W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class rolls off production line

Produktionsstart für die neue S-Klasse im Mercedes-Benz Werk Sindelfingen

The first units of the W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class destined for customer garages have rolled off the Mercedes-Benz Sindelfingen Plant, officially starting customer production for the 6th generation flagship Mercedes-Benz.

There have been significant investment in the Sindelfingen Plant to prepare it to produce the new W222 – a total of 1 billion Euros have been sunk in between 2011 to 2014. A simple breakdown would be about 350 million Euros for the body shop, 130 million Euros for the press shop and 70 million Euros on the assembly line, with the rest of the investment going to other areas.

Produktionsstart für die neue S-Klasse im Mercedes-Benz Werk Sindelfingen

Among the new technologies introduced to the plant for the preparation of the W222’s production include a new manufacturing process for the aluminium lightweight roof – the roof and steel body will now only be joined once they have been through the paint shop together. An innovation in production logistics is the ‘pick-by-projector’ system, which helps employees pick parts by signalling to them which storage unit contains the component that is required. Energy consumption per vehicle has been lowered by around 20 percent, in part through improvements to the building engineering.

The S-Class is apparently not only comfortable to be in, but comfortable to make as well. Mercedes-Benz designed an ergonomic assembly line which allows assembly line workers to mount the control units on the back wall module at a height that is most comfortable for them. A lifting device does the job of transporting the component into the vehicle, taking the strain off the workers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• vicchu on Jun 12, 2013 at 11:25 pm

hope it reach Malaysia soon, like i’m going to buy these one on the spot. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • KillBox1Alpha on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:51 am

I heard if u buy 2 can get 1 free…but u have to book early…

• azrai on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:32 am

If it’s to be CKDed in Pekan by DRB-HICOM, do the same state of the art process at the German plant apply here?

• YeapyEvo on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:47 am

Rear light looks like N16 Sentra Facelift version, sure a lot wannabe change the Nissan logo to Mercedes later on

• The guy assembling that white car is kinda hot

• Hello Paul, why keep silence and never carry the Utusan frontpage news regarding the car price reduction ??? As a regular visitor to your site, it is only fair for you to highlight and find out the truth on the main stream media published with regard to automotive development in Malaysia, right?

• Utusan is shit la. They published Golf at RM167k then reduced to RM157k. Wht a joke when the original price is RM157k. Seriously, we all alrdy gave up hopes on this unreliable government.

• Jimmy on Jun 13, 2013 at 5:41 pm

The front looks ok for its class.

• tycoon88 on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Jutawan punye new toy.

I can only dream of owning one. Dunno this life got chance or not!

oh! maybe got chance buy it in year 2017 leh, Najib said harga kereta akan turun sebanyak 30% by 2017 mah :)

• Whether its here or overseas, this car is meant for executive and jutawan. Businessman alike. Normal average citizen can never have the chance to buy it unless u work hard and at least earning rm30k a month. Btw, just work hard. Dont rely on the kerajaan haram. I dont think they will reduce price. Better still, we can vote them out once and for all d next time.

• older on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Old elantra wannabe

• Johnnylim on Jun 29, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Those who say millionaire car is either naive or imbeciles.You have to be multi-millionaire to posses this car.