DRIVEN: Ford Kuga – 2nd-gen C520 tested in Adelaide

Ford-Kuga-Adelaide 54

The renaissance for the Blue Oval in Malaysia continues with a vehicle that has essentially been needed for the brand here for quite a while now. The arrival of the Ford Kuga later this evening will finally plug the void left by the sterling but long-suffering Escape.

The Escape was a true trooper, even if never the prettiest – it soldiered on gamely from the very early part of the century (sounds old, doesn’t it?) with an iffy four-speed gearbox and lumpish 2.0 litre Zetec mill through to repackaging jobs in 2009 and 2010, which pressed it on into the current decade. That it stayed that long in service was partly circumstance and partly how the brand once viewed the Asean market.

Not any more, as exemplified by the likes of the Fiesta, third-gen Focus and Mondeo. And now, despite all the missed opportunities an earlier introduction might have well staved, the brand is finally pitching the Kuga into the equation here. The first Kuga incarnation, the C394, never reached our shores, so it’s left to the second-generation C520 – which retains the Escape name in the US – to take the fight to the competition.

UPDATE: The Ford Kuga 1.6 EcoBoost Titanium has been launched, and is priced at RM159,999, OTR with insurance. Read the launch report here.

The Kuga arrives at a time when the particular mid-sized SUV segment is booming, burgeoned by the arrival of a slew of new temptresses, namely the Kia Sportage, Mazda CX-5 and, most recently, the fourth-gen Honda CR-V. If it follows the estimated pricing that has been bandied for it (RM168k), the Valencia, Spain-built offering will enter the market as the most expensive of the lot, at least until the 2.4 litre version of the CR-V debuts.

Ford-Kuga-Adelaide 85

Still, to offset that, it’ll also be the most powerful, a mantle it will hold until the new Subaru Forester officially debuts, with a few distinguishing novelties thrown in for good measure. Malaysia will get a single engine variant (and a unique trim level mixture despite the Titanium badging, but more on this later), and this is a 1.6 litre EcoBoost, the turbocharged direct-injection mill good for 180 PS at 5,700 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,600 rpm to 5,000 rpm.

The unitary all-wheel drive offering will feature a six-speed SelectShift automatic transmission, specially calibrated for the EcoBoost and featuring revised gear ratios and a new torque converter. As for the Intelligent AWD system, it’s pretty sophisticated, with no less than 40 amplitude points being analysed in 16 millisecond intervals to ensure the Kuga remains sure-footed in all conditions.

There’s also Torque Vectoring Control and AdvanceTrac with Roll Stability Control and Curve Control in the mix, and the electric power steering gets Torque Steer Compensation and Active Nibble Compensation (sounds devilish, doesn’t it?) to trim off unwanted feedback.

The kitbag also includes an Active Grille Shutter (as seen on the Focus) and a segment-first hands-free tailgate, in which simply sweeping a foot under the rear bumper allows the opening or closing of the rear tailgate automatically. Two sensors means that you’ll need to show purpose in those kicks and be in possession of the key to get it to work.

Ford-Kuga-Adelaide 47

In use, it takes some practice to get it spot-on, but it’s a cool thing to have when your hands are full of shopping bags. Alternatively, the press of a button located on the tailgate shuts the powered tailgate, so you don’t have to kick to close the lid if you don’t want to.

What else? Also on the list are seven airbags (front, front thorax/pelvis, side curtain, driver knee), Electronic Stability Control (ESP) with ABS, Trailer Sway Control and Hill Start Assist, Brake Assist and rear parking sensors. Other bits are a Sony audio system replete with SYNC connectivity and keyless entry with push-button start.

The Malaysian Kuga will however not feature a Technology Pack, which includes items such as Active Park Assist, BLIS, Active City Stop, Lane Keeping Aid and Lane Departure Warning.

