Volkswagen Beetle 1.4 TSI makes it three – RM180k

Volkswagen Beetle

No shortage of options when it comes to getting a Bug now – Volkswagen Group Malaysia has added a third option for buyers with the introduction of the Volkswagen Beetle 1.4 TSI in the country.

The variant joins the Beetle 1.2 TSI, which debuted the A5 in Malaysia last September, and the Beetle 2.0 TSI, which arrived in November.

As its suffix suggests, a 1.4 litre TSI mill offering 160 PS at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm between 1,500 to 4,500 rpm is the powertrain of choice, and this is paired to a seven-speed DSG transmission, with a XDS Extended Differential Lock present. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 8.3 seconds and a 207 km/h top speed.

External elements include black mirror housings, a rear spoiler and 17-inch Spin alloy wheels, wrapped with 215/55 series tyres. As for the interior, the kit mix has Vienna leather seats, cruise control and a RCD 510 touchscreen six-CD audio system with eight speakers, as well as a dash pad finished in Piano Black.

Six colours are available for the 1.4 TSI, which comes with four airbags and ESP, and these are Tornado Red, Saturn Yellow, Reflex Silver, Deep Black, Reef Blue and Candy White. As for pricing, the Beetle 1.4 TSI goes for RM179,888, sitting in between the 1.2 TSI’s RM139,888 and 2.0 TSI’s RM219,888.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ah singh ahhhh on May 28, 2013 at 6:58 pm

the beetle seems priced like a scirocco. wah, if they can introduce a scirocco 1.2 to mirror the beetle 1.2 price, it will sell like hot cakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • roccorocco on May 28, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Yeah..like hot cake..but it won’t happen :) since VW only offer scirocco 1.4 and 2.0 worldwide. But in some country, they have another option of 1.4 with 122hp and manual 6 gear transmission, for Malaysia market we got only 1.4 with 160hp and DSG 7 speed transmission.

• VW Owners Denial on May 29, 2013 at 8:54 am

So much of denial from people here about the DSG. I run a fleet of VW Passats for my office and I can tell you, each and every one of them has DSG failures every few months. Total halt. So, all VW owners, please don’t lie. Face facts. If you say there is no such thing as DSG problems, why has China, Japan, Singapore recalled ALL their DSG cars? Why has VW Germany admitted in black and white that their DSG cannot handle 1) Hot Asian weather 2) Asian Traffic jams? They admitted in black and white that the hot weather of Asian countries cause the DSG to breakdown often. Not one off but on a contiunuous basis. So, we can keep on replacing the DSG but it will still breakdown and breakdown.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 8
        • koochai on May 29, 2013 at 10:52 am

dear VW Owners Denial

thanks for the enlightenment

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 0
          • Really German Engineering? on May 29, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Do you know that VW buyers in Malaysia are the most gullible people on earth? Why? 2 Reasons.

Reason 1 – Because they pay about RM200,000 for a car that globally is equivalent or same in status as Proton. VW globally is nothing. They are same status as even Skoda (though same group). But in Malaysia, Malaysian buyers act as if they have made it in life and are the pinnacle of success. They act arrogant and even at traffic lights they rev and rev to show the car beside themselves that they, the VW owners, are happening. But in actual fact, like I said, in global eyes, people regard VW owners as normal people. For heaven’s sake, Volkswagen is the German term for “People’s car”. Its like owning a Proton. But likely Proton does not charge you RM200,000 to own it.

2nd Reason: You pay RM200,000 for problem after problem. Isn’t that so silly? VW Owners claim it is German superior engineering, but if it really superior engineering, why is there so so many complaints? You pay so much of money for problems?

Now VW Owners don’t know what to do. They bought their cars thinking that;
            1) Got Status ie thinking its same level as BMW and Mercedes.
            2) Quality of German Engineering.

But now, both of these points have gone down the drain. The car has zero status. Infact, people laugh at VW owners on the road because they know the reputation of constant breakdowns and DSG scandals and how foolish the owner was to pay RM200,000 for a car that is so problematic in the first place.

