Second-generation Suzuki Swift Sport launched here – 1.6 litre, 134 hp, 160Nm, manual RM98k, CVT RM103k

New_Suzuki_Swift_Sport_live_pix_3

Here we go again, then. For real this time. The new Suzuki Swift Sport has been launched, and the only details left out in our previous report – the all-important prices – are officially out. You’re looking at RM97,888 for an SSS manual, and RM102,888 for the CVT variant (both figures on the road, without insurance).

Now that’s out of the way, lets get down to the details shall we? The second-generation Swift Sport 1.6 is fully imported from Japan, and is the flagship model to the locally assembled Swift 1.4 range here. It’s dressed up with a completely bespoke bodykit and there’s a larger, more powerful engine to justify the Sport in the name.

The drivetrain upgrade is the main headline here. The M16A engine has been stroked to produce 134 hp (136 PS) at 6,900 rpm and 160 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm, a significant increase from the original SSS’ 125 hp and 148 Nm. A new variable intake system and an enhanced VVT are to thank for the generous increase.

New_Suzuki_Swift_Sport_live_pix_7

Before you start asking, the minimum fuel required is RON95, as indicated by stickers on the fuel filler cap. Suzuki engineers however, insist that the use of RON97 is recommended for optimal performance and by extension, absolute longevity. That’s still a step down from the old car’s RON98 minimum, so no more hunting for Shell V-Power Racing when you run low on fuel.

Transmission options have been upgraded too. Out goes the old five-speeder, replaced by a new six-speed manual gearbox. That’s three foot pedals and six gears – the perfect configuration for many and a rare commodity nowadays. If you can’t handle more than two pedals, there’s a new CVT ‘box with seven virtual ratios in place of the previous four-speed auto.

Suzuki claims that both transmission options achieve the same 8.7 second 0-100 km/h time, slightly down on the old car’s 8.9 seconds. The manual goes 10 km/h faster than the CVT at full pelt though, with a top speed of 195 km/h. Fuel consumption is rated at 6.5 litres per 100 km for the manual variant, while the CVT uses 0.4 litres less over the same range.

Power is nothing without control, and the new Suzuki Swift Sport gains a stiffer suspension set up over the standard Swift models. Spring rates are increased by 15% and 30% in the front and back respectively, with plenty of modifications elsewhere to improve the car’s response and stability. The front struts for instance, are fitted with additional rebound springs to aid handling performance without affecting comfort.

You can’t see any of these under-body upgrades though. What makes the Sport stand out among standard Swifts is the full bodykit, complete with deeper bumpers front and back, side skirts, top spoiler, large single-frame grille, bi-xenon headlamps with dark surrounds and twin exhaust pipes in the back. 16-inch wheels with wide-spaced spokes round up the visual overhaul.

Inside you get heavy-set sports seats (no Recaro option this time, boys), black fabric upholstery with red contrasting stitching, faux-aluminium trim and leather steering wheel. Keyless push start system, automatic aircon, stainless steel pedals and sporty instrument dials are also thrown into the mix. Safety systems include six airbags, ABS, EBD, ESP, full three-point seat belts and ISOFIX mounts. CVT models get a hill holder system.

New_Suzuki_Swift_Sport_live_pix_31

Compared to the old SSS, the wheelbase is 50 mm longer, track five millimetres wider and overall length has increased by 125 mm. There’s now a spare tyre (spacesaver) underneath the boot floor too. Thankfully the growth does not add up to more weight, as the new car scales up at 30 kg less than before – 1,070 kg for the manual, 15 kg more for CVT.

Only two colour options are available – Champion Yellow and Snow White Pearl you see here. Both are exclusive to the Suzuki Swift Sport, though the white was an option on the initial CBU run of the standard Swift models.

So there you go. RM97,888 to RM102,888, manual or CVT, and a choice of white or yellow. Take your pick!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Retep on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:27 pm

DAT ASS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Plus+ on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Finally!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • xiper on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:48 pm

hmm no 2 doors version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Plus+ on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:16 pm

3 doors only for Euro

• Alpha on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Yeah, too bad there’s no 3-doors version here. I’ve a friend in the UK driving the SSS 3-doors in white. Boy, that car is a looker. Looks way better than the Mini if you ask me. The 5-doors looks good, but not as good as the 3-doors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • nothing a sticker job cant help!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • niker on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:36 pm

This car is for middle to rich uncles and aunties to drive fast so their children won’t arrive late at school so it has to be 5 doors.