Interestingly, the omission means that the Kuga we’ll be getting will have a right indicator/left wiper stalk configuration, as opposed to the more European left indicator/right wiper layout deployed if the SUV comes equipped with the Tech Pack. It’s all to do with the way the harness arrangement is, as explained when the different layouts were noticed on the wide-ranging specification Australian examples.

Design-wise, the new Kuga derives its overall lines from the Vertrek Concept that debuted in Detroit in 2011. Much of the flow has made the migration, though the overall disposition for series production is less fettered and the bulk, leaner. Still, the lines are well resolved, and it’s an absolute scalpel if you consider its predecessor.

Wheelbase length is the same as the Escape (2,690 mm), but the Kuga is longer by 81 mm, measuring 4,524 mm from nose to tail, and narrower by four mm at 1,838 mm wide. It’s also lower at 1,702 mm tall (with roof rails in place), a reduction of eight mm. Other numbers are a 1,662 kg kerb weight (for the Malaysian version) and a cargo volume of 406 litres with rear seats in place, increasing to 1,603 litres with them folded.

The interior has all the current family hallmarks, with Focus-esque design elements peppered about. Both display instrumentation layout and function switch operational aspects are good, as is overall trim, but despite the claim that lots of clever spaces abound, storage at the front end remains average at best. The centre console, for one, feels bulkier than it should, and for all that mass has very little usable stowage space, not aided by an average volume cabin box.

As for cabin space on the whole, it’s still not the better of the CR-V, which champs everything else if internal acreage is one’s prime consideration. The rear isn’t what you’d call pinched, but as shown by the Chinese-market Kuga, you can always get more legroom (Ford boffins obtained more space in the Chinese version by shortening the rear seat cushions and eking extra space from the rear of the front seats).

During the regional media drive for the Kuga in Adelaide, virtually the entire range of local specification models were on call. Australia has six equipment variants in all, two each in entry-level Ambiente, mid-level Trend and range-topping Titanium trim, split into four petrol and two 2.0 litre Duratorq TDCI diesel versions. There’s even a FWD, six-speed manual in that mix, and this is the base Ambiente model.

The Titanium there wears 19-inch wheels and 235/45 tyres, which we won’t be getting for ours, as seen on the roadshow models recently – the local Kuga will wear 17-inch nine double-spoke alloys, wrapped with 235/55 donuts (Hankook DynaPro HP RA23s on the display cars). And unlike the full leather seats seen on the Oz version, our Titanium will feature a fabric/leather combination seat material, borrowing from what is essentially a Trend level specification.

Undoubtedly, the 19-inch alloys look the business and make the Kuga a bolder-looking proposition, but losing them in our equation isn’t a huge loss. On the roughish Oz blacktop, the level of comfort left a lot to be desired, with the feedback and shimmies over uneven terrain coming across in chatterbox fashion. Road noise levels coming off the tyres were also on the high side.

Moving to the 18-inch on the Trend calmed things down somewhat, and though the 17-inch steel units (with similar 235/55 tyre profile) on the Ambiente weren’t the least bit sexy looking, they offered the most compliant – and quietest – ride. Given the inability to push the Kuga about in hard or fast fashion, it proved to be the choice cut over the 250 km plus drive route.

Ford-Kuga-Adelaide 62

There were only a few chances to try out handling as a result, accomplished while in the Titanium by dropping back from the convoy and gunning it into a couple of corners. Steering feel is invariably on the dull side, with some off-centre void, but no complaints about speed or precision.

It’s certainly not final as a call, but there was plenty of promise suggested by those few turns, and the AWD system feels quite the ace. The Kuga’s front-back integration is, for want of a better word, taut, turn-in and lead-out showing how well consolidated it is dynamically.

My guess would be this should be the handling pick of the current C-segment SUV lot, shading even the class-leading CX-5, but a comparo involving both – and perhaps other competitors – down the line at some point should answer that question. Ahead of that will be the local media drive, which should better reveal the Kuga’s dynamic abilities.

