Proton Saga SV launched – from RM33,438 OTR

Proton_Saga_SV_002

As we reported on Thursday, a new Proton model variant has been introduced – as intimated, it’s Saga-based, although it has a new suffix. The Proton Saga SV was officially launched at the Proton Edar Platinum Showroom in Mutiara Damansara earlier this morning.

The Saga SV, the acronym standing for Super Value, becomes the cheapest Proton currently available. A Proton spokesman said it is not meant as a replacement for the FLX Standard variant, which from RM38,361 (manual, solid), comes with additional minor kit such as first aid kit, safety triangle, tinted windows, luggage tray, door visor and trunk lid cover.

Incidentally, the more eagle-eyed will notice that the car features both FLX and SV badging on the tailgate. The car is part of the Saga FLX model range, but will simply be known as the Saga SV.

Proton_Saga_SV_003

To those curious as to the whereabouts of the “FLX+” that was part of the ASEAN NCAP phase one testing programme, it’s likely an internal code to designate the improvements made to the range, of which the Saga SV is part of.

The car is ASEAN NCAP three-star rated, and features a number of safety improvements. It now features two airbags, and both front and rear impact aspects have been upped – the front features a new bumper beam and additional reinforcement, while the rear bumper gets packed with foam.

Also on, a reinforcement “V” bar in the rear bulkhead that separates the boot from the cabin. The front door also features side impact reinforcement bars, while the centre pillar has also been strengthened. All these safety improvements have been implemented across the entire Saga FLX range, with some being quietly introduced some months back.

The rear centre lap seatbelt has been replaced with a three-point seatbelt, and the front seatbelts now have pre-tensioners. The Saga SV also features a child restraint anchorage for the rear seats.

No mechanical changes to the powertrain – the car is equipped with the same 94 hp and 120 Nm 1.3 litre CamPro IAFM mill as found on the rest of the FLX range. Equipment on the Saga SV includes a single-DIN CD player, reverse sensor and 13-inch steel wheels.

On the exterior, the SV goes the same route as the FLX Standard, with unpainted door handles and side mirror covers and no fog lamps. The rear garnish is now unpainted while the tail pipe finisher has been removed.

With that, let’s get to the pricing – the Proton Saga SV is available in both manual and CVT versions; the manual goes for RM33,438 (solid) and RM33,888 (metallic), while the CVT is priced at RM36,438 (solid) and RM36,888 (metallic), all on-the-road with insurance. That’s almost RM5,000 cheaper than the FLX Standard 1.3, the previous entry-level Saga.

At the launch, the company took great pains to reiterate the point made by Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim earlier in the week, which was that the Saga SV’s low price was achieved through value analysis and engineering, with no cut in safety, quality and comfort. Proton said that the new price is not a margin cutting exercise, nor is it a promotion, discount or a rebate.

Six colours are available for the car, these being Solid White, Elegant Brown, Tranquility Black, Fire Red (previously exclusive to the Saga 1.6 SE), Genetic Silver and Blue Rock. The Proton Saga SV comes with a three-year/100,000 km warranty.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• watever on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Anyone still prefer viva than this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 490 Thumb down 73
    • dugong on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:35 pm

viva elite auto is 41k. hmmm how much is perutdua making for each car? 200% profit?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 364 Thumb down 20
      • more than that on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:42 pm

More than that. Maybe 300-400%

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 289 Thumb down 9
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 247
          • Viva RM25k with no alarm, no rear wiper, no central lock, no audio, no power windows and the most unacceptable was lack of 3 door switches. HA HA HA… :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 238 Thumb down 8
          • and comes with lack of power 660cc engine..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 6
          • Jimmy on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:14 am

Why does everyone get excited about Proton? Everytime Proton article, there is at least 200 over comments. Don’t people know Proton is ripping them off? Long before Proton came about, everyone could afford good Japanese cars for about RM20,000. Inflation the past 20 years have at the most increased that to say RM30,000 because globally, car prices have come down due to competition despite slowly increasing yearly due to inflation. So, in todays world, you could get a brand new Datsun 130Y or a Mazda 323 of the 80s for about RM30,000. So, Malaysians are pretty bodoh to be paying so much for a Malaysian CKD made car. By right a higher quality Japanese car is so affordable but to protect Proton, government tax all other cars heavily. They tax Proton also but that is to show drama to the public. To convince the public they are fair and they tax across the board. In reality, why car prices are so expensive is because of the protectionism given to low quality car maker Proton. In the real competitive world, Proton would have failed long ago because it has ZERO safety. Jeremy Clarkson condemns it not for fun, he condemns it because it is a dangerous car. All UK car magazines also condemn it because it is a dangerous car. Australia officially declares Proton as a loser car maker that makes dangerous cars. So, Proton long ago would have died. It is because Government is protecting them and all the crony vendors that supply Proton its parts. Research carefully and you will see, nearly every parts vendor to Proton is a relative of a cabinet minister or a crony. Don’t you feel ashamed that we are compromised and given dangerous cars to drive in? Aren’t our lives important to the government? Most fatalities are always Proton cars, why is that so? It is not because ethere are most Protons on the road. It is because the car is worse than a Milo tin can.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1028 Thumb down 819
          • pakdo on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:35 pm

viva rm25k for 660cc… new saga 1300 cc..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 12
          • bumblebee on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:00 am

Did you use transformers autobot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Toe To Toe on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 294 Thumb down 508
        • _xXx_ on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:33 pm

so wat next?…preve sv? no wonder so many models…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 64
          • This is variant, not model. Go and bash other auto makers that make new model but using same skin!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 13
        • driver on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:54 pm

LOL! You can get cheaper without excise..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 28
      • Jason on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Viva S auto only RM 35 k otr

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 150 Thumb down 149
        • Space Cop Gaban on Jun 16, 2013 at 3:10 am

Dun forget viva s only 1.0 maa… tell me if viva upgraded to 1.3 later..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 111
          • Savvy88 on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:58 am

Viva S not even 1.0, it’s 850 cc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 125
          • pirlo on Jun 16, 2013 at 9:55 am

no bro. viva s is 1.0L.

http://paultan.org/2013/03/13/perodua-launches-s-series-viva-myvi-alza/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 7
          • ARE-DY on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:35 am

Viva come with 90 degree open door..can carry 6Kilo washing machine and also frozen 1 door..no need to rent 1tan lorry..saga can?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 76
          • aida lee jamaludin on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:01 am

i think the new saga is more better then viva,not expensive,big one..
            bgi saya yg b’pndapatan sederhana,saga sy mampu milik. bgi yg kurang b’kemampuan utk memiliki kereta,yg memilki keluarga,saga is 1st choice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
        • Alahai Viva S.

1.0L only with 12 inch steel wheel and ……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
      • perodua use tin milo metal also want to sell high price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 30
        • Jimmy on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Proton made a good move, safer with 2 airbags and bigger size.
          Mr Najib should think about it: majority of his supporters voting for him are the largest cutomer groups for these Proton cars; if a company makes hugh profits(I am not saying ‘the company’ is Proton, in case youngsters do not read comments with brain), should the employees enjoy better benefits as well, iaitu, should the supporters deserve cheaper and safer Protons? Think about it, and think about all Malaysians, the rakyats.
          As I said, this first step is a good move.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 229 Thumb down 132
          • Jimmy on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:14 pm

Oh almost forgotten, our friends who need to pay RM3000 three thousand ringgit for transportation fee, is this a reasonable fee?
            In some cases, the differences is less than two thousand ringgit, true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 114
        • bkn tin milo,tp alumn foil haha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 24
        • People who keeps on saying Proton and Perodua using tin milo is sooo in 1990’s. Even Mercedes or Ferrari’s body are not so tough. Have u learnt physics? Only 1990s cars like Volvo have very rigid body, tough and heavy as steel. Current cars have that ‘tin milo’ body to absorb crash impact, what’s important is the crumple zone, to protect the occupants. Please change your mentality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 349 Thumb down 152
          • Mr.Dee on Jun 17, 2013 at 2:28 am

GT3, yeah.. agree with you there. They keep talking and absorbing “others” talks without thinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 75
          • cruelladevil09 on Jun 17, 2013 at 3:37 pm

viva accidents always deadly.. lucky enough to breath after accident

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
          • heyyo on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:20 pm

You are right, but only certain parts of the car are made of softer material. Usually at the front and rear part of the car.

Everything that is inside the car structural frame should be rigid, even the side door. (If the side door is like tin milo, for sure the passenger will die if got in side collision).

The problem with our beloved local cars are that, all part are of soft material. Or at least, softer than other major brands car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
          • you mean crumpled zone around the car. If like that the passenger oso got crumpled one.

• Tesla-tech on Nov 06, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Hey stupid dickhead, “milo can” car such as the stupidest Proton+g not juz absorbing the impact of momentum in accident, it also ‘absorb’ your life to death according to Protongong’s unsafely car ever built. learn phsics 1st, go back to school madaf, this is more than F=mv (momentum=mass X velocity) this is about the QUALITY, metal sheet grade,chassis, all auto parts that Protong and Perutdua use to built their cars, “crony did their best to kill Malaysians and get highest profit margin as possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
        • flat_tire on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:00 pm

viva.. jentik sket dah kemek.. hahaha..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 19
          • come on on Jun 24, 2013 at 3:33 pm

sama la mcm proton jugak.. xde beza pn..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
        • cruelladevil09 on Jun 17, 2013 at 3:35 pm

tin milo is harder.. tin biskut hup seng is more appropriate to say XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
          • yes..but i see that the whole proton/perodua car is the crumple zone..ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
          • starts on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:13 am

ANCAP must hire you to do the test, you can give rating only by seeing, don’t have to run crash test, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • dugong on Jun 30, 2013 at 11:35 pm

U mean tin coca cola?

• Wrong, Proton take People’s money make the car one…so on their is 0 Cost !

• The ViVa is in the A-segment, it is much smaller than the B-segment Saga SV. It would not be fair to compare both cars because the Saga has a massive size advantage. Proton has no A-segment product currently, the Savvy was discontinued 2 years ago.

The MyVi is in the B-segment, but the cheapest version is RM41,924. The cheapest Saga is RM8,486 less than the cheapest MyVi. Both cars are ASEAN NCAP 3-star rated, both are 1.3, but the Saga is more practical (more boot space) and of course, cheaper. However, the Myvi has the upper hand in refinement and ergonomics (especially on the interior). Idk about the reliability, but resale value for both cars are equally good.

One thing’s for sure, we will be seeing A LOT of Saga SV on the roads in the near future, no doubt about that ! haha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1015 Thumb down 404
      • harris murad on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:02 pm

well said bro.
        referring to para 3, definitely!
        now this is value!

(of course, if it can be cheaper the better. people’s car maa:))

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 7
      • kucca on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Saga is based on a stretched Proton Savvy platform, redesign whole exterior and interior with new engine. Its actually Savvy Sedan …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 14
        • and savvy is actually a very good and durable car. Only perception failed it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 13
          • Dont bluff la. Of the thousands sold, how many u still see on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 123
          • agree.. I own the AMT hi spec model with ABS. Love the car, can drive at 160kmh without any issue due to renault engine. Stable as well. Only problem is the SC. now i sent to renault specialist instead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
          • gOOsh on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:26 am

agreed!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • aiyaaa amoi!! dont be so kiasu wan laa.. where got bluff wan.. he said sawi gud and durable car.. not cheap and affordable car like viva wan.. some more u so scare of a car not in production anymore aa.. your viva s can call viva sk lorr.. super kiasu hehehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
          • Durable? You still see many Kancils on the road. That’s durable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
          • no lah all is because fregile engine (like taking care women sensitivity) of cause if take care thru manual book … is also good car with good fuel consumption.

• theanswer on Jul 08, 2014 at 8:55 am

plus, the pricing…small city car..price like saga.

• Alson P on Jun 16, 2013 at 1:02 am

And how about Preve is based on a stretched Proton Exora platform…. redesign whole exterior and interior with “same engine”…. But not actually exora sedan…. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 40
        • azermalak on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:12 am

Yep, thats correct but too bad Saga design is not savvy like Savvy……….too conservative and downright boring exteriorly and interiorly albeit good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • PetrolHead on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Surely, cheap doesn’t always comes good. Anyway it still a good choice for a starter. No need to think about repairing since it has warranty. If anythings goes wrong, just go for claim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
        • QChan on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:08 am

Not really-lar….. My sister’s Persona (2 yrs) had a broken switch sensor (can’t remember which switch!) but was told that this item is not under warranty – what a big joke, man! So my Sis paid up. A mockery of warranty claims.

In other words, not everything is under warranty – normal wear and tear items I can understand, but a switch sensor!?? I guess it’s wide open to SC’s interpretation….

