Proton Satria Neo R3 launched in Brunei; first 3S centre opened in the country

proton-satria-neo-r3-launch-brunei

Proton has introduced the Satria Neo R3 in Brunei and opened its first 3S centre in the country. Located in Gadong, Bandar Seri Begawan, the 1,179-square metre 3S centre can showcase a maximum of nine cars, and service up to 11 cars at any one time.

Brunei is the Proton Satria Neo R3’s first international destination since its Malaysian launch last November. The hot hatch is essentially a Satria Neo CPS with racy R3 add-ons that include a front splitter, rear spoiler, six-spoke 16-inch alloys and leather upholstery. Its 1.6-litre Campro CPS unit delivers 125 hp and 150 Nm of torque.

“With all our continuous achievements in motorsports, the existing demand for Satria Neo is also being fuelled and has been further expanded,” said Proton Holdings Berhad deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim.

“We believe there’s a market here in Brunei for an affordable sports hatchback that is not being fulfilled at the moment,” he added.

The introduction of the Satria Neo R3 brings the total of Proton models sold by sole distributor United Motors in the Sultanate to 16, including the Proton Preve, which was introduced in Australia in October, Thailand in November and Brunei the following February.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• takhtu on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:46 am

LOL.
    What a joke.

PROTON sells 16 different models in Brunei, more models than any other car maker probably. The average age of each car model is probably 4-8 years old. Still selling the Perdana and Waja also? LOL.

And now, they decide to introduce another 5-year old car, selling it as brand new. Nice eye-lashes on the headlights. Hahaha!

This new PROTON management is a farce. If you have nothing to say Mr. Deputy CEO, it’s always best to keep quiet and stay in the office until you have real news to share.

Ok, back to work and serious things now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 52
    • Roger Tan on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:14 am

It’s actually 16 models and variants

• gud luck proton..
        grow your business and make malaysia proud.
        expand your profit margin and provide better car :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
      • Jimmy on Jun 10, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Why bodek the Brunei people? Improve your service here in Malaysia. I send my Proton to Glenmarie for normal service at 8am, even at 9pm also the car is not ready. Not once but nearly ALL the time. I send my Toyota for service, in 2 hours all done. I can sit and have coffee with wifi and next thing I know, car is done. Datuk Lukman, don’t go bodek the Brunei people lah. Charity begins at home. Love your own people by improving your service. Then only explore the world. Rakyat sendiri also don’t know how to take care, want to take care of Brunei people. You want award from Sultan of Brunei kah? How can normal car service in Glenmarie take more than 12 hours?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 37
        • owh u dont know that your is too advanced technology and need a lots of tools to complete the service…hehehehhehehe…

• _xXx_ on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:44 am

are Bruneians nostalgic? I doubt so…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Nobody in Brunei bothers with Proton. Proton is like pariah there. They got tax free cars and they rather buy these better cars. Who wants to buy a low class car when you can buy a Honda or Toyota cheaply?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 48
    • good luck, proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 38
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 10, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Very stupid people in Malaysia buy Proton. Why buy from a company that sells their Proton cars half the price to rich Saudi people and in Malaysia, their own flesh and blood, Proton screws them left right and centre. We are subsidising for rich arabs as well as rich Brunei people. You want to still support this company?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 55
      • yuoun on Jun 11, 2013 at 5:11 am

You don’t pay tax I think, don’t even know what tax is

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Looks cheap! if they want a 2 doors hot hatch i think they will definitely buy a Scirocco or the Renault Megane instead!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • The best way to do is remove those ugly eyelashes or anything, lower the price so i think they’ll buy this car for their kids after few years,then throw away!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • xcvbt on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Yeah buy then throw away, proton can sell better than H, T and N, more than in here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • flat_tire on Jun 11, 2013 at 4:19 am

i think that they should keep the eyelashes and add lipstick instead.. for kids to laugh at..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • flat_tire on Jun 11, 2013 at 4:23 am

never knew Proton was in the business of selling scrap metal to Brunei before.. well good luck to Proton then.. and more metal for Brunei.. yeah..!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • along on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:46 am