A word about the EcoBoost, and tempering expectations; 180 PS and 240 Nm and the turbo moniker sounds like it should drive the pants off the competition in terms of acceleration and pull. The reality, however, is that with 1.6 tonnes to haul, the delivery is more linear and progressive than it is punchy, especially at the low-end of things. It’s not anaemic, because from the midband on things get sparklier, and in-gear takeup levels are good.

Ford-Kuga-Adelaide 65

The SelectShift transmission is smooth; clean shifting and displaying good transitional aspects traversing the cogs, this is an automatic with refinement and pedigree, a progression of the six-speed FWD boxes that came about during the Ford and GM collaboration on transmissions a while back. In short, there’s none of the rubbishy, erratic low-speed shift patterns like on the Fiesta’s dry dual-clutch PowerShift.

There was a short run with the 2.0 TDCI, and the oil burner displayed its usual characteristics; perky and willing, if rougher around the edges than the benzene equivalent, there’s little to not like with 340 Nm to pull things along. Equipped with a six-speed PowerShift, the transmission didn’t feel PowerShift-like, which furthered the liking some more. Shame it won’t be coming.

A few of the colours you see in the photos won’t be making their way here either, the Ink Blue and Burnished Glow (that copper-looking shade) among them. We’ll be getting four colours, these being Frozen White, Moondust Silver, Panther Black and the hero shade, Ginger Ale.

The initial drive showed that the Ford Kuga certainly has more than what it takes to match wits with the rest of the assembled SUV cast available here. The question is whether you’re contrarian enough to consider having frisson served by such alternative means, one that’s arguably more left-field than the CX-5. If you are, this sounds like just the trick.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jinggo on Jun 06, 2013 at 8:28 am

Forester > Kuga > CX5 > CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 92
    • This car sure to fail in Malaysia. The CX5 better value at 137k. Ford RV falls like crazy. Look at the Escape, can even get 2 year old car for RM50k. The Kuga will be the same. What is worse is the sleepy attitude of the service centre. Have to wait 3 months for any part. If Ford Kuga is your ONLY car, and they keep it for 3 months, which they usually do, you have to take Len Seng bus to work like a pariah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 43
      • Do Malaysians know Ford parts are very expensive? Don’t be fooled by the price of the car. Its like buying a Laser Printer. Your printer is so cheap at RM99 but your toners are RM300 each. Now, so many Fiesta buyers regret buying Ford so much. They thought at RM70k was so cheap for a Mat Salleh car but now feeling the pinch of Ford parts. Fyi, even small parts are few thousand ringgit. Be careful. Own a Ford ONLY if you are able to afford AND maintain a BMW. But you choose to buy Ford because you chose to do so and you like the Ford brand. Be warned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 47
        • neutral on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:52 pm

ummm…..not so sure about that…i got a fiesta at home and part prices are about the same as japanese…but then i’ve never had any parts replaced yet…because it has been damn reliable for the past 2 and half years….regarding resale value….resale is not dependent on brand u idiot…buy a toyota model other than camry or vios and u’re bound to suffer steep resale values as well…just like if you buy a civic resale is gonna be good because the demand is high…if you buy a honda legend it’s gonna be bad cos nobody wants that car…so use ur brain to think

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 11
        • Zeonz on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Do some research before spreading false information, yeah even small parts can be expensive but the reliability of those parts have to be taken into consideration and exaggerate much? Compare to mazda’s parts price are equally the same or much more higher. How do I know? my dad is a dealer for genuine mazda/ford/kia parts. Anyone here having difficulties looking for old parts can try in visiting kemuncak parts & accessories sdn bhd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
        • artworks on Jun 06, 2013 at 3:44 pm

bullshit! i use fiesta from dec 2010. still running strong. how u noe “many” fiesta buyer regret? my power window switch was broken during i giving my fiesta a new color (my fiesta color is Focus RS green). guess how much i spend on brand new power window switch? just RM60. im not sure why so many auto “expert” giving so much negative review on “parts expensive”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
        • Izzard on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Engine bonnet was badly dented back in Dec 2011 due to wooden bar falling off a truck. Waiting time to get bonnet changed and sprayed, plus knocking out dents from other areas that didn’t need to be replaced; 2 weeks (inclusive of public holidays and weekends).

