Motor Image previews Subaru BRZ; launch very soon

Subaru_BRZ_preview_3

The new-generation Forester 2.0 XT wasn’t the only new car Motor Image previewed over the weekend. This bright blue Subaru BRZ was present too, sandwiched between their other two models, the XV crossover and WRX STI sports sedan. Word is the BRZ will be launched at a major racing event very soon. No prizes for guessing which it is.

Meanwhile, both the new 240 PS Forester and 200PS BRZ are already listed on Motor Image’s Malaysian website with their respective local specifications. For convenience you can also click on the official spec sheet in our live gallery below.

The site lists both six-speed manual and automatic variants, but the stick shifter will be available on special orders only. Looking at how most, if not all Toyota 86 drivers we see here shift gears through paddles rather than pedals, that’s probably the smarter thing to do for Motor Image.

No official indication of its price just yet, but a few ads of the Subaru BRZ for sale have popped up on oto.my since last April, all listing the car at RM239,800. Not long to wait for the official confirmation, and you’ll read it here first when it happens.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Retep on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Retro looking centre console lol.

But I guess with this car your eyes would be more glued onto the road ahead than on the interior.

• Prefer Subaru badge than Toyota.

• Stupid car only bought by kutus in Malaysia. At his price, people rather buy a BMW or if you want race car, go buy a Porsche Carrera S. A 2005 Porsche Carrera S is about RM260,000 now. Which do you think will impress people and give you better handling?

• No sure about you, but for that kind of price, i would go to mudah.com and look for a z4 instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • and of course, oto :)

• new car… but why auto ver?

• kaput on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:38 pm

interior quality seems way better than 86

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • both cars are built in the same factory

• Just chipping in on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:53 pm

As a big car fan, I’ve been following this website for a while. It is quite interesting to read the comments from people who have never driven the car, or even any similar cars.

Personally, I got an auto 86 instead of the manual as I intended to drive it everyday. The interior is identical apart from the “space invaders” trim on the 86.

I do agree that the 86 is definitely overpriced in Malaysia. I felt that a fair price for the auto should be around 235k-240k instead of 249k. How did I come by that estimation? US prices are not good for comparison because the Scion FRS is a low spec version, and Toyota is underpricing it there as a halo car for the Scion brand. A similar specced auto in the UK would cost ~29k GBP vs RM 249k. For comparison, a low spec Mazda 6 costs ~19.5k GBP and 160k ringgit respectively.

I still chose it over a second hand z4 because of ease and costs of servicing (parents spend fortunes maintaining conti cars) and the many rave reviews (all true). Didn’t bother to consider a Golf GTI, Scirocco or a Megane because I was looking for a RWD sport coupe, not a hot hatch.

Relatively speaking therefore, the 86 is very value for money in places like the UK, but merely reasonable value in Malaysia. I used to drive a Mazda RX-8 (price around RM 230-240k), which was a very good car and the sound was amazing, but would heartily recommend the 86 over the RX-8 any day. To those that complain that the 0-100 time is slow, I personally don’t mind because I find it a bit rude to rev at traffic lights.

Taking the longer view, and notwithstanding my car’s resale value, I do hope that the Subaru is priced lower as, I do greatly resent UMW for overpricing it.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:56 pm

It’s same actually, just different badge. Much more similarities than Lancer and Inspira.

• cehng on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:46 am

not sure if manufactured in the same factory, but the material used looks like much better than toyota from the picture.

• Yes, it’s manufactured in the same factory. They make BRZ and 86 side by side at Ota, Gunma in a Subaru factory.

• Albert on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:41 pm

should have priced it lower (around 200k) than FT86, it will beat UMW in no time.

• Subaru provides the engine. The rest by toyota. They won’t kill each other’s periuk nasi laa. Dohh…

• protonkia on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:55 pm

if 8 years unlimited warranty even if u serviced your car outside then thats definitely a great move!!!

• crank on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:00 pm

If only I could get my hands on this rocket bunny.

• Kok Chi on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:27 pm

If I was seeking to buy a sports car with the same price…

I would get a Renault Megane which would beat both the 86 or BRZ in a 0-100 dash, top speed, premiumness, road presence and of course… bragging rights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • _xXx_ on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:41 pm

AUTO????? Drive Altis betta….

• KarthikM on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:38 pm

The interior looks better than the Toyota 86..

• frenzyaustin on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:58 pm

I thought Motor Image can launch this car at 170K reasonable price, but in the end, hopeless.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 05, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Same engine?

• akula on Jun 05, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Slow sport car??? Mehhhh……….

• PauKaya on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:27 pm

heated seats? interesting. so the toyota doesnt come with it and yet costs more? LOL UMW fail. Still if i buy this im prolly throwing those seats out for some Bride’s or Reaaro’s

• ahmed on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:06 pm

here..only cost BD10,500..abt RM90K..too much tax

• ramesh on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:15 am

thinking of getting a XV , pls give opinion