Ford Kuga launched – 1.6L EcoBoost, RM159,999

Ford-Kuga-launch 37

The Ford Kuga made its official debut in the country earlier this evening, with the second-generation C520 being introduced in a single variant guise. The Titanium 1.6 litre EcoBoost rolls in priced at RM159,999 on-the-road with insurance, which is RM8k less than the estimated price stated when bookings opened for it last month.

In terms of specification and equipment levels, what’s on the SUV follows that mentioned in our earlier review. To recap, the 1.6 litre turbocharged direct-injection engine has 180 PS at 5,700 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,600 rpm to 5,000 rpm for output numbers, with performance specs including a 200 km/h top speed.

The mill is paired to a six-speed SelectShift automatic transmission with a sequential Sport Mode, specially calibrated for the EcoBoost and featuring revised gear ratios and a new torque converter.

Ford-Kuga-launch 4

The Kuga is shod with an Intelligent AWD system, with items such as Torque Vectoring Control, AdvanceTrac with Roll Stability Control, Curve Control, Trailer Sway Control and Hill Start Assist in the mix.

Leading the tech list is a segment-first hands-free tailgate, in which simply sweeping a foot under the rear bumper allows the opening or closing of the rear tailgate automatically. Sensors detect a combination of the intelligent access key fob – in your pocket, bag or purse – and a shin/leg sweeping motion as a safeguard against accidental openings.

The system can be programmed to raise the liftgate to the desired height, and also has safety sensors in place to stop motion when there is an obstacle in its path, ensuring no accidental closings.

Also to be found, an Active Grille Shutter as seen on the Focus and voice-activated Ford SYNC connectivity. The Kuga is also equipped with keyless entry with push-start ignition, automatic climate control, a nine-speaker Sony CD/MP3 audio system featuring Bluetooth, USB and iPod connectivity and a 4.2-inch TFT liquid crystal display.

Safety kit on the five-star NCAP-rated vehicle includes seven airbags (front, front thorax/pelvis, side curtain, driver knee) as well as Electronic Stability Control (ESP) with ABS and electronic brake assist.

As also mentioned in the review of the Kuga, the SUV sits on 17-inch nine double-spoke alloys and 235/55 tyres and the Titanium specification for Malaysia has the seats fitted out in a leather/fabric combination.

Ford-Kuga-launch 48

An update on the stalk controls positioning as stated in the review: the launch vehicles today had an European-styled left indicator/right wiper layout, despite not being equipped with the Technology Pack, so guess it’s that layout then for the Kugas we get.

Four exterior colours (Ginger Ale, Panther Black, Frozen White and Moondust Silver) are available for the Kuga, which comes with a five-year/200,000 km new vehicle warranty and a three-year/60,000 km Extended Service Plan. Apparently, the initial batch of 150 units ordered by SDAC have been accounted for, so things sound like they’re getting off to a very good start for the Escape replacement.

[scribd id=187223013 key=key-3yu72ocnbmzr3uf7e7g mode=scroll]
[scribd id=187221984 key=key-1x3n8r6g4im58l68sc2l mode=scroll]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• saga+sportCFE on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 305
    • AKULA on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:48 pm

another moron detected!!!
      Look at the horsepower and torque first la, moronnn!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 29
      • Sure to fail big time like the Escape. The CX5 is RM137, that is RM22k cheaper and you get a much better car. Ford are known to breakdown often. Mazda is known to be one of the most reliable cars in the world. This Kuga will be like the Escape, only a few contractors will buy it. Oh, the old escape contractors bought it because its 118k. This one, at 159, even contracotrs will shy away from it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 60
        • The Devil on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:36 am

CX-5 AWD is RM155 (CKD)
          Kuga AWD is RM159 (CBU).

Should make an apple to apple comparison.

Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • yeah its a 1.6 but looks at the numbers , torque is higher and from lower revs than all those 2.4-2.0 SUV….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 10
      • klaus on Jun 06, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Santa Fe CRDi is much more powerful at over 400nM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 62
        • Peugeot 508 GT/ SW GT is more powerful at 450Nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 49
          • FreakOBoost on Jun 06, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Halo both Sante Fe & Peugeot 508SW GT are turbo diesel la…. this is turbo petrol and smaller displacement ler, with the 1.6 Ecoboost engine, it is almost equivalent to 2.0L, even the 2.4L petrol variant liao… apa lagi lu mau :-D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 6
          • Different type of engine la bro. Petrol vs Diesel. Can’t compare like that. If you really wanna compare like that, then I can say better get Tractor. It has the most torque that you can get.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 4
        • Colin Wong on Jun 08, 2013 at 2:41 pm

400Nm you mean. 400mM is 400 “milli mega”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Santa Fe is a diesels…is known fact that a diesel is more powerful than a petrol wt the same capacity…but for a petrols, this 1.6 Kuga is sure quiet torquey

• This guy back to the 90’s or just driving a cheap car without any knowledge and think that bigger CC = everything lolx

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 8
    • FordEscape Fans on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:25 am

This should been Ford Escape Replacement @ around RM120k range.

the price is too close to the coming soon yet much bigger 7 seater Ford Everest landrover lookalike Based on New Ford Ranger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…Anyway, it will not sell well here. The design not nice, price not nice and it not Jap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 48
    • saga+sportCFE on Jun 07, 2013 at 6:43 pm

woww…keh keh keh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • LmaoRofl on Jun 08, 2013 at 2:41 am

Haha, funny kiddo ~ Ford Ecoboost rated best engine of the year, even it 999cc awarded, but the 1.6 did dam well, do ur research morooooon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Looks good. However, a little pricy compared to cx5

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • neutral on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:51 pm

then again CX-5 CBU from Japan so it attracts lower duties….plus now it’s CKD in Pekan…lower still…this is from Europe….so the higher price is expected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
      • Hi i think cx-5 is CKD in Kedah.. Merc and Suzuki are in Pekan though..And also Rapid buses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Alpha on Jun 06, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Oh, God. That rims has got to go!! Doesn’t compliment the looks of the car at all!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • Frank on Jun 07, 2013 at 5:35 pm

You are absolutely right…
        What the heck is Ford thinking..?? pairing these teeny weeny UGLY rims to an SUV named KUGA..?? SICK…!!!

• Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • At least SDAC has came forth and did not claim this as “Titanium” only Ecoboost was mentioned. So the next question is when can we get the Titanium version?

• Black Dog on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:51 pm

With the looks, equipment and performance level, it’s a lot better than the current Japanese & Korean competitors. But somehow the Ford name still doesn’t stick to many Malaysians, as compared to VW. This might change it, perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Totally agree on this. Just look at the new Focus. Advertisements everyday on so many radio stations and in newspapers as well. But don’t see many on the road. Sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • rally_fan on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:18 pm

although true that we still don’t see lots of ford focus on our roads, but the numbers prove that ford sales today are higher than they’ve ever been in many years. I believe they’re doing a good job with the brand at long last.

• I’m a proud owner of a ford focus. been driving it for around 4k,no problem and totally worth every penny.It’s the best decision i’ve ever made to date.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Japanese & Korean still win over this suv. Sportage as example got sunroof (front & back), LED DRL, electric seat, cooling glove box, 18″rims, full size spare tyre & rim, auto chromic mirror, full leather seat, awd wt manual 4wd mode & many2 more.
      Ford should price Kuga lower, on par wt Sportage & CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
  • dozy8888 on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Good Pricing! Good Buy! For those that intend to buy a SUV, please check out this first!

Base on Specs and BHP, it’s really worth it!

CRV? Please time to retire!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 18
  • Overall look good in the SUV categories, handling doesn’t need to say, sure better than any japanese SUV. but the thing is interior is little too small, if 3 adults sitting behind, that’s no way to move anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Instafamous on Jun 06, 2013 at 10:03 pm

A bit looks like CRV. Its designs especially.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 43
  • GreenMonster on Jun 06, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Exterior looks decent but the audio player has too many buttons and the 4.2″ screen looks too small….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Let him be bro coz that guy clearly an idiot…sagaman fyi kuga 1.6 + ecoboost can smoke crv n other 2.0suv anytime…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • WaJib on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:50 am

Perhaps he only drive a Saga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Storm on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:15 am