Total cost: RM 1,218.85

• dah6171 on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:24 am

Name = Danial Lim, r u the same guy or just copy and past, pathetic

Danial Lim on May 27, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I own a F10 BMW and a Ford Escape. The Ford Escape maintenance is far more than the BMW. The past 3 years has been a nightmare. Ford parts are not just expensive but super expernsive.
          Only buy Ford if you are very rich and buying it because you prefer the brand. Otherwise, if you are a normal wage earner, please be careful. I earn 5 figures also, I myself think Ford parts prices are just too exorbitant. Don’t be fooled also buy the high number of Fiestas on the road. These people are like the “Printer theory” or Gillete theory. Buy a printer, it is so cheap, but the ink cartridge is far more than the printer. Gillete the same. The gillete shaver is so cheap but you kena hantam with the high prices of the blades. Now, Fiesta buyers are crying to the bank. They all though it was super cheap, but everytime they send for service, then they feel it.

• Brian on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Same goes to the Mazda CX5?

• Parts expensive you said? I just replaced my fiesta windshield for just rm900+. The windshield came with rain sensor. And it only took 1 week to order the part

• Name is like God Of Thunder, u can hear the thunder but no rain.

I’m perfectly happy with my Fiesta of two years, no issues and parts price are comparable with other makes.

• Ha! some hater is out there with some idiotic remarks. CX-5 at RM137K is base model that even keyless entry is not include. CX-5 high spec is RM144K ,2×4, local assembled. Do you really know what are you comparing with and have you owned one to comment about the servie centre? Do you really know what are you talking about?

• Sexy car but the name is kinda weird!

• weight is the enemy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Moores on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Yes, as what Anthony mentioned 180ps sounds good but with 1.6 ton of weight to pull. That’s almost 200kg heavier than CX-5!

• falcon on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Try to test drive one and you will know if the 1.6 ecoboost engine is not good enough

• Some people just know to give negative comment becoz they can’t afford to own it.. at least go test drive the car if you could not afford the car before give a fair comment.
          This ford kuga, in case you don’t know has much higher torque than the 2.0 CX5 although it’s only 1.6

• Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Jun 06, 2013 at 8:58 am

Seriously, I don’t know what’s wrong with Ford. The dashboard and center console is way too identical all across the model with exception of some (eg Mondeo) and poorly designed. What’s with all the rocket-ish center console button? Just my two cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • lol..your complaint is same dash across all models? have u been in a VW polo/golf/passat or a audi a4/5/6/7? its all exactly the same dash and headunit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Jun 06, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Exactly my point! If they (Ford) want to reduce cost and utilize component sharing at it’s best, why not do it minimal and classy as the VW and Audi counterpart?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • sizeup on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:29 am

Got a bit issue on the passenger cubics. It seems Ford’s are getting crampy nowadays. Outwardly and internal design looks great, but even for Asians, not much of a headroom. What gives?

• Josh Ling on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:12 am

totally agree with you. and i think it’s gonna hurt their sales here. it shows in the sales of ford focus in where i live. i don’t know the exact reason why people are not buying the car, but i guess the interior space could be one of the reasons, especially when you are up against so many cars with similar price tag but much bigger interior space. and it’s not like ford is the next toyota or honda in terms of brand recognition if you know what i mean……

• looks like we will be getting the Aluminum version instead of Titanium. meh

• benchot on Jun 06, 2013 at 10:34 am

kasi baikkkk punya..kuga boleh baring itu cx5 la..kuga kuga kuga kucing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • saiful on Jun 06, 2013 at 10:42 am

‘acreage’, ‘anaemic’, ‘fettered’, ‘boffins’, ‘temptresses’…ouch…ouch…need to toggle between paultan.org and meriamwebster online ever so frequent.
    anyway, nice write up. enjoyed it as always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • one day a test drive report will be written in a poem i tell u hehe

• Noob xD

• The funny thing is even Carbuyer of UK (Mat Watson and Rebecca Jackson) suports plain English campaign on their YouTube channel

• i suspect Ford will cut price…the CX5 at 133k is a SUV killer, my guess is Ford will be giving at least 10k discount b4 end of the year

• Gunslinger on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Oh, how sure are you? If so, I must hang on for a while more and wait for price to come down before I make a firm booking!

