SPIED: Proton Savvy – going the wider route?

proton savvy spy 2013

Ah, something different for a change, where mystery snaps of Protons are concerned – giving us a break from the usual Preve hatchback spyshots coming about is this one of the Proton Savvy, which we haven’t heard about for a very long time.

Reader Freddie Leong sent this in, saying he caught this Savvy last Thursday on the Kesas Highway, likely heading back to the Proton factory. The car was accompanied by a Preve, and what caught his eye was the fact that both cars were masked with exterior cladding and tape.

Leong says that the Savvy’s roof clearly showed a prominent joint line about four inches wide, running from front to the back of the roofline, suggesting a wider version of the hatch – the single photo doesn’t offer too much scope to suggested dimensional changes, though you can barely make out the joint line.

He also mentions that the rear windscreen looked smaller set within the rear hatch frame when seen up close, adding that the car looked well balance when zig-zagging about in its attempt to shake off being caught on camera. So, is there something stirring in the pot to revise and revive a small hatch project based on the eight-year old design, or is it just an old project mule coming out for a quick blast?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• meng meng on Jun 03, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 257
    • If they product the new Savvy, i think ppl will choose the Savvy over that tin milo car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 247 Thumb down 38
      • OMG… still wanna force this old & ugly savvy to eat more in order to grow bigger…In the end, still no ppl like it if the face no change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 140
        • messi on Jun 04, 2013 at 3:07 pm

this is only mule, not prod car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 26
          • Old car looks like a toilet, this one looks worse ie like sewerage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 103
          • messi on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Blind people are everywhere, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
          • driver on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:00 am

aku rasa ramai tak faham ‘mule’ tu apa, sbb tu ramai yg komen cmtu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
      • Ppl? Who are those ppl? How many total unit sold the last round?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 77
    • 4G63T DSM on Jun 04, 2013 at 9:24 am

Wider car eh.

How about a Savvy “GTI” with a CFE engine and big tyres.

That’d be something no?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 6
      • Then you will see the owner remove the Proton badge, and trying to deceive others that it is not a Savvy, but a polo, hatchback skyline, evo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
        • youbodok on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:13 am

Seen a small hatchback car turns to big sedan car? Congrats, you are very SMART!

*sarcasm*

• personally i prefer savvy over viva.
      the engine and comfort is better..

however, i know the savvy AMT gearbox is problematic.. just get the manual. very fuel efficient :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 4
      • sure for that, thank god if proton can overcome that problem..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Lotus Ride and Handling!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
      • driver on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:49 pm

Savvy is a great and fun car! My dad owns one, but the major downside is its Renault’s engine and transmission (AMT). Proton should have long switch it to Campro. Even the 1.3 is superflous to bring this car to a different level of driving experience. I do hope that they revive the car, of course with a different look, but preserving the nimble attribute. Then it’s waaayyyy better than fragile Viva.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 2
      • gOOsh on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:25 pm

i have to agree… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Pity those AMT owners. Proton should not forget about them.

Meanwhile, MT version owners still enjoying the car as it is still the most fuel-efficient local car around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • i wouldn’t mind to buy one if the new “Savvy” using 1.3 Campro, 1st gen BLM front end with the RM25k tag price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • I think this should be some engine testing unit, or probably some other new model camouflaged under the old savvy body

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 4
    • a “honda” maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • imran on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:01 am

With more power comes big responsibilities. ahaks!

This global small car (GSC) model will have bigger power train, bigger tires, loads of more stuff inside. wider body means bigger space, lower center of gravity, hence better handling than current model. Airbags and ABS as standard is confirmed.

For people who know proton savvy, they love the car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 6
      • Well if they had made the gearbox and the EXTERIOR DESIGN better, it wouldn’t have failed that hard. They really need to fire the “arrogant” guy who designed that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
        • driver on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:52 pm

I have no problem with the design, but the transmission & engine have to go. Bolt on a 1.3 campro + cvt.. it’s more than enough to be an almost perfect car.

p/s: I’ve tried driving it, so don’t bash me for stupid streotypical baseless comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • Tengokaje.. on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:00 am

may be P1 want to introduced a new A segment car with a new engine..may be with the engine from Petronas..

