Mitsubishi Attrage previewed ahead of Thai launch

Mitsubishi Attrage

The Mitsubishi Attrage, the sedan version of the Mirage hatchback, was previewed recently at a dealer conference in Thailand ahead of the official launch, which is said to be sometime next month.

UPDATE: Full Malaysian spec and pricing for the Attrage released – click here to view.

Courtesy of Mitsubishi Attrage Club ThailandMitsu BNT and reader Boon, we have pricing and pictures. Bear in mind that as far as we know, the car has not been officially launched yet, so the following prices remain unofficial:

• GLX M/T – 443k baht (RM45k)
  • GLX CVT – 477k baht (RM48k)
  • GLS CVT – 530k baht (RM53k)
  • GLS Ltd CVT – 582k baht (RM59k)

Mitsubishi Attrage

Sharing the same 78 PS/100 Nm 1.2 litre three-pot MIVEC engine as the Mirage, the B-segment sedan is capable of returning a quoted 22 km per litre, nudging it ahead of the Nissan Almera and Honda Brio Amaze.

Standard and GLS versions get dual airbags; GLX gets only one. Six body colours are available, these being the signature Cerulean Blue Mica, as well as Red Metallic, White Pearl (6,000 baht extra), Eisen Gray Mica, Cool Silver and Pyreness Black Mica.

The Attrage will be produced at Mitsubishi Motors Thailand’s Factory Three at the Laem Chabang, Chonburi plant, and is set to make its market debut in Thailand in July, with the Philippines due to get the sedan shortly after. See the brochure here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• dugon on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Dugong’s brother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
    • No… should be Dugong’s cousin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • with some bodykits i think maybe this car can be little bit attractive than dugong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • OMG…nicer than the current vios and almera, if the price less than 75K, it can sell well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Vios and Almera has a baby dugong Attrage lolx but the upcoming Vios become angry bird already but the slow one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • No is for those who miss the Dugong Vios

• flat_tire on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:48 am

it’s a facelifted and rebadged dugong..

• Babemoon on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Actually it does looks better than others dugong but 1.2 ??? Awww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • somebody on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:19 pm

If it falls below RM70K, then it’s a good deal.

P/S: It seems lack of some advance technologies as Peugeot, Kia, etc did.

• another almera twin ~ LOL

• The price here as usual surely RM10K more expensive, no thanks to NAP:

GLX M/T – 443k baht (RM55k)
    GLX CVT – 477k baht (RM58k)
    GLS CVT – 530k baht (RM63k)
    GLS Ltd CVT – 582k baht (RM69k)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • of coz la thai cheap…do you know the spec for those cheap price? just like mirage before them the low spec is for thai…GLX got oni 1 airbag…

bolehland most probably get GLS version with 2 airbag

• LoveGreen on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:52 pm

MMC, Pls launch this immdediately.
    I am so eager intro this model to all my family members.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Green on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:43 pm

MMC, take initiative to get Mirage earn EEV Eneargy Efficient Vehicle Tax Reduction, reduce price..

and launch the Mirage Sedan asap with low price tag!

• launch here will be November ’13. Just in time for Christmas gift!!!

• delio on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:11 pm

menyesalnya beli myvi..dah la bonet kecik.. mahal..ni lagi murah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Kalau you tak beli myvi bukannya you dapat beli kereta ini pun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
      • delio on Jun 06, 2013 at 10:27 pm

kalau tak boleh…u kasi la kereta sorong satu buat i…u rembat je kat mydin tu..

• Masuk sini harga lain bro..kena ingat tu.

• BIG BONET on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:57 am

Menyesal pasai pa pulak,dh tau myvi tu Kompak car segment,konpem2 la bonet kicik dari sedan….nak besar lg amik persona pelotong la….

• 1.2 litres turbocharge, 100hp will making this car even more attractive.

• azrai on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:25 pm

The rear part lokk quite decent. It have somewhere resemblence to the privious Civic. Overall, like the above says yes it is dugong cousin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Lemonguy on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:38 pm

If direct convert then the price is very attractive but when comes to Malaysia I doubt the price will still remain the same or not…..

• Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Nicely done! The MPG returned is close to a full hybrid and this doesn’t requires hefty battery cells replacement lol.

Come on people, this car is all about practicality and being economical, if horsie power and torque matters to you, then GTI is your answer

• Sky pirate on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Uhh… You guys got it wrong, this thing here doesn’t compete with the Vios or Almera. This thing is one segment below the 2 dugongs.

• lancruiser on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Checked the duty(s)for car <1800cc, additional that we Malaysian need to pay in order to come in to our shore:
    (http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm)

Import duty: 0%
    Excise duty: 75%
    Sales tax: 10%

total tax is 85%!

