Citroen C5 THP156 now on sale in Malaysia – RM190k

Citroen_C5_1

The THP200 manual DS4 we featured yesterday isn’t the only new addition to Naza Euro Motors’ line-up; the D-segment Citroen C5 sedan is now here too, on sale for RM189,888 inclusive of insurance and a three-year/100,000 km warranty. That makes it one of the more expensive European offerings in this class but unlike others, exclusivity is a given.

A sole engine option is available here, the usual PSA 1.6 litre turbo in THP156 guise connected to a six-speed automatic transmission. That’s the same combination used in both the Citroen DS4 (auto) and DS5, not to mention the Peugeot 508 with which the C5 shares much with. 0-100 km/h time is 9.8 seconds, and top speed is 210 km/h.

It sits on the same PSA PF3 platform that underlines the 508, but keeps Citroen’s legacy Hydractive 3+ pneumatic suspension system that has long been the C5’s party piece. That and uniquely tuned kinematics and steering mean the pair offers distinctly different driving characteristics to go along with their polarising looks.

Citroen_C5_2

The car on test at JPJ wore an Exclusive badge on its tail, denoting Citroen’s top of the range trim line. Standard equipment includes 18-inch ‘Atlantic’ wheels, xenon headlamps, DRLs, dual-zone auto air con, powered front seats, leather upholstery and cruise control. Six airbags, auto wipers and Parking Space Measurement are also packed in.

Citroen doesn’t do conventional, as the C5 proves. It looks like no other, and the steering centre hub doesn’t turn with the chrome-trimmed wheel. There are more buttons on the steering boss than an MMORPG keyboard, perhaps giving the driver more control than strictly necessary.

But that’s Citroen for you – eccentric yet lovable. Now represented by Naza Euro Motors, Citroens are back in style in Malaysia and the C5 is definitely one of its more interesting offerings. Very limited units are available (we hear there’s less than 10) so if you want one, better be quick about it.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kevkev on May 29, 2013 at 2:33 pm

here comes the haters comments, i bet there’ll be alot of them, but hey, this car is unique! (:

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Overpriced! omg they think they r premium brand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
      • vs- its not overpriced for the quality, comfort & engineering offered, compared to toyotas or hondas etc which offer less for the money, i will take the C5 anytime

• confused on May 29, 2013 at 2:46 pm

I prefer 508.. More garang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • Just parked next to a C5 just now at 1 Utama. It’s weird that this car looks more German than French like the DS5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • edzor on May 29, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Love how they put in 5 man-minutes into designing the aircond/HU panel :)

• Beautycontestant on May 29, 2013 at 2:59 pm

What happened to the dashboard design work? Just too god damn plain with such a price tag. Next pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • passioner on May 30, 2013 at 3:14 pm

the dashboard looks plain is because lot of the control buttons and dials were moved to steering hub. Another multifunction information display panel was located at odometer. So it looks plain on center dashboard.

• have you look at it closely or touch to feel the quality of materials used? i doubt it

• EURO 30,450 = RM 119,948.55

Sales in Malaysia = RM 190,000 (+RM 70,000++)

Well done BN gov. Good job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 68
  • Hideous interior on May 29, 2013 at 5:25 pm

If people say the Camry’s interior is fugly, what ago this???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • neutral on May 29, 2013 at 6:02 pm

C5 been around for quite a few years already….so can’t expect it to be better than camry interior design…

• Abg Long on May 29, 2013 at 5:40 pm

508 is much3x better than this n 508 is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi on May 30, 2013 at 12:29 am

This is meant to be extremely comfortable, the 508 is more leaning towards sportiness. To find ride comfort that can compete with this you’ll be looking at Maybach and Rolls Royce (those use similar systems). So the price tag is sort of justified.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • abg long- 508 is cheaper, but the design is not avant garde enough

• Maserati on May 29, 2013 at 7:34 pm

Which retard will buy this junk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 89
    • David D on May 29, 2013 at 11:15 pm

The passionate buyers. Go play far away with your Camry, as this car, despite its flaws, literally wipes the Camry clean with its ride, comfort, and most importantly, safety. And, definitely a looker as compared to your heavily chiselled Camry, which looks like a loaf of bread rather than a cleanly designed car like the Legacy.

And buyers of this car aren’t retards, only yourself, Maserati, is an absolute retard, with no respect given for car buyers like us who want something different.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
    • maserati – you are the retard as you dont appreciate beauty even if it hits you in the face

• supertjx on May 29, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Wow.. check out the 1980s head unit that comes with a car they are selling for RM190k. Are they for real??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • supertjx- are wearing blinkers? unless you have seen the car personally up close your comment is bull

• Gavin on May 29, 2013 at 8:51 pm

magic carpet ride undeniably,

• Syazwan on May 29, 2013 at 10:26 pm

suspension is under warranty or not?
    if wanna change, how much will it cost u?