• Unless it’s available at RM25,000 or else forget about it Proton. Don’t waste your time and people’s money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 125
    • koochai on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:49 am

agree with u. 25k should be the benchmark price for entry models of all manufacturers, not just proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
      • mohsin on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Wow! at a price RM25k, I will get 2 airbags, CVT, key chain.. er, timing chain, VVTi,Pergh!
        even my 1st batch VIva at RRP RM 35k (manual Trans lagi.. duh!)don’t have airbags (my initiative put 2+2 plastic bags)
        hope Toyota can give us a totally new Boon er Mira at RM25k. I’m pray for it (in my dream)
        in real Life: we’re “pray” for UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • MegaBidaman on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Come on bro .. Proton is improving , r u serious for RM25k on the entry model ? If you ask for peanut than u get peanut la .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Jalil on Jun 03, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Wow this is somehow spooky seeing a savvy in that proportion. Like seeing a Bigfoot, something paranormal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
  • Kawan on Jun 03, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Perhaps it’s a Mirage underneath the old Savvy body?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
  • Proton Staff on Jun 03, 2013 at 6:43 pm

P2-30A aka Global Small Car. On testing with new power train :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 9
    • Cheers bro, I guess I’m 2 hours too late. xD

Might I add that a similar photo was posted in March this year. The person who took the photo said the testing unit has a custom bumper (turbo?), the Exora/Prevé steering wheel/new dashboard, exposed wiring and a water storage tank in the back. It is also supposedly powered by the new Proton NFE engine. (Source: azelery.com)

I recently created the Proton P3-22A, P2-30A and PRM/Suprima Wikipedia pages. Most of the info is sourced from paultan.org, but there’s a lot of other cool stuff on there too. Just doing my part. Cheers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
      • Ayecaramba on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:00 am

Can’t wait to see the finished product of Proton’s new B-segment entree. And to know that it MIGHT carry a turbo inside, Kei fans would rejoice. Makes me reminisce Daihatsu’s Kei 4WD turbo pocket rocket.

Let’s hope Proton hits the spot of Malaysia’s consumer wants and needs and not go half hearted on this one. With good driving dynamics, Polo-esque power and real practicality, I wouldn’t mind getting one for a thrash around Sepang and getting groceries right after.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
        • I like the way you comment bro
          Very optimistic and encouraging

Unlike some people always want to bash keyboards only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
      • avereng on Jun 04, 2013 at 2:34 pm

From OEM parts manufacturer, they are invited to develop parts for P2-30A. Now everything under design and development, estimate 1 yr to go for on-road.

• samad on Jun 03, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 276
    • Proton Staff on Jun 03, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Ini mule je. Bukan kereta sebenar. Yg penting dlm bonet dan lantainya.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 10
      • tokan on Jul 30, 2013 at 12:05 pm

kalo dah sebut yang penting lantai tu, mmg sah kete hybrid la ni..kalo tak, tak layakla dipanggil global small car..patut dipanggil just another boring small car..

anyway, model baru ni diharap dapat meningkatkan jenama proton di mata dunia..kalahkan kete korea dan jepun!

• OMG!!
      This is wat you can brain from the picture?
      Please clean your mind first, it’s dirty with your own naiveness

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 10
    • What about toyota engine. recycle-refurbished oso.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 89
    • l3ryan on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:28 am

what about toyota?
      vios 3rd generation coming out soon, still using 1st generation chassis, engine, gearbox.
      hilux, 10 years no change still selling to people.

and u call proton using recycled garbage?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 336 Thumb down 5
      • alldisc on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:00 pm

vios and hilux sells very well in south east asia and middle east.

savvy was not. this is why proton should bother. again, they should focus to what consumers want in a car, not what designers/engineers feel good (syok sendiri). waja/gen2/savvy/persona/saga/exora – they all didnt make strong impact in markets outside malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
        • NIEKO on Jun 05, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Proton sells its cars to 30 other countries .so actually World sales for the savvy is about 90k I think ?

For more info on the savvy, you guys can look tru at paultan’s 2007 post about the savvy Recall which was caused by wheel bearing ,at that time There were alot of Savvys affected some coming from countries far as Australia,UK,South Africa,Middle East, Taiwan,Thailand,Pakistan,Turky and Romania

• Hahahaha… I don’t even know how to comment this…
    Don’t get me wrong though, I do want to see Proton doing well and improving…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
  • meng meng on Jun 03, 2013 at 7:56 pm

CFE engin? But i know is imposible.

