2014 Toyota Corolla – will this be the ASEAN car?

Toyota Corolla

Now it’s Europe’s turn – following the unveiling of the US-market 2014 Toyota Corolla, its European sibling has surfaced at an event in Istanbul. You’ve seen this very car here before – it’s virtually identical to the 3D renderings and leaked spyshots as early as February.

Reports indicate that right-hand drive versions will enter South Africa and Australia sometime in the first quarter of 2014 – the question is, will the ASEAN market get this particular car?

The new European Corolla differs from the US version in both front and rear treatments – headlamps, grille, front and rear bumper and tail lamps – but otherwise, it’s pretty much the same car, with an identical side profile and dimensions, including the 2.7 metre-long wheelbase.

Toyota Corolla

Here, the bigger front grille’s triple bars intrude into the headlamps, which are wider and stretch further back into the front fenders. The squared-off shape and horizontal lines give the car a much wider stance. All things considered, it’s a comparatively sedate affair; certainly less aggressive-looking than the American model.

We can see elements of the Auto Shanghai-debuting Toyota Yundong Shuangqing II concept (down to the headlamp/grille assembly) here, whereas the American-market car is an evolution of the Corolla Furia concept that premiered in Detroit.

Meanwhile, there are also very minor variations to the interior. The dashboard layout is largely similar to that on the US car, with the same increased space and legroom, although the digital clock position has been moved to the right from dead centre. We also observed some minor differences in trim and the dial face design. Small things, but there nonetheless.

What do you think? Do you prefer this, or the US car?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Naise. (Y) This looks wayyy better than the U.S version IMHO.

My faith in Toyota is restored, but UMW Toyota has yet to earn their keep. Please UMW, do the right thing…. 4 airbags, TC and VSC standard… please ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 23
    • jeremy on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:28 pm

I sure as hell hope we get this one…much better looking than the US version…the US version tries too hard to look sporty…Euro version looks more elegant, classy and understated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 13
      • toyofan on Jun 08, 2013 at 1:32 am

The specs ripped off already. No projector lamps as in US variant. It makes the car look much cheaper, a segment lower than C, that is B segment! Replace the LED with at least projector lamps please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
        • So you’re saying Projector lamp, introduce in 1986, is better than LED lamps introduce in 2006?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • toyofan on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:03 pm

What use LED during day, to get other drivers blind? This is Malaysia not Europe. Better projector that is brighter during night.

Ad oh 4 speed gear was introduced long ago, Toyota is stiil using it, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
          • LED is not that bright la brader..
            kereta yang mengada2 pakai hid light tu je yang buat silau..
            led audi tu silau sangat ke? pelik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Lain padang lain belalang,
            Lain orang lain pandang.
            Mata masing-masing tak sama.

• Chris on Jun 08, 2013 at 10:28 am

Last I checked, car size segment has nothing to do with whether it looks cheap or not. Seems very unfair to me if you say B segment cars are/should be cheap.

• cheapo on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Its body looks cheap without sharp shoulders and almera alike back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • pharos on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:10 pm

This is C segment car but it looks cheaper like B segment one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • Yep, yep I definitely agree that L.E.D D.R.Ls are becoming lame now. Yeah sure, it is cool and modern looking, but that was only the case when Audi was the sole user of LED DRLs. Now, every Tom, Dick and Harry can get a pair of them at a local workshop, and cheaply too. I see more Protons and Peroduas with cheapo LEDs than European cars themselves. This really kills the ‘cool’ factor of the LED DRLs.

