C217 Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe – new exterior details and first glimpse of interior

Mercedes-CL-S-Class-Coupe-Spyshots-17

These latest batch of spyshots of the upcoming two door coupe version of the Mercedes-Benz S-Class reveals more details on how the successor to the C216 CL-Class will look like, and best part of all we have a glimpse into the interior as well.

From the image above we can see that the front end will have a similiar nose to the SLS AMG and CLS-Class – slightly retro-looking with a large Mercedes-Benz star in the middle and a single horizontal thick bar going across the grille.

Mercedes-CL-S-Class-Coupe-Spyshots-12

The rear view of the new S-Class Coupe shows a further departure from the sedan’s looks. When it came to the W221 versus the C216, both cars had tail lamps that flanked the boot lid, though the elements were shaped quite differently.

For the new C217, we can see from the spyshots that it will have tail lamps that extend onto the boot lid area, which is quite different from the new W222, which by the way was conveniently captured next to the new S-Class Coupe in the shot above.

Mercedes-CL-S-Class-Coupe-Spyshots-20

We also get a glimpse into the interior, which reveals a look generally pretty similiar to the S-Class sedan interior but with some differences. For one, the round clock in between the center air conditioning vents is now gone. The steering wheel has three spokes instead of two.

The entire area surrounding the air cond vents has been replaced with leather instead of wood panelling, which is a different that we saw in the previous generation of both cars as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• When the interior spyshot of der W222 Sonderklasse came up I wasn’t much liking the interior, especially the air-cond vents which I though would scare off anyone with arachnophobia. Now its revealed it looks absolutely gorgeous and this one is just fabulous in white! easily the interior of the decade, definitely Interior of the year.

• Jimmy on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:36 pm

More ‘classic English’ hue interiorly will be best, macam Rolls Royce.

• neemfa on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:26 pm

omg the dashboard looks absolutely trick! (if its real)

• Anon Kneemas on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:34 pm

I must say the interior looks even better without the de rigeur center analogue clock and with the three spoke tiller. I predict the wheel will be a popular retrofit item.

• echlon on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:59 am

Why they cover the car, is it too fugly? It’s fail even before launching, lol

• cramble on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:23 am

Aircond vents look like those in neo and saga. They copied proton!

• After S-Class coupe, E-Class coupe, C-Class coupe, what’s next? SL-Class sedan and CLK-Class sedan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9