5 years warranty sounds like great marketing tool. Proton should list down what is under warranty and what is not exactly!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 8
          • Allen on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Was the car did all the interval service at Proton Edar service branch/dealer?

Never skip a single service?
            If so, this can be reported to Proton We Care for sure.

If she din service her car in Proton Edar branches/dealers, too bad then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
          • Mig29 on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Yup, you are right. I believe some electronics is only one year warranty, but some extended to 2 years. I faced the same experience but luckily only few weeks nearly warranty expired. 5 years warranty doesn’t mean everything is covered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • S.Roma on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Dear QChan,

There must be a reason, there is no manufacturer in the world can have waranty for all item u know?

obviously u and ur sis didnt read the manual :)

• frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 8:05 pm

For reliability, I think it is better than a Proton, it has advantage of reliability from daihatsu which from Toyota. From all my cousin and friends who own a Perodua, all complain about boring car but quality is wise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 58
        • JuruTerai on Jun 16, 2013 at 1:14 pm

If they don’t fully cap the ‘makan suap’ business culture, they will continue what they’re well known at… producing laughable (quality) cars. Please go and check how’s the working culture at Samsung Seremban, and remember don’t try to bring them for a paid lunch! That’s how Samsung rocks the world now, just few years after hitting the ground in late 90’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • JeremyNg on Jun 16, 2013 at 1:06 am

Reliable ? when you buy a Proton you need to pray very hard that the QC is doing his job and you need some luck.

I own a Saga BLM 2010, I had an engine issues (the engine jerking and vibrating like hell, sometime when u press de accelerator the engine is not accelerate). It took Proton almost a year to fix the problem, they not sure about the problem and they just use “try and error” method to solve it; they even send my car to Melaka HQ to check it but still no idea whats the problem with it. Until the day before election, the CamPro gave up 100%.

Good news is my car still under 3 years warranty so they will fix it for free but the only problem is I dont hv so much time to visit Proton every month. So far, my car changed 60% of the engine included the head, injection parts, manual gearbox spring, door arm holder, rear brake, one of the plactic inside the dashboard (wind noise when hit 100km/h with aircond on) and etc. some of the problem is there before i collect my car.

I wrote this not to said that Proton car is unreliable, I am just the unlucky one to receive the defect product and Thanks proton for not giving up my car while i gave up on it LOL

Buy a car need luck too !! I saw a Porsche cayenne, BMW 6 series and a Passat broke down on the street too

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 292 Thumb down 3
        • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 7:49 am

for this kind of price no need to expect more from it,
          but I love Proton Wira than this Proton Saga ..,
          100kmh steering already rattling compared to old wira 140kmh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 15
          • Allen on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Already check the wheel balancing/alignment?

Else, it must be driver’s issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
          • fatihablack on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:29 am

I own proton saga…i’ve drive it reaching 170km/h several times without any rattling steering..do u check the car’s alignment n balancing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
          • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:12 am

yes and yes ,
            all standard rolling in standard rims with Yokohama ADrive wrapped .
            I already went many tyres shop and they said this saga need more “ultra racing stuff” to tighten the body so that the steering will not rattling too much .

Dear Allen n fatihablack, is your car standard or change your rims already ?

All my services done as schedule,
            so whats wrong with my Saga ?

• Myvi’s interior refinement is better than the Saga?? With all the uneven dashboard lines and doors vibrate on uneven roads, you gotta be kidding me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 34
    • i prefer this than viva at any times!! at any cost!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 84
    • Ke$ha on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:08 pm

The price doesn’t justify the car.
      This car looks like it belongs within the 25K-28K range.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 138 Thumb down 126
      • driver on Jun 15, 2013 at 8:00 pm

that was the plan. to have it reduced to that price range, but some of us prefer to have the tax retained.

but this is definitely the best for value we can get … so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 76
      • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 7:54 am

wahhh so cheap ahh ,,
        25k range – u need to excercise more bro , as there is no power steering,no power window, no central locking,no alarm … and use tiny fan (no A/C)
        -a good exercise for big tummy guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 35
        • hahao on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:31 am

never read but want to speak up. shame on you. saga SV has ALL the things that you have mentioned with ‘NO’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 53
          • laaaa on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:34 pm

he’s talking about if the car is sold at 25k, then those things wont be available…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
          • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:29 am

hahao..
            bro, who the one doesnt read well ?
            try read mine again and the comment i replied to ..

doublecheck 101 :)

• i use old iswara with no the specs u mentioned, yet im still alive..but u still got no point xtually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
          • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:15 am

hi sasa, i bet your hands are tough :)
            good exercise rolling down your car’s windows ..

my point here is, for cheaper price range RM25k below means that there will be less equipment available..

if u want , try request one just like your old saga .. maybe can get less than RM25k

:)

• are u stone or what? LOL

• Hmm 33k suite the look of this car! i think the Viva should be around 15k!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 13
    • if my bx silver still not available, i will buzzing at proton dealers to have a look for this SV… perhaps i opt to… drive it out of the showroom legally… don’t care lah about its ‘yayy’ dashboard if the price is ‘nice’ to my budget :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • i prefer buy viva or myvi , i wont to buy proton….because proton cars many problem…service centre working slow….no facilities

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:20 am

too many problem maybe depend on the driver ,
        its cheap doesnt mean u can drive the car in rough condition..

for the service centre, maybe needs abit work for proton to improve their service , but im afraid if they did that the service charge will be abit more expensive ..

• FormerProtonUser90 on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:09 pm

So charge a bit more for service. Perodua does that and seems to work fine for them.

The issue with Proton’s has never been pricing, they’ve always been competitive (albeit with tax protection). However, Perodua didn’t just become the no.1 manufacturer in our country overnight. They actually put in the effort to do proper QC and give reliable service.

I have 3 family members who have sold their Proton cars within 2 years of buying due to constant issues. People are buying Myvis and Vivas not because they are better cars, they’re just more reliable cars.

If Proton can fix the QC and SC, people will ditch Perodua in no time. But history has proven that Proton always has their priorities in the wrong places.

• I thinking to buy a car and trade in my Atoz. Can anyone give me and advise should I go for Proton Saga SV 1.3 (manual or auto) or myvy 1.3. for 6 to 8 years?

• Maaajeeedaaa on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 361
    • dugong on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:36 pm

then go buy paper door car viva.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 18
      • Paper car door viva also cannot get at 18 to 22k.

Maybe can if they omit the paper doors. hahaha…

• Mat Global on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Can anyone let me know in Asean countries the price of a proper small saloon car (1.3) can get cheaper than this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
      • A better question should be are there any asean car as small and as crappy as this junk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 118
        • fellas on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:35 am

It’s not small, good enough for 4 people and 400l boot is big enough for balik kampung purpose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:23 am

yeah bro , have u heard u rubbish cheapest car?
          TATA NANO ?

price less then RM10k i think ,
          no radio, no A/C ( base spec) , no airbag,
          small,

just a little bit better than a bike as it may save u from major scratch but usually accident will crush you like tin sardin

• saga lover on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:14 am

i know about TATA NANO made by TATA GROUP from india..that car cost around rm8k without any accessories and come with if not wrong 11″ wheel..that car just like a motorcycle but can equip 4 people..very pathetic car..

• Did you just scan the above article for the prices and not actually care to read the whole thing? Its a B-segment car with decent safety credentials and standard equipments. Last time i checked only the Viva Elite costs below RM35k and that is a much smaller car to start with.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
    • dugong on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:49 pm

How bout u start a company and build a similar size sedan n sell to me at 18k?
      Cheaper price also complain….smh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 13
    • labulabi on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:59 pm

ok, i’ll sell to you my gen2, 20k cw ngv system. really gonna save ur pocket!! mau? mau? kalo x mau, beli moto je la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • So u can drive with body car only…

• Toe To Toe on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:00 pm

#apalagimaaajeeedaaamau

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • kaching on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:19 pm

whhaaa…??? for frst hand car? well, car is not for you, go buy motocycle, much cheaper..like me!! he3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • At least much cheaper than kotak Viva and much more space and better look.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • come on on Jun 24, 2013 at 3:47 pm

but if u want more space i suggest u to buy proton juara. more space + better look2.. suits u very well…proton made..=)

• Veneno on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:26 pm

then go for your retard milo tin viva..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
    • Maybe your english is the reason why you can’t get a higher paying job. Just a hint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • JeremyNg on Jun 16, 2013 at 1:10 am

The problem with this dude, want everything free or cheaper but refuse to pay. Maybe even worst, refuse to pay income tax honestly ?? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • nonika on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:38 pm

haha.. guna la kenderaan awam kalau x mampu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • amadeo on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:12 pm

hmm.. interesting price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
  • tok guru on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Kudos Proton! Keep it up!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 34
  • backlash on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Summon @Aero to give some view. Honest one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • meng meng on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:32 pm

If down price without less spec. We will thumb up.
    Now our gov, will say janji ditepati, car really down price!!!!———–with less spec!
    (Humm… i see, down price ada banyak banyak jenis cara)
    P1 supporter get this car faster!
    Do it dont only say it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 83
    • meng meng on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Sorry, i keep back wat i said before.
      I din read properly.
      This saga with 3 star ncap. With other improvement.
      Really super value.
      Sorry for my missunderstanding.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 10
    • If you are saying the Saga SV (the image of a Diablo SV still pops up in my mind which is totally unrelated, i know) is less well equipped than before, please enlighten us what equipments have been taken out to make the price lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Eyesore on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Which spec has been reduced? All i see is additional spec… the only reduction is paint on the door handle and rear garnish, fancy finishing on tailpipe n steel rim… that are not downspec…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • ntah.. on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:37 pm

what a nice upgrade! proton don’t just simply give “painted centre cluster” “se bumper” “new interior colour” or any other bullshit.. that’s a genuine solid upgrade from the previous one, although most of them are not visible to our naked eyes, but improve the overall performance of the car.. goodjob proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 12
  • cress on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:39 pm

The accessories omitted you can get at abang shop with much cheaper price. What the fuss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • poor to the previus saga flx owner..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • MrDDR on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:28 pm

You can only choose one
      a) Poor to previous buyer
      b) Good for new buyer.

When people ask for car price to be reduce than this will be happen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 1
    • ayam reaallly butthurt seeeing this car cos I bought the saga std last yearr!! ayam crying noww!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Actually I was looking forward today’s launching. But why not launching the executive type? Anyway, quite attractive price for this new Proton SV. Keep it up and hope the executive type will be launched soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • FLX user on Jun 17, 2013 at 1:01 am

yah… lots of specs losing…
      Executive will be more attractive to me.
      Better equipped Proton SV with fog lamp and side mirror controller la… no more ABS and EBD… sad……

• Actually standard saga also does not equipped with ABS and EBD.. it’s only available on Saga executive.. It’s even comes with single airbag. Saga SV comes with dual airbags

• Connex Palkon on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:48 pm

it’s going to be a hot seller, that’s for sure. there are so many not-so-rich people out there who needs some wheels, out of necessity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
  • Punya la budget Saga SV or super veloce.
    Will saga go into the “turbo” line like the Preve and Exora siblings. Could do with a 1.3 turbo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • A Saga 1.6 Turbo makes more sense for me than a Saga Executive for the price of a Persona.

Some people like small but fast cars, they don’t wan’t bigger cars for any reason.

And on the other hand a Saga Turbo would lift the public image of the whole Saga range (Possibly). ;)

• I have sold my flx se after using it for 14 month. Seriously, dont buy this car. After 3 month brake sound klak klak. They took 3 month to receive new set. Vendor problem. Pusat service also suck. When ask, they said “encik saman aje kita lagi senang” teruk oooooo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 43
        • Agree 100% brother.Eventhough proton recently improve a lot, but still in terms of QC and service its still rank the last for most Malaysia (don,t deny it proton fans). I ha e a friend who just bought a exora for a week get broke down just because of one silly problem, the battery connector screw get loose in the midway of going to work, quite embrassing. Proton better get serious in this minor inspection .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
          • butang on Jun 16, 2013 at 9:50 am

the car got break down which means the engine can’t be started right? when the engine running, it is impossible for the engine to turn off suddenly as the electrical items were run by alternator. battery is needed for engine starting purpose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • eh.. My sis Saga executive does not have any issue until now.. bought on january.

• rashukhan2 on Jul 07, 2013 at 12:12 pm

Persona come with 4 speed AT but Saga SE come with 6 speed CVT

• jolly_idiot on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm

I wonder will other player like toyota, honda, nissan all will join the price cut game?

Seems like p1 and p2 who is making the janji dicapati for bn. We rakyat still have to stick with local made?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
    • you want to be different. so you sure got extra money. then u shud be taxed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
      • jolly_idiot on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:20 am

Are we not paying tax buying proton? Come on dude.

