Indonesian Nissan Grand Livina facelift gets CVT ‘box, but only for new 1.5 motor; 1.8 sticks with 4-spd auto

Nissan_Grand_Livina_facelift_Indonesia_01

The Nissan Grand Livina facelift was introduced to the Indonesian market this week and as we reported earlier, the updated MPV gets new engine and gearbox options. The launch has confirmed that the new X-Tronic CVT transmission is only available on the revised 1.5 litre engine, while the 1.8 litre variant soldiers on with the existing four-speed auto ’box.

A Nissan Motor Indonesia official explained that the older 1.8 litre motor had always been intended to use the conventional transmission, with no plans yet to offer it with a CVT. He also cites that the new, more efficient HR15DE 1.5 litre engine is the ideal powerplant for the MPV, at least for the Indonesian market, hence the decision to pair it with a new transmission.

In Malaysia the pre-facelift Nissan Grand Livina uses either a 1.6 or 1.8 litre engine, both with four-speed automatic transmissions. We suppose the latter will stay on unchanged, but the question remains whether Nissan will adopt the new 1.5 litre/CVT combination for the more affordable variant.

We’ve spotted the updated car here twice already, once in five-seat X-Gear form and the other in full Grand Livina MPV guise. Look out for a local introduction later in the year. For now, you can check out the new Livina range in our live gallery from Auto Shanghai 2013.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jack Philip Yong on May 31, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Still a facelift version. Haizz… :(

The next generation of Livina should be like Nissan Note

• ben yap on May 31, 2013 at 3:57 pm

even if the 1.5 comes with CVT, it is still ridiculously underpowered. Better stick to the 1.8 with 4 speeder. at least got some useable power there.

• koochai on May 31, 2013 at 4:11 pm

long live the 4-speeder!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 43
  • jolly_idiot on May 31, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Downsizing engine is good. But not good for a 7 seater car. Unless turbocharge it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
  • Sorry my Avatar is not coming out again. Anyway, I will never support a company whose CEO has called for high car prices and high car taxes at the detriment of the well being of 28 million people in Malaysia just for in support of more profits for Tan Chong Motors. Malu. On principal grounds, everyone should boycott Nissan until the CEO publicly apologises to 28 million people for his inconsiderate statement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 400 Thumb down 28
    • how in a world you manage to get 200+ like in a new entry like this? did you go to Hogwards?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • i think there is a bug..coz u can vote time n time by just refresh multiple times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • 1.5 engine to carry 7 seater…another avanza on the road..struggling for more power if full onboard…wonder if there is people still want to buy this junk !!!

• BlackBJQ on May 31, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Dont worry..Indonesian dont bother about power/cc.. Toyota did their Unser/Kijang with 1000cc and they sell well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Johnny on Jun 01, 2013 at 12:02 am

i have Toyota Unser 1.8 Auto. Normal driving in city area…. 1 day RM15+ Petrol, feel like 3 liter car. hahaha…..

• tikus on May 31, 2013 at 5:33 pm

I want NEW SYLPHY !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Nasurudin on May 31, 2013 at 5:46 pm

i drive a 1.5 cc nissan sentra for 12 years and its reliable, fuel efficient and powerful enogh to carry 5 heavy weight. I dont know about 1.5 hr engine, but the current i am driving can go up to 14 km litre

• Livani on May 31, 2013 at 8:55 pm

They must be joking. Even my City which is much lighter and smaller also not enough power to overtake cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Lavina on May 31, 2013 at 9:08 pm

And they called this “All New”?

*sigh -_-

• Insight43 on Jun 01, 2013 at 9:24 am

Insight saya 1.3cc boleh tapau keta 1.6cc….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Kendo on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:58 pm

YESSS! Finally theres a statement about this car.
    Nissan Indo called this All New Grand Livina. It supposed to say Face Lift. Another blunder in marketing gimmick language.

• gOOsh on Jun 06, 2013 at 8:23 am

my brother has let go his 3-years old livina and grab a exora cfe…
    why? i never asked…

• am i see it wrongly? why the back looks so ugly?