• presna on Jun 03, 2013 at 7:57 pm

well, at least it’s a break from the same ol preeve hatchback pics….. plus its good that p1 is trying its hand again in the supercompact, but savvy? WHY??? (granted…it’s not as bad a tiara, but still….. where the bloody hell is EMAS????)

p.s. would be even better if EMAS was an E.V. ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • jeremy on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:46 am

This is the bloody EMAS aka GSC (P2-30A) testing in a mule….faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • Oblesse on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Saga R?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • A fuel-efficient model positioned below or alongside the Saga seems to be a no-brainer to achieve strong sales in M’sia but Proton seems to have more misses than hits in this segment. Who can forget the notorious Tiara and Savvy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • jeremy on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:13 pm

This is just a test mule for the Global Small Car (GSC or EMAS). I think this has been reported earlier in the year in funtasticko. LOL at people thinking that Proton are actually reviving the savvy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
  • sepul on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Guys, all of you here already bashing them for no reason. This is a mule using an existing body, in this case, a Savvy skin. It does not mean that Proton is rebuilding another Savvy. They are probably testing a new platform for a B segment hatch.

Remember when they tested the Exora platform with Toyota Wish body? This is a similar approach.

of course, the Savvy (and the forgotten Tiara) is a no success here, but they can be good enough for European market. And seeing the market boom for a B segment hatch lately, it is good that they are venturing into this segment again.

Please put your critics to good use, gentlemen!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 7
  • wrise on Jun 03, 2013 at 8:20 pm

How about savvy EV?

• this car have potential, but first thing first, change the rear lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • cmratu on Jun 03, 2013 at 9:14 pm

i love savvy.. hope from Renault again.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 40
    • Espresso! Quick! on Jun 04, 2013 at 4:35 pm

that was the main reason for its failure. remove the french connection and it would have had a better chance to stay alive longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • pitong on Jun 03, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 155
  • Julian Lee on Jun 03, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Proton Savvy Wide-Body 16-Value Turbo S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Proton should be venturing into the 1.6 and above
    category and not try to pick a fight with P2 in the overly
    crowded 1.3 segment.
    Better to concentrate in the Perdana replacement than
    this. Proton I sincerely hope u get your priorities right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 62
    • Proton Staff on Jun 03, 2013 at 11:27 pm

D segment not volume market. Proton need volumes, which is B segment. That is THE priority.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
    • jeremy on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:42 am

This is EXACTLY the segment that they need to be competing in especially since their direct rival is Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
      • alldisc on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:02 pm

proton need not to worry of perodua but rather what are in other markets that prevent ppl from buying proton cars.

this is a GSC project – proton really need to look at the ford fiesta, citroen c1 and toyota aygo, even hyundai i10 which received a good rating in UK, better than VW polo and comparable to fiesta.

• dewaSemut on Jun 04, 2013 at 9:33 am

I believe Proton when deciding to develop this Emas, they not only look the local market only i.e against Perodua… that’s why it is called global small car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • driver on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:40 am

if you ask me, they should look more, and actively, on hybrid technology (or EV, or REEV)..

• If proton redesign new look for savvy & probably cfe 1.3, it would become hotcake. Its a good job of proton to cfe their engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
  • JeremyNg on Jun 03, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Btw I think Savvy is not a bad car to drive leh !!! I am sure there are few niche market peoples agreed with me ……..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 7
  • shakhjawyu on Jun 03, 2013 at 10:50 pm

what is wrong with savvy? i owned one and its value for money. i wont mind getting the new version.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Jun 04, 2013 at 9:29 am

As long as nothing goes wrong. Good car… drives well, pretty decent on petrol.

But spare parts are murder. Not that it is expensive, but we are used to really really cheap parts for other protons, making the savvy parts look relatively expensive, and out of proportion to its “entry level” positioning.

We also had a Tiara. Nice little runabout. Still working in tip top shape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Savvy parts looks expensive as they are mostly imported (original Renault), therefore tax will be included as well.