I don’t think many here wanted to just settle down with this SV.

Btw, I’m curious on what car r u driving? P1 or p2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Your name really suits you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • JeremyNg on Jun 16, 2013 at 1:11 am

Never for Honda and Toyota…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Payne on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 137
    • they said will reduce about 10% not RM10k… if the car current price was about RM100k they will reduce about RMM10k for 10% price cut

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
      • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 7:58 am

go make your car company mehhh,,
        why bother so much …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Se sampah-sampah Proton, takde la sebusuk Perodua.

Ada Perodua berani turun sampai RM5000????

If Perodua dares to do it, then only I can agree with you.

• nonika on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:48 pm

kau tu yang sampah.. ko ingat proton buat kreta pakai plastik ka.

• Kenny on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Anthony, Blue Rock is not a new color. It was available for Saga FL.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Ah, the release specifically highlighted that the shade was “the latest edition” to the Saga SV’s exterior colour list, which was taken to mean new addition to that. I’ve revised the line accordingly.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:10 pm

After owning a Saga FLX since last year August, No more Proton for me! The quality of this car is very very terrible! I rather get a 2nd hand car than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 112
    • say who? on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:02 pm

are you sure or not? i’m using saga flx also maa. the quality is decent… unless you drive it like a rally in the deep forest then your saga flx will be tercabut2 skru…

btw can you give me some example which part is you think that saga flx is poor quality? if you dare…

SAGA BLM/FL/FLX are good car actually. Hope this SV can prove than the quality are more higher than before models..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 17
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:36 pm

woops, i mean average top rev is 2.5 k, average everyday rev is 1.5k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • toffeemoose on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Tumpang add also..I bought the first batch of BLM (2008) auto for my wife…

within a year (or 2)
          1) leaking power steering
          2) The glove compartment (dashboard) handle broke..causing us heartache on how to retrieve some of the items inside
          3)So damn bloody underpowered..
          4) Engine has to strain and revved so high..(the engine noise…aiyoh…am I driving a bus or lorry???)…ridiculously high..especially since my place is a hilly area..always stop->move slope upward
          5) So many freaking facelift and model variants…I really regretted buying the first batch…my RV kena knocked down so many times..next time I will never be the first guinea pigs to buy any Proton products…just not worth it to show any form of loyalty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 22
        • say who? on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:57 pm

wow…you must be sooooo unlucky la… the one who pasang/check your car is very lazy person laa…
          that is one problem of proton, 1/10 car mesti miss properly QC… mau ketuk aje QC worker tu…

btw I own 1st batch FLX…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • frenzyaustin on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:14 am

That’s why I said I will avoid Proton if I can, I afraid I will be the another 1/10 unlucky buyer, and I have no time keep sending into the SC twice a month. I wonder when will Proton improve their QC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • I pity you bro..maybe it’s not your luck..proton MUST upgrade their QC..

however my BLM is doing great for almost 4 years already :)..the only problem I had so far is the power window at the driver’s side and just today, the alarm suddenly had no sound :)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • Alarm on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:39 am

For the alarm, you can silent it and sound it, just press the 2 button together. Oh, please read your user manual :)

• utnapishtim on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:05 pm

i also have saga blm 1st batch (2008). still no problem even to this day. treat your car well and it will not let you down.

• kucing on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:10 pm

well,, you are the unlucky one here. pity you. Mine is running good until now. Feeling proud to own something decent with the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Man, u are one of the lucky buyer who get a good carlike me. I have one proton eiswara aged ten years but engine wise still superb. But not all the buyers are as lucky as us. My cousin bought one saga which can,t start peoprly due to the fuel pump problem. The mechanic just ‘congratulate him for buying a faulty one. The problem still exists even after changing the new pump. So please don,’t simply comment based on your situation only.

• Can u share with us what are the problems that u are facing?

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:00 am

I bet u got another better car like honda/toyota/mitsubishi .. U definitely feel the difference,,
      If U own a kapcai before, then u will appreciate alot from the car.. how cool the aircond, how comfort and enjoy the car :P

• frenzyaustin on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:18 am

Yeah, I don’t ride kapchai anymore, feel very unsafe. But my favorite car car in my house is my dad’s 1989 Mitsubishi Saga 1.3 with a manual box. Except for super heavy steering while parking and noisy interior, it drive really good, seating position is much better than my mom’s Atos and my Saga FLX, too bad my parent’s sold the car already.

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:37 am

yeay the mitsubishi saga , the one that bump me last one because it doesnt have ABS

too bad the owner had to pay himself , even though the damage done cost more than the car .. so go get your mitsubishi saga ABS yeah bro,and Airbags too , the guy just hit his head on the steel steering wheel :P

but I just love the old Mitsu engine in the old saga, as it fully from Mitsu..

drive safe ya bro,dont tailgate other yeah :)

• Mister Missus on Jun 16, 2013 at 2:03 pm

I own a 2008 Saga BLM N-Line (Black and White edition) . So far only the Blower Fan broke down after 4 years. Luckily, it was covered under extended warranty and it was replaced for free. I rev it between 2.5 to 3.5k RPM everyday. I am on the road almost everyday like the taxis and my daily mileage is between 100 to 140km and so far my Saga has no serious problem with it. No steering ot whatsoever problem even at 120km/h on the hiway. My odometer today reads 180422km after 56months.

My only problem is that I’m feeling the cabin is getting smaller or my tummy is getting bigger? Hahaha….

GuessI’m lucky, didn’t I?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • taboogen on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:32 am

alamak pity you.. that the only car you mampu belikan.. word hard ok.. earn more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • Taboogen on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:11 pm

All 4 power windows.. cun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • I didn’t know the Lamborghini Murcielago SV stands for Super Value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
  • citycus on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Dual airbags…..3 stars Ncap crash test…..cvt…
    36K is affordable for young graduate to own a car. Kudos.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 6
  • joanna on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:20 pm

I dont like Proton with their boring cars, nevertheless this Saga’s price is affordable to many people indeed.
    Compared to Viva which is so small for a family but pricey, this car is quite good for long journey with ample space for luggages eventhough its engine is little bit gutless.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
    • MrDDR on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:36 pm

This car have power steering or not? What I know only Viva 1000cc got power steering. 850 still need your strength.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • pirlo on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:21 pm

all campro engine family do come with power steering module. except the next new engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • funky on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Will they use electric powered steering?

• pirlo on Jun 16, 2013 at 2:54 am

what i mean, current campro engine are using hydraulic power steering. and yes, next will use electric power steering.

• Fredo on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:37 am

Agreed, i drove both Saga & Myvi… my conclusion is here:
      Saga- better than myvi in many ways, long distance travelling, space and comfortablity, stable at hi speed cruising..
      Myvi- better for town driving, thats all.
      I was refering to a factory stock condition for both cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Norman on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Not too bad consider you get twin airbags/reverse sensor but pricing should be under RM35k for cvt.Should include 14inch alloy as standard

• Fukuoka on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Here in Japan, an entry level car of 1.3L is priced around 10 times the salary of a fresh graduate. Assuming the average fresh grad in Malaysia earns RM2k per month, is there any car available for RM20,000 in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
    • i think fresh grade here get around RM3.5k. (at least at my company).so if 10 times, it means RM35k. that same to Japan though. don’t make such comparison la..its look stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 74
    • titties on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:46 pm

you can get japanese food at cheap price here… but can you get cheap nasi lemak, kueh tiaw, roti tisu, durian, dragon fruit, salak, kedondong, belacan there in japan???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Why you didn’t include the costs for actually running a car in Japan too?

‘Driving in Japan is an expensive proposition. The costs for cars, gasoline are parking are all very high. Yearly inspection fees often exceed $1,000 and can run as high as $2,000. Driving lessons can cost between $2,000 and $6,000. Parking is a problem.Spaces are hard to find. Parking garages are extremely expensive, sometimes running as high as $10 an hour. Overnight parking violations can result in fines of up to $1,600’
      http://factsanddetails.com/japan.php?itemid=851&catid=23&subcatid=153

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
      • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:03 am

yeah agree with you bro..
        In Malaysia maybe abit expensive car , but here running cost cheaper ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • SUPAVALUE on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:53 am

typical…people talking about car price and you start talking about the cost of running the car. The cost of running the car isn’t a profit for the car manufacturers fyi.
        If you’re comparing, Why don’t you compare with the middle east or any other countries than?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 62
        • Wisdom on Jun 17, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Why does manufacturers profit matters in owning and running a car?
          What matters for a consumer is total running and owning cost. Coz there where the salary goes..

• ya.. ya.. ya.. if buying a car of coz u must run them.. if u running them it must drink some gas.. after u reach anywhere u must looking for parking space.. if ur home does not have parking spot u must be renting a garage for your car because u cant park on the side of the road in japan.

Maybe according to Japan’s road regulation every year must do an inspection for your car. If u have a car of coz u have to done that maybe in order to renew roadtax perhaps. Sooo… cheap car, but running cost is quite high i believe

• Dr Cooper on Jun 16, 2013 at 12:59 pm

You have to consider ownership cost too, I once own car in japan, you need to have own parking space, unless you owned a house with garage, you have to rent it. The services are expensive coz they threat you like a king – They came to your apartment tow the car on a flat bed truck and when finished took it back to you with receipt and everything. BTW I owned a new car there not chuko (second hand) like most malaysian students owned.

• At first I thought SV stands for Super Veloce as in those more extreme version of V12 Lamborghini.

Anyways, I remember my time in the Viva when I was learning for my driving licence, and on the road you’re as safe as kitten in a Wilderbeast migration, anything could kill you. And after my nightmare in my parents Alza, I’am gonna have to say get a Saga SuperVeloce

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
    • I thought you have been RACING cars for 12 years. You are only a newbie LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Dr Cooper on Jun 16, 2013 at 1:02 pm

learning using Viva, how easy, I learned on 120Y and tested using old Iswara Aeroback back in early 90’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Jun 17, 2013 at 3:24 pm

ahh so lucky. i learnt to drive in 120Y, test also in 120Y. if lucky get the 5 speed B310. if not lucky the 4 speed manual one.

• Alza got 2 airbags, Saga SV also 2 airbags with almost the same body strength. Are you sure you are much safer in a Saga compared to an Alza?

Why not you fork out some more money for a Preve, or else wait for a hatchback Preve or Preve SV? They got 5-star ANCAP rating, 4-airbags, stronger body.

Drive safely.

• bro, mana tau alza body sama mcm saga?
        pernah tengok crash test ka?
        kalau ada sila tunjuk, aku mahu tengok..
        teringin jugak perodua share crash test..
        setahu aku, sblm enforcement daripada miros, perodua x pernah share crash test result..

kalau dpt nk tahu jugak berapa body torsion dia?
        20k nm/deg, 15kNm/deg…

• Ruben on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Does it have ABS brakes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:41 pm

My FLX does has a ABS + EBD.

• Matchy on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:38 am

FLX Executive? Not sure why Ruben got downvoted, but in Proton’s website, there is no mention of ABS/EBD/BA.

• neemfa on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:52 pm

How does this SV compare with the ‘old’ cheapest saga, in term of spec?

+ additional airbag
    + 3-point seatbelt
    + some structural enhancement

– removed tailpipe
    – steel wheels
    – some other stuff taken out?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Compare this

http://proton-edar.com.my/pdf/saga/SAGA-PeninsularMalaysia.pdf

and this
      http://proton-edar.com.my/pdf/saga_sv/Pen-Saga1-3-SV-CVT.PDF

• Buy and modify it! then smoke VW GOLF GTI! lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • meng meng on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:01 pm

then can tanam yourself early right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Yeah, it smoked the moment you step on the gas, I mean the engine smoking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • people on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:58 pm

I wonder if perodua also said they were improving they were reinforcing bla bla bla… does that means there will received 4 stars? common proton Ancap already prove saga already three star.

• kaching on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Hmmm…boleh la gak, berbaloi la gak…

• suziela on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Very bad exhaust..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 41
    • so u are one of ah beng that use loud exhaust and think their car are fast?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • saga lover on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:43 am

u can add that exhaust tip at any exhaust shop..the cost around rm200 only..

• suziela on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:31 pm

price down + less spec..hahaha..janji di capati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 96
    • Not really less if you add accs, you still save and get the cheaper price

• say who? on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:10 pm

not a less spec actually… just less in minor parts only…

• Not sure if its just d SV or all d current Sagas, but any1 noticed in d 2nd pic (red colored) looks like there’s no undercoat under d wheel arches.

• my sister’s saga executive bought on january also no coating under the wheel arches..