It’s NOT for entry level youngsters, LOL
          Go away and ride you beloved viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
          • Johnny on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:24 am

So sad this is more expensive than an Inspira :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • sepul on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Something to ponder about, us layman’s keen drivers with average income. Hohoho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • 8.7s my car can smoke it easy. This is warm hatch, NOT hot hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • mentari-o-korea on Jun 06, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Aging model, times up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 48
    • thedarkside on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:14 pm

what do you mean by aging model????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • namanama on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:19 pm

when ladies comment about cars.oh,mentari-o-korea…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • l3ryan on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:10 pm

what aging model?!? it’s a completely new model!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Same old model, they just make it bigger. It’s not worth your money. At 100k there are plenty of better cars out there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
        • namanama on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:07 am

it’s worth for money if you compare with Polo.haha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • I would choose Peugeot 308.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • Jonathan Lee on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Isn’t every new car out there just a bigger version of the car that came before it?

At RM100k it’s a bargain, especially as it’s faster than the more expensive CR-Z.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • obviously he wasnt referring to the car…hint : see pix 4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • hafriz, so confirm got vsa n push start button ya?
    sma website states otherwise…they hv to update the site!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Yes, all in as stated in the article.
      You can spot them in the full live gallery coming up in a sec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • hmmm…rm 100k for a swift…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • hmm, cheapest 98k manual, Fiesta β Sport 1.6L Ti-VCT more tempting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 50
    • Rajan on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Swift feels so much more tiny compared to any other car for the same price. Maybe not a sports version, maybe Forte – 2.0, more power, bigger, more trunk space and you don’t feel like a school girl in it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • busdriver on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:39 pm

I like the yellow one, totally school bus colour and easy to be recognised by schoolboys and girls. They won’t miss a second, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • namanama on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:10 am

nice comment though,comparing c segment sedan with compact car…nice,really nice..it’s a sport compact!

• shawal on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:25 pm

6 speed manual n 1.6 engine ,
    This car is really tempting …
    Can we tesr drive dis thing somewhere?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Ada paddle shift ke? Dlm gambar ada..

• Paul Tan

Any reverse sensors? Cant view it properly via the pix…
    Would be a minor set back without reverse sensors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • Grandma police on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Zoom in here

Got

http://paultan.org/image/2013/06/New_Suzuki_Swift_Sport_live_pix_2A.jpg

• fr photo can see got reverse sensor laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • linda521 on Jun 08, 2013 at 2:59 am

use your head la, even cheap flx also got reverse censor, if this 100k suzuki car doesn’t comes with reverse censor does it make sense? furthermore this car is so small i am very sure i can park it without the need of reverse censor

• I think he meant reverse camera. lol. 100k should have reverse camera as standard though.

• Three-pedals…..minimum RON 95…… below RM 100k
    I need to change my pants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Jun 06, 2013 at 1:34 pm

The engine revs up to ? Whuts d redline?
    Howz d feel of d car?

• redline 7200. engine bullet proof been redlining almost everyday no problems at all! mileage oredi 175k km!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • hafriz, got digital aircon maa h

• sorry type too fast..
      Hafriz, got digital aircon how come not mentioned in article? for few k extra bs old model u get good value in upgrades ie better engine, 6MT, push start, digital aircon etc …really good laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Automatic aircon/climate control is pretty much a given in this price range and up nowadays, figured I’d leave the obvious inclusions out. Else I’d be spelling out the entire brochure here.

Anyway yes, this car has auto aircon. Article revised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • bro the reason i asked is bcoz current swift sport dun hv auto aircon, so i thought this difference and improvement can be highlighted :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • gtwing on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Many cars have auto aircond, what’s so special about it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
          • gtwing, vios trd almost 100k but no auto aircond bro!

• price and the engine specs including 6 speed (M) Gb, make it the cheapers option for CBU car. Spirit driver with average income can highly consider this car.

• sambalbabi on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:06 pm

ok, so where’s the 2 doors version? aisehhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • I shall convince my mother to buy this! Yellow bullet! JDM ftw

• fooyc on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Hafriz,
    Mentioned in article there is cruise control. It should be on the right “pad” area of steering wheel, but none of the picture showing that. Mind to confirm ?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:45 pm

You’re right, good spot!
      Was fooled by the press release. No cruise control then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • sepuct9a on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Couldn’t help to still view this as cute girly car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Only shemales would drive this car, yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Chris on Jun 06, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Doesn’t matter. This car can probably change direction faster than girl can change her mood.

