2014 Toyota Corolla – US-market 11th-gen revealed

Toyota Corolla

The all-new 2014 Toyota Corolla has been officially unveiled in the USA, with the world’s largest carmaker aiming to inject edgy design and more space to the usual Corolla qualities that has made it the world’s best selling nameplate – this is the Corolla’s 47th year in the market, with nearly 40 million units sold worldwide.

The car you see here is the E160, the 11th-gen US-market version, which should differ in looks from the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis that ASEAN will get. Prior to this, we’ve seen leaked shots of a white example, and highly realistic 3D renderings of what should be the upcoming ASEAN version. Previously, the North American Corolla looked identical to our Corolla Altis, but it looks like there will be a difference now, as per the Camry that looks different in the US than it does here.

UPDATE: The European (and ASEAN too?) 2014 Toyota Corolla has been revealed sporting a completely different appearance. Check it out here: 2014 Toyota Corolla for ASEAN.

The US gets four variants: L, LE, LE Eco and S. The main difference is in the face – the S-grade North American Corolla gets an aggressive front end design with a wide lower intake and honeycomb grille, inspired by the Toyota Corolla Furia Concept seen in Detroit 2013. It’s a similar story at the back, where the Furia-inspired tail lamps are slimmer and sharper than what we saw from the leaked shots/3D renderings. The sportier US version also lacks the chrome trim above the license plate.

The LE Eco (and presumably also the L and LE), however, has a slightly different front end – the grille is slatted and the front bumper is different to that of the S-grade, incorporating a trapezoidal lower intake and differently-shaped fog lamp cut-outs. It doesn’t have the S-grade’s wing mirror indicators, too.

Toyota Corolla

The dashboard design is a departure from Toyota norm, with a cliff-face centre console that is clustered around the driver, as opposed to the traditional layout. The slim AC vents are similar in look to those on the 86 sports car and second-gen JDM Mark X. Stitching can be seen on the steering wheel hub and dash top.

For instrumentation, S-grade variants get a 3.5-inch TFT display flanked by two dials; the rest have three chrome-surround dials and a multi-info display within the speedometer (see second-last image in gallery).

The new Corolla is 4.64 metres long (S-grade 4.65 metres), 1.776 metres wide and 1.455 metres tall, with a 2.7 metre wheelbase, and is offered with a range of wheels from 15-inch steel to 17-inch alloy jobs (see last image in gallery). It tips the scales at under 1.32 tonnes thanks to extensive use of lightweight, high-strength steel that also increases rigidity.

L, LE and S cars are powered by a 1.8 litre VVT-i four-cylinder with 132 hp and 171 Nm of torque, while the LE Eco’s engine, also displacing 1.8 litres, interestingly has the highest horsepower as it features Valvematic technology to result in 140 hp, 174 Nm and over 5.9 litres per 100 km. The LE Eco also gets improved aerodynamics and low rolling resistance tyres

2014-corolla-dimensions-comparison
C-segment comparison table: All dimensions expressed in millimetres (mm)

In terms of transmissions, LE and S get a new CVTi-S ‘box with seven virtual ratios that replaces the four-speed auto, promoting economy and reducing the ‘rubber band’ feeling associated with CVTs. We’ve already made the move from auto to CVT in Malaysia with the Altis facelift in 2010. A six-speed manual is available with the non-Valvematic engines, an upgrade from the previous five-speed, while the old four-speed auto remains an option on the base L-grade.

The S-grade has a manual-mode shift gate and steering wheel shift paddles. LE Eco and S cars get drive modes that offer recalibrated throttle, gearbox and steering responses – ECO for the former and SPORT for the latter.