• alldisc on Jun 17, 2013 at 3:27 pm

look at toyota cars… all the same now. the coating is to prevent rust but since the body has been treated during assembly, no need anymore. however, the coat does insulate some road noise…

• taboogen on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:30 am

hermm undercoat under the wheel arches.. .id prefer they put more sealant (the white stuff) then undercoat, that what protect the body from water coming in… there is no use putting undercoat at the wheel arches bro. it will ruined the day you drove off from the service centre… it is like you wax your tyres it will last only for a while… got it… fyi the car is being sprayed equally the same as SAGA FLX SE.. no more and no less.

• Woots! 2 Airbags as well!! Nice try Proton~
    Anyway, cheapest Proton as of 2013 models. Clap clap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • saladin on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Mcm ini la baru betul.. Next viva reduce price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Viva 660 basic only have 2 airbags… what Perodua gonna strip off to reduce its price?? remove the airbags? use seat made from plastic? lol

• What Perodua should strip off?

Their huge profit margin. With less R&D cost, their Viva BX should only be RM19,999.

• indeed. Perodua don’t spend a lot in R&D comparing with Proton. Perodua, as we all know, only do the cosmetic changes. however, their profit margin is not that big due to they need to pay the expensive ckd japan parts.

• Azhar on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Less spec?…please check fact n figures…if you don’t know don’t talk..asyik nak hen tam je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Jules on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:05 pm

The car you only need….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Govmenlol on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Dual airbag is a must for all car sold in 2013. The gomen regulated that if anybody can still remember lah. Gomen should impose new rules that all car shld have abs and ebd too. I think active safety control is far more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Lawak on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:16 pm

There will always be someone who will say he has had it with P1 cars cos of the quality. Not even 1 yr already rosak here n there. My family must be very lucky. Always get good P1s, one already did almost 500k without major failures yet. Not even major overhaul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
    • say who? on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:14 pm

the “someone who will say” tu setengah dari dorang tu x penah pakai P1 pon… dorang tu salesman P2 hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
      • yellow bean on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:43 pm

very true indeed or other brand salesman or orang gila basher everyday makan kacang merah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • confusedwithP1strategy on Jun 15, 2013 at 5:25 pm

I don’t get it…why not just launch this SV as a facelift to current FLX?

Now I can see P1 has both FLX and SV in this same car segment (which I doubt ppl will buy FLX anymore since Saga is meant for affordability) and Preve+Persona+Inspira for the next segment???? @@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • SV is just another variant of FLX… just like Standard and Executive.. why so hard to understand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • albag on Jun 16, 2013 at 12:19 pm

lol try harder to defend your rubbish junk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 48
        • i also cant understand that viva also got so many variant until they have a “super basic” viva that only RM25k..

• Cutter on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Dear P. Brand
    I don’t need the left wiper, my rear boot lid can make by paper box, I don’t need the rear vew mirrors, no CD player and a fm radio will do…. Can these make my saga a Saga Super SV? Slash another RM799. C: please~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
    • yellow bean on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:45 pm

do u want to take out the wheels and engine aw well sir?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Cutter on Jun 16, 2013 at 12:44 am

Do I still need a car if without these two? Perhaps no roof and only one side lamp instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:08 am

hahahaha
          like kampung boy riding bicycle with motorbike fairing… :)

• Expatriate VN on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:06 am

Yes, take out engine and wheel, later on put in bigger wheel with Lembu and turn it from into SV to KL (Kereta Lembu)

• R.I.P… flx buyer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 62
  • Torco on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Knock knock..Finally Proton Saga SV came to overthrow the Murchielago SV. Ok, many comment on the A segment VS B segment here. as truly Malaysian, i guess many people outside there dont really care about car segmentation. All they need an affordable car with better and bigger space inside. Regardless Viva or Saga SV, its about realty in life. Monthly income for many of Malaysian still inadequate to spend too much on monthly car installment. So i guess as minimum as RM250 per month i good to have this size of car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Jun 17, 2013 at 3:30 pm

rm250 is only for the first year…

when the car gets older with some depreciation, you will then pay something like rm400 a month or more.

• Saya punya komen ; harga itu masih subjektif. Kereta ini kecil kenapa tidak di rekabentuk lantai-rata “flat-floor” belakang. Yang paling tak puas hati SAGA ialah sound-proof amat mendukacitakan. Cuba anta tutup pintu depan kiri atau kanan cuba lihat frame pintu dan frame badan atas tepi kepala pemandu atau penumpang, anda boleh masukan ibujari betapa besarnya gap ini. Seburuk2 Viva-kelisa-kenari-kancil gapnya amat rapat. Apakah proton tak perasan atau susah sangatkan nak buat die atau mold kedua2 frame itu pada zaman 3-D? Tolong lah proton zerokan gap ini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 34
    • brazbuz on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:17 pm

ap gne zero gap klo body structure lemah. safety is the priority, not appearance. at least dh trbukti 3 star crash test drpd skdr crash simulation dlm komputer je. my 2 cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Younoob on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Dear mr mat. For your information more sound insulation means pooorer fuel consumption. I think saga is very comfortabla for a car of its class. Long ago ppl commented about the soft boot lid of persona. I dont see that as a problem, thats not the structure that whistands impact, but infact it is a crumple zone. Gaps? Tell me about cheap material perodua used for the latest myvi. The interior is just very dissapointing compared to the previos one.

• My Saga has better sound insulation than my Triton. What shit are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
      • albag on Jun 16, 2013 at 12:18 pm

haha no wonder you defend for the car… looks like you are the owner of this shit rubbish… make sure u lick your shit car exhaust real clean yes… idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 84
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:11 am

maybe for better aerodynamic for air n rain water flows… who knows,,
      maybe for your safety – elak jari tersepit :P

• Savvy88 on Jun 16, 2013 at 9:59 am

it dont even make any different. as long as the gap between door frame and body frame filled with the weather strip rubber.

and one more thing, go drive saga and viva during rain. which one makes louder sound?

• Yup…atap zinc…
        even the myvi got this atap zinc…

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:42 am

better maaa, more feels when balik kampung :P

remember your old granma’s atap zinc house :)

• burn22 on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:42 pm

price wise, good!
    shape wise, boleh la… but look compressed! should be wider. if this model were to be converted to hatchback or wagon version, it will look nicer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • extravaganza on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Buy this FLX SV. just change the rim to 14 sport rim. Ngam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • faris on Jun 15, 2013 at 6:54 pm

as an flx owner of 2 years i must say the car isnt really that bad. sure got noises here and there but hey its a proton(still not justifiable but what cn u do huh). its damn fast(i cn go over 170 easy). a little sad bcoz newer versions upgraded but meh i ride my naza blade more than i drive(2yrs, only 26k mileage muahahaha)..the only thing i regret was not getting the cvt but that changes when i balik kampung woohoo manual ftw!! next car probably an mpv(not p1 or p2 hopefully) or maybe a suzuki gsxr750..hahahaha

• Go Suzy go !! Used to own one, will choose it anytime VS any car :)…Opsss off topic !! Kudos Proton for the expansion of variants :). Change the sport rim then it will look better IMHO :). Else it’s a good car. Been using P1 since 2004. Now working overseas, always tempted to sell off my Exora. But everytime I go back and look at her, tak jadi lah jual…hehe :)

• mamamia on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:11 pm

SV = Samy Vellu????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
  • Insight42 on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Mat3 P2 saleman……sudah goyang

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:13 am

ala asyik myvi/viva jer best seller ..,,
      proton saga punyer turn plak laa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 120
    • viva dashboard looks better?? rofl srsly? that car has the most shittiest dashboard in the world

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
    • butang on Jun 16, 2013 at 3:14 am

you hear that Proton HOD of styling? please get feedback first from consumers before starting out the design stage.

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:17 am

well everyone have their own taste..
      FYI, old suzuki swift dashboard look very boring too
      sometimes, simple is better

• actually, viva dashboard does not suit with our weather because the radio player was above a/c vent. Viva dashboard was design for cool climax country. A lot of peoples complain that the radio display will goes blur just after few months.. What the hell the designer put the radio under direct sunlight?? Malaysia is not japan..

• say who? on Jun 18, 2013 at 4:04 pm

lol, mok… if you want to sell your p2 car… just sell it laa… no need to bash about dashboard… haha

• Xefron on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:34 pm

this is how Proton should launch the SAGA BLM back then.

• good job on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Good job proton
    for this price range can have a cvt gearbox

but interior is still looks quite terrible except the steering

• jason on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Why the Star newspaper ad. put the picture gor fog lamp but here i see tje picture got no fog lamp.

• Good proton..next sv is exora and preve. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • aku gembira on Jun 15, 2013 at 8:23 pm

baru dapat lesen tang ni plak kuar kereta murah lagi bergaya pehhhh mesti beli…ini bukan sekadar nasi ayam ni beb!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • albag on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:02 pm

this is an INSULT to Lamborghini Murcielago SV… what a shame on four wheels industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 68
    • yellow bean on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:56 pm

since when SV is solely belongs to lamborghini.??? u drive one and got insulted ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • albag on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:57 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 119
        • It’s just other acronyms like GT and LE, not like domain name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
          • Falcao on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:47 am

betul tu. lain la kalau proton nama kan Saga tu Saga Murcielago. itu baru kau boleh bash Proton.
            porsche ada gt. for mustang ada gt. x nak bash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • Azydy on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 162
    • qirin on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:55 pm

hahahah…
      still post your comment then…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
    • yellow bean on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:59 pm

then go and buy your perfect dream car at 25k la…pathetic basher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 22
    • Go buy Viva 660 bx..RM24,900…so cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:22 am

so… if dont like, go buy others laaa ..
      FYI, there is no such thing as things getting cheaper in this world bro .. like nasi lemak 50sen, now RM1

this one better improvement you small minded man..

• http://paultan.org/2013/06/15/proton-saga-sv-2013-launched/proton_saga_sv_003/
    http://paultan.org/2013/06/15/proton-saga-sv-2013-launched/proton_saga_sv_020/

why this exhaust tailpipe are different between this two cars?

• maybe manual and cvt have different tailpipe?? the manual SV is using BLM/FL meter cluster while cvt using FLX meter cluster

• I drove a 1992 Saga for ten years. I still have a 1998 Wira Aeroback. I am now driving a Persona. The Saga served me well. The Wira is still doing fine, and I’m quite happy with the Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
  • Green on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Full list::

SV RM36,888 vs FLX Standard RM41,811

SV doesnt have this::

– No First aid kit
    – No Safety triangle
    – No Jumper cable
    – No Door visor
    – No Luggage tray
    – No Coil mat
    – No Tinted Windows
    – No Muffle cutter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • wow, all these things cost 6k?

• Whynot on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:59 pm

There is one saying. You can buy a cow but cannot paid for the string. I think Proton ways of removing the string is like getting the cow to run away so that you will never have to buy the same type of cow again. Apalah Proton?

• qirin on Jun 15, 2013 at 10:59 pm

1. untuk org miskin dan anak ramai macam aku, peluang yang bagus…
    2. untuk yang berduit macam org lain, x payah la beli kereta macam ni
    3. untuk kaki bangkang kerajaan, buat la macamana pun, selagi nama dia proton, diaorg x kan beli…

4. untuk PROTON, tahniah, sebab diorg benci macamana pun, diaorg tetap post komen kat sini… kereta utk rakyat, kereta yang murah.. ada tak org beli mercedes ke BMW ke, tapi mohon rumah mesra rakyat…

hehehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 5
    • ramai pakai bmw benz tapi duk flat saja. banyak kesan di flat murah. hoho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • pirlo on Jun 16, 2013 at 3:10 am

nasihat aku, pakai ikut kemampuan. buat apa beli kereta luar kemampuan sampai hutang bulan-bulan nak bayar pun pening? 2nd hand value kereta makin hari makin turun. lebih baik beli property for better investment.

not all people who own bmw, mercs are damn rich. some of them are suffering paying the monthly payment. tapi apa nak buat? nak gain respect from people punya pasal for the sake of business purposes.

spend wisely.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 1
    • yellow bean on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:53 am

betul..betul..betul

• no 3, aku suggest utk mereka yg berfikiran pendek.. sbb kalau kerjaan x betul, aku tetap bangkang. kalau kerajaan betul, aku diam (redha)

• Always felt 1st gen saga blm is better looking, flx look fugly plus its aging..interior looks like car was from the ussr or something during the cold war..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
  • Lemonguy on Jun 16, 2013 at 12:13 am

I just feel that the car design is not belong to this century………sorry to say that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • burn22 on Jun 16, 2013 at 4:43 am

have to agree with ur point!
      it does look kinda outdated, and nothing to shout about, except for the lowered price!
      if it were to be “preve” hatchback, then it is another story to tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:26 am

cheap car = cheap design
      wanna better design, go hire Audi’s or other top car brand designer…. and of course the car will be more expensive

logic thinking 101 .. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • burn22 on Jun 16, 2013 at 3:49 pm

how wrong can you be! it can be done.
        we do have many good local designers. for this segment, the cost of molding will not make much different. all this depends on who is in-charge of marketing and designing this mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
      • Lemonguy on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Im not agree with cheap price the design must not good, its only depends how serious you doing your business, somemore the amount we paid for the car is not cheap, loan can go for 5 yrs! You see satria, how many batches of version they have? Change a bit spec then relaunch again, lack of creativity.