Isn’t better you just buy a normal car like Proton, Honda or Toyota?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 27
          • kenari on May 29, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Really German Engineering? Why so sore? Chill la. Nowadays there’s no such thing as a normal car. Most car are electronically control. It’s these gadgets that will give you better emission control, better fuel economy and better driving pleasure. Anyway VW buyers knew what they’re getting themselfs into. They just have to live with it. No one force them to buy VW. Those that complain alot are the newbies or trend followers. True VW fans accept these challenges. Nowadays European car makers are the ones that are taking the lead in the auto industries. They’re the innovative ones with new gadgets and designs. Kereta canggih mana tak ada problem punya. DSG is a real canggih stuff. Even PROTON incoporating the turbo unit into their cars pun ada problem. Why Honda & Toyota got no problem? That’s because they are still using old tech. Wait till they come up with new stuff. BTW, if you have not own a VW go get one. Don’t just listen only experience first baru tau. There’s more plus side than down side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 103
          • Mohd Din on May 29, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Kenari, only a dunggu will pay their hard earned money to deal with problem after problem. People who talk like you are either living off fathers money or are a corrupted government servant. People who work with their sweat don’t talk like you. Once you learn to earn your money, come here and talk. Those who work hard for their money, even when they buy a simple Myvi, they expect minimum problems.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 23
          • kenari on May 29, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Mohd Din: Here I’m talking about VW cars and their technology. You on the other hand attacked ME on the personal basis. So IMMATURE. PLEASE GROW UP. Go blame the whole world if you don’t earn enough and cannot enjoy the better things in life!!! Too BAD. This is a tough world out there. GO WORK HARDER. Money don’t fall from the sky!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 110
          • Johan Mahmood. on May 30, 2013 at 9:24 am

Be prepared with at least RM$80,000 after 3 years when your DSG fails. VW Malaysia 5 year warranty is a fraud because after the 3rd year, it is Insurance Warranty. And we all know how sneaky insurance companies are. They will find all sorts of excuses not to pay. All the more if it is RM80k. Don’t fall for VW’s 5 year warranty claim. It is not true. Its ONLY 3 years. Only Ford, Honda and Hyundai have real 5 years manufacturers warranty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
        • Medic on May 29, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Vw owners Denial:You are such a faker..Vw didn’t recall ALL their DSG cars,but only the 7 speed dry clutch DSG.What proof DSG still breaks down even after replacement?Cars from 2012 onwards doesn’t suffer any DSG failures.Come on,don’t whine,remember the Merc W210 E series that has a host of electronics prob…it was rectified &Merc still popular.Every model will have their glitch,but at least Vw owns up &did re-call.
          Really German Engineering:In Europe,Yes Vw is popular,but this doesn’t mean it equates to Proton back here.By the way,it’s thanks to our stupid gomen which taxes car excessively that results in high car prices.Mk 7 Golf is only selling for 26k Euros.Don’t compare Vw to proton.Obviously you haven’t drove a Vw car before.In Europe,even taxis uses Merc…so does this means it’s low standard?

Vw is not equal to Skoda.Vw owns Skoda &lotsa other brands,inc Porsche,Lambo,Audi.Each model serves a different set of customers.Vw benefits economically &able to share tech between them.

So to all you Vw haters out there,don’t let your personal hatred &envy cloud you.Yes i did have a DSG prob,but i could claim warranty &now saving for the MK 7 GTi…no car around 200k gives me the pleasure to smoke most cars& yet drive my mom to the market without causing her dentures to drop out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 100
          • Only Night Use on May 29, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Mr Medic, I have a 2013 Passat and my Passat has broken down 3 times already. Service Centre say its DSG. So, you seem the faker like VW. Every year VW say they sort DSG problem from 2011, 2012 to 2013 but all lies. In May 2013, they announced that the DSG memang problematic and cannot tahan hot countries and countries with lots of jams. So what kind of car is this? You mean I cannot use my car in jams? That is the most absurd thing I have ever heard. VW Malaysia must be sued or pay compensation to all VW buyers in Malaysia. When I bought my car, VW Malaysia never told me that my car cannot use in the hot sun or cannot use in traffic jams. Tak masuk akal lah. You mean I can only use my VW in the night? You think my car is Night Rider kah? You think I am Michael Knight is it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 2
          • My Golf 2.5 years already, nothing happen wan? Day day KL jam, went through 2 feet of flood water, 4 times Genting and still drives like new. And yes, they sent me a recall letter but I’ll just wait till my next service lah.

Is there nothing else that these people can harp on other than the gears ah? Go harp on something new lah or the DSG is the only thing you can find fault on?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 58
          • I think we should call VW cars Night Rider since VW expect owners to only drive in cool climate and non jam situations.