No more cheap-looking LEDs on non-luxury cars please, unless if it is factory-fitted and designed properly, as with Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Land Rover etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
          • engner on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:08 pm

LED was not put at the right position. To tell other drivers there is car, yes. But to tell the driver how wide is the car, no. It should be in horizontal arrangement below the headlamp or grouped at the corners of the car/headlamp

• NeoLover on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:20 pm

What is wrong by cheap cars also want to have a feature available in high end cars as well? if LED DRL is now being utilised by cheap cars.then high end producer should come up with something better and classier. people always want the ‘exclusivity’ thus looking down to people that cannot afford high end things. no design should be ‘exclusive’ to a certain group. if they can have it, let them be. then innovate new things. that is what being innovative is. that is why ikea is so successful, give ‘design’ to the masses when it was ‘exclusively’ available to high end users before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • @NeoLover : I think there is some misunderstanding here.

I clearly stated in the last paragraph; ” No more cheap-looking LEDs on non-luxury cars please, unless if it is factory-fitted and designed properly, as with Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Land Rover etc. ”

Take the Prevé for example, it has LED DRLs which are factory fitted and it looks appropriate.

What I DON’T like is people putting tack on, non-original RM20 LED DRLs on their cars to make it ‘cooler’.

See the difference now ? Nothing to do with elitism, I’m very well against that.

• LED nobody cares on Toyota coz it’s japs cars. Proton/conti of course suitable one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • kuekexcel on Jun 08, 2013 at 11:44 pm

So my friend, you are saying the car with projector car “very high class”? haha. What a big joke. You can get it VERY CHEAP nowadays in accessory shop. Please get your mind updated before comment.

• We want more bang for our hard earned money. Either it looks cheap or “very high” class it’s up to people. We want more on what we buy, not cut down cost thingy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • toyota cannot be trusted. In US, for years they covered their scandal. Remember the brake pedal scandal. and then when US government came down hard on them, they had to admit. In Malaysia, UMW is worse. Got so many defects but they keep quiet. Because Malaysia cowboy town. No laws. So they can do anything and get away with it.

• Suzuki on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Any proof that UMW Malaysia did not do any safety recalls ?

Same car models but manufactured different country, and parts also different as well.

• Same here. The E110 Corolla (late 90s, early 00s) was made differently for the U.S, Europe, Asia, Australia and Japan. The ASEAN version was very different from the others. I don’t know which one we’ll get, but I’m hoping it’s the European version or something better entirely. :D

• frenzyaustin on Jun 10, 2013 at 1:52 pm

This car only $15,000 in US. Here, it is sold for RM120,000 probably. If you buy it, you must be pretty stupid. Somemore, the car here is CKD, lower quality but supposed to be cheaper. The car in the US, sold for USD15,000 is CBU Japan quality.

• James Bong on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:00 pm

That’s where you’re wrong when you never check your facts. Corolla Altis is a CBU unit from Thailand. The reason it is so blardy expensive here is because of the TAX. If you compare the highest spec altis in thailand and here. Mys is more expensive by RM30,000,

• Yup, tax is hike like mount everest. Customer need to pay the custome tax. custome tax is in average of 35% per car. Only AP holder can get low price for this type of car.

• OMG…Nicer than US version. I pretty sure this will be the 1 come to Msia soon. Let restore the TOYOTA pride here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
      • There is only right side pocket behind front seat. No rear air-cond, small centre compartment, no individual rear cabin lamps, and the list goes on.

This is worse than preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 28
        • sonyman on Jun 08, 2013 at 8:25 am

yup, in your mind worst than preve, so you can always go buy the Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • Haters, no matter Kimchi or Japanese haters, really know how to find fault in a car, no matter how minor it is. Come the think of it, the Preve also suffers of all said ‘problems’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • The price with tax won’t do the justice, it’ll far more expensive then preve. Torsion beam with old engine, lol

• Stop comparing with that junk. The day Proton can produce something like this, Malaysia will get 3 days holiday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Name me perodua car sold in Malaysa that got 5 star safety rating

• I don’t know about P2. But I definitely know Proton cars built for Miros gets only 3 star. None of Proton cars in Malaysia gets 5 stars.

• preve got 5 star aussie ncap, only plus 2 airbags

• Understood la. Just like Saga FLX to FLX+. No additional airbag also can get from 1 star to 3 stars.