I can’t wait for someone to compare this car to the 1L ecoboost fiesta. Should be interesting.

• Maserati on Jun 06, 2013 at 2:41 pm

See, awesome cars like this u ppl dont know how to appreciate . Instead go arnd telling kia rio is good , forte and crap is good.

This sss is a great car to drive! One of the best drivers car i ever driven. This new one is even better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
    • mr jem on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:19 pm

its an awesome car but it is still a swift. thats how people see it. accept it bro!!! better get a cerato…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • I rather drive a Suzuki if u give me that KIA Cerato… i feel cheap sorry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
        • quert on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Both are cheap in terms of handling. Conti/Proton/Ford are much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
    • Sam Loo on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:38 pm

That means your experience suck. They are far better small car than the swift lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • It looks less sporty than previous model…

• RVP20 on Jun 06, 2013 at 3:06 pm

100k car looking like this meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • elise on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Forget this 8.7 secs sprint century car, it won’t get you anywhere in bad jams. On highway, it’s easily preyed by bigger cars, coz top speed only 195km/h, that’s puny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
      • Who cares about 0-100 sprint or topspeed when u drive a hot hatch? These cars’ main point is handling. Get into tight circuit or autocross course and see if bigger cars could catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • yesmer on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:52 am

So it has personality conflict, 5 doors but meant for circuit

• WRXer on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:38 pm

LOL… How do you explain EVO and WRX? 5 door sport saloons who eemm… win Rally events? Pls do yourself a favor, research before commenting.

• xilim on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:56 pm

For 100k you want a Lambo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Manual ftw! Finally a hot hatch with a proper Manual gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • frenzyaustin on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:11 pm

The 134hp 164NM NA engine is really tempting. But it turns out with more gadgets in that car and a proper MT and even “Made In Japan”. It even smoke a larger displacement 2 litre car. With that price point it will sell like Golf GTi. But no words on safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • sammyloo on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Where is the janji car price reduce?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
  • ququbert on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Man I wished I could lenjan this on the track. But the rims look quite small though for the body. Personally think its better value for money than the crz, at least can sit 4 if friends wanna tumpang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • tyler on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:50 pm

The rims look cheapo. Have to sell it right after getting it.

• armandd on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:43 pm

But….. CRZ looks so much better! hehe… I believe the Swift Sport will kick its ass on track though.

• Hate Suzuki on Jun 06, 2013 at 5:48 pm

100k for this shit ? Ohh my god!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 50
  • l3ryan on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:13 pm

realistic dreamcar… for the average car enthusiast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Davinnci on Jun 06, 2013 at 6:34 pm

I can get 2 Myvi in stead 1 of this model.

I will pass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 43
  • unforgiven on Jun 06, 2013 at 7:34 pm

I’m sure they are not hunger for sales, rm100k, funny!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Oh yeah…This is a hothatch for JDM K-car lovers.
    Wait? Where’s the NCAP rating?
    Safety?
    For thad price,ignore XD
    Fun to drive,Funky to look at,Fear to CAMRY! Yeah~Smooke’em!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:17 pm

If you can’t handle more than two pedals <- gays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • the stock rim look kinda small

• mesel on Jun 06, 2013 at 9:55 pm

It’s cost cutting method. You get the speed but so-so rim and interior.

• kremer on Jun 06, 2013 at 10:08 pm

I’d rather put 15″ rims and tyres. 16″ makes it less comfortable on bad road

• This new SSS looks really tempting for me.. yea 1.6litter engine with 6 speeder in such a compact car can easily smoke many cars. guys if this compared with vw polo 1.2 tsi, which one is better in terms of performance? May I know what is the top speed of this car?

• Davinnci on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:06 am

Polo 1.2 can smoke 308T, this car can’t even smoke 308T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • guest on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:52 am

Can you guarantee the same will happen in a race track? Oh wait, forgotten Malaysians are mostly self proclaimed straight line champions aka drag racers. When it comes to corners they’ll be like “OH NO CORNER’S UP!! STOMP ON BRAKES!!!” then negate corner at maybe 1kmh, then upon seeing straight road, full throttle again. Pffftttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Davinnci on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Oh yea, race track with these cars. Smart twist enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • guest on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Twist? There’s no twist to it. The FACT is this car is made to handle well around corners. Also, on track days you can drive lower powered cars and you can compare your lap times with cars of similar class. So what’s wrong with that? Oh wait, you’re too dumb to understand this which is why you think it’s a smart twist

Btw, have you been smoking crack? This car has a faster 0-100 sprint time than the polo 1.2 AND better power/weight ratio AND better handling. Still wanna argue who’s smoking who?