• burn22 on Jun 17, 2013 at 3:29 am

if it were wider, it will look nicer.
      a rough touch up…
      http://i881.photobucket.com/albums/ac15/burn1128/proton-svwider.png

• no ABD+EBD ? no ESP ? life is priceless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:28 am

kalau dah ajal, mati jugak ..
      naik lambo ke ferrari macam2 function ade, eksiden mati jugakkk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 20
      • adeh..usaha kene ada bro. abs+ebd sepatutnya standard feature je & wajib kene ada kat semua kete baru.

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:44 am

ya bro , memanglah
          tapi nk budget rendah .. ABS pun ckup,
          karang mcm2 ada, harga tinggi mcm2 plak komplen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • pirlo on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:28 am

what is ABD?

• Maaajeeedaaa on Jun 16, 2013 at 6:44 am

Wah…so many Proton supporter…dun worry…I also own a Preve CFE…well, i considered it cheap at 73k…HOWEVER…after 2 months..Power window issues kept haunting me over the drivers door..Went to service centre and they change once..after that problem reoccured…window did not ascend properly, this gluk gluk gluk sound and the window did not fit well to it’s frame. So the wind noise keep on entering the car at even 80km/h.. contacted them, then the answer was simple…awaiting spare parts from key el…this happen not in one service centre but two in Alor Star…since i;m a busy person..at the moment i just neglect the problem. But imagined, i am paying 73k which is not cheap actually for a complete car but the aftersales and quality control still poor..Dumbass… This SV… i doubt the Proton (DRB)QC for Malaysian. Don’t be to naive cause currently Proton is owned by BUSINESS MAN who knows how to make profit…a GLC some more. Do you think he cares about this aftersales problems..QC and services to the people…definitely not. That’s why it is still expansive…hmmm, thinking of getting rid my Preve already..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • zamer on Jun 16, 2013 at 7:38 am

i laugh when you intially say 73k is cheap but when things kaput you change to expensive..what are you trying to show actually?

remember..its a machine and it fails..otherwise the service center can switch off the light and go home..
      dont think only proton have issue.. go take a look at other brand..you’ll be surprise..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:33 am

here bro , watch this kia Optima K5 problem
      its very annoying unless u are deaf .. :)
      rattling all around..
      there is nothing perfect in this world :)
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVGpq8-PaNA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • I sold my flx se after 14 month, tired of service center. waiting for part, waiting for part. waiting for F**k….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • I own a saga fl. I bought it 3 years ago.. If u ask me i dun wanna buy proton but that’s the only car i could afford. I am from johor but i work in kelantan so u can just imgine how long my journey is every school holiday.
    So far, i’ve to change the rim because i always terjun lubang.. I think saga is the best option for those who cannot afford more than 50k car. But the fuel consumption is quite poor. The speed is fine.. Proton ahould introduce saga sv long time ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • wow, with this price, i think the customer should choose this saga than viva for long term

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
  • new version of saga revealed..i`m still waiting for `the all new proton persona`-7 speed+hybrid with cheaper price so that i can replace my current persona 4 speed A/T…HOPE PROTON GOT THE PLAN FOR PERSONA..

• otherwise,i`m waiting for Proton Holding to convert Pajero Sport the same way they did with Lancer X(Inspira)

• albag on Jun 16, 2013 at 9:03 am

cheap car for cheap people like yellow bean… worst of all, copying other manufacturer model variant and slapping on its own, especially on the cheapest variant, is a HUGE mistake…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
    • yellow bean on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:57 am

suddenly my name got famous…hehehe tq to u red bean army troopers..keep up the good work. u r showing yr true ugly color by bashing and incite hatred among the people all the time…hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • retard on Jun 16, 2013 at 9:10 am

ok lor, why not make it a bit wider so that 3 person can seat comfy at the back seat and introduce 1.1 litre turbo enjin and also 1.6 turbo disel enjin for the sv.

• Cheaper saga mean will see more saga cucuk civic, c200 & 320 otr….sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:43 pm

so everyone need to booking their own hearse (kete mayat) lah after this … as there is no ABS (antilock brake)
      dont they dare cucuk kereta lain yg ade ABS , kete aku penah kene langgar dri blkng masa traffic jam sbb brek saga ni seret jauh sangat …

so be careful, no need to convert everything
      xde duit nk beli kete lelaju, jgn bikin kasi laju
      nnti eksiden lagi xde duit .. ksian anak bini

majulah proton untuk rakyat :)

drive safe ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • ada abs bawa keta tak cermat tetap lebih bahaya dari keta yg tak ada abs

• 13 inch wheel? Is this an A segment sedan?
    For a car that doesnt go beyond 300 km per tank, this is indeed a value buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 78
    • pirlo on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:22 am

u have never driven Saga before, thats why you claimed that the full tank can’t reach 300km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • Hes a Perutdua Salesman that only know about Perutdua car… katak bawah tempurung…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Rizal on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:42 pm

My auto saga can easily go beyond 300km per tank, and thats with hard driving everyday.

• Whitefox on Jun 17, 2013 at 1:11 pm

ya definitely nvr drive saga before or u r rev high all the way….

Even my Saga FLX SE still first 1000km but i still manage control around 350km +- for every 30 liter of fuel

• aiyaa amoi!! that wat happen when u drive viva sk everyday.. super kiasu huhuhu.. be a smarter salesman laa next time.. at least know your competitor 1st before bashing.. dont give p2 a bad name..

• Don’t have to come do damage control la. Just like the broken lower arm Preve. Everyone knows this crap cannot go beyond 300km. Highway maybe but definitely not town.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 51
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:48 pm

all depend on your foot controlling the pedal ,,
      dont u watch topgear ?
      BMW M3 use less fuel than TOYOTA PRIUS ..
      wanna know why ? google it …

SV

• BMW lagi, hahah ….

Pesaing kita telah menjadi besar …. Proton bila lagi?

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:02 am

main point bro, kawal pedal …
          bukan sebab brand , adoi..

lampi betoi, google la dlu yer pon

• retard on Jun 16, 2013 at 9:25 am

one more thing , the rear seat should be able to fold, redesign rear window so tat it can fully wind down, free lifetime timing belt replacement inclusive labour charges, additional rear & front usb port for smartphone charging, rear suspension increase height by one inch, rear disc brake & rear wiper for added safety during hv rain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • pirlo on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:14 am

the rear wiper usage is more related to vehicle type. A sedan type has smooth air flow -laminar, (during car moving) throughout the upper body which can disperse rain drops at the rear windshield. for hatchback or keta-takde-bontot, it will create a disturbance air flow (turbulent) at the back which fail to clear out the rain drops.
      but, there is some rare cases where sedan use rear wiper like evo due to rally purposes (dirt, mud).
      for normal or daily driving usage, the exclusion of rear wiper is mainly due to cost.

• PADA SAYA SEMUA KERETA NATIONAL PERLU LEBIH MURAH DARI INI DAN BUKAN HANYA TURUN RM5000. HAPUSKAN SEMUA CUKAI UNTUK KERETA NATIONAL SUPAYA LEBIH RAMAI BOLEH MEMBELI KERETA NATIONAL.

SAYA PERCAYA….. DENGAN PENURUNAN INI PASTI AKAN ADA KEKURANGAN DALAM KERETA INI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • jolly_idiot on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:24 am

Then bn will eat shit oledi if no tax on p1 and p2. Look at our road. What brand is dominating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 39
    • Proton staff on Jun 16, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Proton/Perodua dahulu menikmati rebat cukai eksais. Tapi kerajaan menanggung untuk membayar denda kepada Thailand kerana melanggar AFTA. Sekarang Proton/Perodua tidak lagi menerima rebat eksais.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • saladin on Jun 16, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Sokong 100%. buang semua tax utk local car. Benefit utk semua rakyat. Import car naikkan tax. Ini tebalik import tax dari jepun turun. Local car tax tk turun. Tapi paksa proton trnkn. Mampos la proton mcm ni…

• yellow bean on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:59 am

hang p beli keta viva la…

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:54 pm

TUU DIA POLITIK SUDAH MASUKK….
      APA YG SY TAHU, MELALUI CUKAI KENDERAAN INI JALAN RAYA KITA LEBIH SELESA @ BNYAK KEMUDAHAN JALAN RAYA ..
      -PERNAH PERGI NEGARA YG XDE CUKAI / KURANG CUKAI KERETA?
      JALAN TAR LAMA (BATU BESAR2) , TANAH MERAH

BELAJARLAH BERSYUKUR, LIHATLAH NEGARA YG LEBIH DAIF DAN SERBA KEKURANGAN DARI KITA..

• let say if one spent 700 monthly including the fuel.
    i would say its brilliant. its a practical work horse . with good loading capacity, confident at speed for this compact sedan, some level of comfort.

might spend 500 including fuel for a viva. the moment you start the engine you know its a lesser car in many ways.

• i’m savvy owner.. i can say this new car quality out.. bagilah keje kemas skit.. bukan takat janji boleh jer… nak tutup pintu ketat semacam.. x smooth langsung.. perodua quality is better.. i’ll wait p2 reduce price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
    • Aiyohh…bukan setakat Savvy, pintu Ford Fiesta aku pun susah nak tutup disebabkan pintu berat..Perodua memang la, pintu kosong dan semestinya ringan, sekali hayun leh masuk..logikla sikit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
      • pintu berat, inertia (also momentum) lagi tinggi (force lagi tinngi)..
        so, logicnya lagi senang nk tutup..
        kalau berat susah nak tutup, meaning quality kene improve..

• come on on Jun 24, 2013 at 4:53 pm

jawapan yg bagus.. sesuai utk si lembap berfikir sebelum komen..

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:56 pm

P2 ttup pintu bunyi besi kosong ..
      MYVI lama, VIVA , KANCIL ..

trylaa hempas skit pintu tu ,
      try tau..

tapi MYVI baru, ALZA ok..

• better u try at showroom.. i’m comparing with my savvy and test 3 cars at showroom.. same result.. sy ckp pintu ketat and not smooth.. bukannya berat.. try yourself.. plastic material also so-so.. please remember 36888 not cheap.. +ve side ialah harga turun and give pressure to other manufacture.. better for us.. i’m not asking conti feel but at least give us quality car.. same as yr export model proton…

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:15 am

Price went down quite ok. But how about next step introduce new model Saga 1.3 CFE turbocharge at price 41.5k, or similar with prior saga price. No need to develop Preve Hatchback. Preve is very wide, bulky and sales not attractive like Saga. Proton should start to build only turbo engine.

• Abdullah on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:41 am

Not cheap at all. Very ordinary car.
    If contracted out to chinese manufacturers,
    it can be produce for around Rm20,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 55
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:58 pm

malaysia = better quality as better education
      china = cheaper quality as poorer education (cheaper labour charge & too many people)

agree ?

• they should maintain all specs and reduce price not to develop new model with low spec and then try to perbodohkan orang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 53
    • this is one safer, 3 stars asean ncap, apa lagi lu mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • Falcao on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:42 am

bukan spec maintain sama ke saga sv ni? tapi ada la sikit accessories yg buang seperti:
      SV doesnt have this::

– No First aid kit
      – No Safety triangle
      – No Jumper cable
      – No Door visor
      – No Luggage tray
      – No Coil mat
      – No Tinted Windows
      – No Muffle cutter

credit to Green comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • kucing on Jun 16, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Despite the accessory losses, we have the addition things which is more important.

-three-star rated,
        -two airbags,
        – the front features a new bumper beam and additional reinforcement
        – rear bumper gets packed with foam.
        – a reinforcement “V” bar in the rear bulkhead that separates the boot from the cabin.
        -Side impact reinforcement bars in the front doors,
        -Strengthened centre pillar has also been strengthened.
        – Three-point seatbelt for rear seat,
        – pre-tensioners for front seat.
        – child restraint anchorage for the rear seats.
        – single-DIN CD player,
        – reverse sensor
        – 13-inch steel wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • why u jelly on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:41 am

after Saga SV launched..

Saga FLX standard got all what SV have. including 3 star rating and 2 airbag which recenlty dont have.

