Honda Malaysia announces up to 52% price reduction for hybrid battery replacement, extends battery warranty up to eight years with unlimited mileage

The Honda Hybrid Family

Honda Malaysia has announced a price reduction of up to 52% for the replacement of hybrid batteries and an extended warranty period of up to eight years with unlimited mileage for all Honda hybrids.

The eight-year warranty also applies to hybrids purchased between January 2011 and May 2013, and is the longest hybrid battery warranty currently offered in Malaysia. Details of the price reductions for hybrid battery replacements are as follows:

• Insight (nickel-metal hydride): From RM7,580 to RM3,980 (47% reduction)
  • Jazz Hybrid (nickel-metal hydride): From RM6,934 to RM3,980 (43% reduction)
  • CR-Z pre-facelift (nickel-metal hydride): From RM7,580 to RM3,980 (47% reduction)
  • CR-Z facelift (lithium-ion): RM5,480
  • Civic Hybrid (lithium-ion): From RM11,480 to RM5,480 (52% reduction) – previous-gen Civic Hybrid (nickel-metal hydride) not included in the battery price reduction and extended warranty

It follows that across the board, nickel-metal hydride batteries cost RM3,980 to replace; lithium-ion batteries RM5,480.

“Honda Malaysia is able to reduce the price of the batteries and transfer the benefit to our customers due to three main reasons. Firstly, we reviewed the total cost of logistic as well as the administrative expenses and have reduced it by enhancing the efficiency of our business,” explained MD and CEO Yoichiro Ueno.

“Secondly, the costs of hybrid batteries are gradually decreasing due to the increase of global hybrid sales and production of hybrid vehicles including its batteries.

“Furthermore, the recent depreciation of Yen against the Ringgit has reduced the import cost of hybrid batteries that are fully imported from Japan,” he continued, adding that the two main concerns of Malaysian customers in accepting the hybrid vehicle are the lifespan of the battery and the cost to replace it.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• SteveJobsDrKubur on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:22 pm

ok now can go buy CKD Hybrid Jazz :p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
    • Toyota Disgrace on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:08 pm

This is the nail to Toyota coffin. Toyota is still giving 3 years warranty for their cars. And 3 years warranty for their hybrid batteries. A person with half a brain also would know, Honda is more worth it. A company that does this for its consumers show it cares. I would boycott Toyota completely. No where in the world you get 3 years warranty still. In Malaysia, 2 arrogant companies need to be taught a lesson. Toyota and BMW. BMW is worse, giving only 2 years. To those who think they are clever, be informed that, once your gearbox rosak when warranty expires, be prepared to cough out RM50k for the Honda and RM100k for the BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
      • Pakai lah otak semua orang. Honda Civic Hybrid in the US is $24,000. That is about RM75,000. This also, Honda USA make money. If coming from Honda Japan, the principal will give Honda Malaysia much cheaper. SO if the tax and excise are zero from Malaysian government, Honda Malaysia is making RM50k clean profit from each car sold. So they reduce battery price, dont get excited lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
        • Richard on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:51 am

u pakai otak la, all cars in this bolehland r overpriced. but now v r comparing the local price for the hybrid cars, which is honda n toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • AFAIK Honda makes the Civic hybrid in the USA, the plant can make 250,000 Civic a year. Do you believe in the economy of scale?

• disgrace yourself on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:32 pm

bro, it’s been proven that honda battery doesn’t last long.. that’s why they need to offer warranty with longer duration to increase sales.. i tell you what, if honda sells hybrid with just 3 years warranty, no one in the world would want to buy a honda. why? because the battery is not reliable at all.. if im not mistaken, the older insight owners only have 5 years warranty on their battery. after 5 years, what if their battery goes kong? buy a new one? no one in the right mind would buy a car that surely will go kaput after a few years then pay more for it..

but in the case of toyota, the battery is reliable. some cars overseas has clocked over 400,000 km and the battery is still working well. honda? plus honda is not a full hybrid. it’s a semi-hybrid, which means it will only assist in acceleration. the motor does not have enough power to accelerate the car on its own. and tell me, what kind of car when stopped, the aircond goes warm? if i remember well, my old proton saga does. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
        • where is the proof ? on Jun 07, 2013 at 6:07 am

where is the proof ? if increase warranty can upsale when the battery is not reliable ? then Honda would lost alot of moneylah as they need to cover all the battery that kaput.. your opinion brother (disgrace yourself) make no sense laaaa…

bro, 1 more thing , FYI … prius only cover about 2-4km only running on battery on flat ground (withou A/C) .. how much diff can it make ? there is no gas station every 1-3km on the journey (fully charged battery) …. do some research 1st man ,,

am I right everyone ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
    • alldisc on Jun 05, 2013 at 9:37 pm

there will come a time when a company starts to give 15 years unlimited warranty just to move their stocks.