The good thing about those parts, they last longer compared to local-made parts for other Protons.

Not to mention, workshops’ attitude towards this car has been quite negative as they don’t have the know-how in maintaining it. No need to worry, there’s always someone with such knowledge, just look for one.

• dump the renault engine… put any other engine.. and it will sell…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
  • l3ryan on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:31 am

i like the old savvy, despite all the flaws, it was a good drive, especially the manual version, very fuel efficient some more.

and don’t forget the extra strong body built for it, which i remembered stronger than a BMW 5 series back then. rigid body = good handling

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
    • I drive a Savvy, and I know that the car is strong. It has survived a major accident, in my previous experience.

But to say that it is stronger than a BMW 5 Series might be a little bit too much i guess. ;-)

• Yea Savvy is beautiful to me. It just got less refinement. Otherwise, its okay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • tanpa nama on Jun 04, 2013 at 2:25 am

in terms of the size, it could be related with the final product but the design might just be for the camouflage…peace malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:19 am

Savvy…. good car but failure to sell. Many influence to this failure….. design, competitor propaganda (like red bean army), so small, should be like myvi and many more.

In my opinion… this car is come to revision because this is last project from DRB before Khazanah took over.

Wake up dude, we make product to make money. If P2 can make cheap coffin viva that sell crazy, why not try to sell a car with RM17k price tag !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • I still love proton on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:26 am

Wah finally,GSC are testing.. with same platform but they will extended that why they are testing first on the savvy and I heard a some good news with new engine NFE 1.2 will smoke the golf 1.2 n hyundai i10..and proton will put the quality are even better to compete other competitors in B segment car..come on proton move forward,we are malaysian I want to see all proton stuff to prove the commitment to be better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • eyesore on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:34 am

it’s a new platform if i’m not mistaken… only the top is Savvy bodyshell as a mule…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Proton staff on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:19 am

It is a new platform. Only 10% carry over components from previous platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • the driver on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:31 am

I liked the Savvy too. Best second hand bargain on the market. The only reason it did not sell was because the Proton service did not understand the key points to look out for – the AMT maintenance otherwise handling, ride, fuel economy, reliability (except for that gearbox) it was ace. No issues for the Savvy sold elsewhere like Australia and England. Looks better than Viva, Inokom Atos, Hyundai I10, Kia Picanto etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • the main issues were the renault engine – expensive parts and the amt which was a drag to use. a standard torque converter or a cvt today will be better bets. but i personally don’t like cvt and prefer to ‘feel’ the gear changes in a standard torque converter auto transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Even the 1.2 D4F Renault engine is OK since it is quite popular outside this country, during its’ launch in 2005.

But there are more better 1.2 engines around right now, especially since Thailand launched the eco-car initiative. Even the bigger Almera is using such engines there.

• zainal abidin on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:38 am

Oh dear,if Proton were to relaunch this SAVVY again hopefully with a new 1.3 engine and manual or auto gearbox,please NO AMT. AMT will make you look REALLY BAD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • danny1221 on Jun 04, 2013 at 9:59 am

if they put 1.3 campro in the first place.

savvy will still sell until now.

it is because the renault engine.

my manual have sensors problems.

amt they got problem need to replace few hundreds to thousands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • read correctly my lip….. t.h.i.s i.s n.o.t s.a.v.v.y. period!

• Mat Said on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:43 am

WHat’s more important,bila harga kereta mahu turun???Kaji lagi yer…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Jeremy Clarkson on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:59 am

This is the early stage for a car development… it is called mule stage of f stage where they test the suspension and the platform (chasis) for its characteristics and durability. Then they will upgrade it to softooling body or p1 stage where they test the chasis along with the skin then last stage p2 or p3 to confirm fit and finished package before pre pro where we usually see in showroom during launching.