• Petrolhead on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:20 pm

I don’t really mind whichever version comes to Malaysia. The design on both versions are already a huge leap forward for the automaker. Gambateh Toyota! Keep “Moving Forward >”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
    • driver on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:46 pm

I would prefer a sportier silhouette.. I wonder the powerhouse and tranny underneath is the same to the US version.

• kuekexcel on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:05 pm

This is good! Bravo Toyota! It’s going to be a hot seller very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • hotseller on Jun 09, 2013 at 9:33 am

Yes we Malaysians buy brand name, not car. It’s luxurious to have 4 speeder car with archaic engine in our garages.

• carlies on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Weird? How can you put the comment that this is 4 speeder before launching????? This is funny!

• fender on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Why not, here even in camo can say fugly already lol.

• James Bong on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Dont think there will be any 4 speeder. unless there is a 1.6 engine. Only 7 speed cvti for 1.8 & 2.0.

• S Velu on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:33 pm

And minimum 5 speed auto pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • OMG…Our current 1.8 and 2.0 Altis is already using “Super CVT-i with 7-Speed Sports Sequential Shift”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Stance on Jun 08, 2013 at 12:29 pm

7 speed CVT is no better than a 5 speed trans. CVT can even have 10 speed if you want. It’s only virtual 7 speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
          • digir on Jun 08, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Not all CVT are made equally.

Some new CVT are better than 5speed and even 6speed auto.

• James Bong on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Drove the 7 speed CVT vs 4 AT, the power of the 7 speed cvt 1.8 is very consistent and feels much quicker vs 4 AT 1.8

• _xXx_ on Jun 08, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Manual transmission plz!!

• stothehtotheatothec on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:43 am

yeah.. manual for the outlet outside klang valley. i’m in kl and i need auto.

• Yeah, I prefer Toyota sold to DRB Hicom like what Honda did…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • hope umw not put big plastic in of front bumper

• Ugly looking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • mystvearn on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Nice design. Toyota playing safe. Better than previous design. Though I think I will get over this design soon, when there are tons of it on the road :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Toyota always bring in the ugly version to Asia, look at the latest Camry : Asia version vs Camry US … yuck yuck … no taste at all … hyundai, Kia, Honda and others design are far good looking … they better bring this Corolla US version .. or .. another dugong will appear …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 44
    • jeremy on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:59 pm

You do realize that this the the Euro (world?) version, not the US version….since this version is RHD-ready, I have a feeling this is the version we will get…oh, the new Camry looks shit whether it is our version or the US version…simply awful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • I don’t know what is the problem of u but I’m pretty sure that the new Corolla is much better looking than the Honda Civic design… actually the Japanese Camry Hybrid r better looking than our Thai version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • kayell on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:13 pm

It looks somehow cheap

• kuekexcel on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:04 am

Yeah, this time Toyota gives us a meaningful “New” Corolla compared with the previous model and agree with you, much better looking than the Honda Civic and also the more reliable engine and performances.

I’m not saying this is an “expensive” car but for those keep on saying this is a cheap car is because they only able to look for cheap cars in their whole life. Please, people never comment this is luxurious car but keep on saying this is cheap, c’mon la.

• kingston on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:47 pm

It’s actually kinda nice,finally a corolla that isn’t too boring to look at.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • It looks great, but I’ll agree with anyone saying it looks too similar a MD Elantra, the US version looks more original. We’ ll most likely get the US version, since well, we also share the US version current Corolla Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • shawal on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:58 pm

I prefer dis one ,
    Toyota has a winner on their hands if they specc n equip it well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • bukapintubayartol on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:06 pm

the japanese have lost their way…. How are they going to compete with the Koreans?…. This reminds me of the ford taurus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
  • Leon Loke on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Hope to see a Hybrid version too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • kuekexcel on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:10 am

I believe in the near future and corolla is going to share the same model with Prius.

They will be sharing the same body but comes with varies specs in engine capacity, engine type and safety features.

