Perodua supports plan to reduce car prices in stages

p2 s series

The government, in its election campaign, had pledged to reduce car prices by 20% to 30%, and in a recent tweet, PM Datuk Seri Najib Razak reiterated that car prices will be reduced in stages till 2017. Now, market leader Perodua has come out in support of the initiative.

“In fact we have been engaged with the government, through MITI and MAI over the last two years in giving our inputs for the revision of the NAP which we understand will be announced in due course,” Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

Aminar added that the gradual reduction would allow the automotive eco-system, which includes manufacturers, vendors, authorised dealers, the used car market, consumers and other stakeholders, much needed time to adjust. “As one of the largest local carmakers, Perodua sees great value in a gradual liberalisation and this will also help us in being prepared for when the market fully opens,” he added.

p2-oku-showroom

Perodua says that since its inception 20 years ago, the company has provided jobs plus business opportunities to about 70,000 people throughout its entire eco-system. Currently, P2 has about 109 local vendors and 272 local sales/service dealers and other service providers under its wing, and will be purchasing RM4 billion in parts this year from local vendors. “The result of this extended eco-system, Perodua has sold some 2.2 million vehicles over our 20-year history,” Aminar said.

On Perodua’s efforts to further reduce its prices, Aminar pointed to the recently launched S Series. “We are not only repositioning the price downwards, we added more features and gave three-year free service to all our models. The value we bring to the customers ranges from RM4,500 to RM5,600,” he said.

“We will continue to produce and market affordable vehicles with quality, taking into consideration the total cost of ownership. Our most affordable variant is priced at RM25,000 – the lowest in the country,” he stressed.

Perodua describes the S-Series as its “most value-for-money variant” so far, with added equipment over the phased-out variants but at no extra cost to the customer – click here for full details, specs and prices.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• We need another competitor that can offer a car at RM25000 so that you don’t monopolize the market Mr. Perodua. Support? :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 11
    • Everyone here should make the effort and tell your friends to buy only after 5 years from today. Why buy now when the price is going to drop 30%? Also, Perodua, don’t talk so much, for over 15 years you have got a free ride from the government and Malaysians. The governemnt is still protecting you. So, you are not doing any favour to the public by supporting the price reduction programme.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 254 Thumb down 2
    • Green on Jun 01, 2013 at 6:46 pm

A rival is possible.. only with the CD player, air con equipped Tata Nano….

Of course, I would think a Perodua Viva 660 manual would seems better then Tata Nano.

but, competition shall begin soon enough as Tata has plan to expand it’s market in ASEAN.

Source:
      1. Tata sets up shop in Indonesia, operations begin 2013:: 60 full-service dealers, 100 workshops and 300 spare parts retailers.
      http://paultan.org/2012/09/12/tata-sets-up-shop-in-indonesia-operations-begin-2013/

2. Tata Nano makes ASEAN debut, heads to Myanmar::
      70 Nanos have been ordered for use as taxis in the capital.
      http://paultan.org/2013/05/27/tata-nano-arrives-in-asean-heading-to-myanmar/

• Gegary on May 31, 2013 at 9:51 am

DEAFENING SILENCE from Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
    • Eyesore on May 31, 2013 at 11:20 am

Proton have been working along with the govt on this matter all the way… it’s just their nature not to make big noise over everything… If perodua is really concern abt safety, please remove viva from their line up… looking at the aftermath of the accident at MRR2 earlier this month, you can see how unsafe viva is… that is not how a body structure of a car should behave… totally torn off the roof n tailgate… no amount of airbags and safety assist can save u in a car with that weak body structure… it a moving coffin on the road… hell you would be much safe in a coffin than in this junk…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 22
      • human on May 31, 2013 at 12:33 pm

glad to know u can afford those premium car that im sure you will always feel safe with ‘i hope’. as for a fresh degree holder im so grateful to have a viva compare riding a bike previously…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
      • confused on May 31, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Same can be said for Pug also then. Couple of days ago, remember the freak accident with MRT-related structure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
        • rally_fan on May 31, 2013 at 3:44 pm

you are reallly confused.. have you seen how big that MRT structure is?? its 3-4 times larger than a car.. even an S-class mercedes would be flattened by it. Please.. if you’re going to compare something.. be realistic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • OMG…many factors can contribute to this accident also. Dont just blame the small cars are not safe to drive. If that the case, the whole global car manufacturer will not making any small car, not just Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
        • rally_fan on May 31, 2013 at 3:46 pm