• axel_stig on Jun 04, 2013 at 9:17 am

1.3 CFE or new Petronas Engine?? hmmmmm…

• totenkopf on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:48 am

my bro in r&d proton said the new petronas engine will be used in the perdana replacement model a.k.a honda accord rebadged

• sammyloo on Jun 04, 2013 at 9:46 am

Sell u this with 30% discount as 1Mkereta. Janji ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • the issue with the old savvy was the narrowness which prevented the use of proton’s campro (better if they have cps) engines. this widening is probably a measure to refresh the platform and to allow it to take more powerful engines. it is already a good handler and wider tracks may let handle even better. should make it even peppier than before with the larger engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • rarely see a savvy on road nowadays. still wan to launch an updated model? O.o

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
    • eyesore on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:36 am

Think before you speak…
      And
      Read before you write (comment)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Anonymous on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:10 am

I still have my Savvy from 2007. I still beat the crap outta Myvi/Viva at corners. I still love the MT stickshift.

I know one guy who has been driving it for 8 years without problems.

All you need to do is take it to the right service people and not Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
  • azrul on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:19 am

I like this car.. personaly i chose this than viva or myvi.for handaling by proton and short distance drive i think its good.if proton upgrade the safety of the car like 6 airbag , harden steel body for the small car like this its will be excelent.and change the amt gear.its just my personal of view and taste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Mike Dude on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:23 am

If they put a Golf GTi engine with DSG, who cares about what it looks like.

• ae101 on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:24 am

If proton really want to revive this car, please redesign everything la. What’s the point reuse existing which looks dated and just change new heart? In that case i might just opt for 2nd hand savvy cheap cheap and transplant 4E turbo myself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Jack Philip Yong on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:25 am

This Proton P2-30A should use Nissan March platform (V platform) and engine (HR12DE). So, it will sell better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • mayonis on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:49 am

this is what i hear from cleaner@ P1, she said that the new savvy will have new face and new engine…so i believe the new engine will be campro 1.3 ieaf ( what else do they have?. still no news from cleaner at P1 R division yet.

-just kidding-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Abg Long on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:52 am

i drove savvy a lot before.. so i hv no problem with it, ride n handling better than kelisa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
  • abdullah on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:56 am

I still rmbr… we sat in this car when it was first launched… the door lock button was easily loosen by a 4 yrs old… wat a great car!

• fazron80 on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:58 am

maybe collaboration with honda. savvy vtec. :P

• i hope its not a facelift because it will be seriously embarassing. I also hope its not an engine testing because you dont test a new engine in an old body shell unless you intend to use it. Car is already 8 years old. If it get a relaunch with a facelift, I will cry because it just shows how truely pathetic proton is in this day and age against its competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • Proton staff on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:37 pm

It is testing for new engine and new platform with savvy shell. The interior, the dash is Preve dash with Preve steering and seat. Lots of wires expose. A B segment with preve features on testing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • redtape on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:48 am

saw some pimp up savvy and look pretty awesome actually..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • mohdazizee on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:44 pm

no more “terkangkang” for the rear wheels. rear wheel bearing problem solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • imran on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:09 pm

the “terkangkang” stance (negative chamber) what makes savvy special. superb handling. rear wheel bearing problem is not caused by this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • ahmad on Jun 04, 2013 at 1:01 pm

good handling+bad exterior=people dont buy it
    bad handling+beautiful interior=people will buy it
    >>in reallity ppl look the exterior first,i wonder why proton designer not design beutiful car like swift.but i believe proton boleh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
    • Green on Jun 04, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Agree.
      Got salesman selling Suzuki New Swift 1400cc Auto
      RM63,888 5 years warranty
      free sport bodykit
      free leather seat
      come with push start button
      nice deal. :)

better then a Preve Hatchback RM76k too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 84
      • messi on Jun 04, 2013 at 3:11 pm

1.4l vs 1.6l turbo? Duh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • Proton staff on Jun 04, 2013 at 3:31 pm

B segment hatch vs C segment hatch? Nevertheless still a good price. But please compare it against Kia Rio and 208. P3-22A boot size is bigger than most B segment sedan. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
        • Green on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:52 am

comparing Quality.

Preve Interior is not even approaching as the quality in a B-Segment Swift Interior.

The new Swift is big size as Honda Jazz from dimension.

