Hyundai Santa Fe now open for booking in Malaysia

santa-fe-front

You’ve heard about it and seen the spyshots and ads on oto.my, now Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has officially announced that order books for the new Hyundai Santa Fe are open. The third-gen SUV will be launched by the end of this month.

UPDATE: The new Hyundai Santa Fe is now launched in Malaysia. Click here for our launch report and pics.

The new Santa Fe will come in two trim levels (Elegance and Executive) for both the 2.2 E-VGT ‘R’ diesel version (197 hp and 436 Nm) and the Theta II 2.4 MPI petrol version. Highlighted equipment includes a panoramic sunroof, HID headlamps, safe drive recorder (aftermarket add on, as per latest Sonata), rain sensor, Flex Steer steering (changes assistance level) and electric parking brake.

santa-fe-rear

Safety wise, expect Vehicle Stability Management (VSM), Electronic Stability Programme (ESP), Hillstart Assist Control (HAC), Downhill Brake Control (DBC), Traction Control and Brake Assist in this seven-seat SUV. Note that we will be getting the standard wheelbase Santa Fe, which has a third row of seats, and not the long wheelbase version.

The selling price will start from approximately RM159k (excluding road tax and insurance) with the company’s usual five-year or 300,000 km warranty. For a closer look, the SUV will be at Hyundai roadshows in Gurney Plaza, Penang (June 13-16), 1 Utama (June 19-23) and KSL City Mall, Johor Bahru (June 21-23).

Click here for more pics of the new Santa Fe in local Malaysian spec, plus a view of the SUV’s cabin.

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nice. .. looks smashing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:54 am

Matilah the CX5, CRV and Kuga. First to meet death is Kuga. Then CRV. CX5 maybe got hope to live a bit. But the Santa Fe is going to be the best seller SUV in Malaysia. Nice to see Honda’s share taken away and Honda will be less arrogant from now on.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:55 am

Dont forget the CX5 at RM137k is ONLY 2WD. This is real 4WD. Also, diesel engines globally are more expensive than petrol engines. Santa Fe also comes with 5 years warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • 436nm of TORQUE!!! NUFF SAID, this is one hell of a beast!

• brass on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:02 pm

“Note that we will be getting the standard wheelbase Santa Fe, which has a third row of seats, and not the long wheelbase version.”

The LWB version has 3rd row seat right? The standard version is without.

• Jimmy on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:32 am

I can see the Honda salesman running with their heads stuck in between their legs. Hello honda and Toyota salesman, its time to stop wearing ladies undergarments, stop watching porn in the showrooms, stop smoking in groups outside the showroom and pay attention to your walk in customers. Life changes from now on for you lazy Toyota and Honda salesman who for years just sat down and received booking after booking. Today, nobody wants cars like the CRV. Body looks nice but engine outdated and drinks petrol like a tractor. People are after EEV engines like CX5 and Santa Fe’s super effient diesel. So, Honda and Toyota salesman, please, its time to stop sniffing ladies undergarments and get to work. You days are numbered.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 211 Thumb down 1
      • Gangnam style on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Hai ya Jimmy, don’t be so arrogant lah… Show me the statistics …if not u had better sniff MEN undergarments…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
        • Actually what Jimmy said is quite true.. i had bad experienced visited Honda showroom… the salespersons seem to ignore their walk-in customers – and i ended-up buying Mazda instead.. thought of Civic before that but luckily they ignored me at that time coz i think Mazda3 is a better choice..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • Edward on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:02 am

hONDA and tOYOTA is crap. Jap car are over priced with no features and outdated look and tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano on Jun 10, 2013 at 6:57 pm

7 or 6 airbags and Hyundai will seal the fate of the CRV.

Only thing, WHY must they photoshop the Inokom logo in the pictures. WHY OH WHY. Leave the Hyundai ones!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 5
    • steve on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Santa Fe and CRV are in a different class. CRV is same size as the Tucson while the Santa Fe is a class higher

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 4
      • Different class but comparable price ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
        • frenzyaustin on Jun 11, 2013 at 8:14 am

Pricing is more important than segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
          • seancorr on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:19 am

Only issue is Malaysians who are interested to get cars in this segment aren’t really concerned about the price since the the CR-V has record leading sales since its launch.

