Chery RHD hub in Malaysia to start operating next year

chery-beta-5

Chery will set up a factory in Malaysia that will begin operations in 2014, according to reports from China.

The plant won’t be just making cars for local consumption, but will assemble vehicles in knockdown form to be exported to countries in South Asia and ASEAN. This was announced by Chery’s vice president Zhou Biren at the signing of a strategic partnership agreement between the carmaker and the Badminton World Federation earlier this week.

Reports of Chery’s plan to establish a base in Malaysia first surfaced last year, when Chery Alado boss Paul Ng said that his company was investing RM250 million to build a factory. Ng added that the plant will produce right-hand drive vehicles for both domestic use and exports to Asian RHD countries such as Thailand, Indonesia, India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Chery is mostly known for the Eastar MPV and Tiggo SUV in Malaysia, but the Anhui-based carmaker’s recent concepts such as the Beta 5 SUV (pictured) and Alpha 7 sedan look clean and modern. No coincidence, as earlier this year, Chery hired ex-Porsche designer Hakan Saracoglu as design boss.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jolly_idiot on May 31, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Proton still believe in Preve design.

Chinese are fast learner. Taking shortcuts in hiring designers to do a better job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Exterior is huge improving! seriously this thing looks better than the new X5 lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • no need for cherry to open car assembly here…nobody will buy car made in bolehland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
  • dewaSemut on May 31, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Only Proton stick to Azlano, the world best car designer… hehe :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Just Another Dude.. on May 31, 2013 at 10:36 pm

the guy is full of himself. “Design Visionary, Strategist and Digital Technology Evangelist”, right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • YES! i believe china will be able to succeed in malaysia in after this..hope to see more other good china cars brand selling their passenger cars here..not only limited to the commercial vehicles..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Oh my good pleople always look down to chinese car. Dont be suprise..another 2 or 3 year malaysian pleople will look high chinese car…they are faster leaner compare to korean…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • mr zero on May 31, 2013 at 7:51 pm

I’m ashamed with Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
  • I’m just glad Chery chose Malaysia instead of Thailand or Indonesia. This will mean a great deal in the next decade because Chery is one of the fastest growing Chinese car brands today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Great Wall Motor oso will set up their plant in kedah to produce EEV car for Asian market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Awesome, we’re gonna need as much support as possible from the Chinese carmakers if we’re going to regain the top spot from Thailand. Not to forget, Indonesia is going to grow explosively in the next decade as well, so we don’t have much time left. Gembateh !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • PauKaya on May 31, 2013 at 9:31 pm

have some issues with the attitude of chery service centres. pretty terrible customer service and costs are pretty high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • For sure they will improve in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • James May of Subang Jaya on Jun 01, 2013 at 12:39 pm

I think its more of Berjaya’s attitude. Apparently Mazda’s isn’t that good either in Malaysia. Wonder how is Aston’s in Malaysia xD…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Nasurudin on May 31, 2013 at 11:21 pm

will never buy a Chinese. Take the lower arm for example. Can only last 3 months After 15 years, they mayneed another decade to improve. The safety issue is another point . A whole family died in Cherating crushed in a weak cabin of Cherry last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
    • LOL….That doesnt mean they will not succeed in the future. It takes time, but for sure will be way way way faster than how the proton improves their idiotic cars… .Trust me, you or your children will have one in the future, LOL….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • BMW Fanboy on Jun 01, 2013 at 9:18 am

chinese car sucks… Prevegot5starANCAPyoujelly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • Black Dog on Jun 01, 2013 at 10:31 am

Japs are fast learners. Koreans are even faster. The Chinese will take a quantum leap.

…sadly somebody masih tidur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Cherry does not have ay big impact here in Saudi but Geely is. The local dealer will even bring the new SUV to Saudi soon. Their price structure is lower than even the Korean.

http://www.geely.com.sa/#

• MALAYSIA BOLEH in everything including daydreaming of their yesterday years car of the 80s and even crippling countries is over taking us in auto industry

• Looking at this, I can see China automotive is growing really fast. So ya, goodluck proton :p You sure you can survive by depending on Preve design? Think again Proton . haha

• KENNY TAN on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:19 am

12-4-2013 , i very happy to buy the new car from your company cherry malaysia penang bayan baru branch . the car is really nice and i like it so much . because is totally like toyota wish . but the price is cheeper half in malaysia . quality also not bad then toyota wish . and the saleman service is very good for it . because all my car is send back to original service center . never give out side service before . because i believe all the service center can save my car like new .
    register number : PLB 2266 the new cherry easter 2.0 red color . RM 80 000.00 malaysia .
    3-5-2013 , i drive over 1000km . send to your service center service . and told the person antony . 1 the front lamp got problem with the led are broke . 2 the air corn have problem . the car engine got sound like f1 sport car .
    another say the engine have sound is the front type support got problem . i must put the car there 3 week or 1 month . they will operation the car after take the part send to kl . still can claim . i ask that is new car i buy from your company . he show me got many car there . told me you see . all the car is waiting the part . that time i have regret but this car . got no chooice i call the antony help me to settle the air corn first . he told me next time service still do for me . maybe i came is too later . they want go back home . that i can understand .
    29-5-2013 the car is totally like a 10 year lori sound . my friend ask is it i buy the new F1 car . i dont know i need to she or your company . morning 10.30am i call the service center ask . operater say will help me check . until afternoon 4.15pm he call back . say in the computer not have any record . call me to send the car go to service center tomorrow .
    30-5-2013 morning 9.15AM i call malaysia penang bayan baru branch MR LIM again . yesterday i call the service center they say not record in computer . and the car is very bad now . need to send to hospital operation . call him find a person to take the car help me send to service center . he told me you must call your bank insurance take the car to service center .
    1 , WHY THE RULE OF CHERRY NEED TO PUT THE CAR THERE . AFTER STILL CAN ORDER THE PART ?
    2 , CAN I ASK IS IT I BUY THIS CHERRY EASTER 2.0 IS A NEW CAR ?
    3 , IF I DRIVE THE CAR HAVE ANY HAPPEN . MY LIFE IS ONLY RM 80 000.00 ?
    4 , IF YOUR SERVICE CENTER REALLY SO BUSY . PLEASE KINDLY HELP ME ASK I RETURN THE CAR HOW MUCH YOU CAN TAKE IT . BECAUSE I MUST SAVE MY LIFE FIRST . SINCE THE SERVICE AND THE NEW CAR HAVE SO MUCH OF THE PROBLEM . AND PLEASE USE YOUR COMPANY GIVE ME A LETTER . WHY I NEED TO RETURN THE CAR .
    MR LIM JUST NOW HAVE PROMISE WILL SEND THE SALEMAN CAME TO TAKE MY CAR . BUT NOW IS 10.45AM NOW . MY OFFICE GO TO YOUR BRANCH IS NOT OVER 3KM .
    THE PHONE OF MR LIM : 012-4296802
    ANTONY : 012-4726645
    PLEASE KINDLY LET ME KNOW . CAN I STILL DRIVE THE CAR ? I GOT 5 WORKER NEED TO SEND OFFICE WORKING EVERY DAY . WE ARE SAVE IN THE CHERRY EASTER 2.0 ? IF GOT ANY HAPPEN , HOW TO WE DO ? OR WE TAKE THE BICYCLE TO WORKING MORE SAVE ?