• say who? on Jun 16, 2013 at 3:55 pm

ni main hentam je la ni… tak baca betul2 ke en. Pai…

• the real people’s car. really hope that the car can be more affordable to people especially those with young family member. feel scary when u see those fetching baby n kids on motorbike.
    lets make the road saafer fr every1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • zazzzz on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:41 am

thumb up proton

• This is Viva vs divider..most of cases was resulting death..truly unsafe car…

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/1013710_10151469240491762_159499430_n.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • kamal hassan on Jun 16, 2013 at 1:42 pm

after all…did you think about the after sales?..service center proton is the worst..they did not listen properly to what you had complained…they always said it was already fixed but the problem did not fixed either…they look by one eye only…you can buy any car but the most important thing is they really good about after sales matter..ask yourself or you can give it a try…

• zeant1987 on Jun 16, 2013 at 2:57 pm

cheapest car for more space car..really interesting..its good for someone who can’t buy a xpensive car (like me who always need money to give it to my parent..^_^)..car is really important for human now xspecially for who already have a wife/husband and child..but i’m a bit late coz already buy MYVI 1.3 SE..anyway,cheapest car doesn’t mean it’s not good..it’s up to us to take care of,right???hehehe..will support Malaysia!!!GO MALAYSIA!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Kelkatu Senja on Jun 16, 2013 at 3:39 pm

i don’t know about you guys, but one thing that i’d really love to see on the saga is a footwell blower. i couln’t drive a long distance in the current saga without having my sandals flooded with sweat.

• Rizal on Jun 16, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Couldn’t agree more. It needs the aircond foot blower and a footrest. Otherwise its a decent car to drive.

• mustafa talib on Jun 16, 2013 at 4:35 pm

klau murah setakat rm 5 ribu tu ta ada maana sama dgn flx juga kualiti barang nya kurang, kereta saya bli baru 5 bulan pintu belakang sebelah kiri ketat klay na buka, semenjak bli dah sekali relay kipas rosak, service kedua saya buat sendri baru habis rm140 je, sedang kan pusat eon service center na service berbayar sebanyak rm 306, jadi service ketiga nampak nya saya ta de harapan na dapatkan service free dari eon, sebab sevice berbayar saya ta p service dekat eon kli yang ke dua 5000 km,saya ada dapat voucher service tapi pehak eon service ta mahu terima ,ini kah yang d amal kan olih pehak eon , d mna kah yang kata service free, jangan indah kabar dari rupa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • service di proton edar…
      eon itu di miliki oleh bisness man, bukan proton holding..

job kecik2 haruslah dia malas nak buat..
      dia akan bgtau mcm2 alasan utk tak nak buat..

boleh service luar proton, tapi waranti sendiri kene ingat..

• Lamborghini have LP670 SV (SuperVeloce)…Saga also have SV…i’ll wait for the next Lambo FLX to come maybe more expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • aureola on Jun 16, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Kudos to Proton for offering Super Value car for the rakyat.

Hope there will be Proton Inspira R3 SV next up in line!

• should rename to SAGA LP-130 SV (SuperVeloce) :p

• DSG sucks on Jun 16, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Shit… I bought a Myvi 50k ++ last week… REGRET NOW !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • ralfasraf on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:23 pm

wow 250 sebulan…sama mcm byr motosikal jer ni…byr murah kualiti pon murahlh…sedor2 lh sp2 hok kutuk proton ni..klu dh xsuka jgn bli.rmai lg yg nok bli..sy like proton wlpon sy mmg xpnoh guna jenama proton ni..jgnlh bndingkn dgn honda k toyota k..proton ttp no 1 d mlysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Byeviva! on Jun 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Who say perodua models have good ergonomic? I bought viva @ 5 years ago and the 1st thing i discovered after buying the car is that the seating posture causes pain to both my legs until today..unlike saga, exore or even peugeot, the postures are more ergonomic and relaxing.ً The bad thing is..you would not know this until you own one!
    Sayonara viva!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • There goes the second value of my full spec FLX!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Norman on Jun 16, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Dun forget to buy the extended warranty programme fit your peace of mind..What I’ve heard the inlet manifold is improved model but dunno how is the tensioner.Actually Campro engine is above average only the parts are cikai meaning mostly local made.Try to change to Japan belt/Tensioner etc I’m sure it can last long

• Whynot on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:27 pm

The real price cut for petrol running and diesel running car is when the market is beginning to be floated with Extended EV and petrol price hikes!

• Alson P on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:34 am

Good step upgrading safety element but some people waiting for hybrid or Electric Vehicle car next year for better fuel consumption….. Proton Exora REEV and Proton Saga EV in market soon….??

• rikimaru on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:43 am

no ABS n EBD???why

• skygenTransport on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:46 am

will buy this car for my rent a car business..cheap and i can offer my customer a budget car for rent..
    Now everyone can rent.

• Whynot on Jun 17, 2013 at 2:04 am

Proton said that they will mass produce EV on year 2011. Now is 2013! They have the nerve to post it in Google news today!

• Belta on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:12 am

Such an insult to intelligence this Saga.

In US, Japan the Toyota Belta/Vios/Yaris Sedan 1.0L and 1.3L version cost similar price RM30K only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • blame on govt. Proton did what they can to lower the prices i.e. restructure vendors program, cut some accessories. but, the excise and sales tax, remain the same. no cut at all.
      who’s effort will it be? govt or Proton itself?

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:09 pm

we are developing country , not advance country …
      here some more googling I did ,
      in US n JAPAN they have own TOYOTA’s manufacturing factory ..
      here link to help u http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Toyota_manufacturing_facilities

so of course there will be cheaper …

make any sense ?

• fourwheeler on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:20 am

…suitable for university and college students.

• zainal abidin on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:38 am

Anthony Lim / Paul Tan,you guys should add another important feature @ photo and that is of the all important luggage intrusion reinforcement + rear V bar. Open the boot and one can immediately see it behind the rear seats.

• kancilrider on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:49 am

Without power window, I think they can sell below RM30k

• saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:11 pm

power window is a must have ..
      oldskool window very dangerous for smoking people,
      hehehe ~~~~~~

• the car where you can’t even adjust the side mirrors from the inside…no adjusting knob at all…a throwback to the old times…

• Yanto Supardi on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:56 am

ok juga la,aku nak beli kereta ni,kasi guna isteri hantar anak kesekolah,pergi pasar ke.Ingat turun banyak jadi rm30 ribu sahaja,baru aku betul mampu beli,nak dapat pinjaman bank pon susah kerana aku orang indon (bukan kosong),kawan aku orang myanmar dengan Bangla pon suka kereta ini,nak beli juga.Kira kami sokong kereta buatan m’sia juga,janji murah,senang di baiki.Pendatang macam kami cukup wang boleh beli secara tunai,tapi urusannya kata susah kerana cara kerajaan m’sia bagi susah kepada kami.minta dibantu ya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • Lim guan eng on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:20 am

waduhh koknya ribut begini, beli aja second hand lorr. beli second baru 6000 aja. ngaa bisa kamu beli yaa disini… pulang aja ke indon kalau mahu hutang>>>

bapak zahid sini ada pendatang lorr ada permit ngak ni??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:13 pm

beli wira jer .. sparepart paling senang :)
        tahan plak tu ,

• Abdul Saddiqqul Rahman on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:14 am

Rilek Pak, ini senang aja diurusin…sedangkan ic pun gomen Msia boleh bagi free kat kaum pendatang, apa lagi yg ini, bilang saja kamu sokong BN pasti beress!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • Hurm..i prefer mitsubishi tredia anytime over any viva.

• Fredo on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:41 am

Guys, this Saga si safer than most of other cars within its range… if you read newspapers u should know which model cause many deaths on the road….if i hv to buy a car within this range, id go for this Saga SV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • alphawolf on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:30 am

Only topics on Proton and Perodua would the idiots be coming out and “comment”.
    I really think Paultan.org should be moderated. Opinions are fine, but most of the opinions here are expressed in such immature ways..
    Anyway this Proton is good value in the Malaysian context and is a good car for lower-income groups and students. nuff’ said

• han lue chai on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:13 pm

same shit different story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • aZRoy on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Apa lagi Proton mahu?

• Abg Long on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:34 pm

well done proton. all the best!

• RVP20 on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:36 pm

that awkward moment when you realise Honda Civic is also selling @ RM40k++ (if you remove the tax)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Abg Long on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:47 pm

just sharing. my wife’s saga fl is a very good car. driven almost 50k km now. everything is good, no problem at all. fuel consumption also very very jimat if you drive maximum 100km/h.

• Yanto Supardi on Jun 17, 2013 at 1:36 pm

iya..sudah ada yang komen aku..terima kasih..sebenarnya aku sudah ada ic percuma,pilihanraya pon pergi.aku duduk sini sudah 1o tahun,gaji satu bulan pon 4-5 ribu juga,senang duduk di malaysia ini,kiranya aku mampu beli kereta selain proton,tapi aku sudah ada beli HILUX secara tunai,dan sekarang mahu beli SAGA secara ansuran,itu sahaja masalanya.orang Malaysia pon tak sehebat aku,kerja gaji tak sberapa lagi mau komplen kereta proton,tidak membeli sudah.biar aku aja yang membeli.Malaysia sudah ada kereta sendiri,sokong sahaja,barang gantiannya pon murah,boleh dibaiki tengah jalan lagi.itu yang aku suka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • I tried Saga BLM 1.3 (A) and Myvi Pre-MMC Ezi 1.3(A). Honestly, Saga pick up is suck! Even though I accelerate to 6000 rpm, the car still under power!
    Myvi had better pick up feel than Saga. If only Saga and Myvi to choose, definitely I will go for Myvi :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:16 pm

of course , saga is heavier bro…
      power to weight ratio ,

simple things …

• When Myvi comes to cornering… frog will become turtle…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • albag on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:59 pm

when saga is driven… it becomes junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:10 am

Saga handling / cornering abilities way better than all perodua..

There is a test once I saw on a magazines that compare Savvy (SAGA’s platform) to a MYVI ,

-SAVVY , original everything
          -MYVI , use aftermarket suspension system and ultra racing product ..

still Myvi cannot pass Savvy in a circuit track,

conclusion, MYVI for makcik2,nenek2, or lain2 yg drive for comfort and normal driving style..

I saw on my own eyes Myvi got into accident when doing high speed corner when the road abit bumpy..

• goes for manual saga.. i drove my sis saga executive M/T and the power band came as early 2000rpm. Today Viva elite with vroom vroom exhaust try to cucuk me when i’m cruising around 90km/h.. i’m just accelerate using 5th gear and viva dropped to 4th gear and saga able to accelerate faster leaving the viva far away behind. When comes to sharp corner, viva unable to reach me anymore. Sayonara viva..

• COME ON on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:59 am

if ur sis saga 1.0 cc same like viva. im pretty sure viva will say sayonara saga.. why don’t u test ur sis saga wit my myvi. since they were equally 1.3.. that’s what I call fair. only loser will do to take on with an under power car..

• ini saga flx berbeza dgn blm,saga flx guna cvt blm guna gear auto 4 speed teknologi blm dah ketinggalan

• Saga is an icon to Proton. They should protect it’s image or renew it. I don’t understand why some of you still don’t get it and commented on Saga like there’s no tomorrow. Understand the context, understand the business, understand the segment and understand the market.Crazy or what?
    My wish is for Proton to start upgrading Saga. Entry level car have evolved and more sophisticated.

• zam nana zana on Jun 17, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Pm kn price saga sv n montly 7&9thn…full loan,10q

• david on Jun 17, 2013 at 2:04 pm

now everyone can drive. It is proton, are you guy expecting something miracle happen in proton? at least with the price, more people can afford to own a new car.

• sedut on Jun 17, 2013 at 2:34 pm

varian kali ini sepatutnya di jual pada harga rm26k-28k,balik semula harga asal Saga hitam hatchack tu.baru sebetulnya ditagkan pada super value disamping penurunan harga kereta,tidak kisah la banyak melakukan penurunan kos bahan dan mengurangkan aksesori.janji kereta rakyat,proton hanya laris di Malaysia sahaja,negara lain kurang membeli kerana dari segi aspek keselamatan yang amat kurang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Mickey Avalon on Jun 17, 2013 at 2:38 pm

I thought SV stands for Super Veloce :D
    Before y’all start dissing me, I drive a proton too :)

• Nozreen on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:25 pm

From day 1, Proton producer never think about safety… Look wise not much different then FLX anyhow the price should be more cheapper, due to it is using Taxi Sapu sit style… which is very popular in Penang… Sapu Car… haha.. to me the price estimation should be 10K to 15K…. AP… always AP…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
  • GOH KWANG JONG on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:28 pm

TOTALLY SAY NO TO PROTON OR PERODUA …. if still need to choose …. i better donate my money to charity than by this stupid n totally no quality car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:19 pm

yeay big pocket like u should be doing that ..

can u donate proton and produa so that we can have better car ? pleaseee big taukehh

• spyshotX on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:39 pm

“..the Saga SV’s low price was achieved through VALUE ANALYSIS AND ENGINEERING, with no cut in safety, quality and comfort…”

30 years of making cars and now Proton is catching up doing VAVE?? Well, better late than never. Although there will always be a catch when it comes to cost reduction. Hopefully they really implemented the VAVE approach.