agreed.. many factors can contribute to an accident.. but please do not assume all small cars are made the same. they are not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • amfin on May 31, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Agree with you Eyesore. Had just seen 1 Viva hit a lamp post yesterday nearby KK Airport and it was a total mess.A friend whom came back from China told me she hardly see small cars there. The smallest seen is cars like Toyota Yaris etc.FYI small cars eg Perodua’s Viva are actually Japanese K-Car meant for their small narrow roads in town, not meant for our “slippery when raining highway”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • carazy on May 31, 2013 at 5:52 pm

If u are fresh graduate that need a car around 30K+-.. there are lot of choice from 2nd hand cars.. that the safety standard are quite good compared to poor viva.. u got degree rite, used ur fresh mind, i would say..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • human on May 31, 2013 at 7:55 pm

my fresh mind already think wisely, i would prefer fuss free car with warranty rather then buy used car that gonna ends me many times in workshop and spending money repairing it, like a few of my friends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • thiscouldbebetter on May 31, 2013 at 8:57 pm

I agree with you. If you don’t mind about being ‘second handed’, there are many cars out there which are safer than a new or first hand Perodua/Proton. Just sayin’

• saladin on May 31, 2013 at 10:18 pm

for me it was never the car body structure issue. it is about the safety of the car it self. brakes , tyres, headlamp, brake lights. the MRR2 accident leasons is on the brakes. brake failure.

• squall_shinoda on Jun 02, 2013 at 9:43 am

There’s something you forgot to add… the driver himself/herself. They should be prepared with troubleshooting skills in case if something happens, not just know how to drive. The MRR2 accident could actually be avoided if the Satria driver knew how to shift to 1st gear when the brakes failed, and, in worst case scenario, how to turn off the ignition key. But nevertheless, nasi dah jadi bubur dah.

• Cosmo Artemis on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:25 am

Turn off the ignition key? Are you kiddin bro? All the power to the power steering will turn off I think; at least at my 9 years old Wira.

• Gokul on May 31, 2013 at 9:51 am

Hope other car makers will follow suit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Sam Loo on May 31, 2013 at 10:00 am

All you Perodua fans must thank me, Sam Loo for making this happen. It is because of me that Perodua is reducing their prices. Perodua sales short up so high because they tumpang glamour of Toyota VVTi engine. The DVVT engine is actually from Toyota. And it is me that promoted Toyota on this site. When people found out Perodua is actually Toyota in disguise, wah, the sales shot up. I hope all you Perodua fans worship me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 134
    • Hahaha, u make my day….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • We are so thankful Dato Sri Sam Loo. Come come I belanja u cendol bakar at Ijok. We drive from seremban with my 13 yr old Kancil with DVVT & VVTI sticker at the back. It will be a memorable journey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Jane W on May 31, 2013 at 12:48 pm

This is so funny, ur medicine finished dy?

• OMG…Should call u “TOYOTA LOO”. lol.

• jolly_idiot on May 31, 2013 at 10:14 am

We ended up with local made and local brand again. Our hope and wish for imported car will never come true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Well jolly, cannot be so unfair la.. I’ll be happy if we have a GOOD local made and GOOD local brand. Not always local made is bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
      • ae101 on May 31, 2013 at 12:13 pm

The fact is local car sucks big time with premium price :) Mahatiu vision about cheap local car on proton is down to the drain now and it will continue in future

• I have to apologize, I wasn’t referring to the “car” industry only. Was referring to other local products too. But you are right, local car is definitely not there.

• jolly_idiot on May 31, 2013 at 2:17 pm

With the current price and current quality. I wouldn’t imagine how it worse it can go to accomodate the 20% price drop.

PRobably we’re getting the car with just wheels and engine. No spec at all.

