Nissan Terrano to be revived, based on Dacia Duster

nissan terrano sketch
Click to enlarge official sketch

The Nissan Terrano name is to be revived, and the new SUV will be based on the Dacia Duster, Autocar India reports. Dacia is the Romanian brand owned by Renault, and is famous for the low cost pioneer Dacia Logan. The Duster 4X4 is called Renault Duster in India.

Those who have better memory might remember the Nissan Terrano being officially available in Malaysia by Tan Chong, back in the 90s. The first-gen WD21 series Terrano had a brick-like shape and three letterbox vents above the grille, which was rather distinctive. The rugged 4X4 sat on a truck-derived ladder frame chassis.

To be launched by the end of this year in India, the Terrano will have more differentiation compared to the Nissan AlmeraRenault Scala rebadge arrangement, bringing it in line with Nissan’s SUV range. The Indian edition of the UK mag adds that the Nissan Terrano will be priced higher than the Renault Duster by a few thousand ringgit, an arrangement that’s the opposite of the Almera-Scala situation.

A cheap and hardy modern Nissan Terrano 4X4 anyone?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Duster, Chalk and Blackboard.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:00 am

Dacia is a bankrupt company

• John Reui on Aug 10, 2013 at 6:45 am

Here’s some insight from CNN in just how “bankrupt” Dacia is:
        http://www.cnn.com/video/data/2.0/video/business/2013/05/15/gateway-romania-constanta-dacia-renault.cnn.html

• Better bring in the pathfinder instead. Also the Logan to take on the Toyota rush . Terrano looks weird man….

• Jimmy on Jun 10, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Not even a single person of the younger generation want Nissan in Malaysia. Tan Chong better be worried because once the old uncles and aunties die off, you clienetele will be ZERO. Tan Chong can then file for bankruptcy. A company that does not know how to evolve with the generations will always face doom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • horley on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:48 pm

jimmy , 1 day you will become old also,maybe on that time you will buy nissan ? nissan still a lot nice car to attract younster in malaysia

• glaze on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:02 pm

what about the Nissan GTR35, Fairlady 370z and Silvia S15?

• Hadi75 on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Are you sure only uncles and aunties buy nissan???then how come i still see young peoples driving them???

• jimmy..are u sure?I am driving their murano 2011 ..lol..which I think market target are not uncle/aunt.

• kadajawi on Jun 10, 2013 at 6:35 pm

A honest and cheap SUV. Not too bad. It also looks quite good in the flesh.

• This looks like Livina X Gear…. need to bring back pathfinder…

• taboogen on Jun 11, 2013 at 7:44 am

wow “wow an honest anc cheap SUV”… if other company doing it the comment will be “they are taking 1 step behind”… what a joke people now a days. when copying other brand as theirs and hike up the price, that what we called honest? then when gov increase the price its depressing the rakyat.. which one is which now…

• Green on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:14 am

I doubt it will be cheap in Malaysia. considering the engine size of at least 2000cc, high taxation.

in comparison, pickup truck e.g hilux, triton, ranger are having extreme low taxation in Malaysia, else it would be around RM140k price range.