Anyway, congrats to Proton for coming up with the cheapest ASEAN NCAP 3-star rating model ever sold in Malaysia. VALUE for your MONEY and your LIFE. Now, that’s what I call SUPER VALUE!!

• Whynot on Jun 17, 2013 at 5:14 pm

The real super value is not a petrol car but an EV or hybrid that Proton promised on mass productions on year 2011! But unfortunately, they still want to pollute the environment with the still old petrol engine technology running vehicle. What is the so call value analysis is actually briefing up on productions and not cutting the throat of the 1Malaysian supporters for decades!

• Carmen on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:45 pm

This Proton SV, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah got this Model already ?
    Thanks.

• stop judging car based on engine capacity, a better reference would be the horse power produced…
    and sadly say, even with 1.3, producing just a piddly 94hp is just plain sad…
    proton should stop improving their cosmetic values of their car, and more focused on engine performance and safety first…

its already bad enough government trying to cover this so called national car company, at least try to create something safer, instead of just improving the looks…

• Mienzz on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Even the so-called DVVT tech on Myvi 1.3 engine is just producing 86hp and 113Nm of torque

Proton were already refining the Campro engine by introducing the Inlet Air Fuel Module or IAFM for eliminating the torque dipping before 3500RPM,changing the new starting motor for more quieter starting,bring more fuel economy and quicker acceleration.

Furthermore Proton introduce the new IAFM+ technology to pass EURO 5 emission regulation and improving more fuel economy and increasing engine torque too

Not just improving the looks but also Proton improves the new Saga model safety by starting putting 2 airbags and reinforcing steel structures to name a few…not just like the another manufacturer,labelling their cars models as offering values to consumers by painted with new color and some bodykits

• Mienzz on Jun 17, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Correction,1.3 DVVT 91hp/117Nm

• butang on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:20 pm

agreed. proton came up initially with basic dohc engine, campro. then, with iafm which has variable intake manifold (long & short runner). afterwards, proceed with CPS (variable lift for intake camshaft). now, came up with downsizing engine, 1.6 turbo which equals to 2.0 output. plus, vvt mechanism at intake camshaft.
        yes, they are still not progressing yet to nowadays technology like direct injection, aluminum block, dual vvt, etc. but, looking at the capturing of petronas engine technology (mind you they have 117 patents), we probably will see more new engine line up coming soon, hopefully.

• Hyundai, Sonata car from Korea, only USD5000 each car.
    If our national cars valued at the range of USD5000, I will consider.

• perut ton on Jun 17, 2013 at 5:16 pm

i’m confused? what is the message that govt wants to address. if u see the ads in the newspaper,the message is clear – buying this car (250/mth) is better that taking public transportation. That’s it!! more jam on the road… our public transport now reserved for foreigners only :( … when will we have 1st class public transport systems… forever like this .. this raya balik kampung will be nightmare … must propose to PLUS to change the travel advisory timing – now go by car model instead of hours .. hehhe ..

• want cheap car free toll go somewhere else lah! on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:41 pm

no la… why you improved public transport but more cars on road.. if cheaper cars can’t be avoided, then charge higher toll for private transportation.. now RM42.10 JB-KL, why not RM168.40 for JB-KL car (toll per full passenger).. public transport free toll.. so balik kampung people will think so many times to jam the highway.. kaniniah one person also want to drive car ha? use public transport lah!

• paparadzi on Jun 17, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Saga FLX SV will spell the death of SAga FLX standard. Whatever accessories omitted are actually useless and can be fitted later if required.

Just took delivery of a Saga FLX Executive a week ago, but even if the SV was available then, I still will be going for the executive type. If nothing else, the executive comes with ABS, something that is almost impossible to retrofit.

• adisupra on Jun 17, 2013 at 6:36 pm

for what ever.. lamborghini got murcielago SV (Super Veloce) here come Proton with Saga SV ( Super Value ) now everybody can have a ride…. =)

• if they put v-bar that separates the cabin and boot space, so the rear seat cant be fold anymore?

• saga memang x boleh lipat seat belakang dia…

• B.er.g on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:40 pm

kalau saga bole lipat seat belakang pun, still tak kena v-bar pun kan? sebab rear seat bila folded, dia akan lipat ke depan, bukan ke belakang.

• Richard on Jun 17, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Can Proton reduce costs?
    Can’t achieve economies of scale if 50% rakyat not support.

Then, how to reduce cost:-

P employed more foreign workers or buy spare parts direct from other suppliers in Thailand or China.
    Rakyat and local suppliers not happy.

or Government to reduce tax – not significant. can’t help the poor.

My suggestions:-

Government should subsidise 50% of the purchase price for the poor rakyat a car for a family every 10 years. (Proton car less comfy after 10 years).

Revenue from:-
    Increase the petrol price and make sure is follow Singapore pricing. Tax collected to subsidise the poor to purchase proton. Since our rich neighbour singaporean can afford. Malaysia sure boleh.

For your information our Bangla, THai, Philipines petrol price are much higher than us. If they can survice Malaysia sure boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Amir Mohd on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:37 pm

if increase petrol price , u know lah a lot of rakyat won’t really happy and it will start to become political issue

• albag on Jun 17, 2013 at 7:28 pm

i can see a lot of proton ass lickers around… keep unliking those negative comments… congrats on supporting this junk and keep destroying our local automotive industry… u make the country unable to easily own other marque but just local proton junk… shame on you guys~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
    • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:22 pm

so what ?
      as most of use budget only can afford this car better than riding motorcycle for our own family comfort ..

now we can balik kampung together on this years RAYA
      happily :)
      no more motorcycle, no more bus ..

isnt it better ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
      • Amir Mohd on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:35 pm

maybe this fella didn’t see proton is improving , if proton didn’t start anything … we don’t even have our own Malaysian brand car la .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • saga SuperVeloce on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:14 am

yeah bro agreed,
          more importing means that our currency will be lower …
          as if there isnt any proton or produa ,

basic economy 101 :0

• yellow bean on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:15 am

pity u albag..become scumbag cybertrooper by blaming other for yr own unfortunate. shame on u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • albag on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:57 pm

well u better pity yourself.. i dont give a damn on what u say since u just an ass licker… u lick the ass as clean as you can no matter what negative comments are thrown onto your beloved proton… go ahead idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Low Budget on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Hello Bradder, Not everyone has the budget to buy cars that cost more than 40-50K. O.K.!
      If Perodua can reduce the Myvi to Saga SV pricing then got fight-lah.

• kl lang on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:19 pm

no ESP or ABS+EBD ? please added the active safety and reduce the price to 10k . every one will sure buy
    saga then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • kl lang on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:20 pm

balik kampung in the milo tin ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Amir Mohd on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:32 pm

what milo tin bro ? have u test drive it ? don’t simply judge la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • retard on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:28 pm

it will best if the saga is wider – 3 ppl can seat at the rear comfyly, rear disc brake more reliable, rear passenger window can wind down fully, free lifetime timing belt replacement since campro no timing chain, foldable rear seat, autofold side mirror, rear wiper, electric power steering & if not agree with my comments then u don’t wan yor saga to be better & improve.

• buat apa hapuskan duti eksais utk kereta mahal? lantaklah diorang sbb yg beli org kaya.. kereta nasional nih yg patut kerajaan bagi subsidi lebih n manufacturer patut turunkan rege lebih munasabah.. baru betul kita org malaysia boleh sapot local car..

• johnnywat on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Not sure how this car will help Proton sell. Sure, it’s RM5000 cheaper than the next cheapest Saga.

But think about it: RM5000 over the course of 7 years is nothing. Just RM60 difference in your monthly payments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Amir Mohd on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:30 pm

nice one , and the most important thing this model have airbag , i think the interior is quite comfortable . i guess people should really consider to buy this car

• fiiii K on Jun 18, 2013 at 3:03 am

fikir-fikirkanlah yg sesuai untuk mu

• bender fry on Jun 18, 2013 at 5:07 am

wow such a nice car..a price also cheap ppl can afort this car..it good for a ppl who want buy a first car…nice design the engine also good compare to ald proton..proton make a big improvement

• I would prefer this than second hand car anytime. Worth to buy if we take a really good care of. Yours sincerely, Kapcai rider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • aliasjebat on Jun 18, 2013 at 7:47 am

Just nice Proton, Keep it up.
    Sure that most of the parents are very looking forward to buy SV for their beloved sons/daughters. Quality in vendors part during installation must be carefully inspect/checked. And the most is make surveillance audit of Proton Service Center, list down the complain, gather the information and if can bring stop watch to measure their performance.

• ceh.. on Jun 18, 2013 at 8:15 am

POC…

• Boboi on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:21 am

I own saga FL and totally hate it… that shitty car will be my last potong car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Kumar on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:03 pm

thats not much of different with the price as you announced now. Its really expensive. no use of reduce car price for only in proton try reduce for all cars which makes people satisfactory. MALAYSIA TAK BOLEH!!!

• Alson P on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Mini Cooper turun RM30,000

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/Pemotoran/20130614/mo_01/Mini-Cooper-turun-RM30000

• mentari-o-korea on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Interestingly, normally SV was meant for Special Version model, but Proton take it as Special Value..sighh!!

• Bad or good.. The new saga is getting a lot of comments & free publicity..

• Bad or good.. The new saga is getting a lot of comments & free publicity.

Hack, it’s cheap! Better than the previous version Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Low Budget on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Yah, better than kap-chai. Tak kena hujan.
      Lets hope the power windows can tahan more than 3 years.

• Expectation – Full Spec Cars with Price Reduced that is affordable.
    Reality – Reduced Spec Cars with High Price Tags that is affordable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • You only see about deduction of unnecessary things but you forget that this car chassis has been improved to provide a better safety. In conclusion, you will get a safer car with a cheaper price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • it depends on what people need dude…for me yes extra things such as leather seats, sport rims, decent audio devices are way more important. because i’m not going for KL Drift or Drag Race along with people on public road. I’m using Proton Iswara 2nd Gen which most people called as ‘Tin Milo’ i have been using them for past 5 years since i bought it in 2nd-hand, and i have been still alive so i’m not so impressed with the impressed chasis for price reduced. this just my opinion. i’m not telling the car is crap. it’s a decent deal, if you are a standard user, for next 9 years, like myself extra accessories are important, so if i buy this car, i would be spending my $$$$$ for changing the rims, bodykits, leather seats, audio set and bla bla bla…so for me it’s consider waste in investing in this car. i’m willing to pay more to get a with full accessory rather than empty car with improved chasis. as i said earlier i’m not looking forward a car for street racing. so safety is not my 100% concern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • Wait until you’ve being hit by other driver who drives like crazy and you are the innocent party. Then you will regret about you last statement “so safety is not my 100% concern”.

• safety is not my 100% concern doesn’t mean i don’t give a dayumm for safety features…if i want to buy a car, safety is not d only thing i look for in that car…every car also d same…it cost you 100k or 1million also when other car hit you of course you will have to face that…tell me 1 car that can survive?

• Alson P on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:03 pm

They have 4 variant for Saga atm… so choose the highest for more accessories…
          Saga SV is the lowest line…. less accessories but upgraded safety element…

• wawan on Jun 18, 2013 at 4:36 pm

ahahaha…proton saga SV vs lamborghini murcielago SV…..same using SV emblem LoL

• 2 yrs using saga, it is actually a decent car, no problem at all. really change my view on proton cars. good job proton.i hv no problem if my next car is also a proton, affordable n good car.

• Pathum on Jun 18, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Hi Guys,

I’m a foreigner who came to Malaysia for a 2 years assignment. I want to buy a car . I’m thinking of buying brand new Proton SAGA or Viva Elite. I’m going to use it only for 2 years and sell it when I’m going back. I just need a very reliable vehicle as I don’t want to go to garages and mechanics. As far as I understand both Proton and Viva has pros and cons. Appreciate if you could give me some honest opinion about this. Do I have to stay in a waiting list to get any of this cars?

