2014 Jaguar XF gets new 2.2 ECO2 turbodiesel engine

2014_Jaguar_XF_02

Model year 2014 Jaguar XF will get an updated version of the base 2.2 litre turbodiesel engine in the current range. The new ECO2 engine runs cleaner while using less fuel, but retains the full 163 PS and 400 Nm as before. Also new for MY14 XFs is a refreshed sat-nav unit with more search options, a smart keyboard input as well as two new exterior colours.

The Ford-sourced engine now gets enhanced with larger exhaust gas circulation valves and a revised cooling assembly. CO2 emissions are reduced by six grammes per kilometre to just 129 g/km, enough to move it to a lower tax band in Europe. Economy too has improved from 19.6 km per litre to 20.4 km/L, while its 10.5-second 0-100 km/h time is unchanged.

The same 2.2 litre turbodiesel engine is available in local distributor Sisma Auto’s Jaguar XF line-up, albeit in the more powerful 200 PS and 450 Nm guise for RM398,888. Such fitted, it gets to 100 km/h in 8.5 seconds, emits 135 g/km and averages 19.6 km/L. Read Jonathan’s drive report on the new Malaysian Jaguar model range here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jimmy on Jun 12, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Non-dominants in the market need:
    1. Outstanding safety features.
    2. Very good after-sales service.
    3. 24-hour assistance.

Must have adequate capital to run luxurious brands.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 12, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Wonder how reliable is this car and how they compete with Bimmer and Merc.

• Simon Hoh on Jun 12, 2013 at 9:32 pm

400k Jaguar gets you to 100kmh in 8.5s. 170k VW Passat does the same century sprint. Hmm…. If I’m forced to spend 400k on a car, I’ll probably get the … BMW 528 :)

• theanswer on Jun 12, 2013 at 11:01 pm

so your point is?

• Simon Hoh on Jun 12, 2013 at 11:18 pm

It will be a rare sight. I suppose there will still be people who will splurge that kind of money for some exclusivity.

• confused on Jun 13, 2013 at 12:34 am

so u judge how good a car is by how fast it gets to 100? damn…

• theanswer on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:45 am

hahah maybe can buy used evo 6..still faster than jaguar 2.2

• Simon Hoh on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:58 am

That’s why everyone loves supercars no? I’m aware the big cat looks absolutely gorgeous but for that kind of money I would expect better performance out of it.

• Alpha on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:26 am

My friend’s super lightweight turbocharged Kancil gets from 0-100 in around 5sec or less. Those who’s looking to buy a 400k Jag or 170k VW should buy his Kancil instead. It’s the best.

…according to Simon’s logic. Hehe. =)

• Simon Hoh on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Dude, I’m sure you’ll feel really safe in a Kancil that does the century in 5secs, but I’ll pass :p

• gavin on Jun 12, 2013 at 10:21 pm

I wonder if anyone realized the Santa fe r diesel produces the same numbers fur fraction of the price

• Alpha on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:28 am

I’ve never heard of anyone saying “Phew, worked my ass off and now I’m in the market for a Jaguar. What, a Hyundai’s engine produce the same power? I’d get that instead la.”

Hehe.

• 508gt power is better than this jag but at a fraction of the cost

• longjaafar on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:10 am

Another superb diesel model. And we Malaysians are deprived of clean diesel…(Supposed to be an oil producer and want to be an auto hub, konon…)

• Ahmak on Aug 31, 2013 at 11:50 am

Bro check your facts… Malaysia has never been an oil producer and will never be!!! Our very little oil is disappearing very fast that we are now into the Enhanced Oil Recovery project. However we are still lucky as we are blessed with the Tapis blend which is one of the best in the world and now it is diminishing soon…

• The same Peugeot 2.2 turbo diesel engine is in….Fords,Volvos,Citreons,Peugeots,Mazdas,Mitsubishi Outlander,and many more cars.It’s a terrific Engine….but hey….keep it quiet,wouldn’t want to spoil any illusions.Even the BMW mini has the smaller Peugeot engine.

• It’s a Peugeot engine !!!!