Dun get me wrong, while the CR-V is a good vehicle, Honda Malaysia is stingy when it comes to the feature list our local CR-V has and the price is omgwtfbbq.

• sudonano on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:28 am

CRV is pretty large for a medium SUV.

Price same and bigger? ME LIKE.

And yes. CRV price to spec ratio is not only omgwtfbbq its omgwtfbbqggoverpricedttm.

• OMG…Who care the INOKOM logo? Most ppl before they collect the new car, the Hyundai logo already replaced the INOKOM logo for FREE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • pardon my ignorance but will they seriously replace the badges?

• Sam Loo on Sep 14, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Definitely different.
      Santa Fe will be worth less than a new Forte within a year

• takhtu on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Danny, why do you guys seldom mention the number of airbags? Or is it just not a priority in our market?

We have always held grouses that we are constantly shortchanged in Malaysia with regards to passive security. But is seems that the market does not really care either.

Please make it a point to always highlight this. It should be one of the primary buying criteria for a new car. So if you guys don’t mention a single word about it and don’t educate the consumers, who will care? Come 2020 when we will be a “developed nation”, we will still have our dual airbag cars.

Please make sure you guys emphasize the airbag count clearly in your write-ups. Malaysian consumers must be aware of this.

Thanks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 56
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:07 pm

The car hasn’t been officially launched yet, and that’s what we know for now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • TanBH on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:59 pm

We should all go for curtain airbags vehicles only. If you look at those side impact crash test you will understand its importances. Its yours kids that will sitting in the 2nd row. In Japan and Europe cars mostly emphasize on active & safety. Even Protons exported to Australia have 6 airbags. Especially Jap, mostly are without curtain bags and ESP. In Singapore, the buying trend are changing for Conti because of these factors. Good examples are Ford Kuga and Sorento, both are EuroNcap 5stars equipped and price 160k. Think of your loved ones when buying if you can afford especially there has many accidents between cars and heavy vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • david on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:46 am

I agree with you in respect of the safety aspect but why sporeans are buying conti cars is wholly on the price issue. A Honda CRV 2.0 costs Sing dollar 184 + and 5 series cost Sing dollar 250+. This sort of explains why the bmw is the highest selling car in spore last year

• Jimmy on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Many of the luxurious brands in Malaysia are still very stingy on airbags, as if we don’t have money to pay for it. To many people, RM10k for every optional airbag is cheap ok; RM60k can top up airbags to 12, berbaloi.
      For Toyota buyers: would you choose 7 airbags with steel rim with no tinting (can be obtained optionally by paying more), or would you choose 2 airbags with alloy rims and FOC tinting?
      Top sellers 1st, 2nd, 3rd = bottom 1st, 2nd, 3rd in terms of safety, go figure, especially orangs S & S.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:35 pm

The price of this lovely car will be the price of an apartment in Putrajaya of 1000 sq.ft?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 48
  • michaelooi on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:38 pm

It looks better than CRV…
    Shame on the hideous phallic logo though!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • aiyo, saw people comparing this with the cx5 and crv on facebook. you guys dumb or what, the cx5 is so small in size to be compared with this, it’s like comparing Kizashi with Sonata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
    • Moore on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Sometimes you have to think why people compare this car with Cx5, CRV or other smaller car. It’s because it’s in similar price bracket where people now have a choice to choose within their budget. This happens now because all Korean cars are cheaper than Japanese in same range. Understand??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Winson on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:32 pm

huh? why not comparing CX-5 with CRV ? Kizashi with I45 ? In Singapore all are in the same category what

• Black Dog on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:57 pm

The one to get is the diesel version. Need a test drive too to determine the noise level of diesels. But then, I think the price will be higher than that mentioned.

The SUV field is getting crowded with so many new launches.