• affordable cars should be priced sub-RM20k – that is fair. Remember: high car prices leads to higher insurance premiums as well. It is a lose-lose situation now for Msian car buyers. High car prices with increasing insurance premiums.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • amirad on May 31, 2013 at 10:45 am

So the logical choice would be to wait till 2017 for 30% discount to be materialised. Hang on to your current ride folks. Wonder how the automotive companies will respond if everybody is holding off the purchase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • marco on May 31, 2013 at 11:12 am

haha..by the time our current car will be at scrap value..back to square one when we have to fork out to purchase new car..

i’m wondering what will happen to a big CC >3000cc.. time goes by, even camry 2.5 also consider big engine bmw,vw,merc are using <2.0

• koochai on May 31, 2013 at 2:50 pm

to achieve our vision of cheaper cars, every party must be willing to contribute/sacrifice something :

1.manufacturer & dealer => lower margin per unit but offset by higher volume

2.customer => lower trade in value for current car but offset by cheaper new car price

3.government => instead of “walloping” whole tax+duty at point of purchase, why not introduce something which can be collected gradually ie on yearly basis not unlike our current road tax

it’ll be a very painful process but something that we’ll have to start now though we may only see the positive nett impact (financially) in 10 years time…

may god bless us malaysians

• thebugbud on May 31, 2013 at 11:57 am

Reduction by cutting corners and it just another way to sell cheap car at so called lower price. If there’s intention for lowering car price, it should be done across the board. First thing first, get rid of AP. Only the few AP kings get hurt while everyone benefited.

• 109 vendors..substandard vendors..

• EDDIE on May 31, 2013 at 12:06 pm

20-30% cut is good…However, if the quality of the car goes down with the price…

• Clarence on May 31, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Yeah, stripped out the safety features of the car and sell it at low pricing. Then work with the government hand in hand to keep good safe cars from being imported in at similar pricing. Shame on u Perodua. Looks like the life of a Malaysian is worth less than your annual profit in your eyes eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Abdullah on May 31, 2013 at 12:56 pm

The price of cars should be reduced in one stroke and not in stages.
    Second hand dealers and finance companies have been making obscene profit from high car prices for the last 50 years so a one time lost can be easily recover by increase sales.
    NAP will be a failure with the slow removal of tariff and regulations.
    Investors would rather wait for a complete removal of burdensome tariff and regulations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • RM25000 for a car that failed all EURO NCAP ,ASEAN NCAP crash test ?? Even hit by a bicycle the car door will habis ?? Our life worth more then it my dear perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • dont buy it then if u feel it is unsafe..there are a lot of other cars out there..nobody force u to buy a viva..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Loan was proceed to buy myvi se1.5 rm 56k..but i hold to sign agreement bcoz waiting for good news..tapi smpai bila maa…

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 31, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Amboi…. semua berangan nak pakai keta import. Kutuk bagai nak rak. Cuba tengok harga sparepart. Sanggup?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • koochai on May 31, 2013 at 2:42 pm

don’t be so short sighted la fren
      with more & more takers for imported cars, sooner or later market will adjust
      parts will be more easily & widely available at cheaper price
      it is called “ECONOMIES OF SCALE”

• Penang Playboy on May 31, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Kalau u tak mampu, tak bermakna orang lain tak mampu. I sedang pakai Pug508, sedap je dan harga spare part bagi I tu memang ok sebab i dah factor in harga spare part tu masa I beli. Kesimpulannya ialah, kalau tak mampu kereta tu, jangan beli kereta tu, beli ikut kemampunan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • bmwer on May 31, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Booooo…aku pakai bmw F10 dan S klasse tak kecoh pun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
        • lembu12 on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:53 am

Aku pakai Lembugini tak kecoh pun
          (Secara tak langsung kecoh gak, sama macam mamat-mamat kat atas ni, kahkahkah)

• think smarter on May 31, 2013 at 1:59 pm

With current price proton and perodua is providing poor quality and poor safety, after cutting cost? Is will be even worse. Where get the profit to further develop their r&d? Then end of the day if they claim to be not profitable then need gov to use rakyat,’s hard earning money to help them? Stop all the wasting time talk . Or one scene is all the while they sell us with very high profit but proton is claim to make loss. Where they spend those profit.

• aigoo on May 31, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Next plan govt mau harge kete turun, lepas ni kot-kot plan kasi naik roadtax plak tak pon minyak naik plak..

• 1st Year – reduce 5% “Janji Ditepati”
    2nd Year – silent
    3rd Year – pretend dunno
    4rd Year – Huh ???
    5th Year – If you continue to vote us, we will give 30% reduction on all cars includeing getting a rebate of RM500 for cars purchase from 2013 – present.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
  • azrai on May 31, 2013 at 3:28 pm

We can lower our price anytime actually because no R&D cost in Rawang plant, just cosmetic change on bumper and headlamp to suit our local flavour based on the original Daihatsu car blueprint in Japan. So, we are not pertubed by any government effort to reduce the car price in years to come before the next general election in 2017. In other word, we still make money no matter how.