long warranty is nothing new. in UK, Toyota is offering 5 years manufacturer warranty while Kia gives 7 years.

it is all about desperation. when you give longer warranty, you need to cover more losses in parts replacement and the only way of recovery is buying having a higher profit margin and therefore higher retail price.

this is one reason why VW malaysia still sticks to its 2+3 warranty concept that is 2 yrs VW warranty and 3 yrs coverage by a 3rd party (it is Allianz here). Naza did the same for Kia, began with 3+2 but now a full 5 years warranty by NazaKia itself. they spoiled their own market and is getting even more desperate to sell more cars.

dont buy into this trap – this is a sincere consumer advice from me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
      • vermin on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:44 pm

I’d rather have car price cut than only a battery.

30k (car price cut) vs 4k (battery price cut)- which one you will choose?

Thumbs up for car price cut
        Thumbs down for battery price cut only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • I don’t understand hybrid car buyers.
      I’m sure I’m not the only person who knows that batteries (Ni-MH or Li-Ion regardless) CANNOT maintain 100% capacity throughout its life. Over a short time, with frequent usage/recharge, you’d be left with a car carrying clump weight – which result in higher fc, mind you.
      Plus the cost in battery replacement, even the relatively high cost of hybrids cars, will offset whatever savings you’d gain. And that’s assuming you do A LOT of driving.
      8 years of warranty? Great, some might argue. BUT under what condition can u claim the battery warranty? Sure, a defective battery is easy to claim/prove to Honda. But can you claim against the batteries’ deteriorating performance after normal usage? Better yet, can you even prove it?
      The only thing I’d give these hybrid buyers is the relatively lower carbon footprint to operate their vehicles (but not if you count the manufacturing of the batteries in the 1st place) =]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • ProTips on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Interestingly, if you look around, you’ll find statistics show that a large % of Hybrid owners do not buy a hybrid for their next car… this speaks a lot I guess.

• Agree with Rezu. There is little point to buy a hybrid car. If you work out the fuel saving vs. the additional cost of the car it will take a very long time to break even – typically 5 to 8 years and that is assuming the battery efficiency stays at the level when the car is new. But just like your smartphone battery there is a deterioration in performance and it can hold less and less charge so you may need to multiply the break even time by 50% making it 7.5 to 12 years. If you need to replace the battery every 8 years it means you will never recover back your cost in fuel saving. As for the battery warranty it doesn’t cover deterioration in performance. To maintain reasonable fuel saving you may need to change your battery every 5 years which make a joke of saving money with a hybrid car.

• tupakamaru on Jun 21, 2013 at 3:11 pm

ok now, honda malaysia please please please increase the service interval to 10,000km…..

• MEH! Reduce car price or offer better spec please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 119
    • Green on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:23 pm

people who are buying have 1 main concern: battery life, battery warraanty and battery replacement cost.

this action is boosting customer confindence is choosing Hybrid over non-hybrid version rather then a RM3k- RM6k price drop.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
    • ABTguy on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Ha ha, can I buy a spare hybrid battery to keep as spare ? :D

Anyway, with 8 years warranty, by the time the hybrid battery is flat, the battery cost very differently from today’s announcement. Then they can defends it as JPY strengthen, Ni-Mh technology obsolete etc etc

So conclusion, its marketing gimmick !!

But with 8 years warranty, those who are interested with hybrid vehicle, just go and buy one !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
      • by the time warranty expired..u already want to buy other car lol…nothing to pening ur head bout cost increase..lol…during 8 year no need to pening ur head oso since ur in warranty..lol again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Fredo on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:28 pm

this is very good…battery replacement cost was 1 of the major factor detering customers away from hybrid cars…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • Anti CO2 on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Wondering if the replacement cost include “labour cost”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Matchbox on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:30 pm

That’s worth praising, even though Honda was acting like a blood sucker previously.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • John Goh on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Bloody good news! Honda Hybrid owners, lets Rejoice!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • BlitzAce on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:42 pm

At first I read, ‘whoa, Honda Malaysia announces up to 52% price reduction’! without reading the rest of the title. And made a fool of myself telling bout it to my colleagues.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
  • PriusC on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Toyota should take this initiative as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • tikus on Jun 05, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Toyota in HOT SOUP !!! With stingy warrenty give away.Toyota always tell no problem one with the battery….And we sell thousands of car Prius around the world.Somehow only give 3 years or 100K km warrenty only.Toyota should learn from HONDA !! Well done HONDA!!

• disgraced tikus on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:36 pm

toyota gave 3 years warranty because it is confident that the battery can last longer, been proven in overseas the car has clocked over 400,000 km and the battery still works.. unlike honda, battery spoil here and there..

and who on earth would want to buy a car with aircond that goes warm in the middle of a traffic jam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • I do not know you get the point or not.
          Telling consumer that the battery can last long and proven to clocked over 400,000km is senseless.
          Reason: Assume Toyota battery is last longer, you cannot deny the defects of batteries manufacturing. If you are in poor luck and indeed battery having malfunction due to manufacturer issue and get spoil after 3 years, you will have to fork out your own money for the replacement. That is your risk, bro!!