This is good news and surely this will increase proton export vehicle to 1 million unit… :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 17
  • ProtonSinkHole on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:48 am

Who the hell in Brunei would buy this crap?? I wonder……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 36
    • Well, malaysian working in brunei
      but there is some fans of satria in brunei.
      what i can say is ambik swift sport la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
  • Toe To Toe on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:54 am

Majulah sukan untuk negara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • unforgiven on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:01 am

Are you sure? Seen friends posted cheap CBU cars there, Impreza, etc. Their believes are mainly burning money, how we wish we have such money to burn in business, when is the tap getting dry? Or ended up increase in country deficit?

• jolly_idiot on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:05 am

Wow. Big news. Proton is launching a new old model in brunei. They’re thinking brunei people are sohai. Hahaha

I hardly or can’t even see a new satria neo with new registration plate nowdays. I wonder who will still buy this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 29
  • SurabayaMan on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:11 am

I think from the perfomance figure, even newly launched Suzuki Swift Sport with 136ps / 1-100kmh 8.7secs can ‘tapau’ this R3 anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • jolly_idiot on Jun 10, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Agreed bro. Summore the new swift is onli. 1.4 liter. Shame on the so call neo r3 which still lcly around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
      • besset on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Swift is one gen ahead, cannot compare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:16 am

just wait until proton launch the new satria replacement model.. err, in 2016 i think. coz that is the standard life cycle for satria.

joking. joking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Brunei car is very cheap, i dont think proton can compete with other brand in brunei at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • _xXx_ on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:55 am

Singapore cars are bloody expensive. Both our village champions barely surviving there too….both sold 1 (ONE) car each from Jan-Apr 2013.

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/M03-Car_Regn_by_make.pdf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Proton Sakit on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:36 am

Hahaha… what a joke!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
  • Khairul on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:36 am

Proton x leh buat Satria more powerful lagi ke?

• haaaa…better close ur factory…..
    Hello proton why still dreaming……
    Other 5 year no more proton in Malaysia…
    Brunai people buy this car for main kereta langgar…
    What a joke proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 42
  • Seriously who would be so brain-fart to splash cash for a cps-based 4 speed tranny car, yet it is placed under so called “sport category”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Rickeng on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:42 am

What is proton? A company selling & manufacturing milo tin for Malaysia ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 26
    • tinmilo on Jun 10, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Yes it’s a milo tin company when preve got 5 stars australian ncap safety rating, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 41
  • auntie on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:45 am

When a man have no taste, probably he would make no sense either. Putting those fake eye lashes on a fierce car, like putting heavy make up on jackie chan face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Norman on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:46 am

R3 only with 125hp/150mm?Stop joking and fooling around Proton..New swift sport already got 134hp@6900rpm/160mm@4600rpm and its not even turbo..Should have continue the 145hp/168nm version not this piece of crap please and sell over 60k??Pls proton your car is not lightweight too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 23
    • sepul on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:53 am

Agreed with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • 9hp and 10Nm more is not that impressing for a brand new car?

And with 1200kg the Swift weights more than the Satria with 1184kg? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • jammer on Jun 10, 2013 at 5:55 pm

well swift got 2 more doors,newer engine,better fuel consumption and of course sportier look from my pov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
        • kolse on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:44 pm

5 doors are suitable for family use, not for spirited driving. Better for ferrying children and maids

• 8.7 sec for a new gen car is nothing. Why not stroke it to get 7 or 6?

• adoose on Jun 10, 2013 at 10:51 am

who ever put the eye lashes there need to be shoot dead.

• fpser on Jun 10, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Last time beemers got eye lashes look alike lamps, shoot ’em too, hahaha!