This is heading to the direction of cost cutting in designing as well as making the mould. However, the model will be face-lifted in shorter period in order to increase the sells.

• digir on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:14 pm

I’m very disappointed with the missing rear air-cond vent.
    This is a big car even bigger than Civic!
    They should have added the rear air-cond vent like the new Sylphy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Curia on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:16 pm

Bagai langit dengan bumi compared to the US model. Where is the clock in the middle of the dashboard?

• The rear legroom seems to be much more spacious than current Altis and the plastic quality looks better too. Compared to the Civic which is a step backwards in styling IMO, there’s no mistaking this Corolla as the latest generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Jun 08, 2013 at 10:16 am

civic already went to 2700mm wheelbase with FD2. current model is shorter to keep some distance between C and D segment.

• kuekexcel on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:20 am

Don’t compare too much on the wheelbase because it doesn’t make sense at all.

Does it means the C segment car is going to have a 3000mm wheelbase after 20/30 years?

The wheelbase is designed purely for the performance, turning radius, stability and riding comfortability to suit to ther market strategy.

Please bear in mind that the new Civic is having a shorter wheelbase same as current Altis. So can we say that Altis is one step ahead of Civic of having a 2650mm wheelbase?

• brenn on Jun 09, 2013 at 8:45 am

A bit cramp if the wideness is a concern. If it’s still wide, then I doubt its safety. Could be nice expensive coffin.

• Kelvin on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:24 pm

I hate the 1970’s dashboard design and the door panel doesn’t blend well with it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
  • Black Dog on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:46 pm

I prefer this design, way classier than the US hideous look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Kenny on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Why hong kong new 2013 corolla different ?.look like not quality….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • How many variant will be introduce here?
    The same as previous?

• JustAnOrdinaryGuy on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:11 pm

The US version looks like ford Kuga, which IMO is kinda nice
    Maybe the European version is more suited to elderly people cause most of them are fans of chrome/silver-colored grills and door handles which I find is a little outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • RejimKejamGanas on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:13 pm

The exterior has improved a lot but the interior is just horrible. The interior of the current gen looks way better:
    http://www.toyota.com.my/corolla-altis/#interior

Toyota, the uncles called and want their dashboard from the 80’s returned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • SingSongTokKOK on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:26 pm

I will take all new Nissan Slyphy with smooth CVT and cool looking over this Toyota !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • jeremy on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Looking at the new Sylphy (Thailand version) and this Corolla, this looks better to me…ultimately, pricing and specs will be the deciding factor to me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • c-segmenter on Jun 08, 2013 at 1:50 am

exterior this corolla looks better than the new sylphy, but sylphy’s meter cluster looks way better than this corolla…

• azure on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:31 pm

this has a tinge of the current prius but good to see toyota trying to improve their design as for umw stop giving us underspeced cars for exorbitant price!

• my 2cents, i think this is classy and way better than current altis

• frenzyaustin on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:31 pm

Looks like Corolla is going into the right direction. Hope the spec is similar with USDM.

• Hyperman on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Toyota is playing safe and bring us some ugly shitty car to Malaysia again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Tyres using bridgestone turanza?… wooah~
    I tot toyota come with continental as OEM..

• no lar….here toyota will be using Goodyear PJ oldtown sudah la

• carlies on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:29 am

They will normally give us Michellin for the newly launched model.

• WinterAngeLs on Jun 07, 2013 at 11:04 pm

No LED headlamp that tease us previously? At least projector also fine. Even new Vios also has it, don’t tell me UMW is launching this corolla with halogen headlamp. That’s unacceptable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • carlies on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:31 am

C’mon. LED is just an option whether you put it on or off. But for me projector is really nothing now and you can get it changed very cheap in accessory shop.

• Don’t pay more for much cheaper things. Where to put face if buy 130k car then you have to go to abang shop to put projector/LED? Even preve has LED position lamps.