• I’m getting a CX-5- FWD- High Spec..thanks

• the CX-5 is confusing, some instances say it’s AWD, some say it’s 4WD, which is it, can someone help clarify?

• AWD = All Wheel Drive
      4WD = 4 Wheel Drive

CX-5 got 4 wheels, 4 wheels also driven by the engine so it qualifies as AWD or 4WD.

• Packer on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Technical there are differences between 4WD and AWD.

CX-5 should be AWD.

The differences are detailed in this article

http://www.motortrend.com/features/consumer/1105_4wd_vs_awd/viewall.html

• well written article but as usual too much on the ‘extras’ used in making up what is meant to be a very simple point…particularly the ending…

i really hope paultan could just keep it plain and simple yet creative. too much of the word twisting wont add to the flair.
    :)

still, ill still read your stuff anyways even if you stick with the weird style…just my two cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Fahmi on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Hmm… Bring on the Mondeo (new, upcoming) with 1.6L Ecoboost, and the 2.0 Ecoboost as an option of both Kuga and Mondeo… Give customers more choice.. Even better bring also TDCi version as a (cheaper, larger alternative, albeit it’s FWD) to the BMW 320d though Malaysian diesel sucks….
    Come on Ford.. Keep moving on…

• This is from my perspective about the look.
    Exterior, it’s superb. but the interior that I’ve been so annoyed when looking at it is the dashboard, the middle part is kinda too ‘benjol’ . its kinda too popped out. I’ve sat in it, it doesn’t really feel like sitting in a SUV. It’s kinda small. It feels exactly like sitting in the new Ford Focus.

This is what I think :) I’m not here to bash this handsome new Kuga, but this is just what I see about Kuga.

• BSLee on Jun 08, 2013 at 10:07 pm

I had never owned a Ford but their service is generally perceived as poor: just like Nasim motor.But lucky for Peugeot cars owner they have now other agents which sell & service Peug as well.

• Alif Jamal on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:43 pm

BTW did you all manage to get it off-road? How does it perform on dirt surface and steep slope?

• helloo guys Ford Kuga is fully imported from Spain la….bukan CKD if CKD then the price will be reduce la……..get your fact right

• Masked rider 555 on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:01 am

masked rider kuga

• i read with dread all the comments here as i have just bought a 2003 ford escape for rm10k this march. i bought it coz it’s cheap and because luckily there is an authorised ford service centre near my place (outside KL..not even a capital city of any Msian states). i have yet to send the Escape for any major repairs or service except for a routine oil check/ replacement and to replace all the absorbers, busch , tyre chamber, air cond and bonet door lock etc for less than RM1.8k. The engine are fine as of today except for the tendency to lose power after idling on a steep road which my friendly neighborhood pomen say that it can be remedied by changing the piston cap or whatever..keeping my fingers crossed though hehe

• Gun Slinger on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:39 pm

How come I haven’t seen any Ford Kuga on the road of the Klang Valley? Model not on sale yet?

• beepbeep on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:07 am

It would be a perfect car to me if it is a 7 seater.

• averagedude on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:11 pm

can someone answer this: the selectshift transmission in this Kuga is dual clutch or torque converter? if dual clutch, is it dry or wet?

TQ

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:58 am

averagedude, the SelectShift transmission used in the Kuga is an automatic with a torque converter. The 6F35, as it’s called, is a six-speed transverse unit, and is the Ford version of the Ford/GM joint-development project to come up with co-developed six-speed auto transmissions in the early 2000s.