So VW cars = Night Rider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
        • Elvin on May 29, 2013 at 5:08 pm

I do admit the quality of vw is that good although it is a german brand.
          Cos i bought a beetle 1.2 for my wife for nearly 2 month.
          That time when i got the car, while driving, it had an anoyying noise came from the hatch.(til now)
          Felt really disappointed for a german made car.

i will be selling off my city to get another german car soon.any bro here can recommend which german brand/model is more fun to drive,reliable,good performance with no recall at all.

Thanks

• TypeReza on May 31, 2013 at 6:35 pm

A250 Merc will be the best choice of its class i reckon….will be in store June 13′ if not mistaken :)

• Elvin on Jun 02, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Yea bro..actually i am interested to get the Merc A250
            Can’t wait for the launch!

• WhyLikeThatMalayisans on May 29, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 123
    • Just another overpriced little dull car like the MINI! no HID and no DRL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
      • sundei on May 28, 2013 at 10:27 pm

No DRL? are you sure… ? you don’t really need to own one to tell whether there is a DRL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • bystander on May 29, 2013 at 10:19 am

no LED DRL you mean, standard halogen bulb DRL still available, similar to Jetta, Scirocco, CX5 etc

• DRL DRL on May 29, 2013 at 11:36 am

You want DRL?
          LED?

Go Accesory shop rm100++ only

Why pay rm180k for DRL only?

• Yea go Accesory shop after that they void ur warranty, is time to cry for ur DSG and other issues lolx

• _xXx_ on May 29, 2013 at 11:31 am

tiba2 I rase owg2 kat mesia ni somua dh kaya-raya…pasal harga keta somua dh cecak ratusan ribu….aduh!

• Anti-VW Bashers on May 29, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 117
      • vw-vw on May 29, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Before, imported car owners keep quite about their problems. Now, they don’t. Please keep the bashing so others won’t go into this death trap!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 0
        • Buy Wisely on May 30, 2013 at 9:50 am

Yes, why sweep things under the carpet? Since we have weak consumers laws and small courts tribunal, its only facebook and the Internet that can protect future buyers. All salesman are big liars and cannot be trusted. Even VW owners cannot be trusted because they scared bad news make their RV fall. So keep things in the open. Let the world know. We as consumers can make informed and wise decisions.

• The best gearbox in the world.

Breaks down like Protons power window

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 22
    • Ah Beng Kia on May 28, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Take your pick :
      Drivetrain Selalu Gagal
      Dam Stupid Gearbox

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 18
      • AhBengKiaFather on May 29, 2013 at 12:01 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 154
        • johnny on May 29, 2013 at 9:16 am

now now..this is no way to be talking to your son..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • AhBengKiaFather:
          Perhaps your VW havent given you a problem but it doesnt mean the rest of the owner didnt have any problem yet.
          Before you shoot your mouth off, i suggest you join any VW blogs or facebook group. Then, you’ll see. Come out of your shell instead of undermining people’s IQ
          FYI: i own golf VI so dont try to tell me i dont know it coz i dont own one

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
          • Medic on May 29, 2013 at 9:21 am

Reff,i own Mk6 too.DSG prob is in the past liao,no point harping on it.There’s no prob from cars made from 2012 onwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 57
          • _xXx_ on May 29, 2013 at 11:34 am

why waste ur time replying to a vw salesman???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
          • Mohd Din on May 29, 2013 at 3:58 pm

So obvious Medic is a VW salesman. SO worried about VW Sales. Ask you HQ first to sort the DSG problem first lah. No point bluffing everybody in this blog.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • HenryG on May 29, 2013 at 12:13 am

What many in this site fail to mention is that most VW buyers in Malaysia are actually professionals, i.e. Dr’s, engineers, accountants and other professionals. They have tried many other cars and yet continue to buy VWs. Why? Are they stupid or do they know more that we don’t know about?

In other words, if the car has so many problems, why are these people still queuing up to 6 months just to get their hands on a VW, as opposed to other European cars such as Peugeot, Renault, Citroen, Ford etc? Why is it the best selling European car in Malaysia? Ask yourself this question and try to analyse the reason.

Note- VWs are the best car to buy in Malaysia for its price point. Not for the luxury end, but entry level luxury, thats is. Therefore it can afford a price premium because its the benchmark in that category, not just in Malaysia, but also in the UK, where i currently live.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 46
      • Medic on May 29, 2013 at 9:24 am

Yup,though i changed my mechatronics on my DSG last year,i’m still saving up for the MK7 GTi,cos it really an excellent car..so satisfying to drive.By the way i owned national to jap cars before,but once tried a conti,there’s no turning back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 38
      • Enthu on May 29, 2013 at 11:59 am

I’ve gotta hand it to you. Calling VW “luxury”, you’ve got some balls.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 6
        • Designer on May 29, 2013 at 12:47 pm

it’s the experience, luxury or not I don’t care but it do feels different when you touch the interior and exterior. My family own perodua, proton and toyota. DSG indeed something hard for people to accept but different people different preferences.