LED headlamps are standard across the range, as are eight airbags, Bluetooth and a tyre pressure monitoring system. Optional equipment includes touch-screen audio with apps, keyless entry and start, power moonroof, reverse camera and a rear spoiler.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Green on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:34 pm

the gap between tyre and car body is rather huge, maybe due to a small 15″ wheel size? I guess that high end 17″ wheel size should looks good. .
    ..Considering it’s going to be 1 HUGE C-segment bigger then Civic, Elantra and new slyphy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Petrolhead on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:41 pm

“a new CVTi-S ‘box with seven virtual ratios that replaces the four-speed auto.” So far so good.. Hope UMW won’t rip us off and still selling the four-speed auto here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
      • I have a hunch that the ‘trusted’ 4-speed gear will still remain, until 2020! Together with that even more ‘trusted’ VVTi engine. The Camry 2.0 had the same engine and gears for 3 generations. And for sure the E specs will not get VSC. You die, your problem. Alangkah puasnya Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
        • frenzyaustin on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:19 pm

It’s UMW, what do you expect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • underskinned on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:33 pm

I think the 4sp gearbox will remain for the 1.6, while 1.8 and 2.0 should get the CVT.

As for the exterior I believe we will get the less aggresive stylings than the US version, just like Camry and Civic.

• grandma police on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:13 pm

excuse me even malaysian corolla also use cvt already, only the low spec 1.6 use 4 speed auto

• OMG…Come on lah. Our current 1.8 and 2.0 Altis is already using “Super CVT-i with 7-Speed Sports Sequential Shift”.

• not another CVT, driven few cvt’s cars….remind me of driving a scooters. Smooth but really feels like having a rubber band as a gearbox…

• kuekexcel on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:49 pm

The Altis is already 7 CVT here in Malaysia.

• IS Toyota still lying in the US about their defects? For years they lied so much and only admitted once the US government came down hard on them. So if toyota Corp themselves can lie, do you think your CKD UMW Toyota got no problems?

• rajaGlobal on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:59 am

“The S-grade has a manual-mode shift gate and steering wheel shift paddles” and “A six-speed manual is available with the non-Valvematic engine” … well I must wait for any of these two whether it will be available in Malaysia..

• akula on Jun 07, 2013 at 5:38 pm

but from wheel design, car in red colour already using 17″ wheel size… the gap between tyre and car body still huge

• Good looking… JP cars r still reliable than Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • junjun on Jun 07, 2013 at 6:52 pm

are you sure?

i think elantra and cerato have a better design than this coropok..eh typo..corolla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
        • I type ‘reliable’ u knw what is the meaning of RELIABLE? u don’t like it does not mean it looks like the coropok ok?! not everyone can accept the badges of the elantra or cerato loh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
          • Kimchi exterior is much better than Jap anytime.

• OMG…The new vios brother spotted.

• driver on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:50 pm

I thought the same thing. The arch gap is rather big, and the tame silhouette doesn’t fit the ‘fierce-wannabe’ look that it tries to adopt.

• kuekexcel on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Excellent! Bravo Corolla!

• OMG…The New Kia Sorento rear lamp spotted here. Who copy who ?

• dont u feel that the front of this car is trying to copy KIA K3 coupe?

• Phang on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:35 pm

One nice looking car. Wondering if they will make one with more power to compete with the civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
  • c-segmenter on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:37 pm

this american version looks a lot better than the while 3d rendering previously posted on Paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Maserati on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Looks so much better than all the Kia designs . Makes the elantra look like a toy car. Japanese cars still way ahead of the Koreans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 72
    • if you mean the ASEAN version..yes. This US version? No.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • sonyman on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Yup totally agree with you.

Koreans way better than Proton
      Japanese Way better than the Koreans.
      Continental Way better than the Japanese.

No matter how Japanese is still way behind the Conti’s
      Some one is always slower than someone. No matter how.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
      • sonyman on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:28 pm

if you are talking about safety,

Korean Way better than Japanese.
        Proton Slightly lower than the Japanese.
        But japanese no where neat the Conti’s Especially Toyota.

i just hope very much UMW will bring in the Altis Kosong With 1/2 airbag and manual transmission and sell more expensive than Ford Focus.
        Definitely a steal for Toyota Fans.
        Also hope UMW brings in the Altis 2.0 version and sells more expensive than the Teana 2.0 and that will even be a better steal for Toyota Lovers out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 28
        • Proton? Slightly?

