Proton Tanjung Malim – we visit the Preve’s birthplace

Proton Tanjung Malim

I stand on an overhead bridge amidst flying sparks, watching a line of robotic arms viciously dart in and out of a queue of car bodyshells, looking like spider legs or octopus tentacles – whichever’s the scarier.

Their motions are natural and unnatural at the same time; life-like, yet devoid of the emotion or lethargy that plagues us mere mortals, which leads one to wonder – will robots one day usurp our roles in society?

Of course, it’s just my imagination running wild, but really, seeing an automated manufacturing plant’s operation for the first time can be a curiously unnerving and slightly frightening experience.

Welcome to Proton’s state-of-the-art Tanjung Malim facility, where the Preve and Persona are built, and so will the upcoming P3-22A hatchback. The Saga and Satria Neo are built at the main Shah Alam plant; the Exora and Inspira at the MVF (Medium Volume Factory) plant, also located in Shah Alam.

Proton Tanjung Malim

Spread out over an area of 1,280 acres, Proton Tanjung Malim is now into its first decade of operation, having begun in 2003 with the Gen 2, which is now only produced for export markets.

It was designed to accommodate a maximum annual production capacity of 150,000 cars in the long term – Proton says that with the introduction of the Preve and other new models, productivity is expected to reach the maximum level in three years’ time.

At present, a manpower total of nearly 2,500 – four-fifths of which are below 30 years of age – work in two daily shifts with over 200 robots to produce on average, 180 units of the Persona and 200 units of the Preve a day. Automation is 60% in total.

The Tanjung Malim manufacturing process involves five shops or sections: ETM (Engine and Transmission Machining), Stamping, Body Assembly, Paint and Trim & Final Assembly.

Proton Tanjung Malim

We start at the Stamping section, which boasts the largest stamping equipment in South East Asia. Here, press machines ranging from 500 to 4,600 tonnes form sheet metal into vehicle parts.

The moulded parts then go to Body Assembly, where robots spot-weld them into place to result in the Body-in-White, or BIW (essentially the empty bodyshell, without doors, bonnet or boot lid). There are also roller hemming robots (joining inner and outer closure panels) and CO2 welding robots.

After the BIWs have gone through a layout machine inspection, they continue down the conveyor belt to Painting, where preliminary coating and sealing are done, before robots apply the second and top coats.

The coloured shells now arrive at Trim & Final, where all the interior and exterior trim, chassis and wheels are fitted – as you can imagine, this is the longest and least automated line. A separate Tester Line undertakes dynamic, alignment, emissions and shower tests.

Proton Tanjung Malim

The final piece in the puzzle is that complicated bit under the bonnet – the ETM shop machines engine and transmission components. The engine parts are sent to the Shah Alam plant to be assembled, before returning to Tanjung Malim for the fitment of the cylinder head assembly. A particular car will take about two days to go through the whole manufacturing process to completion.

The Proton Preve recently achieved the maximum five-star safety rating in the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) – contributing to this is the implementation of Hot Press Forming (HPF) tech in its body.

The HPF process begins with the heating of the sheet metal to around 900°C for about five minutes. The sheet metal is then simultaneously pressed and quenched at a rate of at least 30°C per second.

The advantages include high tensile strength (up to 1500 MPa from 400 MPa in the case of manganese-boron steel), formability (more complex parts), repeatability, weldability and good energy absorption (for crashworthiness).

Proton Tanjung Malim

Of course, thicker steel could be used, but according to Proton, this would bring the weight of the BIW beyond the target 300 kg. Indeed, the Hot Press-formed Preve BIW weighs 298.8 kg, including sealant.

In total, there are eight HPF parts in the Preve – all centred around the safety cell area and all integral to impact absorption. They comprise reinforcement pillars, underfloor and bulkhead cross-members and an impact beam just behind the front bumper.

A while ago, in response to customer feedback, Proton made some slight adjustments to the C-segment sedan. These include minor ECU and TCU tweaks, as well as an adjustment to the spring rate of the throttle pedal to provide more immediate response and driving satisfaction whilst in D mode. S mode however, remains as is. Earlier Preves that have been sent in for servicing have also received this update.