• kadajawi on May 30, 2013 at 12:32 am

If you order the suspension spheres from the UK they’ll IIRC cost you around RM 1200 (for the complete set…). If you buy them here probably quite a bit more. Also, I wouldn’t know why it won’t be covered by the warranty.

• 99% of people who criticise a citroen has never driven one.

The camry is an empty shell compared to the solid feel of the c5. Equipped with outdated engine and gb, the camry belongs in a museum.

The 508 looks sporty but does not drive faster than the c5. Both have very similar 0-100 times. The 508 is also a lot more stiff and can give back pain over poor roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Vishnu Anand on May 30, 2013 at 8:08 am

Lol.. That interior.. Ghastly. Nevertheless, I’m sure it’ll be quickly forgotten. If the ride comfort is anything like previous C5s, or C6s, the interior would be easily forgiven..

• anand macha- interior is work of art…have you test drove it?..i bet not

• almost same price as Mazda6 2.5 Skyactiv-G selling now in M’sia, if to compare both C5 and new M6, I would ask myself, are we compare lemon to apple?

• Ahmadfaris93 on May 30, 2013 at 11:12 am

Oh lord why is this car so expensive after Naza took over. It’s even more expensive than the Passat. This is Citroen for god’s sake.

• Hydractive 3+ on May 30, 2013 at 11:33 am

The Passat’s ride quality is second class compared to the C5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Jun 02, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Same price as before…

Luxury is expensive, and in this case you get what you pay for, and then some. Still it is a rather self confident price, I wonder how it will do.

Also remember the cheap Passat is CKD. The Mondeo is around the same price. Nicer interior, better handling and more power, but the ride comfort on the Citroen is superior. Same with the Passat. You do get a conventional AT rather than a DSG gearbox, which should be comforting for some.

• conti-lover on May 30, 2013 at 11:17 am

In term of ride comfort, other than C6, no other cars that below RM700k can beat this C5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Maserati on May 30, 2013 at 1:38 pm

This is probably the worst car you can buy at rm190k! Avoid at all costs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
    • maserati – you must back your idiotic comments with facts or else i will slap your wrist…dont cry to oyur mama if i do that

• “99% of people who criticize a citroen has never driven one.”

To those who want to compare this to a Camry, are you serious? From ride quality to handling to interior quality to safety, the C5 annihilates the Camry completely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • David D on May 30, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Damn right jerm!! Sure, Citroens aren’t the most reliable cars, not the best to drive, and not the best in resale value, but, at the end of the day, there are still a whole lot of attributes that makes us Citroen lovers. Looks, uniqueness, ride comfort, technology, safety, and best of all, quirkiness, it’s not much I would complain for Citroens.

Again, this car is for the people who know their cars well, and avoid naysayers who keep using reliability and resale value as the lamest excuses possibly seen, and would use both their heart and head to commit to a car like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • _xXx_ on May 30, 2013 at 3:15 pm

190k….u think msians’ $ all easy$ or wat??

• guest on May 31, 2013 at 10:53 am

I think you should leave that comment for the Camry. Worthless piece of junk at premium price. There’s no highlight in the car that makes it standout. Unless the bland/dull/boring styling and its “oh so reliable old engine/transmission” is a “feature” worth highlighting. Pfft

• fast 6 awesome on May 30, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Citreon only good at their suspension,
    their trademark.. wanna comfort car for your granpda..
    buy this, interior very simple for grandpa too..
    **maybe their design budget had gone to the suspension which cost alot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • fast 6 awesome – Citroen are among the best engineered car, the interior quality is higher than any Jap cars twice its price

• rollingrollingrolling on Jun 03, 2013 at 10:10 pm

I drive the latest C5… something not too many people tell you is that the 1.6 engine is the Prince engine co built with BMW and the 6 speed transmission is the Nissin one from Mitsubishi. It’s been far more reliable than my piece of shiy Golf with the DSG gearbox designed by twits. Used to own a Camry… this cars far more reliable and can take a beating

• I drive the latest C5 too and it’s far more reliable then most cars I have driven. If I travel with my family I feel safer in a Citroen and they love it for the quiet comfort. Unfortunately for the driver he is mostly driving by himself because everyone else in the car is sleeping :)
    However if I wanted to hear the outside kapchai noise and my family in a milo tin car with resale value I should have chosen to buy a Camry. Hmmm.

• I drive the latest C5 too and I agree the quiet comfort is really really good. And it is the only car that has adjustable suspension at under 200K.

Before I bought the C5, I tested the Mondeo and Passat. I found the Passat’s suspension to be hard and bumpy. The Mondeo is better in terms of power and handling but I didn’t like the interior design which I felt looks outdated.

The soft plastic used in the C5’s interior really gives it a premium feel. What it lacks is a large screen display and GPS navigation.