You mean Proton is slightly lower when using a FLX+ or whatever + in MIROS testing?

I like your syok sendiri confidence…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
          • We are comparing a C-segment sedan here, why do you talk about your b-segment hatchback crash rating here? Ohwait, is that the only thing you can brag about? Slightly higher than a 6 years old car platform crash comparison (which is still only 3 star)? why don’t you compare your C-segment car here? Ohwait…

*talking about syok sendiri*

• kuekexcel on Jun 07, 2013 at 10:59 pm

You are really shiok sendiri!

Why you hate Toyota so much while he got the best selling car in the world and the most selling car brand in the world!

I’m not worshipping Toyota but the fact is it brings the affordable and relatively safe car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • sonyman on Jun 08, 2013 at 8:35 am

yup relatively safe car, Anyway toyota, i dont hate. I hate how they treat us like garbage. That’s All, Now they come begging for sales because new model coming out. Then they remove VSC, suddenly out of no where they realized Malaysians are not stupid. So they put back what is suppose to be in the first place.

Since like this why not have a variant called Vios K , Altis K and Camry K specs. I love the idea of K specs, I am sure many will go out there and buy. Anyway
            Toyota is a Great brand, in fact i respect the way they market their product and become no 1 in the world.

Toyota> ” moving forward.”
            Toyota> ” your life is not important”

• Boring design. It looks like 90’s kimchi cars. Can you guess what car? LOL

• gungho on Jun 08, 2013 at 6:36 pm

The ear lamps look like FD ones sold in South America. This is copy paste job, hahaha!!!!

• urghhh. on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:06 pm

urghhh.. they can make a lot better design. haiya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • frenzyaustin on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Wow, this looks like a Scion tC, looks like Toyota is going sporty in mainstream car. Leaked Corolla Altis looks boring compare to American version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • It appears the European variant is the one that is leaked, this one looks original, the Euro-spec looks like Toyota is desperately trying to imitate the Elantra.

• Finally toyota come out with a stylish designing car, and the interior is very nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Exterior is not bad, but can’t be better than a Mazda, but interior is a very huge improvement over the last generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • deric on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Alamak…front looks like lancer/inspira and rear like a smaller sonata. Japs running out of idea just like sony, hitachi…etc.

• DGB-houseng on Jun 07, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Wow factor not detected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • so ugly.. my vios facelift looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
  • Abg Long on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:06 pm

design is UGLY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
  • gOOsh on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:09 pm

eerrr… ada ke orang nk beli kereta nih??
    mestilah ada… as long as not proton kan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Jinggo on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:13 pm

emm…something is missing…

• zack randolph on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Plasticky, 80’s dash board design, typical Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • tricycle on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Why la the car looks so fugly. Actually if there is no new (civic, elantra, focus, forte) the new corolla looks quite ok.

But the world has evolved so Toyota must too. The design must be good to attract buyers.

I take back my word, actually if we are still riding horse to get around then this new Toyota Corrolla is really attractive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • It looks pretty good in the metal, far better than the pictures would indicate. Interior’s good and the material presentation’s on a level with Camry.

All-in-all a good move for Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Myoswee on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Ugly

Current Altis / Civic looks much better

I bet FL model coming in 3 months time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • goonsh on Jun 07, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Very unfair the camparison table not include Preve!

