Nissan Serena S-Hybrid: RM14x,xxx on oto.my

s4-6492-7784_10151491618538691_983173093_n_2

Yet another yet to be launched car has popped up for pre-orders on our classifieds site oto.my, and this time it’s a car that we’ve seen prowling Malaysian roads before. It’s the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid, which reader Richard managed to snap near Sungai Besi back in January 2013.

The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid ad on oto.my lists the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid as having a July 2013 launch date, and a tentative price of RM 14x,xxx. Accompanying the ad text are photos of a white Nissan Serena S-Hybrid similiar to the one captured with trade plates earlier, this time with a proper WUY370 plate.

The 2.0 litre engine under the hood is the MR20DD, which is equipped with direct injection and twin valve timing control, mated to an Xtronic CVT gearbox tuned specifically for the new MR20DD. It produces 147 PS at 5,600rpm and 210Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid is actually a ‘micro-hybrid’, essentially a car with a beefed up auto start-stop system. The S in S-Hybrid stands for ‘simple’.

How does the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid micro hybrid system work?

What Nissan did was beef up what it calls the ‘ECO motor’, which is the Serena’s starter motor that allows the car’s auto idle start/stop operation as well as functioning as an alternator during deceleration. The start motor uses a belt pulley type cranking system instead of a normal gear type cranking system. Even the normal Serena has this, but in the Serena S-Hybrid, the capacity of this motor is increased from 1.0kW/150A to 1.8kW/200A, and the engine bay has an extra 12V 27Ah battery for increased storage capacity.

Basically, the bigger starter motor and battery system allows the engine to be freed from having to move the car and power the car’s electrical needs at the same time, resulting in fuel savings. However it’s important to note the ECO-motor does actually contribute to acceleration – this is not a motor assist system like Honda’s IMA.

As a result, fuel efficiency gain is not as drastic as a motor assist (like Honda’s) or full hybrid (like Toyota’s) system. But the impact is enough to justify it’s existence – in Japan, it allows the Serena S-Hybrid to be the only vehicle in its class to be exempted from Japan’s automobile acquisition and weight taxes, because it’s fuel efficiency outperforms the class standards.

Nissan certainly does a good job of making it look the part though – bits that the Serena S-Hybrid gain over the regular Serena include blue headlight inner lenses, high-intensity LED rear combination lights, a clear LED High Mount Stop Lamp and unique graphic icons in the Multi Graphic Upper Meter. These blueish themes are associated with being a hybrid or fuel efficient.

Source: Nissan Serena S-Hybrid ad on oto.my

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Green on Jun 08, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Great! Mini Alphard tha come with:
    – Extreme low fuel consumption, yet powerful.
    – New, Warranty Covered
    – Brand New Kilang Smell

Best luxury MPV where Pricing no body is conquering.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 13
    • Toe To Toe on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:05 am

GT-Rider sure bangga :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • stupid car by a stupid company. Will never buy Nissan. Designs so outdated. Their service centres also so pariah. Coffee machine also spoilt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 76
        • PC TAN on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Reply to Name post on Jun 10,2013.
          If you think its a stupid car by a stupid company then why are you SO STUPID to write on. YOU ARE A REAL STUPID FOOL AND BRAINLESS…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
        • LOL you joking ah? You calling Nissan stupid? they engineered a Gtr r35 and you call them stupid LOL you funny la

• GT-Rider on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:59 pm

Yet it’s not affordable by many.