P/S: I am not H or T supporter, but I will not buy Japanese Hybrid car until it is fully matured.

• RyanS on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:44 pm

“extends battery warranty up to eight years with unlimited mileage” – not bad for first car buyer, not so worry on battery price/warranty issue.

NOT.BAD.OBAMA.jpg :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • semut on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Must keep RM57 per month for Civic Hybrid for 8 years for battery replacement…….not bad eh . Simpan dlm ASB , boleh dpt dividend. After 8yrs……new battery loh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • koochai on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:04 pm

semut

r u driving civic hybrid now?

mind to share real world fuel consumption?

i’m trying to justify the rm57 that u need to put aside every month

• ProTips on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:06 pm

I have one

Pure jam in city driving – 14-16km/litre
        Highway drive like old uncle – 20-21km/litre
        Highway drive like normal – 18-19km/litre

Please don’t drive like old uncle and make people angry. Very stress people keep staring you.

Basically I only pump petrol once every ~two weeks instead of once ~a week. So can be said to be close to 50% fuel saving.

And the air con is farking cold even with eco-mode on, this is not like the Insight. Go try it yourself.

• glaze on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:48 pm

it doesnt mean 8 years the battery will rosak too..just for the peace of mind

• Vader on Jun 06, 2013 at 8:02 am

Majority of the Japanese cars warranty 3 years, it not mean that the cars will rosak after 3 years! lol

• sammyloo on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Until when? What if yen up again?

• Radzli on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Great news!
    Waiting or my facelifted manual crz to arrive this month. Super good news to know that the Lithium ion battery is not that expensive anymore… 8yrs warranty sumore…. ‘battery price-warranty’ anxiety no more! Good move honda

• fresco on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Well, since u ordered before 1 Jun, will u still get this extension? pray you do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • mr jem on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:29 pm

lotsa people here do not even care to read the article clearly. keyboard warrior mehhh???

• fresco on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Well they should. We are after all, a nation which desperately needs better education. Its the little details…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • saint on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:03 pm

The warranty is covering hybrid car since 2011.So no problem

• Your new Honda hybrid need to be maintain by honda service for 8 years in term of secure the battery warranty. sounds good?

• tikus on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Must have too… Workshop bawah pokok know how to fix meh???

• mean if we need thte 8 years warrenty of the battery car hv to be up keep by Honda?

• mooncake on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Don’t jump too much yet. I laud the good move by Honda. It helps to lower the anxiety, but it doesn’t completely remove it. Pls continue to do a good job in optimizing prices.

• Visitor on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Very good news indeed! 8 years with unlimited mileage is very tempting. I wonder what will be the response from UMW?

• Hybrid on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:10 pm

UMW should fight back to give 10 yrs warranty and further reduce the replacement cost RM2-4k LOL

• Enthu on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:00 pm

I am anxiously waiting for Toyota to come up something similar here. It’s about time we Malaysians are not treated as 3rd class citizens compared to their other customers at different parts of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Gegary on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Malaysia market treated like 3rd class citizens because of government policies. Would you devote effort to sell your product in an unfairly protectionist market with ridiculous AP policies and duties? And to have to bribe/”be nice to” people to get their feet moving in approvals, etc? And some more uninformed customers who have backwards demands. A small market due to high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • teelim on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Good news. But too bad the demand and the currency did not affect the prices of the cars as well.

• Albert on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:39 pm

i was hoping 52% price reduction on the CAR not the battery

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • green on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:44 pm

This is good news.

If only also come with Government furhter tax reduction such as EEV for Mazda CX-5.
    then, we can hope more car with tax reduction till at least 20% price drop in car.

• motorhead on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Tq.. Good news.. I have my eyes on Insight quite some time… Good job Japs…

• Carl Wong on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:25 am

Then just go ahead and get it and join the HONDA HYBRID family :)!!!

• Wanted to sell my insight when it reach 5 years, now no need.

• lemonguy on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:09 pm

I just afraid after 2013 the hybrid car price will increase because no more tax examption…

• Fondee_Goh on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Good news indeed. That mean I have to maintain my car for more than 8 yrs to benefit from the price cut down in battery. I wonder will I maintain my Honda Hybrid car for 8 yrs as the spare part so expensive…2 of my previous Honda model (City & Civic) almost have start up problem after mileage reached 130Kkm (5 yrs).

• Don’t put hope on your car can go for decade.
      Now a days, our government target to reduce car price by manufacturing cut cost instead of tax reduction.
      So the manufacturing people will suffer 1st then follow by the consumer. But government/cronies still continue enjoy. This is what “Janji ditepati”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Polo Saga on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Good, we shall see more Insight and CRZ on the road!!