Proton acknowledges that it has to keep up to speed with the growing expectations amongst customers in domestic and export markets, while improving brand perception.

To that end, the national carmaker says it has set up a Quality Improvement team consisting of members from different areas such as Quality Assurance, Production, Engineering and Procurement to address as many issues as it can at factory stage.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Those robot arms look old and tired…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 104
    • BMW Fanboi on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Preve is still a better car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 15
      • Jimmy on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:23 pm

True, if compared to Milo tins.
        A lot of people in Malaysia still choose Milo tins because Milo tins have more reliable power windows and possibly slightly better quality control(I guess), without looking at safety and size.
        I wish those who are unable to upgrade to Japanese cars from their 1st or 2nd Milo tins will eventually choose back Proton Preve when they grow older and think more wisely. Of course I wish they have the ability to afford German cars one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 65
        • BMW Fanboi on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:14 am

k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • caveman on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:25 am

Yes, it’s a milo tin that got 5 star austalia ncap safety rating. You have to go out from your cave

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
          • australian milo tin is made differently than malaysian milo tin.. you bring malaysian milo tin to aussie test, you got 0 star..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • You don’t know anything about photography

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • And you don’t know anything about robotic workers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
        • youbodok on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Robot can feel tired, genius.

=sarcasm=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
          • You sir, need to understand the meaning of “metaphor”

=sarcasm=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
          • pmrter on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:34 am

Even primary school students write better metaphor

• Suggestion then pmrter? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • phtgrer on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Are you blind? The pic is grainy and has much noise. Something to do with camera setting/lighting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • proton tanjung malim plant is one of the most advance car factory in the world..note that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 18
      • Ehem… WAS.

The time when the plant was built, it had the most advance robotic automation (1998 ~ 2003). Unfortunately, everything ages and you can’t escape anyone’s eye if one were to replace those expensive machinery. However, I don’t work there so I’ll be glad if anyone could fill in the blank stories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
      • Proton Sux on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:36 pm

I went for a visit recently and boy….

WHAT A FRIGGIN DEAD TOWN – so obvious it is UNDER UTILISED WHITE ELEPHANT…

The founder and his cronies must have made millions just to build this whole place, without giving any attention to whether this place will achieve its full potential.

Just like another Cyberjaya & Putrajaya story, build first… Think later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 40
        • damright on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:26 pm

yes. it is such a dead town that you can max a preve to it’s max speed easily. roads are so nice and empty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • superman on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:14 am

Robot being tired??? Bro u need to go back to school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Farid Apandi on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:24 am

Mmmm… all things can look ‘tired’. Some people need to read more ;-)

• estupido on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:49 pm

And some people need to think more, tired robots because being underutilised? lol

Bashing without thinking is purely stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • azrul on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:08 am

I think what his meant its matel fatiuge… engineering people know it…(sorry for bad spelling)

• VW Fan on Jun 16, 2013 at 7:56 am

these arms are highly sought after by VW AG…this Tanjung Malim plant is one of modern car assembling facilities in the region…say anything about the product (car)..but all equipments..most of them come from Germany, if not from Japan or Korea…

proton’s cars are OK…they are just not as good as other german, korea or japan cars…that is all, but they are OK…far better than any tin Milo…you know that Milo comes from one of developed countries right? :)

• Deloyd on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:50 pm

To be fair, please visit the Krony Vendors factories too…then only we know how hanky panky they are or not…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 24
  • chong on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:50 pm

ok hater, do you job now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
  • Farid on Jun 13, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Preve is the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 35
  • Thats why Proton is the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 29
  • Its better if we can see the video on how the cars are made. Just my oopinion. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Savvy88 on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:33 pm

here there are. old video but still valid to show you the picture.
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DzVzp12pbw?w=300

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • pirlo on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:39 pm

How sad that even Discovery Channel made a video about Tg Malim, but we as Malaysians keep on criticizing about it.
        I wonder whether Swedish will condemn their own Saab.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
  • Dont they have test track?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • spyshotX on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:26 pm

this is tg malim plant.. if i’m not mistaken the semi high speed test track was built besides the shah alam plant.. you can google the aerial view of the shah alam plant to see the test track..