• theanswer on Jun 09, 2013 at 8:10 am

true. good pricing..considering it’s new..not recon. bigger than stream.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • How extreme is this Serena Hybrid FC?..compared to european turbodiesels MPV like those VW Sharan/Touran bluemotion, Ford Smax/Galaxy TDCI/grand cmax Tdci, Vauxhall Zafira Tourer diesels…usually on real life driving, a heavy vehicle like MPV/SUV wt a turbodiesel will have better FC due to high & peak torque are available at low rev from 1,500rpm compared to a petrol where’s peak torque are at high above 4,000rpm (unless its a turbo petrol which most european cars are available wt …merc CGI, bmw’s, vw TSI, audi’s TFSI….)…..hence wt normal petrol, when fully loaded, the need to rev above 4,000rpm to access the peak torque will totally results in high FC

• Green on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:51 am

15.2km/L in JC08 mode on 2WD

The following are selected parameters of the JC08 driving schedule:

Duration: 1204 s
        Total distance: 8.171 km
        Average speed: 24.4 km/h (34.8 km/h excluding idle)
        Maximum speed: 81.6 km/h
        Load ratio: 29.7%
        25% of JC08 cold start + 75% of JC08 hot start.

as you can see, it’s city driving mode yielding 15.2km/L.

much better then a smaller Exora with just 9km/L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • ghost on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:53 pm

This is hybrid, why want to compare with full petrol engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • The 1.8KW motor is only used to boost the power from standstill. IT is too small to be considered as Hybrid.

• query on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:20 pm

It’s impact of hybrid vehicle, so does its name : Nissan Serena S-Hybrid. Got it?

• reader on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Exora is BIGGER than this small serena. Exora width is 1799mm vs Serena’s 1695mm.

Exora is wider anyday than civic FD and preve but this Serena’s width is only like vios!

• OMG…The rear design was ugly. yucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 10, 2013 at 1:49 pm

You want to buy from a company whose CEO has called for high car prices and high car taxes? The CEO only cares about his Profit margin and not the 30 million people in Malaysia who suffer paying for their cars.

• meng meng on Jun 08, 2013 at 11:51 pm

yeah~ 1st nissan hybrid in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • frenzyaustin on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:01 am

It may not look very good, but consider the price you pay for and the practical and running cost, it’s definitely bang for bucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Jun 09, 2013 at 11:46 am

Bang for bucks only if it comes with 9 airbags like Sharan, or at least 7 airbags like Golf or Kuga.
      Cross Touran has 6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 52
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 09, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Volkswagen is bang for bucks? I rather call it as rip off of the decade. A Ford Fiesta has what a Polo has and excel it better in any ways and price much lower while wearing a German Engineered name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • Chris on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:06 am

Can’t wait for this model to be launched. Hope it comes with the auto door & stuff… Tan Chong .. please don’t price it so ridiculous plz. Am looking forward to this model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:06 am

Let’s hope it will be covered under the tax free scheme like the Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • This is quite interesting. If it’s covered under tax free scheme, Proton should definitely pull something like this and Preve will be under rm60k healthy competition price. If that time comes, bye bye Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • sudonano on Jun 09, 2013 at 11:26 am

Not only Proton. Anyone should consider. Cause technically it is something like a IMA hybrid, minus the BOOST function.

• Julian on Jun 09, 2013 at 2:20 am

@ RM 150k, this car will be selling like hotcakes for full size MPV lovers. The designs are not bad actually. If u have a family of 4-5 and can afford a camry, accord, mazda5 or crv this car will be an excellent choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Black Dog on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Don’t forget, Toyota Innova is only around Rm100k,this is 50% more expensive! How can it sell like hot cakes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 50
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 09, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Innova? Are you going to torture all the rear passenger? Dude, if I’m a good daddy, Avanza and Innova is out of my list. That ride quality is a torture.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 15
      • _xXx_ on Jun 09, 2013 at 7:29 pm

innova tu lori laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 37
      • Rulered on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:14 am

I think RM 100k for an Innova is rather expensive. A very basic car with an engine, 4 tyres and seats. It’s a rip off to be honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
  • vampireking on Jun 09, 2013 at 2:26 am

