan hrga kereta.. so, mana2 kerajaan pon will do the same thing, mendengar suara masyarakat..

• Kaiser on May 28, 2013 at 7:28 pm

I think people should realize that even if PR had taken over the price reduction would still be gradual. Abolishing all the taxes overnight would create a shock to the economy and could even trigger a recession. (The major recessions we had lately have all been triggered by collapse of asset prices)

Of course if PR had taken over we know prices WILL come down and will come down more instead of just 30% as promised by BN. Whether Najib will negate on his promise only time will tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Thank you dear sir.
      Finally some well thought and fair comment.

• I dont totally agree with you. It is understandbly that it will create some havoc if price reduced overnight. However If the price reduced gradually, it will create lot of uncertainties in the market. Ppl will just wait and see and hoping to buy car at cheapest price. Just like the situation prior to GE. No one want to commit and invest big. It isa situation that somesomeone has to make a dare move to unwind the mistake made by someone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
        • driver on May 29, 2013 at 3:09 am

note.. the trick is that, during the uncertainty period, government has chance to improve the public transportation system, which is the more sustainable alternative as opposed to private car. so, by the end of the car downpricing period, people may just opt for the public transport if it’s more convenient.

• Lainkalilah on May 28, 2013 at 7:47 pm

I believe most of you understand, it is not because of BN or PR, but if who become useless Gov. then we SHOULD change it!!!

• putet on May 28, 2013 at 8:04 pm

everybody wants everything to be cheap…..cheap car……cheap fuel……cheap tax……then in 20-30 years time when our oil reserves empty already then everyone would be f***ed up…..then everything would be expensive……..expensive car…….expensive fuel…….high tax……then maybe all of you would be happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • RejimKejamGanas on May 28, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Don’t have to wait 20-30 years, we are already suffering from everything very expensive. It will only get even worse if we continue to support a govt like this.

• going by your logic…brunei will bankrupt in 5 years time

• RS Sick on May 28, 2013 at 10:13 pm

There you go,..another skeptical mind that talks…singapore didnt have any oil reserve/wells…explaine to us how it gains economical revenue???or u just didnt have a f***ing clue how to gain income??….oh well…you do..

• salesman jalanan on May 28, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Saya sokong bn. Biar semua harga barang naik. lagi mahal lagi bagus. Saya setuju jika gst 20% . Yang tinggal di malaysia semuanya orang kaya sahaja. Yang tak setuju dengan polisi kerajaan boleh blah ke negara lain atau mampus. Bila takda orang miskin maka malaysia negara pertama du dunia yang mencapai kadar kemiskinan sifar.

Hip hip hooray

• Worst thing is, we are taking loan to pay all these taxes LOL!

• b sensible on May 28, 2013 at 9:15 pm

no where in the world is selling old dated cars…
    the current policy encourages car manufacturers to sell old tech cars where in other parts of the world this has deemed obselete…
    see hybrid has been in operations for more than 10 yrs but is still new here.
    besides the current policy doesn’t encourage fair competition & has kill-off the innovative minds. the policy just encourage manufacturers to sell car w/o giving drivers great driving experience.
    sad that always we don’t get the latest models unlike overseas the customers always have better for value cars…here we got value suckers old junk technologies…

• pohpoh on May 28, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Who care about your proton car quality and RV of protong car? Just give us a fair price with quality car can compare with US quality.

• Lpost on May 28, 2013 at 9:50 pm

sudah mau dapat drumstick tapi tak mau, mau pula buntut ayam..

• DUE TO THOSE 48% PKHKC……WE HV TO PAY XTRA FOR A CAMRY !!!

• old dog on May 28, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Stop using G.P.S
    G brand Roti
    P brand filipino oil and P brand car
    S brand newspaperS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • old dog on May 28, 2013 at 9:58 pm

I will abolish the tol, in 2099, Janji dedapati.