Smoke again…for goodness sake this is a SUV. This is no Ford RS vs GTI, MPS, RS250 etc. For me, SUV should have a smooth power delivery and yes, a 1.6 pushing a 1.6 ton car will never be enjoyable. 2.0 turbo will be perfect. 180ps from a 1.6 turbo and 180ps N/A, I will choose N/A and yes, the no replacement for displacement still applicable today otherwise why did Ford still come out with a 2.0 N/A for this Kuga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
      • Hadi75 on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:55 am

It’s all about the torque and fuel saving……a 1.6 turbo will consume less fuel than a 2.0 N/A engine yet producing same amount or more of torque….
        And for the why ford produce a 2.0 N/A for kuga…it’s about giving choices for the buyer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Moores on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:22 pm

More torque yes, fuel saving? Nah…Just read Mazda CX5 2.0 have better fuel economy than this 1.6 turbo. A 1.6 turbo pushing so much power out will definitely consume more fuel and also more maintenance in the future..IMO

• i tot boleh hate small cc cars..regardless of toq n hp

• shawal on Jun 06, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Ckd d fella , but increase kit count and options list , 2.0 ecoboost if possible…
    Keep d price… it’ll fly off d assembly lines…

• Odd to find Matt Watson’s video here:lol Anyway I think this only focus on a single feature. How about overall view from him instead?;)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0uyFpBE7hc&list=PL3985F8B99539A897

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • This is the older first-gen Kuga. The new Kuga on carbuyer was reviewed by Rebecca.

• niceguy on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:50 am

thanks…it was very informative as i was contemplating whether to get the car or not….since u suggested we watch the video..why not i suggest u wear some glasses?

• OMG I love Mat Watson <3

• Oops. Thanks for correcting me instead of bashing me like some else; ) Anyway here’s the latest video review.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fpvi7AREprY&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Ford kuga – a good car, but IMHO CX-5 gets better value for money, at this point of time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Gavin on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:29 am

Nice price, not because it’s a ford but because it will hopefully make hyundai not price the new santa fe too high

• looking for SUV on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:03 am

Nice SUV for normal use. Very premium look and spec. But for off-road or AWD function, may not beat the Subaru. Torn between the Ford Kuga and Subaru XV.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:39 pm

For me, Subaru is best prick. Because you know, Malaysian road condition, need a proper rally technology car.

• the new Ford Kuga seems one of the best SUV/CUV vehicles that are in market right now. Although the New Kuga was launched yesterday, i was kind of dissapointed that it didnt come with the technology pack, reverse camera, panoramic sunroof, active city stop etc. (that are offered on the new ford focus)…

i’ll maybe have to wait a little longer until Ford/Sime Darby brings in those extra specs. perhaps its a strategy to be seen because i heard the new mazda c-x5 will be launching another spec including a new 2.5 liter engine and a lot of other extras like blind spot assists and lane keeping aid in the end of this year

• I think SDAC didnt include the extra specs to keep the prices competitive with other SUVs. Note that the excise duty portion is more than half of the price tag. Imagine no excise duty, we’d probably pay RM100k for the full spec + tech pack car.

• Without technology pack (Global Kuga winning point), it cant beat CX-5 and sportage offer. Reverse camera should be compulsory in the segment as other competitors (CR-V, Sportage, CX-5) all include it in their spec. Somemore higher HP engine had been offset by the heavier body of 1.6 tonne. 100-200kg more than others..

• The ppl who say this is stupid, not as good as koreans/japs etc are missing the point. The ppl who buy a car like Ford kuga are diffrent from the average “I love CRV” msian buyer. They want something diffrent, something that looks good, has award winning engine and drives well. And not worried about RV.

According to the article, 150 have already been sold, which is great cos Escape used to sell 15-20 a month only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • My only worry about owning this car is the after sales service.

Well for those who worry about RV, wait for year end or january deals where u can get good discounts..if u worry even more about RV, wait til somebody sells them second hand.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:21 am

My eyes only locked to chick only coz I am hate any suv. Big outside, small inside, great fuel sucker.

The chick is not hot. Please change. TQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Agreed..some of models which got bigger space inside and not so big outside is old isuzu trooper and mitsu pajero.