• glaze on Jun 09, 2013 at 1:58 am

I think he is saying about the LED headlamp like the one from CT200h luxury and Prius full spec, not the DRL. LED headlamp is not something u can change in accessory shop atleast for now..

• Noone gives it a damn, it only gives blindspot to other drivers when they try to see it through side mirror.

• SedusaX4 on Jun 08, 2013 at 12:31 am

Exterior design is very nice undoubtedly but the interior looks like design of dashboard of cars from the 1970s fitted with latest gadget

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • sam loo ex-girlfriend on Jun 08, 2013 at 4:25 pm

i like the old school looks like interior. looks very ganas

• cyberbanana on Jun 08, 2013 at 7:39 am

Umw please sell 6sp manual with 2.0 engine here

• US version is better designed. This one looks too common already..front and rear.

• No japs japs on Jun 08, 2013 at 8:35 am

Honda civic steering wheel style….Toyota 86 aircond vent style…..boooring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • EngineFan on Jun 08, 2013 at 9:12 am

What’s under the hood? Same old engine with no innovation? Cosmetic changes only? Who cares about the design? Small hp and little torque? What about drivability and the feel of driving the car? Does it drive like other segments akin to maybe a Ford, VW, or other conti cars? Asian mentality, if it’s Toyota with a mire fierce looking design means it’s good? Sigh…

• Halogen headlamps for Corolla seems to re-emphasize that the model is built to last and not to burn your pockets in the long run. No wonder so many Toyota medium price models feature proven technologies that are 1 step behind other manufacturers. Uninspiring but elegant. The interior looks retro; dashboard reminds me of Star Trek Enterprise. I guess the interior design guy is American while the exterior is Japanese.

• The head lamp side way look like current Honda Accord.

• The rear light look like the just launched Honda Accord (in Thailand I mean).

• Pluto on Jun 08, 2013 at 11:01 am

Why so many comments, some prefer US version, some prefer Asian version, some say US version look better, some argue Asian version more attractive? Go and do some eye allignment. all 2014 Corolla are the same. Japanese prefer to give different clothes on the same body. To make things worse, Japanese believe too much on their design heritage and philosophy, which the Korean do not take it too seriously.

• enriq on Jun 08, 2013 at 11:36 am

lol.. toyota is still toyota. now ppl say nice, thn, it will look boring very soon . kimchi way too beautiful ~ n wat kind of retro style cabin is tis?? run out of idea? toyota are goin bac to 70′ or 80′. same goes to mazda, nice exterior but bmw look interior.

• For me exterior wise sonata and mazda6 are good. But it’s in D segment cars. C segment cars like preve, altis, sylphy, civic and others tend to be sportier but it lacks bit here and there.

• 1. The wheel is just too small for a 2.0…
    2. The front grille + light is so Hondaish..
    3. The rear light looks like Sonata’s..
    Hope fully UMW will bring some TRD’s one to make it looks better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • armandd on Jun 08, 2013 at 12:09 pm

The rear suspension is torsion beam or multi-link setup like the Civic?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 08, 2013 at 12:59 pm

The suspension layout is the same as before: MacPherson struts up front and torsion beams in the back. Toyota claims that they’ve improved the rear kinematics for better grip and stability. The US-spec S models get a stiffer, handling-biased setup.

• They’ve also improved the profit margin on the car as well. :)

• Wah, then the Civic should give a more comfortable ride and handling than this Corolla as I understand that the multi link setup is far more superior than the lower-cost torsion beam setup which is also widely used in b-segment.

Imo, Civic FB dual layered dashboard is much more futuristic than the Corolla’s, the aircond vent looks outdated but thumbs up for its exterior though.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 08, 2013 at 12:36 pm

That’s a tiny wee bit of DRL lights and they look somewhat off… Another after-thoughts like the poor Camry…?

• keeda on Jun 08, 2013 at 12:51 pm

compare to toyota altis in china it still losse it just a new design nothing much new. come la toyata bring better spec.