• bmw owner on May 29, 2013 at 1:19 pm

clearly he havent try a bimmer before.

rm200k can get a recond or 2nd hand bimmer already. that barulah luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • -BMW Owner-
            Do you know UK, Japanese and Korean car reviewers rate the quality of VW interior higher quality than BMW’s of the same car category? Obviously, you have not driven German cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 61
        • Medic on May 29, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Vw is an entry luxury car.Something like when ur tired of being screwed by local cars,you wanna take your 1st step to buy a non national car,you might wanna consider KIA or Hyundai,as it’s slightly cheaper than a Jap car…though Jap car still ultimately better of course.Get the POINT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 57
      • Very simple, go open and close the glove box of a Golf and a Camry, CR-V or Mazda 6. The Golf’s glove box is lined in felt but the rest are bare plastic and opes/closes with a clunk. And mind you, the Golf is a C segment car and the others are supposed to be more premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 88
  • roccorocco on May 28, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Wah..7-speed, 1.4tsi twincharger is back again? I check on the VGM website, the newly launched 1.4tsi Beetle have the same spec like Scirocco 1.4tsi and Golf MK6 1.4tsi. I heard new line-up only have turbocharger. so i was wrong. hope the VW already fix all issue related to the twin clutch twincharger engine.

I own a scirocco with all the issues with EPC light, catalytic converter,coil pack,mechatronic..bla bla bla (lucky got 5 years unlimited warranty)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Is this 7 speed DSG gearbox the one that is being recalled in China, Singapore and Malaysia?

No DRL…too bad.

• LimPek on May 29, 2013 at 6:30 pm

The Mk6 Golf’s EA111 twin charge engine are definitely much better than Mk7 Golf’s EA211 single charge timing belt driven engine!

• 180k,
    better get a Mazda 6

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 9
  • i’m not an owner of VW yet. but i really somehow believe this VGM is thinking rich malaysians are water fish…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Supertjx on May 28, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Why jetta with the same engine specs can do the century sprint in 8.5 seconds while this beetle takes 10 seconds?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • The beatles of beetle on May 28, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Maybe there is typing error. On the website, the 1.2tsi beetle takes 10.7 sec, the 1.4tsi beetle 8.3 seconds while the 2.0tsi beetle takes 7.5 seconds.

• Weight? Aerodynamics?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 28, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Neither, it would seem. Human error somewhere up the line. :)

• gynecologist on May 28, 2013 at 9:06 pm

dude, this is beetle, not a cheetah!

• jetta on May 28, 2013 at 9:34 pm

twincharger

• Very good question Supertjx! because is calculate with the car bodyweight! and pls check with Vw salesperson, where is the car manufacture then you might know the quality and why is wight ratio. thx

• sundei on May 28, 2013 at 10:35 pm

it’s around 8 sec… no need to bash typo error…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 28, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Not quite a typo, but more a slip in not noticing a mistake made by someone else. It’s all good, all corrected.

• nighttrain on May 28, 2013 at 8:26 pm

180k? How is this Beetle premium? People’s Car ptui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • bettle tsi – 240nm 160ps = 10sec
    preve turbo – 205nm 140ps = 9.7sec

Conc : CFE is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on May 28, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Just busted that chop, unfortunately. Release got it wrong. It’s 8.3 seconds to the 100 mark for the Bug.

• Enthu on May 29, 2013 at 12:02 pm

you really believe what you read for Proton’s brochure? Really?

Your CFE is way behind already when off the line with that terrible turbo lag.

• tronick on May 29, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Old news already, sudah basi. After ecu remapping all the lag is gone for good.
        Please read more, ok?