• I own a C5 2004 model. My car can beat Toyota Camry and Honda Accord anytime on the road, especially in speed acceleration. My previous car was a Citroen Xantia. What a workhouse that car is. Well the premium is due for a fine French car. Maintenance costs are also reasonable compare to Toyota and Honda, it’s a matter of keeping your car in good condition through proper scheduled maintenance and service. Many people buy Toyota and Honda because of economical reason (got second hand price lah!) Well for me, it’s a passion.Citroen cars are good. Have you see a C5 taking a sharp corner at 180KM and acceleration up a hill after taking the corner?

• It just makes me wonder. Are we really so stupid or naive? The Camry, Accord and Teana is nowhere near a C5 in comfort, safety etc. The facts are very clear. A simple drive test will be conclusive evidence. Res Ipsa Loquitor. We can bluff our ways if we want, but facts will always prevail. I have driven and own many cars, from MB, to the Lexus, to the simple Perdana, to the 206 and 408, to some Kia models and the Camry, even to a Maserati. And nowhere are any of these cars as comfortable as the C5. Yes, Citroen has its problems, the biggest of which is the lack of proper mechanics and service centers. Hopefully, Naza can change this. If your budget is around RM150,000 to 160,000, Camry or 508 then. But if you can afford a budget of RM190,000, the C5 is a great vehicle. But of course you should not be looking to resell the car, which is not necessary anyway once you have driven it. And if you can afford a budget of RM250000, the you can consider the 3 series or the C class. But i may still opt for the C5 if i can only afford either one of the cars. Trust me, the Lexus feels like a piece of dead wood once you have sat in the C5. So please stop criticizing the price of the car. If you can afford one, go for it. If you can not afford one, then buy whatever you can afford. And please stop the Malaysian habit of criticizing without even having experience the car by yourself. It is just ridiculous and cheap.

• Citreon is France luxury car. Like Lexus-Toyota. Citreon-Peugoet(60% share parts and platform). You can check C4 GP already launch more than 7 year back, 5008 just come in. C5 is need to be compare with Mercedes C-class. French are good in styles and comfort. While Germany is precision engineering. The germany car last longer and more on performances. So if you need fast6 car look germany. If you need good styles can last long look for french. C5 is unique car since they are popular for hydrological suspension. If you look for road comfort…C5 win over Mercedes C class. For resale value is low since not many service centre in Malaysia. Mercedes Class entry price high. After 5 years both rugi same amount of money. In Euro, Citreon sold more mercedes, bmw and audi. About Tax, Naza did a good job. Compare 120K and tax 70K. Just 58% tax for exices, sale tax and import tax. Please check with MAA you would be surprise to see just 70% tax just for excise. So no wonder you can see more continental car nowaday. This is due to WTO and liberalization. Toyota in Euro can hardly sold there. So why worries about resold value when you know another 5 year on the road, car are getting cheaper and better in fuel efficient. In Euro they making car lighter and cheaper and even more fuel efficient. Buy car with technology 5-10 year ahead and you enjoy the car so much because the Technologies. The Braking system already win over many japanase car..so safety wise…less accident jimat banyak duit on repair cost. Remember proton saga not able to export to UK market due to safety stringent in EURO. In Euro, consumer is no 1. Here comsumer no last and policy maker got more said…but i think malaysia would be moving toward advance country..so they need to adopt consumer first. Check the VW recall policy in Malaysia, last time the big company never entertain comsumer…Next wave you would see Audi where the old big arrogant company losing it right sole distributor. In Euro, Audi sell more tan BMW and Merc. So what happen here is the people who make the car good or bad. So I think Naza did quite a good job compare with others big company (D** H*C**). I hope Naza would built more 3S service centre later stage. Remember Citreon-Peougeout sold 1.5 million car in Euro yearly and not far behind VW. So spare part is not so expensive. Volvo spare part more expensive due to mold cost need to bare by each cars. Look for cars with most popular and your running cost would be low and resale value would be high. In here, toyota wins but due to yen high, they need to give lower spec in malaysia to become competitive price. They compromise safety and performace. So you cannot comnpare Toyota camry since they can hold resale value quite high since most of the electronic on safety do not have, so no need to replacement wear and tear. I think about 30% of the car cost mean for safety and comfort in EURO. so after 5 year down the road, air bag, park assist, massage chair and etc would be consider almost zero value. So you look at those car, the resale value is not that bad lah since you already enjoy the product safety and comfort for your beloved family. Life is much more costly than the $$$ you can save. Work harder and safe more, your family deserve the safety on the road. I hope you all enjoy this comment. Internet can give all the infomation you need and studied the spec and price. Compare the price with the EURO since they are advance country…and lastly decide what car you pocket willing to give for your family. Work harder and become more sincere, you would found the best product or car that fit your car. No point compare care since all the car are unique and got advantage and disadvantage. Buy the car your pocket fit and if you do not have that money no point cursing too expensive. Work harder and save more and one day you would bale to to achieve your dream car. Everybody like luxury and performance car, porche, lombo, audi,bmw and etc…but the people who built those car are using their heart. It would be rude to tell them thier hard work is useless. So be mindful and sincere in your heart before making any comment.