• which is essentially a good thing to all consumers.
      suddenly i wonder who will buy Tiguan?….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Goodbye Fluidic Design!!!, The Tucson is the first Hyundai I really like for it’s design, Strong, Sharp and correctly proportion, Espacially the one we’re getting ,the SWB version. And at RM160k It’s the Steal of the year!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • zamer on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 113
      • Ash Crimson on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Then, good luck without the 5 years warranty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • Hadi75 on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:51 pm

You’re willing to spend 160k on a recond car which basically is a used car than a brand new car with manufacturer warranty for 5 years/300k km????no wonder the recond car salesmen are smiling to the bank…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 1
      • There is quite a number saying Malaysian always buy Honda or Toyota just because of the badge, guess is not limited to ‘Just’ T&H.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Plus the fact that your second hand ody or alphard would be stuck in the mud or submerged in water. This hyundai is a 4wd for crying out loud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • _xXx_ on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:15 am

too bad, Malaysians are too used to the ridiculous price. Im quite sure there’re many out there can’t even earn 160k throughout their entire life and yet we have ppl call 160k for a junk a steal…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
      • Black Dog on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:59 pm

If that guy can’t even earn Rm160k in his entire life, he’s damn bloody useless!

Even a beggar can get more than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Hyundai vehicles are well equipped with safety features to avoid crash instead of after crash. VSM is one of continental vehicle technology which most Jp’s vehicles don’t have. Thus for precaution wise, every vehicle airbags also need maintenance after few years driving & also have some mark up in insurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • Seems that Hyundai will only bring in the MPI version of the Theta II, still no GDI version for us….

• why bother about whether its a MPI or GDI?…Get the CRDI!..436NM of torque wt good 14km/l FC

• frenzyaustin on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:29 pm

The design is really fantastic! For the price in this segment, definitely bang for bucks after Audi A6 Hybrid. And probably 1st Hyundai design which can last long, unlike Sonata, Tucson and Elentra, which looks outdated after few years. The design is a very very huge leap from it’s predecessor. It used to looks like a cheap China car but now looks like a car for successful businessman, even Euro’s kinda difficult to fight it’s beautiness. Best car in the segment? Probably if they have a good driving dynamic like a Ford or Mazda, others, it score very good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • sick&tired on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:29 pm

why the hell are you guys bitching about the badge!? as long as the price is reasonable, i don’t care! BTW the car looks great!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • smith on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Nice car but the brand pisses me off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • traveller on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:45 pm

tested this last week in Brunei. Superb power and feel for the 2.2crdi. The interior finishing also upgraded from previous version. Good job hyundai!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • jilbaber on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Wow! this car look so handsome from that angle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Non Santa Fe lover dun comment here….as I saw lot Santa Fe lover here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • sam loo on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Resale value sucks. Then again, I must admit that this hyundai have nice exterior and fitted with a good 2.2 diesel engine.

It sure challenge my toyota suv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 46
  • Andrew on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Pardon my ignorance but is Malaysia’s diesel suitable for the diesel engine?

• Hadi75 on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Yes but care must be taken since our diesel is sooo high quality….. ;)

• Allen on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:36 am

As refer by Hyundai service branch, the diesel engine requires oil change once 5000km service interval.

The diesel high end version should be around 180k to 190k

• Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Yes, I asked the same question on the previous Santa Fe post but no one could answer. Any1 got an answer? Seriously considering the diesel unit as a second car. Appreciate all the gurus out there to provide a feedback. Thanks in advance.

• sudonano on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:30 am

Having used the older (non 442 Nm MONSTER engine), yes, our diesel can run. Make sure services are on time and you are good to go. Took me from one end of Peninsular to the other without missing a beat. Not to mention, POWERRRRRR!

• nixuss on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:51 am

Bro sudonano, how much is the cost servicing you santa fe every 5,000km?

• Haneda on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:56 pm

The price is really attractive. If I were to get 7 seater, this is a serious contender.

• Maserati on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Hahahaha, rm160k for a Korean car and u call it a steal? U guys must be joking!

It’s an overpriced Korean junk! This should be sold at 110k , not trying to sell at Japanese prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 87
  • Kimchi sushi on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Is the engine considered as green engine? How much is the roadtax for 2.2 diesel?