In comparison, Preve Hatchback doesnt seems to worth much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
          • granfia on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Preve hatchback has different interior material, prolly better than sedan

• same old crap.. either from sedan becoem hatch back or hatch back become sedan tats all proton knows..They dont have own idea or design..Kia also improving with design .. why proton still like this..tulaaa tell bangla to vote rite…so better this car to bangla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 80
    • NIEKO on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:18 pm

FYI its not only proton that does Sedan to Hatchback
      convertion but even
      VW(Golf>Jetta),Ford(Fiesta HB>Fiesta Sedan),Mitsubishi(Mirage>MirageSedan),Honda(Brio>Brio Amaze),Toyota(Yaris>Vios),Volvo(S60 sedan>V70 hatch/wagon),Audi(A3Hatch>A3Sedan)…
      So how many Carmaker did I list down ,Alot Right

If you want to nag.Nag at The Carmakers Above..

Got it anon

• NIEKO on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:27 pm

well this is not a savvy remmake but actully a new platform (2014 Proton Emas ) so peopple of malaysia get ready for some Spyshoot and From info that I heard from Futastiko.net the Proton Emas might be bigger than a Myvi but smaller then Kia Rio…..

So Ladies & Gentelman Get Ready

• NIEKO on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Ive always loved Savvy since launched back in 2005 till now ,God just love the Cute looks & the above averrage Handling that this gem of a Car offers….

:Hears for happy times

• Oh, no, use back about 10 years design put some mirror changes on it and enhanced the body, Use backwards technology design , please be more innovative and creative, korean cars more advanced than us at least 10 year in front after 20-30 years manufacturing cars same as proton, india also catching up, when proton want to wake up? really dissapointed, hopeless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 53
  • NIEKO on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:51 pm

To NEMA
    It is not a savvy its is a new model ,The Platform & Engine are new ,The savvy body is just a mule
    (Fake Shell) I hope you read more ,nothing is what it seems ,Remamber This Words

• NIEKO on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:59 pm

I think when it come to testing new models ,
    Proton is quite good in camofluge where They put a Shell of another car to hide the real car ,Its a very interesting method that they are using much like how Audi is testing the New Q7 and R8….

• Jack Philip Yong on Jun 04, 2013 at 7:23 pm

The new engine is CAMPRO NFE (Natural Fuel Efficiency), which may replace current 1.3 CAMPRO IAFM engine soon.

• benzs on Jun 04, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Proton should look back at their own selling volume before Savvy being discontinued. Unattrative while equip technology from others manufacture. This is not a good idea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • BatamMan on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:12 pm

the above photo is photoshopped. look thru the front windscreen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • PauKaya on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:24 pm

so many proton cybertroopers here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 59
    • PauKari on Jun 05, 2013 at 9:06 am

Yes, telling people to buy crap is not an easy task.

Become a proton cybertrooper probably craziest job ever. Sad jokers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 51
      • NIEKO on Jun 05, 2013 at 6:49 pm

well they are commanting because they know what Proton is doing,

When it comes to Proton Cybertroopers they are just stating what they know, is that a Huge Crime
        Iam not A Proton Fan,the car I loved is Reanult.But what every Malaysian want is A little info on Proton’s future Models,so I ask? Is it wrong.
        And to the commenter Named Proton Staff,Thanks for shareing some info on Proton…..

Cheers…

• edktr on Jun 05, 2013 at 8:44 am

oh yes, as usual. censorship prevails

• bonbon on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:05 pm

I dont think this is for Malaysian Market

• Reminds me of

Wah … Lucky I didn’t book the other car.

• old savvy is actually a very good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • retard on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:56 pm

better rebadge the vw golf and sell as savvy so that we all can buy the savvygolf at 1/4 of the original vw price.

• NIEKO on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:20 pm

FYI the image above is real,dont belive me try search it at funtastiko.net you well see A side profile Picture which looks realy clear ,

Oh before I forget

ITS NOT A SAVVY ,ITS A MULE TESTING FOR THE PROTON (GSC) GLOBAL SMALL CAR ,
    ONLY THE PLATFORM&ENGINE ARE REAL WHILE THE BODY IS A FAKE SHELL(MULE).
    FYI IT HAS A NEW ENGINE CALLED NFE,BUT I DONT KNOW IF ITS TURBOCARGED OR NA.