Say we take the cheapest model THB440k=RM46k (100THB:RM9.5)
    The price in M'sia should be a whopping RM85k!! (RM46k*85%)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • too expensive. i think the way u calculate it is wrong.

• I think you made a wrong assumption that a 440k THB Attrage is tax-free in Thailand.

The Attrage is probably subject to taxes below in Thailand.

excise tax : 25-30 %
      interior tax : 2.5-3.0 %
      VAT : 7 % of profit and other taxes

If the Attrage is assembled outside Asean, it is subject to the additional item below.

import duty : 80 %

The above implies the cost of the Attrage is roughly

440k THB x 100/130 = 338k THB

With the 85 % tax imposed by Malaysia, it may become around 62.5k MYR.

• Source of information on Thai automobile tax rates :

http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/435479-taxes-on-cars-in-thailand/

• i give u 1 question calculate price for mirage for bolehland based on thai mirage price (minus thai tax)…n based of those price u get compare with official mirage price in boleh..is it 75% excise tax+ 10% sales tax?..
      im bet the actual tax is oni 30-50%(excise tax) +10% sales tax oni….

• 4 modem on Jun 06, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Ehh.. I thought last time Proton deal with Mitsubishi as claim by Proton fanboys where Proton rebadge Lancer while Mitsubishi will rebadge Persona rival to Vios?

Apa sudah jadi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Green on Jun 06, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Your calculation doesnt make sense..

The highest End Mirage = 550k Baht, or selling @ RM65k
    if same taxation, without EEV tax reducion,

Highest End Mirage Sedan = 580k Baht or RM69k maximum

• unforgiven on Jun 06, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Gonna be a common car in Thai, but something higher end here, funny! It should not be more expensive than a proton, let’s be real!

• weird on Jun 06, 2013 at 7:59 pm

i dont know guys. but it seems that car prices in thailand are actually quite expensive? paultan.org have covered many car shows in thailad this year and all the launch prices there is the equivalent to that in malaysia it seems.

i guess thailand ppl are getting the short end of the straw, they are suppose to be the detroit of asia but still have to pay so much to but a car.

• skyfall on Jun 06, 2013 at 8:32 pm

and you call this car?

• befrind on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:09 pm

I think the highest level would be priced right below 100k. I believe it just takes the price similar to vios and city. And the lowest level variant would be 80k at least.

At the end of the day, kimchi still can be good alternative. Kia rio around 70k for instance.

• i give u 1 question calculate price for mirage for bolehland based on thai mirage price (minus thai tax)…n based of those price u get compare with official mirage price in boleh..is it 75% excise tax+ 10% sales tax?..
      im bet the actual tax is oni 30-50%(excise tax) +10% sales tax oni….

• heyday on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:24 pm

I doubt this is a B segment sedan. It’s smaller than city and vios and the engine is only 1.2l. It won’t return good FC unless the body is lighter because it’s smaller than both cars.

• green on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:59 am

Let’s compare the Wheelbase:

Almera : 2600mm
      Mirage Sedan: 2550mm
      Mirage Hatchback: 2450mm
      Vios: 2550mm
      City: 2550mm
      Saga FLX: 2465mm

This car, same interior size as vios and city. just having a smaller engine, but come with 6-speed CVT, will allow u constant acceleration to 120km/h without trouble and yet can furhter accelerate without not much hassle. Tested drive a Mirage Hatchback 1.2 CVT.

• TheDentist on Jun 07, 2013 at 12:41 am

If proton came out with this dugong, sure kena bash one. Anw, this dugong is fugly.

• ben yap on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:00 am

one heck of an ugly car.

• SUV lover on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:20 am

Shit…just bought a Vios

• bvc100 on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:43 am

Is it just me, or the rear end looks kind of… dated? –> see pic 2492.
    Still, I’m not bought over by the overall looks.
    Sorry.

• Joe Radzif on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:38 am

Buruk nya…
    why? cut n paste?

• Ong chin aun on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:41 am

TO me the car look nice and stylist. However, 1.2 L is it enought to drive the load ?? underpower ? If it is powered by at least 1.5L or 1.6 L . i will consider to buy.

• bodyline mcm savvy la plak..

• simply comment is one this.
    Learning for the market is another thing – i.e. you should do hatch and sedan for A segment, instead of C segment, in the case of Malaysia..

• Kuinosan on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:25 pm

What? 70k for a 1.2l model? You got to be kidding me, really? Might as well top up a couple thousand and get the Honda Jazz that is on promotion. This car should be priced below RM60k to be attractive!