• protonkia on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:57 pm

if 8 years unlimited warranty even if u serviced your car outside then thats definitely a great move!!!

• Who know prius battery price?

• tikus on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Toyota Prius sales koyak lar…..like that.

• start-a-fight on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Good move HM… now lets work on 10k maintainance for all hybrid…. I really don mind servicing at honda lifetime as the service so far is good compared to other..

• this is surely show us that car maker can make it price reduce but they never want to do it before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • motorhead on Jun 05, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Plus. Hybrid cars still got tax exemption till this year.. No much different in price in Japan.. You got what you pay.. And there are VTEC inside.. Kudos honda.. Great move.. Resell value also will be better.. 3k for batts for 8 years is nothing. Like auto gear repair.. Or engine overhaul. Try check of spare parts cars of some conti cars.. They ll cost you arms & legs. Check Focus for example.

• 4g63t dsm on Jun 05, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Wait..hold on.

8 year warranty on the hybrid car or only the battery pack?

Am I missing something here?

Seriously, while Honda announcement is appreciated, I still feel they already factored in the cost of replacement batteries under warranty in the original price of the car. I don’t think Honda has suddenly turned philanthropic. Do I now have to service a honda hybrid every 5k km for the next 8 years now. LOL..that’s like once every 6 weeks for the mileage I’m doing.

• Well, if you buy a Civic, then is every 10K service. Other than that, is every 5k.

• Pantiac on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:51 pm

U all dont get it izzit? Its all about HONDA and Proton JV thing. Soon we will see a lot of this batteries in the proton car. They can get it cheaper and cost cutting and will move the money to warranty department.

• Carl Wong on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:33 am

O YEAH and I am one of the proud & happy owner of my 2013 HONDA HYBRID :)….!!!!

• azrai on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:35 am

So, will the new Honda hybrid also sees a price drop since honda says it will pass the savings to the buyer. Say for example the battery is now RM6k cheaper than priviously, so can Honda reduce their Insight by RM6k also, because it came with the same battery right?

• AlvinNg on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:30 pm

I’m wondering if Hybrid tax examption will be remove lets say next year, will the hybrid car price will jack up too?

• AlvinNg on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:31 pm

ar…I mean 2nd hand hybrid car and your currently own hybrid car price when you sell it.

• Adrian Chin on Jun 08, 2013 at 7:41 pm

The eight-year warranty also applies to hybrids purchased between January 2011 and May 2013

But this article has been published on 05/06/2013…

• Carl Wong on Jun 08, 2013 at 9:59 pm

I’m guessing the Hybrids Tax Incentives will be extended once again when the Budget 2014 is announced in October. But please for a longer period this time, 5 YEARS instead of just 2??? By next year the last Honda Hybrid model should be here, the Accord Hybrid, which is Honda’s first Full Plug In Hybrid to finally beat Toyota :]….!!!!

• zahir on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:23 am

im really interested to buy jazz hybrid since they have some promotion now. hows the battery performance so far for the current jazz owner? any other thing that i should know before buying in comparison to the normal jazz?

should i go ahead with hybrid or just the normal jazz?

• Sincere on Sep 16, 2013 at 8:31 am

Apart from the hybrid battery replacement cost, how about the CVT transmission used in hybrid?
    Is it reliable vs standard auto transmission, and does the replacement/repair costs defer much from the standard auto transmission

• Curious on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:44 pm

just went to Honda showroom.
    Jazz Hybrid has a rm10k discount, reducing d price from 89k to 79k.
    then tambah 60,000km/3yrs(whichever comes 1st) free service(parts & labour)
    and also the 8yrs warranty wt unlimited mileage for d hybrid battery.
    so its a gud choice to get it? no?

• like to know more about the T&C of the hybrid Battery? mean like after the 3 years warranty I send the car for out side service. do I still hv the warranty for the battery?

• KCSOO on Jan 13, 2015 at 7:24 pm

GOOD JOB HONDA MALAYSIA !! TOYOTA MALAYSIA should learn and follow the trend as everyone is towards cheaper maintenance cost for hybrid car.

• #myalmostfreetravelmachine on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Hi i was lookin for used honda insight which i can found easily on mudah.com…the price is around 32k – 40k for 2012 model and above..

My question is…it is really worth it? How bout the maintenance n etc..

I need an advice from the owner…tqvm guys

• Pak Rudden on Jun 13, 2017 at 10:36 pm

Honda and dealer don’t want to replace IMA battery. Reason due to failure to service as per schedule. Any advise?

• Kumaran on Jul 01, 2022 at 9:47 pm

Hi greeting…my car is Honda insight yr 2011 ..need hybrid battery wt warranty how much the cost n warranty