Cheers…

• gOOsh on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:27 pm

kalau la this savvy has 1.0L 3-cyl ecoboost powertrain under its hood… kan best…

• NIEKO on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Oh according to some Proton Exec Salesman who works at Proton Edar Puchong,told me that this platform will be the undderpinings for the 3 Generation Saga and A Small 6 or 7 Seater MPV ,
    WTF Why the hell do they need 2 MPV models????? Could it be The Next Generation Exora might grow bigger in size, Humm Interesting

• spyshotX on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:01 pm

The Exora is a c segment mpv.. SIZE wise it should go head to head with the likes of Toyota Wish, Honda Stream, etc.. that’s why Preve’s body was based on the Exora platform..

IMHO, developing a small mpv out of a b segment model like the Proton GSC is still relevant.. maybe they want to compete in the small mpv market with the likes of Perodua Alza, Toyota Avanza, Honda Freed, Suzuki Artiga, etc.. my guess is that the small mpv is primarily intended to penetrate Indonesian market since the small mpv segment there is booming..

• Norman on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:38 pm

From an reliable source the headlight is slightly diff wiv xenon bulb,all round power window,aux wiv ipod connectivity,15 inch rims,abs,dual airbags and if im not mistaken using either turbo and na 1.3 engine

• Norman on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:52 pm

True got a friend using 2008 Savvy mod to rear power window still goin strong.He never svc at Proton but instead using the svc at authorised Renault ctr

• jiroh on Jun 06, 2013 at 8:24 am

here’s some info, the ‘EMAS’ seem to be produce soon..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_P2-30A

• OSEMEDIA on Jun 09, 2013 at 3:17 pm

New savvy coming……. Ohh Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 0
  • Norman on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:59 pm

From sources they’re trying our the new Generation Y Campro NFE engine ranging from 1.3 100hp/125nm,1.5 122hp/146nm & 1.8 146hp/177nm Campro own engines so much more or less well be seeing Exora 1.8 soon?No wonder they need compact mpv using 1.5 exclusive for Indonesia market.Both will be available with na or forced induction engines beside the upgraded Petronas eo1 2000 & 2200cc engine.I do hope the parts vendor is different too this time

• Dalam satu surat khabar nasional….dikatakan bahawa enjin Petronas akan digunakan dalam kereta Proton atau kereta Nasional….petronas telah mengeluarkan satu enjin global, bukan untuk malaysia sahaja malah dijual kepada negara ke 3 yang lain setelah kerjasama dengan beberapa pengeluar kereta ternama dalam sukan F1…

Mungkinkah kereta ini menggunakan enjin teknologi dari petronas??

• Raymond Ramlan on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Owned Savvy for eight years, yes no problem if you sent to a workshop who knows European cars for engine, for body parts don’t get cone, Saga BLM share the same chassis,most spare parts are similar. I hand over my Savvy to my Son and will keep it, if possible till it become antique lol

• For the past 7 years with my manual Savvy..i can’t wait to see the upcoming version..hehehe

• Jalak on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:34 pm

saving up money for this coming model.

• Proton Enthusiast on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:04 pm

p2-30a = Emas Hybrid??

can compete other gsc dy. Hope to see electric Proton or at least a Proton Hybrid.

• savvy cam sial

• Overall proton savvy memang bagus. Cuma masalah utama dia gunakan enjin europe. Klu nak keluarkan semula gunakan enjin campro 1.3 atau small enjin lain mmg akan meletup. Yang penting jimat minyak + harga kompetitif. Kalau dulu harga savvy ni memang agak mahal.

Dari segi design dan concept, savvy mmg advance. Boleh tengok concept kereta moden sekarang (small car)

Klu proton berani gunakan lotus..Brand lotus..advance spec.. boleh lawan fiat 500, mini etc.. huhu..

• dynn chalice on Apr 15, 2014 at 11:44 am

saya memiliki p.savvy 1.2(m); xtreme dengan kelembutan deria pecutan stabil menyelekoh pada 120km/j di laluan Titiwangsa Sg Koyan > Cameron Hlnd, smart adunan petrol/km kecil dari adunan enjin cubic 660cc pada tahap load/kelajuan 140km/j serasi dengan keluarga asalnya Renault ; speed n sparkz di WF1GP :)

tq

• ElPoros on Aug 16, 2014 at 2:37 pm

if price cheap everybody sure buy

• Dylan Ch'ng on Feb 28, 2015 at 6:31 pm

This picture is shot after 2010 as there is a Proton Saga FL or FLX in the background