2014 Toyota Corolla: new teaser pix, LED headlamps?

2014-toyota-corolla-altis-teaser

Toyota continues the series of teaser images for the 2014 Toyota Corolla on its Toyota USA Facebook page, which is turning out to be going down quite a different direction compared to the last two Corollas.

The latest set of images expose design features such as the headlight, fog lamp with a section of the front grille, the nose badge, 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels and a touchscreen audio head unit.

The detailed photo of the headlamp reveal a triple-lense configuration, and what’s interesting is that according to the teaser, LED technology is available for the main beam, which is a truly a rare item in the C-segment. In Malaysia, only the top of the line Prius gets LED headlamps.

2014-toyota-corolla-altis-teaser-foglamp

This blue car being teased is the ‘S’ variant in the USA, as revealed by the first teaser which showed a red S badge at the rear along with a view of the taillamps. The outline of the front grille of this ‘S variant’ blue car has turned out to be quite different from all the previous views we’ve had of this new Corolla – check out the set of leaked images as well as the 3D renderings.

It’s either that this version of the front grille is part of a special more aggressive look for the S version of the US Corolla, or perhaps the US model is getting a completely different look from the Corolla Altis that the rest of the world will get?

The latest Toyota Corolla was teased in the form of the Toyota Corolla Furia Concept, and later a concept car that looked like an update of the Furia Concept called the Toyota Yundong Shuangqing II was showcased at Auto Shanghai 2013. Stay tuned for the official unveiling on June 6.

CLICK: 3D renderings of the 2014 Toyota Corolla.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 02, 2013 at 9:02 pm

I bet UMW is planning on how to continue ripping off their potential customers right about now… 5K for that optional upgrade anyone…?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 1
    • You will sure win your bet!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • tupperware on Jun 03, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Vios can tarpau GTI, Altis can tarpau Lambo, haha!

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Jonathan Lee on Jun 03, 2013 at 3:32 am

Actually, it’s more like RM13k. At least that’s how much Audi is charging for them on the A6.

• Gabriel on Jun 03, 2013 at 10:04 am

Bet this Altis will start at from RM129,888 for bare specs model to RM155,888 to full spec in Malaysia because…..it’s a Toyota.

Thank you UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • rajahGlobal on Jun 03, 2013 at 12:34 pm

this will be another best seller from Toyota!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
    • OMG..THE front lamp look like the current Estima. No other idea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Asimo on Jun 02, 2013 at 9:15 pm

In australia, they sell d hatchback version of the Corrolla which looks good n sporty ! Hope toyota bring ths to malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • T & H on Jun 02, 2013 at 10:03 pm

I just pray and hope they will have better drivetrain under that nice looking shell…

instead of a 4 speed auto…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • cheapppl on Jun 03, 2013 at 12:50 am

altis was never 4 speed auto you fail….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
    • tokboy on Jun 03, 2013 at 1:19 am

most prolly a cvt

• CVT is horrible. The sound is more or less the same across the rev range. Really annoying on Highway. Promises maximum horsepower, but doesn’t promises maximum torque. My dad’s W204’s five speed automatic has more character despite the slow shifting but it depends on your driving mode and your throttle input

• hippo on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:46 am

My current drive is the Altis Dual VVti 1.8e. Well I do agree that the CVT sounds the same across most rev range, but it provides a very quiet ride especially cruising along the highway. I don’t think the Altis is meant to be driven at high rpm range on maximum torque. Agreed it doesn’t provide much character, but I really like it as it’s comfortable and quiet ride. Good mileage too :)

• that picture of lower bumper at first i thought it was subaru brz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Electronic stability, Traction Control , 6 speed , 17inch rim, 7 airbag , 9 speaker , PLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS !!!! (although this spec can be found in ford focus..)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
  • hopefully UMW toyota wont strip it bare when it reaches Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • brobhel on Jun 03, 2013 at 1:21 am

Since when umw doen’s strip the specs? They always do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • i_swear on Jun 03, 2013 at 11:40 am

Lucky there no such thing as car porn, all our car have been stripped naked from day 1 (see vios J spec). Our market car sure been stripped off at least few features when come in Malaysia.

Later no sales, then add that features back and go for price increase.

• human on Jun 02, 2013 at 10:48 pm

I bet the sun just rises, and the samurai is ready for the war.. there’s go kimchi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • And there comes UMW ill-equipping the samurais, giving kimchi a fighting chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Johnny on Jun 02, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Finally……. can own a Toyota for 20years.

• Felixwcf on Jun 02, 2013 at 11:33 pm

So we have a 4-speed auto Camry, and you hope to bring 5-speed auto Corolla? LOL. Not trolling here, of course we hope to have at least 5 speed gearbox, instead of 4. Maybe their engineering shows that 4-speed is enough, instead of 5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • cheapppl on Jun 03, 2013 at 12:51 am

bodoh…current altis on cvt already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 27
      • ben yap on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:43 am

bodoh….. ALtis 1.6E, the base spec still using 4 speeder. only the 1.8 and 2.0 using CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • wierf on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:36 pm

No need 5 gears for toyota engine, it’s not that powerful to use it, in other words, not worth it.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 02, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Tolong keluarkan diri anda dari permainan pengilang kenderaan. Lampu je… So? Model T-Ford pun ada lampu. Sporty? Ford escort masa mula2 jual dulu semua orang cakap sporty. Cuba skrg ada pengilang tiru design camtu. Sure teruk korang kutuk kaw2 punya. Apa korang beli kereta ikut apa yang korang nak atau ikut apa yang pengilang suruh beli?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • syrkt xberdaftar on Jun 03, 2013 at 11:45 am

rupa paras mmg cukup utk menarik minat org ramai.. plus toyota badge, no worry lah??
      belilah kereta ikut keperluan, bukan sbb cantik atau trend.
      kalau boleh pilih tu mmg nak yg cantik gak.. whatever it is, kereta hanyalah kereta

