Peugeot 2008 output to double due to high demand

Peugeot 2008-14

Peugeot will double production of the 2008 crossover in France to meet higher-than-expected demand, reports Automotive News. According to brand CEO Maxime Picat, PSA Peugeot Citroen‘s Mulhouse plant will add a second shift in September to build 10,000 units of the B-segment SUV a month, up from 5,000.

The Peugeot 2008 seems to be off to a good start. “We have 16,000 orders, mostly coming from dealerships where the 2008 wasn’t even presented,” Automotive News quotes Picat as saying.

Analyst IHS Automotive has told Automotive News Europe that the 2008 would quickly overtake the Nissan Juke to lead the subcompact SUV segment, which it says will surpass half a million in terms of sales by 2015. That’s nearly 70% up from 2012.

200,000 Peugeot 2008s are expected to be sold in 2015, with half of that number built in Mulhouse for Europe and other markets (apart from South America and China). 45,000 will be made in Brazil, and the remainder in China.

Analyst JATO Dynamics says 38,383 Nissan Jukes and 25,853 Opel/Vauxhall Mokkas were sold from January to April this year, No 1 and No 2 in the segment respectively. IHS expects the newly-launched Renault Captur to take the Mokka’s spot, adds the report.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Azmil on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:46 am

Where is show room in Malaysia? I love to know further about the car.

• captain obvious on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:28 pm

azmil, do u have internet connection? can google “peugeot malaysia”. go into their website and check for showroom locations. go to the showroom, ask the salesman can i see the 2008, he tells u he don’t know what is 2008, u go home. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • or he can call their careline at 1-800-88-6292 to find out. it is free. just need a bit of effort to 1) pick up the phone, 2) dial the number, 3) speak to the person and ASK. not so difficult right?

• Looks like a dead fish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • simon on Jun 14, 2013 at 7:03 pm

went to sg pinang 3S last week. I wanted to buy the anti-theft lock for my wheels. The service front desk person didn’t know what is that at all, and had to ask the technician. Only the technician can place the order, then why we need the service person???

• lobservateur on Jun 14, 2013 at 7:55 pm

simon, i can’t see the connection between the article and your recent visit to their 3S.

so what’s your point, really?

• intermilan on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Just want to bad mouthing Nasim / Peugeot… biasa lah orang macam ni..

• car lover on Jun 14, 2013 at 2:29 pm

nice pretty car. wonder when will arrive in malaysia?