• Strange that all of the cars that are highly rated in this forum do not enjoy the level of market success that they deserved….

Have a strange feeling that this one might be the same after it stopped being a fad…..

• This pretty much sump up the mentality of the keyboard warriors in the forum.
      They will praise like heaven for anything that can not sell & curse like hell for anything that will sell like hot cake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Julian on Jun 11, 2013 at 2:08 am

Interior not that elegant compare to Ford Kuga. Exterior both cars, kuga and santa fe looks kinda similar. Kuga price at RM159,999 otr while I don’t know the price of Santa Fe. If you do the math, Santa Fe launched at a very odd timing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
  • Gavin on Jun 11, 2013 at 8:15 am

The way i see it, because it’s diesel and our diesel is cheaper here and it’s not more expensive to have the diesel, it makes all the other choices senseless simply from the fuel cost savigs of running a diesel car.

Next ppl think is probably diesel quality, with 5 years warranty that’s good peace of mind for me and plus the R diesel is not new in malaysia, it’s been around for over a year already.

And the cheerry on the top is the R diesel is perhaps the lastest and greatest in diesel engien tech

• The most important thing is RELIABILITY. We don’t want to wait for mechanic beside our car with 10 airbags. Without denying airbags are very important, I’m advocating that reliability is more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Jimmy on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:39 pm

You cannot afford even a C-class with a full 5-year loan.
      Should we define ‘keyboard warrior’ as S-class customer?
      Do we want a very reliable S-class with 2 airbags? Anyone?
      No ESP, said ESP is not important as long as don’t drive fast, now slap own face.

• Jimmy on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:42 pm

And we can see a lot of real ‘non-keyboard warriors’ businessmen, who never attend paultan.org., driving recond S-class/7-series around.
        Shameful.

• aggresively handsome looking suv

• namanama on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:20 am

my first comment to agree with K supporter,this torque monster look handsome enough.Will be tough fight with CRV.

• 159k is for 2.4 or 2.2??? CBU or CKD?
    and it is not called a Hyundai, but an INOKOM…..
    actually i just want to know, it its a ‘HYUNDAI’ badge, how much more do we need to pay from your estimations?

• This is one Torquey monster…Santa Fe 436nm vs CRV190nm VS CX5 200nm vs Kuga 240nm…

been driving my co car prev version santa fe 2.2 diesel since 2010, reliable, very powerful & frugal, averaging 12-14km/l mix driving…this r series diesel is good & been around since 2008 if not mistaken, so quite reliable

• Hyundai pls price it right. Despite the forumers’ view, there are still a lot of uncles out there who are brand-savvy but not spec-savvy and they will not fork out more than 150k for a korean brand being mindful of resale value. If you want to eat into Honda and Toyota’s customers pie, pricing is critical. Narrow your margin, capture the customers, think far, think big.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Victor on Jun 11, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Honda and Toyota have nothing to worry about as a large majority of Malaysians are still very brand-conscious and resale value is always high on their list of purchase reasons. It will take a lot more longer for Hyundai and Kia to have a serious effect on the sales of the Japanese SUVs as they have established CKD operations to offer very attractive prices to consumers. Honda especially have a very high level of local content and an excellent service network. Even though the Santa Fe is loaded with arguably more features, it will not be the deciding factor. 436 Nm sounds great, but how often are you gonna tow a house? The Santa Fe will no doubt have its own buyers, but very likely, these are the buyers that is not even considering a Honda CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Jimmy on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Abu saw too many roadside assistance in Seoul and gave true comment.
    Thank you, we don’t have eyes and brains.

• Jimmy on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:50 pm

With this kind of mentality, the nation can never progress. We will forever have 2 airbags per car and one day the S-class will lead the league by omitting all its airbags in Malaysia, Malaysia only.
      Semua/segala tauke duduk di belakang, and kereta S-class ini keras, no need airbags, said wmu.

• Smarties on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Smart-looking car…definitely a strong challenger to CX5 & CRV.