• kenot on Jun 03, 2013 at 12:47 am

like camry, i believe this usdm toyota will be look sporty compare for asian region. and more sadly, malaysian through umw only get underated specs. the price? just culculate yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Camry and sports should not ever been associated. It’s an old uncle car la…

• powerpondei on Jun 03, 2013 at 1:12 am

looks like another ugly design from T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • kaicle on Jun 03, 2013 at 1:24 am

Only LED lamp, that doesn’t worth the hard earned money spent to this car if the specs are stripped off terribly. Better go for kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Hwang on Jun 03, 2013 at 7:24 pm

I am using VIOS now. Don’t find it economical in fuel consumption considering its low performance. Very chaaaaaa! The engine yells but delivers no umphhhhhh! Which kimchi is good now? Can share?

• SUV lover on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Agree…vios sucks….

• BLURSOTONG on Jun 03, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Hi dude, i had driven Proton Gen 2 , persona , Toyota Vios and right now i am driving a Mitsubishi Turbo car.
        if u want VROOM and OOMPH, u need to fork out more money for maintaince and gas.
        Firstly Proton cars suck more gas and return u less power.
        Recently, i had test drove Hyundai Elantra 1.8, i can say decent acceleration and driving experience.

• lanytr on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:13 am

You drive 1.6l car of course sucker than 1.8. I drive 3.5l V6 car, I feel your puny 1.8l elantra suck big time!

• jimbong on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:42 am

Exterior of this car is very CANTIQ, I wanna buy this kerata for……………………………………………..my grandad, lol

• Front lamps look like Gen-2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • stpendou on Jun 03, 2013 at 2:20 am

Why they put auris front lamps and camry rear lamps to this car? It looks retarded already.

• I just hope it comes with 4 airbags, ESC, TC and BA standard. Is that too much to ask for, UMW ?

Don’t repeat the same mistake done previously with the new Camry. Less safety = less sales. Malaysian uncles are getting smarter already, don’t play-play UMW. Be fair to your customers, please.

Sincerely,
    – A 2011 Toyota Corolla Altis owner.

• Henry on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:44 am

Yea agree.

Most uncles now using Iphone, Samsung Galaxy, Ipad to surf for car info online already.

UMW, u know the end is near for your greedy profit sales strategy :P

• ben yap on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:46 am

it’s not like UMW cares. they still got the toyota badge at the front and rear of the car. and by the way, it sells because of brand and resale value.

as long as our brand is highly valued, you shall have 2 airbags and no traction control for the base line. we’ll throw in our trusty but rusty 4 speeder if you wanna buy the cheapest model.

• ahmad loy on Jun 03, 2013 at 3:30 pm

..now you know how they “gula-gula” kan Malaysian drivers..offer underspecc/old technology with “huge” price..that’s why mostly goes for conti’s car..”mahal berbaloi”..but most Malaysian drivers won’t care about drivetrain technology..for them Toyota or Honda/Nissan ibarat “dulu, kini dan selamanya”..or the word..”kena tipu selama-lamanya”.

• UMW, is time to further lift the price to ensure not those poor people can drive this premium car. Toyota is always the best.

• It’s from the Avalon..
    Not bad..

• dewata raya on Jun 03, 2013 at 10:38 am

Autobot eyes

• Raven on Jun 03, 2013 at 10:54 am

Sure harga kereta ni mahal selagi BN memerintah.Over RM120K and kena ikat 9 tahun…aiyaaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 03, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Kereta mahal atau gaji ko kecik? Kenapa tak suruh bos kasi gaji lagi byk. Boleh pakai lambo. Apa barang toyota…….

By the way, siapa yg paksa ko ikat 9 thn? Aiyaa…. pasal apa ko beli cash la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • RodaEmpat on Jun 03, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Altis 2014, Ford Focus, Civic, K3 is also coming! Aiyah, which one to buy? K3? If pricing and specs are competitive. Forget about RV! I am not investing!

• turbo-ed on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Preve Hatch, vrrooom with some turbo sound, which is cool

• turbo-cor on Jun 05, 2013 at 9:15 am

Looks like UMW staffs will get 12-month bonus again this year.

But for Proton Staffs considered lucky if Shah Alam not relocated otherwise potong gaji lah

• vibrt on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Why the front looks like Gen2?

• copycat on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Altis copied avalon, avalon copied ford, ford copied aston martin, so you got copy of copy of copy car = copycat car! Haha!

The ford owner said, “Why your altis/avalon front looks like mine?” Then aston martin owner said, “Why your ford front looks like mine?”

LOL this is going to be epic joke of the century!

• Etxer on Jun 04, 2013 at 1:10 am

Fugly rims, very cheapo looking.

• daniel on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:56 am

no offense but this is the first time i said a Toyota car looks nice… this Corolla is nicer than Honda Civic, AGREE?

• benzs on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Yeap! Better looks in every inch. They have implement a new plan. Other model such as Vios, Avanza and Camry is looking sportier and that looks will last 5-7 yrs without getting bored.

• 2014 Corolla?
    No. I still prefer my 1994 Corolla SEG.