• BN is a joke…

in 2017 he said ? even 2071 will still remain the same state and i wont be surprised if BN still in power…

• kimi's fan on May 28, 2013 at 10:01 pm

$hit, slowlly reduce until 2017.
    we are continuing to suffer

• sam.ladun on May 28, 2013 at 10:21 pm

i want cheap car please please please. let change the goverment please please please. i want the car price to be reduce ASAP. i dont care other people lost value of their car over night. i am a person always blaming other people never blame myself because failed to generate income per month let say 20k la so i can afford to buy ninja super king. Oh ya this article title is ” REDUCTION IN CAR PRICES IN MALAYSIA TO TAKE SOME TIME” and i the winnies crying like little baby mommy mommy i want to change the government so i can get cheap car. next if not satisfied change again after that change again and again and again and again and again nothing better to do to improve myself income rather go street rallying again and again and again again again again…..i dont know when to stop coz my hobby is the word change change change cheap oh silap change change change…. let blame the sabahan and the sarawakian also because i cannot get 20k income per month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Terima Kasih Najib , by 2017 i think I change 3 car de. Thank you for those voted BN . TQ. Puiiiiiii

• Mighty Joe on May 28, 2013 at 10:38 pm

I live in Langkawi, Taxs Free Island Thanks God I bought my brand new Camry for just RM93,000. Can u Imagine How much Govt Tax is…. Further more is cheaper than Proton Perdana. Hahaha I had experience using Proton Once, Its a nightmare for 5 years of my life time. woot woot

• oooo..i want to transfer to Langkawi stat..n buy my dream car hehe

• thebugbud on May 28, 2013 at 11:10 pm

All this study thingy is juz another means to makan suap. Lawatan sambil belajar and all by the ppl’s money. Study for a few years and then go quiet.

It’s just so BN isn’t it. You guys can’t just not sense that after all this years. Unfortunately, ppl are just to easily forgive and forget and they can get away with it everytime. Very sad in deed.

• What for do you need cheaper cars? Cheaper cars mean more pollutions and congested trafic. Dont blame the govt if you cannot drive lux cars here, but blame yourselves because don’t know how to double/triple your annual income. Lazy fella.. Always blame others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • nothing_special on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:02 am

You can buy cheaper HYBRID car for avoiding pollution. Cheaper car doesn’t mean pollution & congested traffic. Just use your brain to think the logic behind. If you don’t have, please use your ass.

• rutrandam on May 28, 2013 at 11:23 pm

The BN will never reduce the car prices especially now that they are hard up for cash. Imagine car taxes contribute 7 billion to their coffer. How do they replace the lost income since they have so much to spend. You can’t fight them but there is one thing you could do. Stop buying cars!Yes this will push them to the walls and they will relent. If all Malaysians stop buying the cars the BN will panic! Please …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • I don’t mind to switch my vote to BN if all janji ditepati b4 next election.
    We rakyat only want a gov that care out well-being..

• I don’t mind to switch my vote to BN if all janji ditepati b4 next election.
    We rakyat only want a gov that care our well-being..

• car again on May 28, 2013 at 11:42 pm

All Malaysian got rape again by his word

• unforgiven on May 29, 2013 at 12:50 am

Unfortunately most of us (the majority) not able to change it. I really hope people is aware of the economy and country deficit. Please look into the future, and a future in global perspective. Go to KL Masjid Jamek area yourself, have a look with your own eyes. This is sad, very dad only.

• that how we saw this…… what close to us…..but is it meant for everyone?…

• Visitor on May 29, 2013 at 6:39 am

The people who reside and work at Labuan and Langkawi are enjoying the tax-free car prices. I know someone who bought a brand new 2009 Honda Accord at Labuan for just RM80k+. Blissful ~. :-)

• messi on May 29, 2013 at 8:56 am

PR is getting the 2 billion saving from AP to subsidies the reduction of car price at 20 % per year on excise duty till five (5) year and tax will be totally remove. This mean that the Toyota camry can be purchase at RM 80K after 5 years.

As for BN, they are not getting any extra revenue to cover the reduction, So what do you expect them to reduce the car price? Are they dare to remove the cronies AP?