• pirlo on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:39 pm

semi high speed test track is in Shah Alam plant. whereas Tg Malim is solely for manufacturing plant, neo, persona, preve, gen 2 were born there.

• Proton CEO on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Did you see that? Ours are bigger than P2. Next 100 years we expect to be bigger than Honda and Toyota ever had. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 23
    • _xXx_ on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:59 pm

not interested in how big your factory is. I am more interested in how good your product is…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • joanna on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Proton with their boring cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 43
    • Wisdom on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Toyota is a boring car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 17
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:57 pm

At least won’t have any unnecessary rattling sound in a new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
        • At least proton cars have better safety, with better handling and more airbags for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
          • david on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:03 pm

better safety with better handling?? hahaha….seriously, are you making a joke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 64
          • nigggaaa on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:28 pm

dude are you joking…… or went full blown retard…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • i hope there will be a video inside the proton assembly line..just like what mercedes/bmw/etc2 videos..it is strange that there is no such videos exist about proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Visitor on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Actually, there was a documentary series in Discovery(or NatGeo, I can’t really recall the channel) about technology related stuffs. One of the episodes covered about Proton assembly line, although the main point is how cars are made.

• Sounds like an advertorial.
    Bila nak jual company lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • BLUR SOTONG on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Product speak for itself .
    Not the size of the factory
    Period !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
  • Waris on Jun 13, 2013 at 2:40 pm

I’m not sure if Proton existance still relevant While hyundai and kia agressively want to conquer global market. Wat is the their target in car industry? Or their existance only to have some pieces of Malaysia domestik car market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • driver on Jun 14, 2013 at 4:42 am

I blame the government, for keep on interfering…

I do believe they are starting the catch-up plan, even thought it’s already late. But some say, better late than never. Preve is still a better buy than some of Toyota’s, but thanks to bad perception, people still being sceptical about it.

Need to put aside government’s agenda, then I think they can succeed.

• sepul on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Not many photos. Did they mention anything about vendor rationalization?

• Johnny on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:13 pm

This is my Preve! Can smoke all the cars on the road!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • Dru-Zod on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Try smokin’ a Kancil first with your superb MACAMPRO without breaking down then post here again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
      • ngker on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Yup, kancil smokes preve in the first 2 seconds, also altis and civic LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • EmpatRoda on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Proton Preve Australia achieved 5 Star Safety rating in ANCAP. Good for the Australians. How about Preve Malaysia?

• tommyyeoh on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:30 pm

What the point of having the biggest facility in SEA? when the cars you produce can’t sell well outside the country even locals here shun this product. Just take a feel of the door moulding of preve it looks so inferior and without driving it best guess its NVH is so bad. Even basic things also can’t do it right do go into other bigger important details yet. After 20 years still the same no need benchmark to the japs just compare to Koreans way ahead. How long must we continue to protect this company i wonder ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 39
    • jerry on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Door moulding story sudah basi, move on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • Die Maker on Sep 02, 2013 at 8:42 pm

huhu..they dont show the HPF (Hot Press Forming) plant..first HPF facilities in SEA region..same method that produce BIW part for VW, Pegoet, Audi and other car maker that pass 5 Star NCAP rating..FYI..preve and suprima have over 10 BIW safety part using HPF process compare to VW..there are a lot of latest technology that people doesn’t know about proton and what proton develop now for next 10 to 20 years from now..just wait and see.. =D

• driver on Jun 14, 2013 at 4:37 am

How the hell can u tell the NVH without even driving it? LOL!

• Malysian on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:38 pm

well done proton!getting better on the new model especially preve. for those proton bashier..shut up..and stop bashing..positive comment would be good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • jolly_idiot on Jun 13, 2013 at 3:50 pm

This plant should sell to VW and it should be making VW cars rather than Plotong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
  • gOOsh on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:01 pm

preve is a good car… hope proton to improve more on quality for upcoming preve hatch…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • imran on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:33 pm

We respect our national car maker

Even though there’s few things we might not like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • amran on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:00 am

Have Proton respect us car buyers?