• Kuga means plague? Hmmm…

• foxtrot on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:32 am

Y U NO HAFF BLUE KARLER
    http://www.ford.co.uk/Cars/All-New-Kuga/Design

• Maserati on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:38 am

Well, the KUGA is a good car but it will never have a legendary following the Japanese have.

Korean car? Lol .. Pls stay far far away !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • frenzyaustin on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Good looking car, priced fairly too. CX-5 and Kuga, best pick of the segment, except size is really huge matter, then boring CR-V. UMW, why you don’t bring RAV4 come?

• mutual agreement, toyota have their Hilux here in malaysia, honda have their CRV.
      other segments compete like hell (city x vios, civic x altis, accord x camry). they need to have a segment which they will not eat off other’s portion, while monopolise another dedicated segment.
      but this could change since koreans and americans are coming really strong now

• hafizal on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:33 pm

I own ford focus titanium + full spec. Honestly,i dont thing people will buy this ford kuga with this spec. I buy focus because good price for the tech pack given compare with other brand ex. Civic. But with 160k price kuga with no auto park, sunroof, BLIS, auto city stop ,full leather that my focus have, i thing people will buy cx5 that have more spec. Including reverse camera,gps, sunroof. For me, kuga not value for money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • frenzyaustin on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:40 pm

And ironically, Mazda CX-5 (Japanese) with a Bose (American), Ford Kuga (American) with a Sony (Japanese).

• Katak on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:33 pm

You’ll be more surprise that Bose(soon) and Sony car audio are made in Malaysia. :)

• PauKaya on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:22 pm

not that sony is bad (ok, sorry sony car audio are pretty crap tbh). but putting sony as a branded audio is like hyundai putting LG or KIA putting Samsung as the premium car audio system.

• Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Wait till you visit Ford aftersales. You will cry when they tell you the price or the warranty claim.

That’s why ford no resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Fahmi on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Hmm… Bring on the Mondeo (new, upcoming) with 1.6L Ecoboost, and the 2.0 Ecoboost as an option of both Kuga and Mondeo… Give customers more choice.. Even better bring also TDCi version as a (cheaper, larger alternative, albeit it’s FWD) to the BMW 320d though Malaysian diesel sucks….

Come on Ford.. Keep moving on…

• Frank on Jun 07, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Looks Great…

Very Tempted to Get…
    but my only question is how is the standard and level of after sales service does Ford provide under Sime Darby ??
    Anyone can share their experience with using a Ford car/suv ?

• gundala1 on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:21 pm

to me…just wait for the new SX4 replacement which by suzuki..browse through the YouTube…look at your self KUGA vs the new SX4…then make your judgement

• Apekgoh on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Kl Banjir …the tailgate submerge underwater easy rosak la….

• Sktzzz on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:57 pm

I’m waiting for this kuga for past few months and it end up with so dissapointing downgraded spec! My next ride will be CX-5…good bye Kuga.

• akula on Jun 08, 2013 at 10:24 am

You better write this in their FB, so, they will know

• why are u dissapointed? Im not attacking you, im just curious to find out why u feel this way. The kuga is now about the same price as the 4wd CX5, but its CBU vs CKD CX5, it more airbags,more powerful engine, powered liftgate, is also more spacious (interior & boot), torque vectoring.

The CX5 has navi, reverse camera, powered driver seat which the Kuga doesnt have, but i dont feel its a “downgrade”.

You cant compare the 2WD CKD CX5 with Kuga ler..not fair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Sktzzz on Jun 08, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Bro, the answer is very simple. At this price, I’m expecting the spec more less same like the ford focus titanium full spec. Try to compare and you will realize what it is….

• but the focus is from thailand, with a normal 2.0l engine. The kuga is europe CBU with 1.6ecoboost, totally diffrent cost structure.

like that you might as well say the 200k S-Max is even more stupid, doesnt have any of the Focus Titanium specs

• gowheels on Jun 08, 2013 at 7:24 pm

nice car with great looks..design is distinctive..

• Test drive yesterday. Very solid feel, better than CX5, Captiva , CRV , Sportage and Tucson. I own the latest Sorento. Comparison wise, would have been a good buy if, Sunroof/Panoramic Roof , electric seat, reverse Camera, GPS included. Powered Tailgate is not necessary, will cause more problems in future.