• ae101 on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:01 am

Hahahah. How this car compete with other car makers? Boy racer there got so many options to choose. Neo cps? Lotus handling? Maybe next life ok.

• chong on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:07 am

look at all this hater, people buy ford fiesta because of it used by Ken Block, this is Mcalllister car’s..must be fanatic fan out there that want to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • cursefinger on Jun 10, 2013 at 11:24 am

Only brainless Bruneian people will buy this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
  • _xXx_ on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:01 pm

To Proton…put in a 4B10/4B11 with a 6MT. I sign above the dotted line skrg jgk.

• vee-oh on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:08 pm

im quite impressed with Neo’s handling…but the engine is a joke..125hp to move 1200kg is not something we called sport car..if traffic light race, the pickup is more or less around the same with the old 1.3 satria..funny thing, this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • suluk on Jun 10, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Since when neo is a sport car? 1200kg vs 1184kg it’s so near

• alldisc on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:25 am

satria neo is a normal hathback, but satria R3 is meant to be sporty and this is what proton emphasizes so…

• benzs on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:18 pm

For your information, Brunei Sultan treat their citizens like family. No tax! Proton will not be preferable by Brunei ppl as they have better choices to choose especially America, Uk, Japan & Korean cars. Hardly to see Proton attach with Brunei plate. Furthermore they like higher CC cars. Proton marketing is wrong this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • nasir kulim. on Jun 10, 2013 at 12:38 pm

DSZ must be a relieved man
    seeing DRB making a mockery out of P1.
    With this kinda laid back attitude,
    with zero urgency and w/o a turnaround plan,
    sadly P1 is doomed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • The Campro engine is the limiting factor for proton to progress further. Proton Preve is such a good car but its engine Campro CFE turbo can only be boosted lightly because the engine cant last. If you drive long distant & fast 120 to 150 constantly the engine might break. That is why proton is developing a new engine that can last longer if boost higher. Campro engine also cannot last long if use NGV gas. Correct me if I am wrong Proton engineers….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
  • orang biasa on Jun 10, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Proton ok what?….one Preve smoked my 328i eventhough i was hitting 180km/h….fuih…look sooo solidddd…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Beetle Nut on Jun 10, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Wah, another nice family photo, steady!

• At least already export coz can’t sell well in Malaysia. Nice to dump it…. I wonder what is the price tag in Brunei and what other “alternatives” we can buy with that money… Maybe can buy Honda city.

• assumption and assumption..

• In Brunei car is very cheap although there is slight tax imposed on them. My friend by Murano 3.5 about RM 160k only and she is a high scholl teacher in Brunei.

The same Murano in Langkawi Free Tax land priced at about RM180K. Toyota vios and swift price start about RM 40K ++. All the Brunei people ride posh car Lexus, BMW, VW, Roll Royce. You see the Sultan have a good taste for cars so as well rakyat there.

The hardly even Perodua cars. They all use Daihatsu car the one that malaysia like to convert from Myvi to Passo. I think Perodua wise enough not to sale thier cars in Brunei.

Now proton want sell this Satria R3. I wonder how much the will price the car at to compete with Vios or Swift. Anyway good luck to proton, i think Exora Bold have better chance sell at Brunei.

By the way oil price there is cheap, Ron 97 like Rm 1.20 per liter, this is what we call true subsidy not like Bolehla Land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
  • Eyesore on Jun 10, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Lol… why so butthurt that PROTON introducing Neo R3 in Brunei? They not asking you to buy it right? U asking PROTON to compete in open market… so Brunei is that market… let see how they perform… Why so butthurt???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 32
  • kambinganas on Jun 10, 2013 at 3:42 pm

To all the mat rempits complaining about the eye lashes and this kerete tak cepat etc, this is a girl’s car. It is not meant for the boy racers. It is just another plain Satria Neo with R3 bodykit, just for show. So only aweks will want a car that nampak cun tapi tak cepat.