WUY 370? Wasn’t that on a Nissan fairlady before this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • i have the older highway star serena
    that car was a favorite among the executive taxi fleet companies due to its practical offerings

i think this one will too…i just hope tan chong will bring it in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Littlefire on Jun 09, 2013 at 8:53 am

http://comparison.nissan.co.jp/RESULT/SERENA/

Cheapest Serena S-Hybrid
    ¥ 2,598,750 = 82,461.31 MYR

Highest Spec Serena S-Hybrid (Rider Black Line)
    ¥ 2,924,250 = 92,789.80 MYR

Hmmm… Do we really have Green Tax rebate on this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
    • so this serena is not given tax break at all? then what’s the point bringing in the “hybrid”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
      • If this type of simple hybrid could obtain government’s recognization as hybrid vehicle and enjoy 0% import tax and excise duty, all foreign vehicle manufacturers will emulate

• Customs docket price only 67k

• Green on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:17 am

to compare,
      Prius = same price as Serena Hybrid.

RM149k @ Malaysia is justified. :D

Malaysia, still have high taxation on cars::
      e.g :
      a high end Honda insight/Prius C @ US = RM75,000
      but Langkawi = RM90k
      Peninsular = RM100k.

• Wow, you really know how to sell this car yeah?

• littlefire on Jun 10, 2013 at 3:03 pm

In US, they have special purchase rebate not only tax rebate from their G in support of green vehicle. That why some states their hybrid or electric cars are cheaper.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Government_incentives_for_plug-in_electric_vehicles

California

Rebates of up to $5,000 per light-duty vehicle are available for individuals and business owners who purchase or lease new eligible vehicles. Certain zero-emission commercial vehicles are also eligible for rebates up to $20,000. Once these funds were exhausted, the 2011-2012 program offered a lower rebate of up to $2,500.

So lets take $2500 = RM7800, if $5000 = 15599.99. If this is purchase rebate, so ur new hybrid car will be cheaper compare to market price if you buy from those states.

• Even offer Green Tax Rebate, then charge On higher AP…Honda Insign is an example..

• semut on Jun 09, 2013 at 9:28 am

Mana NV200 passenger van ? About tome replacing the good trusty old vanette…….. At least it is affordable

• unforgiven on Jun 09, 2013 at 10:24 am

Hopefully the steering wheel is not the empty spec, it should be full of buttons.

Why it took 3 years to be here?
    Clearing low spec car or old stock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Grandma police on Jun 09, 2013 at 11:57 am

Excuses me. Serena hybrid only launched in August 2012

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:33 pm

This is a new model, although looks extremely similar with previous generation.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Jun 09, 2013 at 11:28 am

m ex5 can park inside easily for balikkampong or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • You better ride ur ex5 back ur kampung.
      Dont waste $$ to put ur ex5 inside the car.
      If put Ducati lain cerita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • Hope it gets hybrid price structure, as it is we are paying through our noses for our cars.

With good pricing, it’ll be bye bye stream, wish and even estima. better for the buyers.

• Ha Gnih on Jun 09, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Looks good indeed. Wonder how it’s gonna look like parked next to a Vellfire. Oh hell. The price itself is already an advantage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Smart D on Jun 09, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Really a good news since is looking for a MPV. Yeah, definitely design, features are much better than current model C24 for so many years in the market. Can’t wait to know more about it, am going TC showroom to find it out later.

• isuzuki on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Was at tc yesterday. Yeap, launching in Jul, w auto slide, Fr jp. Less than 150k. If non hybrid, will sell more than 200k :(

• Littlefire on Jun 09, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Do they (TC) think we are so stupid not to check for the real car price on9 1st before we purchase? I can also say if no hybrid the car will more then 200k bla bla bla..

Then now the car in Japan selling only around RM90k, where is the other RM60k go? That almost 66% more! Oh yah.. Forget about the AP, another RM15k go to G, A few k go for logistic transportation & “Processing fee” for JPJ, Kastam & bla bla, another 30k profit go to TC or someone pocket? (No offence, just guessing?) Do we as consumer have the right to know the break down cost from car consumer on why we need to pay that bloody RM150k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • berombon on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:01 am

Nope. You and I as consumers simply do not have the right to demand to know everything. Do you actually ask the towkey how much he actually got the Levi 501 before selling it to you at almost RM500?