• FuglyToyota on Jun 08, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Another ugly Toyota car….WHHYYYY!!! And worst…it looks like a retarded version of the Honda City!!!!!

Hire a farkin Gwei Loh or Korean to design your cars!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
  • why asean always gets the ugly stuff.
    first civic,now this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
  • sam loo ex-girlfriend on Jun 08, 2013 at 4:22 pm

so the list for me will be like this
    1. new altis 1.8e
    2. new civic 1.8
    3. kia k3 1.6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • excss on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Enough is enough Toyota. If it has old engine 1.8l and torsion beam, proton/conti ride would be much better. And the dashboard, sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • James Bong on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:13 pm

actually the engine is quite new only introduced in 2010. thats like 3 yrs old vs some other models.

• makcik karipap on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:21 pm

look like 1998 design.. hello we are in 2013 now.. design line not harmony…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Wootss!! Viewing the video, seems not bad. Previously look at this new design, the interior feels so old, but now feels quite good~

• Lampu belakang macam new camry….

• Jules on Jun 08, 2013 at 7:32 pm

If look closely… Kinda look like the new fl city.. With the bottom grill and lamp design in front. Only the details are different. But still better looking than the city.. :)

• donadoni on Jun 08, 2013 at 8:11 pm

ptuihhh!

• Nice future looking exterior.. Cool retro styled dashboard.. But combined both makes it feel like having an identity crisis..

• Shame_Loo on Jun 08, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Impressive design. Hopefully the suspension improve over the current gen which is lousy. Improvement over handling is a must, else this car will be another Toyota Junk.

• benzs on Jun 08, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Overall is looking good. Now Toyota’s has unleashed its new type of design with superb curb and awesome positioning body from every way of looking. Now we don’t have to complaint Korean looks is better n Japan sucks. Good job!

• carlies on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:38 am

This is obvious that the interior design is Prius-like interior. I believe they will merge this two model in near future.

• goshh on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:55 am

No doubt the exterior design looks better than the old Altis. but pleasee, no more cosmetic change, I want something that feels better than your good old ancestor Corolla SEG when I am behind the wheel.

• Yes it is, you get about same engine, only different displacement, LOL

• Design wise..new kia cerato is way better. Sorry corrola, always look handicap since firts birth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • daniel on Jun 09, 2013 at 10:28 am

Dear Toyota,
    I am not surprised by your new kind of car design but can you please upgrade your key fob design? It looks ugly. Even Nissan’s key fob has better design than yours… so if you know what I mean, I hope to see improvement on your next model.

• retard on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:36 pm

bcoz it’s a toyota, it will sell like pisang goreng no matter how the shape & design looks like. resale value oso good.

• If this comes to Malaysia, UMW will deck the interior with beige and “wood” grain panel.

• helmi on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:09 pm

I like beige interior & the wooden…it looks classy and roomier to me. But please UMW, don’t suck our blood this time. Please offer a reasonable price, I mean 30% cut from the current price as promise by the goverment,

• Norman on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Below RM86k for1.6 and RM100k for 1.8 pls

• i rather wait until new mazda 3 skyavtiv launch!

• Why US version look more pretty macho..why ASEAN version look like Honda Civic? sad

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 2
  • Sahipul on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:04 am

Again, just like the Camry, too much chrome on front grille, hate it!!

• Johnny on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:26 am

I personally prefer the previous gen’s flat bottom steering wheel. This one looks like it was inspired by Honda Civic.

• namanama on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:49 am

for looks,not bad at all!

• Jonathan Lee on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Prefer this to the weird and overdone US-market car (just), but both pale in comparison to the latest Auris. I just don’t understand why Toyota has to pull its punches on the styling on the cars that come to our shores. Ford’s successes over here with the Fiesta and Focus show that we quite like sporty Euro designs, so why is Toyota so hell bent on playing it safe?

• carlies on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:16 pm

awesome!