Hey wait Preve tarak masuk US market lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Is it just me or the gap between the tyres and the body is huge. It looks slightly better if it the sport/full spec but the base model would look kind of awkward. I’m not even surprised if the Malaysia’a trim level would be the lower ones. The interior is an improvement by Toyota as it ditches the typical uncle interior

• Pororo on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:39 pm

from my view lah, the rear sekali imbas nampak mcm ala2 kereta Kia… from side view, still looks ugly for me… overall still looks ugly for me.. But its Toyota, Malaysians still buy it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • One small change for a model, One giant leap for the brand.
    It worked for Hyundai/Kia, will it Toyota? I still have to inch closer towards the Koreans for outright looks (this still retains Toyota’s plain-jane side profile) but the gap between Toyota’s and it’s K-pop rival is terms of aesthetic is now much closer. But that Interior is a HUGE leap in design terms over the last, falling asleep behind the wheel is now less of a risk in a Corolla. Really and awesome job in Toyota’s design department.

Now Toyota, about that power-train lineup

• At this point, I start to wonder on where Sam Loo is… I want to hear him bragging on toyota again

• ben yap on Jun 07, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Nowadays car manufacturers like this cutting of tail lights. This corolla tail lights has similar cutting to Kia Optima K5.

• mayor on Jun 07, 2013 at 5:16 pm

You know the Japs are trailing the Koreans in terms of design when you look at this example. Just look at the tail lights….. The first thing that will come to mind, “Kia….wait it’s a toyota..” :)

• US version got sunroof, here sure no sunroof lorr

• Curia on Jun 07, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Mini Lexus

• Man..its stil ugly rear like hyundai front like lancer wannabe

• the c segment car look civicish since the revolutionary intro of civic in 2006.
    you can see shadow of civic in altis, mazda 3,forte, elantra,preve…
    and now in next gen altis.
    the shape and curve, bumper look similar.
    cant they come up with something revolutionary to bring new era.
    conti have done better in their design.

• Boring on Jun 07, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Body shape looks like the dugong Vios. Dashboard looks old-fashioned compared to competitors. Still a typical Toyota.

• Civic5speed Auto on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:17 pm

It’s about time.. 6 Speed CVT Altis with this whole new design and huge dimension to grab the back the market. I remember the 1st generation Altis was selling good. 2nd Gen not as good as civic.
    Hope this 3rd Gen with Asean better looking version conquere 1 shot the C-segment leading Car.

• michaelooi on Jun 07, 2013 at 7:41 pm

From the previous Altis to this? It’s an improvement.

Better than the Korean makes? Not really.

• I’m really disappointed with the design. Still has the very conservative Japanese cat design. I much prefer the 3D rendering designs payed by Paul before. I thought for once they are getting bolder and able to compete with the Koreans & Continentals in terms of elegance and design.

• teaser on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Outer looks sportier than the present model. Wonder whether we will get this US model. Doubtful though! Still no news when the new Altis will be launch here. Guess UMW will again reap us with lower specs and price increase again like the camry. When will we able to enjoy lower car price here!!! Five years time???

• matrxe on Jun 07, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Wow.. I must say the dashboard looks rather nice. A much needed departure from the “uncle car” that it replaced. Exterior wise, i think sharp edges will look dated pretty quickly. take forte for example, or maybe its just me because i like smooth lines of the new altima. Those with an eye for a civic will definitely check this out. But Wow..a very different corolla and changes are good.

• b sensible on Jun 07, 2013 at 9:58 pm

i want to know the le eco trim is a mini hybrid of prius…as toyota creating another segment “eco”…

• It’s nice that the US version still retains the look from the Furia concept

• Thumbs Down to Toyotaaaaa on Jun 08, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Toyota needs a wake up and shake up…

From Bad to Worst for both design and reliability.

Koreans are hot on their heels now

• Tokwan Gedebe on Jun 09, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Elantra is much better than Altis … more powerful , great design and it comes with GPS Navigator + nappa leather seat cover.

• Toyota always uses the cheapest suspension set up and the softest spring setting possible.
    This car will always understeer when the surface is a bit wet, even at low speed.

• Elohssa on Jun 16, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Like it, can’t afford it. Thanks BN.