It is like this, you like you buy, if you worry too much about the price, then don’t buy. There will be other people who will buy it anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • cslee on Jun 09, 2013 at 4:51 pm

150k that price can get recon alphard oledi…lot bigger some more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 57
    • Hadi75 on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:33 pm

For 150k i rather get a brand new car with manufacturer warranty than a recond car which basically is a used car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Stupid Malaysian will buy rm148k 10 year alphald with gearbox about to fail which will cost another rm10k. Alphard will be used to shuttle their children to a SJK school. And the wife will fight for parking space in front of the sjk school. Some will wait from 8 am onwards for their sons and daughter finish school at 2.30pm. And the engine will be running idle all the way until 2.30 pm. And this only happen with alphard owner with the children at sjk school

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 30
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 09, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Because Alphard is a car what people want and sold in price what people need. But the condition is not what people expect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 22
    • Agreed 101%!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
    • Why there must be sarcasm implying “SJK” parents/children?

This is automotive forum, please take your sarcasm elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 42
      • so sad on Jun 10, 2013 at 2:52 am

he is riding motor when waitting his son comming out from SJK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
      • Dr Cooper on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:45 am

He’s stating a truth, doesn’t sound sarcasm to me and it’s automotive related. Just your head full of prejudice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • Rulered on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:33 am

Don’t forget at least 2 layers of parking at the roadside on each side hehehe….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • SJKC to b more spesific..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • SJK? You racist?

Many malay women fetched their kids at SK school with Al-fart around my area too….

which depressed area you came from?

• Believe it not, the fuel consumption still make you cry on this so -call Simple Hai-Bleed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • cslee on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:19 am

so surprise with this level of price the car still using cheap torsion beam design. ..

• gtmaniac on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:55 am

Beam torsion free up some space from robbing the cabin space. Every cubic inches is valuable in a people mover like this.

Saw this serena in person 3 years ago in Hong Kong. Really wished TC brought em here.

• _xXx_ on Jun 10, 2013 at 2:30 pm

I think torsion beam is fine, way better than some so called MPV but with ladder frame chassis in it…lol

• edzor on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Renault megane RS250 also uses torsion beam for it’s rear susp.
    This has not hampered it’s performance at all.

So, haters, don’t hate.

• RON97 on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:50 pm

This is a window van. Only pathetic and loser drive a van/mpv. Or should I say “Queen Controlled” guy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • Jason on Jun 10, 2013 at 5:17 pm

What’s with the Proton Savvy front windows?

• Norman on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:08 pm

140k?Box design mpv that easily can fit elephant too..If its around 120k I would definitely buy..Quality wise still lack behind Wish and Stream…But Nissan Malaysia is notorious for their high price crap quality

• cslee on Jun 11, 2013 at 7:48 am

5008 almost the same price range but everything much superior than this new vannete.
    Its really just overprice for RM 14xk, TC going to suffer the same pain as their former C24….

• isuzuki on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:06 am

Rumours but very real, RM40K+ to repair/replace xcvt gearbox with only less than 90K or 4 years used (on a Sylphy)……. Really have to think about it.

• The cost for conventional gear box is really expensive, not only X-tronic ok…

last time i ask for a new gear box for toyota advanza, it cost 30K

• Hybrid on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:20 am

Name hybrid but no hybrid vechile so can’t get tax exempation

• Jeff Wong on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:13 am

launching in July 2013

• Does the double din comes with gps and rear view camera…..? From nissan jp website. It should come together…not sure if tc will slash this kind of standart requiremebt

• I ve seen the car. Not a great car. Nissan banks on its hybrid sake to rip off.
    Exactly comes with no real accessories with fabric upholstery looks cheap and unmatched with the pricetag.
    Avoid buying this b4 regret.