Selling overpriced outdated fuel inefficient cars?

Bagus bungkus bankrap aje lah menyusahkan rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
      • Farid Apandi on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:28 am

Yes! That’s the word… ‘RESPECT’! Unfortunately most car manufacturers have more respect to their bottom line than us, the consumers!

• Dont buy it..wait till the price down or go get another overpriced local copy paste car. as simple as ABC.. :p

• Die Maker on Sep 02, 2013 at 8:44 pm

kalau sesimple ABC..mcm perodua..tp tu pon tak semudah ABC..

• Jenin on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Proton with their world domination fairy tales again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
  • Wisdom on Jun 13, 2013 at 4:58 pm

This is us.
    Either its good or bad.
    U complaint proton lousy, proton not good, are u good enough? global enough? productive enough.

Our product reflects on ourselves..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • spyshotX on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:41 pm

hate to admit it but actually need to agree with you on this..

our education system is in dire need of total revamp..

• EmpatRoda on Jun 14, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Proton should open it’s door to all capable Malaysians. Then the products would be the true reflections of all Malaysians!

• Sharu on Jun 13, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Are their using ABB robots in this plant…as for P2 Rawang plant most of the robots are from ABB

• Al Gorilla on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:12 pm

2003 – Beginning of plant operation
    2016 – Expected maximum level of productivity

13 years to reach maximum capacity? Sounds like bad business to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • pirlo on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:30 pm

I have to agree with you on that. During those years, the management keep on changing as well as Proton’s direction. Hope DRB will be the last owner and they can stick to the plan, a better plan. Please invest as you are currently do not attach to govt and not using rakyat money.

• shame_Loo on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Totally agree with you. What a lousy planning and ROI takes forever or never ever…….For proton cronies….they will continue to support them, but NOT for me as a smart consumer. Click dislike is fine, I don’t mind…continue enjoy your proton junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • driver on Jun 14, 2013 at 4:48 am

I respect your comment, but I blame the government, for keep on interfering… Cut out all hidden agenda, listen, be responsive, I think they can still make it.

• shame_Loo on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:19 pm

The place where the junk is produced. Like it or not, judge it yourself. My 1st 2 cars are proton, then I have to say good bye to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • kerok on Jun 13, 2013 at 8:33 pm

My 1st 2 cars are honda, it sucks, sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • shame_Loo on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:15 pm

I totally agree with you that Honda is sucks, then buy Proton, no one will stop you…….Enjoy the proton junk! It’s for you, but not for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • Dru-Zod on Jun 14, 2013 at 1:18 am

DRB is the connection

• paparazi on Jun 13, 2013 at 7:19 pm

wow a lot of good machinery… but produce ordinary cars. So pity!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • booted on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Yes with that machinery, they should produce carfly (car that can fly). That’s extra-ordinary, lol

• Absolute Rider on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:10 pm

I hope DRB will upgrade the all department facilities such as software to R&D to testing and even painting and all others when necessary. Don’t ignore all these as it is important to produce quality cars.

• kaching on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:53 pm

it doesn’t matter what car are you driving or what brand are you into, cars is liability to all of us. proton need to manage feedback fast or proton will sink into history as now they rise.

• amran on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:11 am

Proton will not sink. If failed always got Petronas EPF TabungHaji Felda Khazanah Risda to rescue bailout again and again!

• paparazi on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:25 am

Korean proud to Kia or Hyundai
        same to jap too.
        but P1 trying hard to be our real national car…

• sighs on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:38 am

They are proud because the quality improves even with Gov help and now they can sell their cars globally. When was the last time you even see a proper review of proton cars in Video Testing? At the very least, kimchis were cheap.. I think that is why we have no love for our own P1. The brand is developing so slowly even with Gov help and people are becoming fed up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • let the bashing continue, but so far i haven’t noticed any negative comments on preve, quality ka, engine ka, etc… anyway personally i really don’t like the rear design…

hatch back… hatch back… can’t wait to see the real thing…

• kaching on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:13 pm

robot..robot everywhere..sigh,,

• Preve on Jun 13, 2013 at 11:43 pm

how come you didnt visit the QC section at the plant?