• kenot on May 31, 2013 at 4:29 pm

as a buyer, I do not expect the price of a cheap car. Cheap is sometimes subjective. What I hope is a reasonable price of the car according to the specifications and quality.

For example, if I buy a proton car with price RM64000, but the quality and the specifications do not meet the price, I can buy another brand of car at an affordable price.

I think most people expect a reasonable car prices according to quality. Not pay RM500-RM700 per month but got problems and low spec like no airbag, abs at all.

if the government can make other brand like civic, Altis, accent, and other car in the same segment at least RM100K, that’s good enough for me.

• Forte and cerato 1.6 is under 100k, that if you mean C segment cars

• idris on May 31, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Either
    1. Same price with additional features n long term free service n warranty OR
    2. Lower price with current features, no free service n max 2 yrs warranty

should b no 1 i think so just know i booked zoom zoom zoom

• Good on Perodua for taking this initiative. But I would also like to clearly say that if Malaysia took on what Thailand is doing now (without having some egoistic need to prove that Malaysia can build its own car brand) with great foreign automotive investment policies, way far more jobs would have been created in this ecosystem.

• mastermind on May 31, 2013 at 6:03 pm

after this please make sure the spare parts ,tyre ,accessories ,car paint shop must follow this step to reduce the service by 30 today till 2017,,,dont just blame proton…
    I urged government monitor service charge related to automotive sectors.
    eg battery shop,tyre shops, paint shops,spare part..please uniform all price no more nonse charge time to blame the shop owner as well government…

GOVERNMENT Do not FOCUS TO CAR PRICE REDUCE POLICY BUT MONITOR THE CURRENT SERVICE CHARGE IMPOSED BY CAR DEALER,ACCESSORIES,TYRE N BATTERY LAST BUT NOT LEAST TO PART SUPPLIERS….new policy must include this activities too…reduce the service charge by 30%%%%% too…

• still no action dont by the car price reduction issue just anouce the 30% max reduction but not announce the date of reducetion btw if car like ford fiesta price lower to myvi is nice to imagine

• Simon Ng on May 31, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Probably the car price will reduce like this..
    1st year, reduce price by 5%. Comes 2nd year, price goes up by 8%, due to high labor cost, material cost, exchange rate etc. Then 3rd reduce price again, and the price goes up again due to the same reason, then the cycle continues……

• Danno on Jun 01, 2013 at 11:46 am

Dear Perodua Lovers
    Need your help. I am conducting a brand loyalty study for my thesis. I need data for my analysis and looking for one is not easy. I truly hope you guys can help me. The below is the link to the survey form.

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/176n3W5ay_RAjPTWAo3eC8YXu2BoWOe8ZWPVsHsbizj0/viewform

Your kindness will be always remembered.
    Thanks
    Dan

• SamlokGgsamlok on Jun 01, 2013 at 3:31 pm

They will not drop car price. But throw in all sort of accessories to hold the car price.

• bootupjoe on Jun 02, 2013 at 5:30 am

This is the fact for those who support our “Barang Naik” government during GE13… causing extra tax to people of Malaysia for cheap car ….keep on dreaming to get a dream car for another 5 years bro..

• Sharu on Jun 02, 2013 at 1:06 pm

My personal thought:-The other option rather than reducing the car price, govt should abolish expressway toll, reduce the insurance and roadtax fee, and standardized the loaning tenure either for new or used vehicle i.e max 5yrs plus reduce the interest rate n d/p of 20-30% need to be paid upon confirming order. And please upgrade public transportation especially rural areas ALL STATES i.e MRT, RAPID

• ruganhaur on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Well having said that priced being reduced..wait a tick! it’s looks like a kit car!!yes! u can put your own stuffs and d.i.y yourself..

• Very good, all other junk car please cut at least 30% because they are not deserve the price. Except Toyota no need to follow this move. Toyota owner is all premium driver.

• Preve on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Yes, Produa S-series comes with reduces price and without ABS, Exora CFE std is cheaper than previous but without reverse sensor. Hope the price reduce no compromise the safety.