New renders of the next-gen Mazda3 surface online

Mazda3_render

New renderings of the next-generation Mazda3 have been circling the Interweb. This image posted by AutoTribute is a shot from an unnamed Japanese magazine that apparently had privileged access to Mazda’s new C-segment contender ahead of its global reveal later this year. It is the real deal?

Our own European spy photographers have seen a taped-up finished product doing test runs just last month. We’ve included some of the shots below for easy comparison. The renderings look legible enough, the rear view especially looking spot on. Less so the front though; the fenders on the test car don’t appear to have such pronounced curves.

In any case, it still gives us a good early glimpse of the next-generation Mazda3 (that will be based on the CX-5/Mazda6’s SkyActiv platform), plus or minus a few details. Compare it to the current model also included in the gallery below and tell us what you think of the styling changes.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• meng meng on Jun 04, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Now the mazda design all look almost the same.
    Like the KIA design also look almost same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • But all looks so beautiful. i don’t want the car is different design but fugly! anyway this is one sexy car just like the Toyota Auris!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • but these not boring as bmw

• The rear of the hatchback actually reminds me of the Lancer Sportback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Lancer Sportback on Jun 04, 2013 at 3:31 pm

With the same blue color the back does look like the Lancer Sportback….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • MazdaTheAwakening on Jun 04, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Looking good, however still prefer the current M3 design. I must say Mazda is on the right direction in creating cars that are fun to drive and incredibly handsome. Hmm I wonder what’s the outcome of the Euro Design Award?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Actually i cant really distinguish this is mazda 3 or 6, too look-alike. But as i can only owe mazda 3 most likely so i dun mind ppl to confuse it as a mazda 6 :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • sharing front grill for all mazda models? but its time to change coz d old mazda 3 had been aging for many years.

• kenot on Jun 04, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Mazda 6 say “Hello, this is my little brother, his name is Mazda 3”.

Anyway, we can see how mazda can produce a good design. i hope i can get one mazda at the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • SteveJobsDrKubur on Jun 04, 2013 at 4:06 pm

less than RM100K CKD,i buy.hueuhueuehue

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • If there is still a 1.6 model available, perhaps that will be priced below 100k for easier entry into the M3 club.

• Infiniti on Jun 04, 2013 at 4:44 pm

This car looks like a scale down Mazda 6 from the front and a scale down Infiniti ex from the back, which is not a bad thing at all.

• Gokul on Jun 04, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Gotta love the car :)..

• did anyone or just me, tat the new mazdas dashboard looks like the one in a bimmer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 38
  • bryan on Jun 04, 2013 at 4:56 pm

although the current mazda3 is ageing but still look good and drive well too. love every moment driving it especially in the conner.

Need to bias a bit cause I own one lol….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
  • frenzyaustin on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Mazda from happy face to a grumpy face. Great to see Mazda making best in the segment car like CX-5 and M6. Hope this M3 can live up the name like 2 older brother and straight challenge VW Golf, so we can drive a fun car without being rip off really hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:16 pm

So many dislike? Is it because my M6 M3 “he” misunderstood as beemer’s or he jealous as “his” can’t afford precious Golf is being challenge by a brand from a country which made the world most boring car?

• No more stupid smiley grille

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Hate T7H on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Cant wait for New M3…

• baby cx-5

• KarthikM on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:56 pm

The front headlight has that Beemer’s f30 look to it..

• PauKaya on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:11 pm

nice car but i think it would be as underrated as the last mazda 3=(

• Ferrari California

• charming ng on Jun 05, 2013 at 8:34 am

Bilateral exhaust? The spyshot looks like unilatetal only.

• heybadigol on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:19 am

Looks gorgeous, and follows the new family shape nicely. In my opinion, better looking than the 6 & CX-5.

• gOOsh on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:22 pm

cantique…

• Azman on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Please put on the rear air cond vent for our shore….