• Ventura on Jun 12, 2013 at 3:01 am

This one is 5 seater version, the rear window design slightly different compare to 7 seater version. What the estimated price for 7 seater version if available in M’sia market?

• 7 seater la, check out Hyundai Australia. the other one is the LWB version for America only.

• It looks like the LWB is 7 seater while the SWB can be 5 or 7 seater. Sounds like we are getting the SWB 7 seater . I really hope we can get the LWB version as well. Would really punch its weight in the larger SUV categories. Malaysian consumers need more choices with their vehicles :( well atleast they are giving us engine options here

• Jeff Wong on Jun 12, 2013 at 9:43 am

I like the car.

For those who still think recon estima RM150K ..etc (4-5 yrs old ) still a better buy…. good luck & enjoy your 2nd hand car.

Pls lah..dun let the cronies become richer & richer. New estima in Japan is only in the range of RM90K to RM120K depanding on the specs.

A friend who study in Japan bought in an
    4 yrs old estima only RM20K. Just imagine how much the cronies make when they sell you the 4 yrs old estima in Malaysia ?

• Andrew on Jun 12, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Wonder why Kia doesn’t bring in the diesel variant for Sorento? The diesel variant is a sure popular choice!

• Jeff Wong on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:37 am

I was told launching on 24 June 2013

• torque on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:24 am

442NM…& 197ps..442NM!!

• fourwheel on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:24 am

..same like current version….crdi ‘r’ type diesel engine..INOKOM should make sure the TCU unit and push start button is ok …

• CUV Fanatic on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Can anyone who has own the Hyundai 2.2 liter R diesel engine version for 1-2 years comment on the Malaysia Diesel used on this baby? How much cost in terms of maintenance to maintain the engine knowing M’sia diesel fuel is not as clean? I just worry abt the diesel fuel screwing up the fuel injectors. Other than this, it is a value for money cross untility vehicle.. can match up to Freelander 2.

Thanks

• CUV Fanatic on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:54 pm

How much cost in terms of maintenance to maintain the engine knowing M’sia diesel fuel is not as clean? I just worry abt the diesel fuel screwing up the fuel injectors. Other than this, it is a value for money cross untility vehicle.. can match up to Freelander 2.

Thanks

• TrustMeImAnEngineer on Jun 22, 2013 at 2:27 am

Big KICK (442Nm Santa Fe) or Small but continuous kick (240Nm Kuga)?

Or maybe it’s time to get a BIG and LOONNNNGG KICK

Infiniti Fx37 anyone? no? :(

• Madman on Jun 23, 2013 at 11:28 am

RM190k suv with only 2 airbags?

• Jeff Wong on Jun 23, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Petrol ver. Rm177,888
    Diesal ver. Rm189,888
    Anyone booked ? Launch nationwide tomorrow 24jun2013.

• Jeff Wong on Jun 23, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Very nice SUV…

• Been detailing this car over the weekend, tested the petrol version. 2.4 MPI engine not worth at it price@$164k low spec neither on $178k for high spec. Come on at least given GDI engine where u gave everywhere out there beside Malaysia. Imagine it just slightly more power then CRV 2.0 for almost $180k price tags? I can get 2.4 DOHC powerful engine from CRV 2.4 with cheaper price or Ford Kuga. Also tested 2.2 diesel turbo version, hmm it better option compared to petrol one @$177k for low spec & $190k for high spec but both only come with max 2 airbag??? If @$190k I do rather pick all new Subaru Forester powerful petrol engine given 363nm. Conclusion is this chick was priced too high, with the spec given. If $190k forester for sure, $170k will go CRV2.4 high spec & lastly $150k below with ford Kuga or best with new cKD CX5 around 140k…..hmmmm, wat shd I pick then…is totally wat budget I hv now

• Jeff Wong on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:17 am

CRV , kuga are of diff class, cannot compare ….

• walau apa jua kamu katakan (cx5,honda or bla bla) santa fe yang terbaik, saya guna santa fe first model tip top, sma tanding land cruiser super king, ni lagimodel 2013? huh ;)