First video of the new Need For Speed movie revealed

Here we have the first official video of next year’s Need For Speed movie, which will be fronted by Breaking Bad’s lead Aaron Paul. Michael Keaton of early Batman fame and Dominic Cooper, best known for err, various supporting roles will share the screen time.

The main protagonist will be driving a specially prepped wide-body Ford Mustang in what is said to be a “real and authentic” film about car racing culture. There are cops involved too, so it’ll likely follow the gaming series’ underground/illegal racing concept.

As you can expect from a movie inspired from a racing video game, there’s a lot of crashes and carnage. This short 60-second clip already has both a Lamborghini Sesto Elemento and a McLaren P1 meet untimely deaths, and there will be plenty more in the final movie.

The exotic supercars used in the set are all props of course, as you can clearly see in the close-up shots. Most telling is the crashed Lambo’s underside, while sharp viewers can spot the cars’ rough finishing too. Obviously these will all be touched-up in post-production before the movie opens in March 14 next year.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Lame. 2 Fast 2 Furious better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • Purely in terms of choice of cars, i find the f&f6 a bit lacking…

• frenzyaustin on Jun 11, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Fast and Furious is more on action since 4. It’s like a action movie with the most car. Fast and Furious, 2f2f and Tokyo drift is much focused on cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • mustang as the protagonist??that’s hollywood for you..

• robin LIm on Jun 11, 2013 at 5:35 pm

its just me or what,i don’t appreciate movie wrecking nice car,i feel its offending

• meng meng on Jun 11, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Wow!! Finally NFS have movie also.
    Another good movie other than F&F.
    Hope not only race, the story must also good.

• Spoiler: There is no story. Just lot of vroom vroom, boom boom and bang. The End.

• beatnik on Jun 11, 2013 at 6:46 pm

Should have put Vin Diesel in the Mustang!

• heisenberg on Jun 11, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Hey yo Mr White

• Julian Lee on Jun 11, 2013 at 6:54 pm

use BMW alpina to race better

• breal on Jun 11, 2013 at 8:19 pm

Thats a P1 at the end

• frenzyaustin on Jun 12, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Say McLaren P1 better, to avoid misunderstanding for our jaguh kampung.

• albag on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:15 pm

forget about the storyline.. those cars are worth the watch!

• jolly_idiot on Jun 11, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Looks like Fast & Furious has a better story line. But who cares. Those cars inside worth my 10 bucks ticket.

• ??? I tot need for speed was abt police n speeding cars??? :)

• Albert on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Most of the cars are replica anyway

• replicas?
      no wonder la wondering where they get a p1 since its production starts in july 2013 only.

• matrxe on Jun 12, 2013 at 9:44 am

lambo.. mclaren p1.. koenigsegg…Bugatti veyron.. and the mustang owns them all. wtf. Murica best country in the world according to hollywood.

• bekas pemain game yang dah berenti on Jun 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

yeah, crush them all! the best will win in dramatic scene. the real hero here is definitely the car. Not the people.
    Bring it! muahaha

• Dominic Cooper just isn’t ‘some’ actor! He did The Devil’s Double and you’ve obviously have not watch it yet and you bloody well should!