Or you want Proton to go further and add some lipstick to this car so nampak lebih jelas? Never knew that there are jantan out there buy kerete with eyelashes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Look carefully, the eyelashes are not curly like gurlz. Certainly fierce man’s

• Do like what the founder said, sell it at higher price so that people will perceive this as good quality car.

• skyfall on Jun 10, 2013 at 4:52 pm

gomen related companies wil alwiz do this kind of jokes. i wonder how they analyse d market. they shud learn from d chinese on how to trade properly.

• Debono on Jun 10, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Proton in Brunei – Wrong market, Wrong priority…

• i saw some saga & wira with brunei plates in bandar, KB, etc. so there is possibility proton can sell 1~2 satria in brunei, let’s wait for a few years….

• In brunei mostly u see is kia and hyundai for average income ppl. hyndai volester and kia forte coupe are everywhere.. higher income ppl they get BMW or Audi.. Japanese car only vios selling well there as they are really cheap, just 21 brunei doallar can get..

• Pangiran on Jun 11, 2013 at 8:25 am

I believe Brunei car buyers are very smart and intelligent people…

• The German on Jun 11, 2013 at 8:43 pm

It is so sad to see what DRB is doing with Proton after the old management had tried and achieved many milestones in the history of the brand. The “DEPUTY” CEO must be joking, trying to fool around with customer and his own people. Mr Lukman your expertise might be more on working long hours until deep in the night, but it looks like the efficiency is lacking, someone has missed out to brief you that the Satria Neo was first launched in June 2006 – WHICH IS BY NOW “7” YEARS AGO.

Some questions to the New Management of Proton:

1. Where is your Growth Strategy which you have promised to the Press, Employees and the Government when you took over Proton.
    2. All Markets are severely down in regards of sales and profits. Look at domestic or even Thailand (-60%), Indonesia – where 50% of the dealer are running away from the brand because of current miss management and nil new products
    3. What is the status of your Honda project – walk the talk… and stick to deadlines
    4. Looks like DRB is just interested in Proton’s assets. They do destroy Proton more and more – piece by piece – with a lawyer on top and a financial “DEPUTY” running a highly innovative and long term orientated automotive company. Proton was once supposed to be a National Pride and is going down the drain slowly but surely…

Congratulations to the new management – you are turning around a national pride to a national disaster – where more then 100’000 Malaysian families depend directly or indirectly on the business success of Proton (including supplier).

• KOJAK3 on Jun 23, 2013 at 10:08 pm

saya adalah orang Brunei. Saya sngt tidak setuju dgn kata2 keji kamu di sini. Kami orang2 brunei sngt hormat dan sentiasa menyokong syarikat Proton kerana kita sama2 melayu dan islam walaupun product kamu tidak setanding japan or korea. Lagipun we hv lots of money to spend and proton is one of the cheapest car in brunei. daripada menyokong cina or kaling baik pulang ku menyokong melayu tu. So plz lah jgn hina product negeri kamu sendiri. buduh banar jua kamu rang malaysia ani. Jgn luan di race bah buduh atu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Brunei Tak Tahu Apa-Apa on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Kamu tak tahu apa yang Proton telah buat kepada rakyat Malaysia. Jangan cakap sembarangan. Kita bukan menghina. Kita terlalu marah sehingga tak boleh control lagi. Orang brunei budoh tak tahu apa terjadi mahu masuk campur. Pergi beli kereta Proton dan jangan jadi kaki sibuk. Tak tahu apa-apa, sudah mahu menegur orang. Budoh betul orang Brunei!

• woi bodoh, tak kisah la melayu ke cina ke india ke..yang penting service, harga and kualiti yang dapat diberikan. itu namanya persaingan, bukan letak cukai kereta import mahal mahal lepas tu buat kereta sendiri pun jual mahal mahal. jelas kamu ini bersifat perkauman.

• hmm..its true, satria neo r3…61k? now i think 60k u can get a 2nd bmw e90.