Just stop commenting on any automotive website and go back to “driving” or “racing” your “car” on PS3. Pfffftttt

• Davinnci on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Cut the crap. It doesn’t worth 100k for those things you mention. But I understand, it is way better than the car you driving. Keyboard warrior LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
          • guest on Jun 08, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Haha, best statement ever. Now trying to talk about worthiness of a car. If this car is not worth 100k then what makes polo 1.2 kopi-o car worth 113k? Please stop shooting yourself in the foot ya.

Btw, stick to your cars in PS3 ya.

• namanama on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:21 am

really?last time i’ve tried polo 1.2 cant even close to my fd.wth? statement base on your imagination?

• powerpondei on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:21 pm

funny you probably racing with 308t makcik owner going to pasar

• matrxe on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:56 am

Any fool with that much dough would have taken the inspira.okay let the fire begin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Maserati on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:43 am

Hello, polo tsi can easily tapao 308t. 308t has a very weak and soft turbo. Not even close to the POLO Tsi turbo.

Polo tsi will eat SSS in the pickup , but handling definately SSS is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • 2nd generation?
    looks more like facelift.

• huayra on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Agree, for me size alone and engine stroke are not enough for a new gen. What are also important is new skin, give it new look, at least different front and rear lamps, bumpers and interior.

• 0-100 in 8.7s? my vios can go faster than that.. and vios handling is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 72
    • lembulambo on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:00 pm

yes, vios can go 0-100 in just 3 sec like GT-R, haha!

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Carl Wong on Jun 08, 2013 at 12:37 am

HAHAHAhahahaha, you make me laugh…………

Yes the ‘TURBO’ version of Vios can achieve around that time according to Wikipedia………

• samlok on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:54 pm

OMG, this is first time i heard vios handling is better then SSS!!?????

• Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6MT vs Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 Selespeed
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucrQR9Mv7P4

Swift Sport 1.6 manual vs Lancer Sportback 2.4 CVT
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiEmzqh4aY0

Judge yourself..!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Medic on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Lancer has CVT..it’s a power sapping,inefficient drive train for sporty driving.

• benzs on Jun 08, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Suzuki? If u live in miri sarawak. Every weekends u will see this type car on the road with Brunei car plate attach. Brunei can say is faster to be introduced with new cars. I’ve been seeing a lot of Suzuki here. Nothing much, just tat old n new Swift have nothing much changes. Just appearance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Norman on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Power only come from high revving. Just look at the figures 134hp@6900rpm/160nm@4600 hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Vishnu Anand on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:57 pm

6 gears, 3 pedals, short wheel base, moar powah, high revving engine… I smell a concoction of fun! Expensive, but could be the best value for a new drivers car..

• samlok on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:05 pm

The normal version has already given me a lot of fun to drive, now comes the sport version pula, i wonder what suprise it will bring me.

• Norman. on Jun 11, 2013 at 4:46 pm

For 0-140kmh yes indeed it can smoke any non turbo 1.6 cars but I’m pretty sure the engine will lose it steam between 6000-6500rpm.Ive own several Suzukis including the legend 1.3 GTI.Theyre lightweight and nimble but bad during high speed..Overall with those gadgets it’s a fun car to drive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Claire on Jun 12, 2013 at 11:54 am

Right now I’m using Mini Cooper S, sincerely speaking I’m impress with previous Swift Sport after drove my friend’s car it blow my mind. The handling is superb, it feel not much mechanical assist more raw driving. Totally pure fun driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • BERSIH on Jun 12, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Anybody know when this baby will arrive at the Suzuki showroom,wanna view the actual car maybe book it!!!

• Aston on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:03 am

Will be mid July or early Aug. Worth to wait I will trade with my Fiesta to this new Swift Sport

• BERSIH on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:05 pm

I checked with the Suzuki dealer,they said by before end of June this car shall arrive at the showroom :)

• Car lover on Jan 18, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Nice car. I like it.

• azizcheah on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:08 am

CVT.. smooth, Safe petrol, but need extra care

• Joshua D on Aug 16, 2014 at 12:57 am

Just noticed that this version has different rims. It doesn’t have the (more handsome) multispoke rims that Swift Sports in all the adverts and foreign reviews show. Wonder why they put on different ones here. Is this unique to the Malaysian market or something?

• mohdjiman on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:09 am

polo 1.2 can tapau 308T? sure? any REAL case study?