SPYSHOTS: Volkswagen Touareg facelift; due 2014

volkswagen-touareg-facelift-f

The latest vehicle to be caught on camera by our European spies CarPix is likely the facelifted second-gen Volkswagen Touareg, which is set for an autumn 2014 launch.

Cladding is present around the front and rear bumpers and lamps, front grille and tailgate, suggesting that changes could happen to these areas, although the depth of these cosmetic changes is yet unknown – we’re guessing they will be rather minor.

CarPix says the updated Volkswagen Touareg is expected to feature new driver assistance systems and updated infotainment devices, plus a new four-cylinder engine that could take the existing 205 hp/400 Nm 3.0 TDI V6’s place. Reports also speculate that the 245 hp/550 Nm version of that V6 is set to get a 15 hp boost for this car.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• dull

• VW Analyst on Jun 12, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Sort the DSG first. DSG failures cannot sort, want to do facelift pulak. Every other car with DSG is breaking down. On May 7th VW Germany came out with an official statement that their DSG cannot handle Asian climate and Asian traffic jams and it is prone to non stop failures. If this is so, why even export the car to Asia and Middle East? Just keep the car for cold climate countries. This would mean that every DSG VW in Malaysia is NOT suitable for our climate. VW Malaysia should be sued then. China has recalled ALL their DSG cars. Japan, Singapore and even Malaysia has done so despite years of pretending there was no problems with their DSG. Today, even Australia has filed a formal complaint against VW

http://www.caradvice.com.au/235101/volkswagen-australia-recalls-25000-cars-over-dsg-defect/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • Sam Loo on Jun 12, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Even if VW replace the DSG also, it will breakdown again and again because ALL DSG cannot tolerate heat and jams. So many customers got their DSG replaced still facing breakdowns. There should be a collective law suit against VW Malaysia.

Now all DSG VW cars got no 2nd hand value because everybody knows its a problematic car. Why pay over RM100k to be always waiting for the tow truck to come? Even cheap Perodua and Proton hardly breaksdown. Does this mean our national cars better than VW?

VW customers in Malaysia kena tipu. Try selling your car now, you will cry. Everybody knows about the DSG scandal. Customer just traded a 2012 Passat for RM95,000. But 4 months I am stuck with the Passat, so hard to sell

• Up stare, agree with u! my car is only 2 years old but i feel like driving a 10 years old car! When gear change i can hear the DSG strange sound dikdikdik… shame!

• I can see the tail lights came with those LED lights! nice.

• Jimmy on Jun 12, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Need to grow bigger next generation.
    Avoiding certain words.

• Volkswagen Touareg not using DSG… evern the current model use 8 speed automatic