• 10 seconds from 0-100? You’re kidding right? Even a CR-Z could smoke it as it only takes 9 seconds flat from 0-100

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on May 28, 2013 at 10:55 pm

The press release stated said numbers. Apparently they got it most wrong – a check reveals it’s 8.3 seconds to the century. Corrected in the story. Thanks for the smoke. :)

• Amir Hamzah on May 28, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Based on VW Malaysia and VW Singapore web…
    this 1.4 TSI 160hp BUG will hit 100kmh in 8.3 secs..
    Clearly there are some typo here..
    It will top at 207kmh…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 28, 2013 at 11:01 pm

As stated in replies to similar comments here, the press release got it wrong. Thanks for pointing it out, of course. Top Trumps! :)

• Johnny on May 28, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Two Words:
    OVER.PRICED.

One Word:
    OVERPRICED.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
  • supertjx on May 28, 2013 at 11:42 pm

The comments on VW cars are so predictable. It’s either that they are:
    a) overpriced crap (isn’t VW supposed to be people’s car?); or
    b) DSG sucks.
    Why do I feel there’s a tinge of sour grapes in these comments? To be brutally honest, just because you cannot afford it doesn’t mean the car is crap or overpriced. It just means that you are not the target customer. The 3 month (or was it 6?) waiting list means there are plenty of rich yuppies or girls with rich daddies who will buy the car. What other alternatives are there if you want a well made car, comfortable, easy to drive and stylish? CT200??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 41
    • Garfield on May 29, 2013 at 7:59 am

Nah…. they just don’t understand the mechanics of car market in M’sia. VW needs to make money, or else how will they invest in more service centres. UMW Toyota has been doing the ripping off for so long, people has nothing but praise for the after sales services. If the model doesn’t sell as well as VW has predicted, they’ll do clearance every year end. They don’t force you to buy, they provide you a chance for a slice of Teutonic engineering.

• Johnny on May 29, 2013 at 8:44 am

Buy Myvy better, but still overpriced.

• Medic on May 29, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Absolutely right,this forimmers here just whining with envy.I use to drive Jap car,but once i test drove a Vw,damn i’m hooked.Of course it’s as luxurious of class leader Merc/BMW/Audi,but it feels 2 steps ahead anything the Jap has to offer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Bettle 1.2 TSI using torsion beam setup for rear suspension system, Bettle 2.0 using multi-link which is much better for ride and handling. Bettle 1.4 TSI is using what setup. If using torsion beam it’s not worth-it.

• unforgiven on May 29, 2013 at 12:26 am

Why we Malaysian need to pay rm180k for this car?
    This is sad, very sad only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • gracke on May 29, 2013 at 12:50 am

Definitely hopeless and too high price, before announced this price, would be RM153k from some consultants news.

• if VW bother to bring in so many version of beetle, why not golf? 1.2TSI or maybe one from their TDI line up?

golf 1.2 priced at 120k will be a hit I guess. Or even better bring in manual version. many potential korean/jap buyers will swing over. also it wont be in proton territory so no big brother intervention

• amirad on May 29, 2013 at 8:32 am

VW car prices are like stock prices. They have ups and downs. Just wait for the best offer. No need to rush.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • This is a lifestyle car and people who bought it as their 2nd or 3rd car. Price? well its not Asean or Japanese so dont expect to be cheap.

• Kuinosan on May 29, 2013 at 8:49 am

Sounds cliche…”when the buying stops so does the killing (over pricing)”. Sounds familiar?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Rulered on May 29, 2013 at 9:15 am

Still can comprehend why any common car should cost hundreds of thousands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Josh Ling on May 29, 2013 at 9:27 am

is this a turbo+supercharged version or turbo only engine?

• Why VW sales keep increasing in SG & MYS, even many complaint about DSG failure?
    The DSG failure much depend on people driving style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Medic on May 29, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 130
  • Maserati on May 29, 2013 at 9:52 am

All the retards here dont own VW but acting like they know everything about dsg . My mk6 gti dsg no problems oso fools!

The problem with dsg failures only happen on 1.2 and 1.4 models and even then its just a clutch pack replacement .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 63
  • Maserati on May 29, 2013 at 10:00 am

And if u guys cant afford it, then it means this car wasnt meant for u . Go drive ur cheapo cars like proton n perodua or shut up and work harder!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • nasi ayam on May 29, 2013 at 10:24 am

with almost the same price,i will go for ds4. for me,cars jz ain’t bout how fast it is.its bout drivin pleasure!