Good to vote BN for Barang Naik (BN). Expected GST to be imposed by next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • you make a big hole and then after 5 year you ask someone to cover that up !……very smart of you…ma

• dRwh0 on May 29, 2013 at 9:14 am

Am i at the right page..?i didnt realize i was browsing through PR or malaysiakini..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Ktard on May 29, 2013 at 9:20 am

This is the original sauce

http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v7/bu/newsbusiness.php?id=952263

• Datuk Mustapa said 10 popular cars has decreased its price by 7 percent average, i wanna know which cars has dropped its price

• tupai on May 29, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Rolls Royce Ghost with price RM2.6 million if 7% dropped is a lot lah RM182K…mana mau cari lagi he he he

• Truly he will keep his promise. The car price will down a lot…but he has another promise to impose GST…then you get the car price reduce + GST = same price in total…hehehe

Genius strategy…Gov. wont lose money…there are still BR1M etc for rakyat…hehe

• ah seng on May 29, 2013 at 9:56 am

Yah yah yah, another lifetime maybe…

• To reduce car price, NO need to reduce tax rates. Just modify the method of taxes being calculated. Now, COMPOUNDED method being used. Just modify to NON compounded method, then the tax burden will be reduced, eventhough the tax rates remained the same.

• samlok on May 29, 2013 at 11:18 am

BN i love u, seriously, i really mean it, from my bottom of my heart

• samlock on May 29, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Macam lagu karaoke jer…”…from my bottom of my heart…”

• until 2017…ngam ngam in time for next election…squeeze more money until then ^^

• Promised in last election in 2013, but will only fulfill in 2017 before next election… try to con rakyat for 4 more years

• Cikgu on May 29, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Janji memang ditepati, tahniah najib.
    Jangan percaya itu manifesto bukan janji!!!!

• Txeon on May 29, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Exactly 5 years again… is it a bait? Janji dicapatikan?

• what i feel like Dejavu?

ohh… last 13 years ago when AFTA will reduce the car price……

I proud that i bought kancil 2nd cash RM7000 for same price 2nd honda jazz in Japan.

It has 2 airbag, spacious space, IDSI/VTEC tech to save some cheap ron97, strong body and comfort to long journey/heavy jam. Ohh wait.. that is Honda Jazz.

Another Dejavu.

• Jazzer on May 29, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Honda Jazz has strong body and comfort for long journey? LOL That’s the joke of the century. Old timer waja is much more comfortable and has better TCO, not to mention can smoke that cheapo jap make anytime

• MEGATRON on May 29, 2013 at 4:16 pm

hmmmm….PR CAKAP SENANG LAA…CUBA BUAT TENGOK…BOLEH KA?…ITU SELANGOR PUNYA EXCO PUN TAK SETTLE-SETTLE LAGI SAMPAI SEKARANG..BIKIN MALU SAJA..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • gunner on May 29, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Who cares, just look at Selangor cash reserves of more than a billion now. It was only 400 million when it’s in BN hand for several decades.

• Trucker on May 30, 2013 at 8:48 am

People who boycott Proton by buying foreign cars are actually doing more favour to the government by paying more taxes/duties. So either way, you lose, people. So next time when you wake up in the morning, you look at that guy in the mirror, point your finger at him, at say out loud “F*** You!”. ‘Cause you’re screwed for life.

• other junk car prices can drop, but Toyota car price must maintain or push up even higher to differentiate premium class people and other low class people who do not own any Toyota car

• Protong BULL SHIT on Jun 02, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Proton car sell damp cheap in middle east ..
    like Qatar .. last time waja .. sold at Qatar at 40 ,00 rm nnn we stupid malaysian buy at 64,000 rm last time ,,,even now the same … high spec .n cheap in oversea ,, n expensive in malaysia … i prefer drive old sunny now reather than protong… car

• lolol 2017 price reduce.. because 2018 PRU14… they already starts to plan to win PRU14..

• tonyspark on Jun 09, 2013 at 11:42 am

Time ll tell. Hope Mr.PM ll realize the promises.

Car buyer in this country is paying too much.
    Porsche Cayman S. US price at USD64,000 (~RM200,000)
    Malaysia price at (RM610,000).

http://www.topspeed.com/cars/porsche/2014-porsche-cayman-ar118520.html

http://www.porsche.com/pap/_malaysia_/models/cayman/cayman-s/

We all know who owned Porsche Malaysia.

• kunio lim on Jun 12, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Inshah allah, haleluya, amithaba, mudah mudahan, hopefully….. car price to go down soon…aman.

• tasukatte kure on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Hidup BN!