New BMW R 1200 GS now in Malaysia – from RM125k

BMW 06

BMW Motorrad has led the travel enduro class for over 30 years with the ‘BMW GS’ concept, and the latest addition to the range – the new BMW R 1200 GS – is now on sale here in two variants. Prices start at RM125,000 for the base Touring (on the road without insurance), while the Dynamic model with BMW LED headlight costs RM3,800 more.

While it may look familiar, this is an all-new model with plenty of changes underneath. The signature GS ‘beak’ is now much larger, while the headlamp assembly, windshield and side fairings are all thoroughly updated. Also, it doesn’t take a Motorrad anorak to notice that the exhaust now sits on the right side of the bike.

This is the first motorcycle in the world to offer full-LED headlight. Standard with the Dynamic Package, two LED units are housed within the typical GS dual headlight assembly, each for low and high beam. LED daytime running light is fitted to both variants, a first for a BMW GS.

More significant is the wholly redesigned engine and suspension system. The BMW R 1200 GS now has a compact air/water cooling system and the 1.2 litre engine makes 125 hp at 7,700 rpm and 125 Nm of torque at 6,500 rpm, up from its predecessor’s 110 hp and 120 Nm. New ride-by-wire E-gas system improves controllability and response, and electronic cruise control is now standard.

BMW 05

Other mechanical changes include a completely new gearbox that is now integrated in the engine housing to improve weight balance and save space and weight. A new multiple wet clutch system with an anti hopping mechanism also replaces the old single-disc dry clutch unit.

Semi-active Dynamic ESA suspension makes an appearance in the R 1200 GS for the first time. It provides better sense of security and comfort on uneven and off road terrains by automatically adjusting the damping to suit riding conditions and manoeuvres, while also responding to the standard ABS feature should the need arise.

There are now five different riding modes offered – Rain, Road, Dynamic, Enduro and Enduro Pro – each with its own E-gas, ABS and Automatic Stability Control (ASC) settings. Both front and rear tyres are now wider than before for improved traction, cornering and riding dynamics.

Four colours (Alpine White, Racing Red, Blue Fire and Thunder Grey Metallic) are available for the new BMW R 1200 GS at all authorised BMW Motorrad dealerships nationwide.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 256
    • keluangman on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:47 pm

superbike hobby is not for everyone. Same goes to motorcross and car racing, rock climbing,skydiving, basejumping,etc.

Just stay home and enjoy your novel pls. Doesn’t mean you can’t appreciate or comprehend what it’s all about, the people doing it are “fools” to quote yourself.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 12
    • Guess you never ever ride a motorcycle. Spoil kids

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
    • koochai on Jun 05, 2013 at 9:40 pm

mr/mrs name

u’re right about the risk faced by bikers

but to call people fool for spending their hard earned money on something they liked is a bit too far

come on. show respect to others

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • i do think that people who buy this kind of motorbike is purely rich and do you think rich people is a fool? Watch out your comments dude.

Anyway, most people uses motorbikes to avoid traffic jams so that they won’t wasting their time on the road. Furthermore, they could save some money and have more personal cash in hand than people like you who thinks you drive a car and want to condemn motorbikers. Grow up dude.

• syok sendiri on Jun 12, 2013 at 11:24 am

..kinda agree with you.. with condition for those who need to go into huge debt for owning one.
      For those who buy it cash ,already own a few car,own a fully paid bungalow, successful career and big saving.. why not! Something about motorbike that cannot easily get by driving a best car out there.. Possibly you haven’t see or heard a watch that cost 200K or a ring that cost few million..

• this is the bike that has the eye of this
    O.o

• Peter on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:27 pm

With this price, I can even get A Peugeot 308 Turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Biscuit on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:52 pm

…an exorbitant tax do wonder to the price of the bike!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Better buy E90 2nd…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Radzli on Jun 05, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Wheres the kidney grill???? =D

• Littlefire on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Even this bike also got ABS and Automatic Stability Control (ASC) settings… But our local G or car maker cant enforce it standard across all model…

• norman on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:30 pm

For 125K might as well i jolly buy Ducati Diavel 1200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • MURK SCHOEN on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:33 am

what is the price for duty free Labuan price. intering

• McNair on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Sadly the taxes in this country makes it so difficult for people to enjoy their passion….
    People who see biking as a mode of transportation then you its just that, nothing more….but for one who sees it as a passion, they would choose a bike over a car because of the pleasures and freedom when riding is just unexplainable and can only be experienced on their own.

• Azmi Yaakop on Dec 26, 2013 at 5:05 pm

damn nice and futuristic..again..the cost mught be the hindrance to owning one

• Quadhead64 on Jan 26, 2014 at 4:31 pm

I used to think people who ride superbikes are just silly, noisy and simply a nuisance on the road. After hearing friends enjoying their passion for 2 wheeling and I’ve had a change of heart and now a rider myself. I ride EVERY chance I get, and can’t imagine not doing it. The exhilaration and freedom you experience on your machine is like no other. Ride safe, ride free.

• not car paria on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Booo to those who failed to understand the beauty of riding. Wowy to those who ride !
    Just be careful with stupid car drivers who change lane without actually looking or checking out there

• ibnu majah on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:16 pm

i have just bought this bike.Excellent.i am using it for work.no traffic congested.no toll.good life

• BMW Fan on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Ibnu majah,

Hows your splitting or filtering experience with this bike in town ?
    Im serious;y thinking to buy this one also but a bit worry when considering the big size and height of this bike when you ride in between cars in town.

• Gas owner on Dec 27, 2014 at 2:20 pm

BMW fan, it’s intimidating riding this beast in town at first. Especially with the drivers changing lane without checking the side mirror.

My experience riding this bike in city is as pleasure as riding a kapchai

• Jun Kumar Shrestha on Jul 04, 2023 at 7:15 pm

BMW 1200gs how to buying