• Proton should be shut down,totally unfit to be a player in automotive industry.So what if they have a big capacity factory,it’s totally underutilised.I am sure they are running it at a loss and pumping the peoples money into it.so better close down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • paparazi on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:32 am

be patient dude, need to look after P1 employees, if shut down, their engineers go nowhere…

• Sometimes small sacrifices are necessary for the well being of others.Even if it seems cruel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • amran on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:12 am

Good factory but produce wrong cars…should let Kia Hyundai Toyota to assemble cars there to full capacity!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • sparcov on Jun 14, 2013 at 8:33 am

Please drive a preve first before complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • zainal abidin on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:03 am

Government tax aside. Whatever it is it all boils down to the vendors.
    You can compare the genuine Lancer 2.0 GT and Inspira for example. How come the front brake discs of the Inspira makes the steering vibrates when braking? And friends who drives genuine Lancers do not have a problem with this ‘brake judder condition’? And friends who drives Preve CFE too have had their cars front brake discs replaced due to brake judder and abnormal noise.

Of course,as always,the vendors will keep blaming Proton ‘for giving a low quotation’ or for not checking @ for a product and Proton will keep blaming vendors for supplying ‘sub-quality’ parts. Hate to say this, but at the end of the day,these vendors make Proton look bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • rajaGlobal on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:03 am

it might be vendor or QC or the production staff not up to the high standard…. as most of it solved when replaced by svc ctr mechanic…

• sighs on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:40 am

What happened to checking incoming materials? Isnt that a basic QC procedure? come on… stop looking for excuse and play the blame game. All this sandiwara is not going to hide anything.

• clemenza on Jun 14, 2013 at 9:39 am

teruk betul mentaliti basher ni..kalu proton sure hentam kaw2..ingat kereta lain takde prob ker..cube masuk FB dan masuk group geng VW..hari2 komplen pasal DSG (damned stupid gearbox)xde plak nak bising2..apalah

• sammyloo on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:03 am

Can we see how Ispira being made?

• Pak Joule on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:31 am

Drive it to belive it..
    Preve is much better than other 1.6 Proton cars. They learn their mistakes.

Nak lawan kereta jenama lain mana bleh..Diaorang dah buat kete dulu.. Apalah you all ni..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • kaching on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Pak, kita suma support proton,,mengharap proton antara kebanggan kita mcam Kia dan Hyundai yang menjadi kebanggaan rakyat Korea. Jepun pun sama, Jadi, tak kira diaorang buat keta dulu atau lebih berpengalaman..persaingan tu perlu sebagai rujukan, sekarang preve bukti proton x nak mengalah dan dh sedar kesalahan dan kelemahan proton.

• johnnywat on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Proton can make it! Now that they are no longer under the government’s direct control (DRB-Hicom), they may just make it.

Frankly, I am sick and tired of Proton, how many billions they’ve siphoned from government coffers, and how shitty in general their cars are. The Preve is a good start, but the rest of their lineup are still utter shit.

But I also wish for Proton to prosper. It can only mean good things for Malaysia if they do. Proton has the potential to be a source of national pride, but so far they’ve squandered all opportunities.

DRB-Hicom has been in the auto business long enough to know what to do with Proton. Maybe the next Satria R3 will be a halo car we can all be proud of?

• Norman on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Heard from reliable source they’re in process of making new engines.Theres a new type of turbo 1.6 engine producing 150hp/230nm on the way too

• Jason on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Dato zainal abidin is the best.

• Shido on Jul 13, 2013 at 8:14 am

I already see this car, before i retired from vendor of proton, 3 of part part switches proton preve its my design, the new car for hvac car its follow batch mark mazda, cool i already see this car, Its smart like vip car, to me now new proton car starting from saga BLM more improvement thay do proton best of comment form customer…

• Enigma on Oct 10, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Want new robotic arms? No problem. Once these arms are replaced with new onces, the cost of the car will only increase to cover cost. Then the consumers wont be happy. What we need is a safe & reliable car with low cost.