• Hitler on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Dude, seriously? go and test drive both, performance wise, ds4 was miles away hands down, but if you talk about interior (except for the small monochrome display) and exterior finishing, ds4 got it right

• malaysian on May 29, 2013 at 10:26 am

Malaysians are number conscious people. They count every bits of seconds, cc, hp and torque. LOL

• kenari on May 29, 2013 at 11:14 am

Kereta canggih ma so rosak punya part (DSG) also canggih loh. Mana ada kereta canggih tak rosak punya. As long as you own one, you’ll have to live with it. The choice is yours. It’s call prerogative. Don’t think of the down side. Enjoy the driving pleasure while all is fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 58
  • bystander on May 29, 2013 at 12:13 pm

I drive a VW. Frankly speaking, no one force me to buy it, and I also take a risk, knowing well that the DSG7 or some other parts may go kaput. So far so good, and seriously, I just hope for the best.
    In Malaysia, to a certain extent, we have *some* choices. For most of us normal wage earners with only 1 income (no side income, can buy 2nd hand car, buy local brand, buy Asian brand, take public transport if your lifestyle/work can accept it, ride EX5 or CBR, etc.
    Some things are easier to change, some things are harder to change, some things cannot change at all. So just have to do what we can, with what we have, at where we are at, and with the time that we have. Just my 2 sen la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • jimGTI on May 29, 2013 at 1:49 pm

I own a MK6 GTI as well, no problem so far (touch wood)…

Just go for model with DSG 6 (wet clutch) if you could, I was lucky that I didnt get the golf tsi a year before I got my GTI as I failed to get approval from HM that time, else I will be making big hooha like the rest who is owning the model with DSG7 now.

• Medic on May 29, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Yup,the wet clutch is un-affected…Glad you’re enjoying ur ride.Those bashers know nuts bout Vw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 64
  • motorhead on May 29, 2013 at 2:37 pm

VW bashers.. Cool down.. Buy a myvi then.. Cheaper bug.. No gear problems.. Can go 180kmp (manual). It’s a matter of preference.. Overpriced, DSG poblems etc bla bla.. Let anyone who loves it, buy it. No problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
  • ernie on May 29, 2013 at 4:43 pm

i have my india mari polo sedan and loving every moment of it. no need to worry about dsg as it uses an aisin 6 speed gearbox. anyway the drive is totally superior than the asian makes.wow!

• Farhat on May 29, 2013 at 8:39 pm

You guys are comparing this bug with a family sedan. This is a Mini/Fiat 500 territory and for the price quite similar (or much lower for the 1.2) with the fiat, this is on the right track with pricing,

DSG, hm, ive heard alot of complaints, but alhamdullilah, my 2013 Beetle 1.2 TSi is driving fine, with 4800km on the clock in less than 2 months ownership.

We owners are not trying to defend the brand, but its true that some lucky owners have not experienced the problems.

I am not saying that im waiting for something to happen with the gearbox, but i hope its a defect in most models than a failure for all.

I believe newer models (i do mean new models like the Beetle, MK7 Golf and Touareg are getting the revised and updated DSG) but 2009-2012 models including the current built Jetta, MK6 Golfs, Passat/CC, EOS, X-Touran have the older, more problematic gearbox issues.

• funnymalaysian on May 29, 2013 at 8:44 pm

wah so funny la all of you. if u want to buy japs, go buy japs. if want kimchi, go buy kimchi. if want P1,P2, go ahead and buy la. u guys angrily and desperately bashing VW for what? you own one? not satisfied? why buy in the 1st place? didnt yet know about DSG prob? suits u then. go sell the car and be happy.

• Toyota Sales Man on May 29, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Wah, I got so many colleagues over here.

Oh hi, you are Honda salesman now?

• I have both Jap n Conti cars…dua dua pun bagus…n both also have their own set of problems…mana ada yg perfect kawannnnn…

• kentji on May 30, 2013 at 6:56 pm

if you are new to pt, welcome here my friend, where only you can agaisnt the dsg and if any1 trying to deby them you will suddenly become a veedub salesman :)

i will say owning a dsg7 is risky but they arent all lemons, fyi the recall campaign is only for those previous 2010~2011 batch

• petrolhead on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Hi everybody,

The ppl at paultan.org must be having a blast laughing at some of your views, since the whole purpose of this site is well, to discuss cars. What is the point of bashing other ppl’s opinion on cars? Who’s to say u r right n others r wrong? And why do u need to bash it here, it is just the wrong place. Pity the ppl who just wants to learn about the cars in each article.

I am driving an Alfa Romeo as my daily driver, its not perfect but even my wife won’t let me upgrade. I believe a true petrol head will just love cars as it is. For me its either we clear off these viruses from this website, or true petrolheads needs to look elsewhere for their automotive fix.