• Joe Lye on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:35 am

Thanks to BN for the affortable “Price” shown….tax!

• Gannnni on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Test driven the kuga..i would say that im quite impressed on this car..its not underpowered at all..in fact its better than the cx5..test driven cx5 as well..thats why i conclude that kuga is much better than cx5..better test both of it and youll know the different..

• Like i’ve said Jun 10,2013, 9:27.
      I’ve test driven the CX5, Captiva,CRV, Sportage, Tucson and Santa Fe. All other factors aside , if you’re looking into the feel of the driving, its the best.Very comfortable ride. Test driven in heavy rain and in pools of water, it’s solid (the lady salesperson was squealing scared).
      But i suppose people’s choice of vehicles are numerous based on what they’re looking for..

• why talk about engine tech this n that? so boring .. Did you all actually sit inside especially the back seat? The seat is short, not enuf depth .. it is bad when you have to sit behind!

• steve on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:42 am

To all,
    There is a limited edition with full leather and powered driver’s seat and fold-up tray behind the driver and front passenger’s seats. It’s around RM1.5K more expensive. Totally worth it IMO.

• Yes, correct… With heated seat too which unfortunately not suitable to our weather…

• gannnni on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:08 pm

i’ve been told that the features is only for those who already made an early booking.for those ppl who receive the car till August will receive the exact spec from the test car.

• that’s what i was being told too. It would be good if there is option to upgrade to full leather seat.

• Hallooo, ford kuga is good. 1.6 turbo got 4wd some more, ok la tu, the guys that dont know about SUV just shut the hell up. no money dont buy. got money buy. simple. ok. no need for the stupid comments. test drive first lah hayooooo.

• MAH WEZEN on Jul 08, 2013 at 12:36 am

had a go in the car today. it looks really good. but that’s about it. on paper the 1.6 ecoboost sounds strong but when you drive it, the drone from the engine doesnt give u the confidence and at times i felt like it was struggling with its weight. add to that the poor sales team and service centres, i cant recommend it over the cx5 or even the crv. that said, the fact that this car is a cbu and priced very competitively is only good for the overpriced suv market.

• Kenny Tan on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Just bought the car 7 days ago..Really have to fight because the stock is limited which mainly IMO due to Hari Raya. Finally, I’ve settled for the white-colored.

Driven a car back to Pontian last weekend. Average speed was 135kph on hiway with the fuel consumption stated on digital panel as 8.1l/100km. It went slightly higher to 9.2 after 30 minutes drive on trunk and kampung road.

The car feel so huge when you’re inside (culd be due to my 1st time driving an SUV). Car very stable, quiet and comfort. No complaint.
    * This is my 2nd purchase of Ford. I bought Fiesta Hatchback 1.6 2 months ago and really enjoy the fun and luxury of fuel saving.

• kl fella on Aug 01, 2013 at 3:10 pm

you mean you enjoy the fuel consumption at 8 – 9 litre/100km??

• Hey Kenny, can I get ur email address…I have some questions regarding Ford Kuga…cos im still undecided whthr to purchase CRV or Kuga…CX5 is definitely not my choice..thx

• Considering….will test drive Kuga, CX5, 3008 & CRV 2.4 to have a feel over this…worried on parts in future (5-10 yrs)…..

• I am a Kuga user
    for those who still think jap and korean SUV are better please go and test drive kuga 1st and rethink that….Jap and Korean car are just SHIT,keep on changing design with just minor improvement.
    I test all of them before i buy kuga,the driving feeling is just different.It have Intelligent all wheel drive and the most safety vehicle in its class.
    CX5 go round corner feel sliperry,
    CRV as usual UNDERPOWER,
    Tucson just a SUV that cannot go offroad,
    SPORTAGE just good looking.
    3008 sucks at all point
    Although u pay more for kuga but it is really worth it ,totally imported from spain 1.6ecoboooost!! 180ps is more than enough.

• Seems like my comment is not required here but as I believe as myself here who is shopping around for SUV, Kuga is the best choice if you can’t afford to wait for 5 months for the CX5.. btw, please test drive and really get into it coz after know it in details, I think Kuga is better than CX5 in some areas.
    So.. after reading and watching so many reviews..my choice is Kuga..