• if you are going to travel within klang valley than viva would be a great deal, easy parking, small cc you can save $$$ on petrol. but if you are travelling all over Malaysia, different states and you are looking forward to use your car rather than using public transport, i suggest you proton saga, it will be more comfortable, and spacious. Good Luck

• Pathum on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Hi,

Thank you very much for your reply and for the advice. Most of the time I’ll be roam around the KL city area and Im staying in bit isolated area from the main highways. So public transport is not a good solution for me.
        One concern I have about Viva is, the car is too small and the ground clearance is not enough. I like proton SAGA than viva elite but my concern about SAGA is how reliable the car? For two years I only want to do the normal maintenance only.

And how will be the resale value after 2 years if I maintain the car in good condition with all the service records?

Again thanks a lot

• @pathum, saga is reliable as far as i have seen. most of my friends are using it, and there is no complaints so far regarding of the variant they have been using. I’m not so sure about this SV variant as they are newly launched in market. But i’m sure they are reliable as other variant, just bare in mind that all cars have problems regardless their brands. Proton Saga will be a decent deal…just make sure you have double check the car before you sign the agreement. that will help you. and in case of any emergency you can contact Proton’s i-Care 24 hours, they should able to assist you.

Good Luck & Welcome to Malaysia :)

• Sorry missed the part of resale value, Saga should have higher resale value than Viva…in 2 years.

• Pathum on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Thanks a lot for your comment and for the advice. I’m planning to visit proton this Saturday. Will update you guys about my feelings on this new model.

Thanks

• Hanielhf on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:00 am

U should go for Perodua Viva or Myvi.. Two hassle free cars.. trust me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • Pathum on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Hi,

Thank you very much for your comment. MyVi is bit out of my budget. I thought of buying a second hand MyVi but then felt like buying a brand new car as I don’t know how to deal with the local sellers, no warranty etc.. I’m still thinking between proton SAGA and Viva Elite.

Anyway Thanks a lot for your advice

• if u care about your life, choose Saga. Stiffer chassis.

• Pathum on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Yeah.. Viva doesn’t seems to be strong. I don’t want to kill my self overseas :D.. better go for a proton it seems.. Thanks for the comments guys

• Viva hassle free car?? u must be kidding.. viva had it common problem. Within 1 year the A/C will not serve it purpose as an A/C!! believe me..

• Low Budget on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Proton Saga should be your choice if you only want to use the car for only 2 years. Viva is too small and under power as compare to the Saga.

• kak bedah on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:05 pm

an affordable car…. well done proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
  • kak bedah on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:09 pm

can anybody tell me where’d i can find a brand new car as low as this price that proton had offered????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • belilah proton and become bashers on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:01 am

yesss soo many.. persona in Saudi Arabia is only RM30k.. tata nano highest spec is only RM12k.. and many many more.. but,,,, you dont find it iin Malaysia.. Funny

• along on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:32 am

I already booking this car… Love It… Best buy… InsyaALLAH…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 31
  • Hanielhf on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:59 am

RM250 sebulan utk Proton Saga SV 1.3 (M) Solid.
    Anda mesti bayar d/p 10%. Tahun pertama RM250, tahun ke-2 hingga 3 RM310, tahun ke-4 hingga 6 RM410 dan tahun ke-7 hingga 9 RM500 sebulan. Keseluruhannya lbh kurang 4.5% setahun interestnya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • gen tolak on Jun 19, 2013 at 1:43 pm

klu masuk tahun ke5 rm410-500..baik bayar vios je..macam persona saya,masuk tahun ke5 dah macam2 hal,overheat lah,sensor lah…power window lah..kuat minyak..aduh ..banyak duit dah abis..hantar kt SC nk mencekik darah jer..mahal betul..proton buat kereta untuk first impression jer..nak jual pon banyak kedai ambil murah sangat..sebab enjin campro banyak bawa masalah.takkan kena rakyat tanggung segala masalah macam ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 15
    • Mat Noh on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Kereta kalau tak jaga biasa la tuan.. banyak masalahnya. Kalau kereta2 baru ni x pelik lah kalau overheat kena tukar head terus. Kalau repair pon tak tahan lama, jadi baik tukar barang baru terus. Sebab ketahanan & material alat ganti tak sama dengan kereta zaman 90-an. Tapi kalau jaga betul2 elok la dia.

• StartTheBallRolling on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Good news, automobile industry will be adjusting to complete Proton. When consumer hold back spending for new car due to economy of Malaysia maybe heading for slow down growth when US/Euro uncertain recovery and slow down economy of China/India it may be best alternative choice of cars to buy.

Proton has yet proven it self for it quality for local or foreign market. Prices reduction could inversely turn against Proton if news of product roll out contain sub standard components which reflect on quality of the car. The sub standard components comes about when supplier profits are reduce. We hope this will never happen…

If everything goes well, road users will be increased and crisis of lack of wider roads, increase of road fatality, increase double park, main roads converted to parking lots and poor public transport. Of course these are not Proton concerns, every industry player think for them self and leave the crises government to take care. Are they proactive?

Final thought Think of Yin and Yang

• genetic on Jun 20, 2013 at 4:15 am

Hey guys, im not sure of how credible this info is, but ive found out from the net that the rm250 monthly installment only applies on the first year of repayment period. It will then be increased gradually until it reaches about rm500 per montht on the last three year of the repayment period. Can anyone further confirm if this is true. ecause if it is, i dont see how this saga sv can be more beneficial if compared to buying an already existing saga flx .thanks guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • karldeena on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:50 am

With this price range, I prefered Saga SV rather than VIVA. I hate Perutdua selling car for making profit only…less concern on safety. Heard that VIVA & ALZA even failed crash test, but got consesus for selling in Malaysia??…anyone can confirm?

• There is the list car given exemption from JPJ for non-compliance UN ECE R94 (frontal collision system) and UN ECE R95 (side collision

http://www.jpj.gov.my/web/guest/status-senarai-kenderaan-yang-tidak-mematuhi

• Dingo on Jun 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm

SV…. to compare with Murciélago LP 670–4 SV and Diablo SV… Proton did not follow SV badge are meant for. it suppose to be increase in power and track mode. Out of many badge, why SV?

• say who? on Jun 22, 2013 at 5:46 pm

why dingo? you are not look like “Canis lupus dingo”

SV = Super Value… didn’t read ah?

• Mat Noh on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Dingo my man… you must be really high to write this piece of crap.

• My sister has a Proton Saga BLM since 2008 while another has a Saga FLX CVT. Both are good cars with very good suspension, comfortable driving on different road surface. Never break down and can bring 5 adults easily and bring loads of things in the booth, not forgetting going to the airport sometimes to send/fetch some friends. I am sure this new variant is value for money too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • anwar on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:57 am

ok la tu, 33K dont expect like 100K product.
    better than P1 viva air cond tak sejuk compressor so small, bonet takde.

I think, for those yg kuat kritik tu , most of them TAK MAMPU pakai kereta luar. Nak pakai proton tak minat. Selera besar.

Aku peduli apa orang nak kata, gaji aku kecik aku mampu beli SV je. Apa ada hal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
    • Mat Noh on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Tuan tolonglah jangan beli. Saya merayu ni. Kawan saya dah beli. Dengan cat terkopek & calar kat 4 tempat. Barang plastik dalam kereta ada cemey kat satu tempat. Sghupa kena kencing hidup2. Pembuatan tak ada kualiti.

• Superbikers on Aug 12, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Ape masalah nko ni.
        biar jelah dia nak angkat.
        yg calar tu kete member lu bukan kete lu.
        Mak gua da pakai 4 tahun kete ni.
        Everything is just fine.
        Byk calar bukan sbb proton tapi, sbb banyak kali langgar pagar n tembok.

• zul-el on Jun 21, 2013 at 4:24 pm

bagi aku la kereta ni cuma di gunakan dari point A ke B dan B ke A semula saja.. ok la jugak harga dia..janji aku leh hantar anak gi sekolah dgn gi kerja..lagi elok beli rumah yg selesa..beli kereta mahal2 pun bukannya boleh buat tempat tido.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
  • Fauzi on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:14 pm

waiting for loan approval…satisfied with the price and safety improvement…chose elegant brown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • ade yang comment persona masuk tahun ke-5 byk masalah. saye pengguna persona IAFM, bulan 9 ni genap 5tahun.. milage dah cecah 160000km. takde masalah pun.. kat highway bawak 150km/hr, stady je.. persona saye tak pernah bagi ape2 masalah sama ade major atau minor. bg sye yng penting bagaimana kite buat maintenance kereta tu. kalau tahu pakai je& tak service ikut sepatutnya, memanglah kereta akan rosak..

• say who on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:20 pm

bukan x service je, kadang2 masalah datang dari cara kita bawa kereta tu sendiri, ada orang igt bila tekan laju enjin tak rosak, nak tekan laju beli la ferarri, enjin F1 pon ada wear and tear… kalau bawak steady, service cantik, bawak ikut prosedur… tahan la enjin tu… same la kalau kita kawen… nak anak ramai… nanti bini jadi gemuk cakap bini x pandai jaga badan…haha… fikir la ape yg ko dah buat kat bini tu huhu

• Tengokaje.. on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:53 pm

agreed…periodically service is important.

• spiderman on Jun 22, 2013 at 6:55 pm

not to say proton is not good or too expansive or anything but for people who thing our local cars are cheap, they are selling proton cars in saudi arabia 50% cheaper after taxes then what we malaysians have to pay……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Galaxy86 on Jun 22, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Dear, Friends

Personally SAGA FLX may not RELIABLE in term of SAFETY because:-
    – AseaNCAP December 2012 Test: 1 STAR (FLX)
    – AseaNCAP January 2013 Test: 3 STAR (FLX+)

It shows that the same car was tested within short period of time with the minor add-on of Passenger Airbag in order to gain the extra 2 STAR.
    Hence, personally the body build up quality and chassis is still the same.!!! Please go to the aseancap website and read the report to find out the truth yourself.

Anyway, its up to you to judge the car quality. No offence please. Have a nice day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 13
    • imran on Jun 26, 2013 at 7:33 am

because thats just how it is…
      vehicle body and chasis is not everything to get more stars.

if u dont like it, go sit in the jungle ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
      • Mat Noh on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:13 pm

I don’t like you man. What are you? Somekind of a Proton groupie freak?

• Galaxy86 on Jul 17, 2013 at 11:35 am

Imran, I think you are the one staying in the jungle. Maybe a die hard proton fan or proton salesman.!
        OR
        must be a SAGA-FV Fanboy who cannot accept any open criticism by others.
        Come on dude, get a life.!

• sajasukasuka on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:50 am

mr imran one question please : what car have you owned so far.. maybe proton is on your list? we’d be glad if u still using one.

• Low Budget on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Whatever star the Saga qualify do not matter for many of us, better than kap-chai right? By the way, how many stars the Kap chai has? What many of us want is a vehicle that has better star rating than kap-chai, and also to shield us from rain and dust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • lawrencelow on Jun 23, 2013 at 5:15 pm

my 1.5 years old saga flx mt, fc 20¢/km sometime less. 1st gear and reverse gear susah, sc cannot do anything after many visits.??????????

• anak watan benci kapitalis on Jun 24, 2013 at 3:21 pm

I’ve seen it. definitely rubbish low quality car at expensive affordable car for commitment free RM2000-3000 salaryman.mahathir mohamed kutty bohong about price cut..kak bedah please buy and quit talking now.u have no idea and stupid indeed to buy this and say it’s super value woohooo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
  • mahatshit on Jun 24, 2013 at 3:39 pm

At that pricetag you can get fullspec with high quality proton persona in saudi arabia. keep buying proton you fools. actually acting proton owner say proton is good.cyber world people act and lie and you never know.read more people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Lagubestbest on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:20 pm

The rm250 monthly price is somewhat misleading though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • JJ Wong on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:03 am

RM250 Payment plan is the Step Up Loan.

But interest as high as 3.98% if you don’t mind. :p

MT:
    Year 1: RM250;
    Year 2-3: RM320;
    Year 4-6: RM410;
    Year 7-9: RM430 (RM450 for Metallic)

CVT:
    Year 1: RM280;
    Year 2-3: RM350;
    Year 4-6: RM420;
    Year 7-9: RM500 (RM510 for Metallic)

*Exact price please refer to sales person

But seriously an affordable one. Hrm.. Considering..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • this cheap car suits plotong as a cheap brand…

#proud vios owner here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Vios are for half buckets and suits half buckets like you..
      #Proud BMW 5 series owner here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Jia Wen on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:36 am

BMW are for half buckets and suits half buckets like you…!
        #Proud Ferrari 458 Italia owner here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • Superbikers on Aug 12, 2013 at 2:48 pm

haha.. serve u bmw n vios owner?
          u cant stand up with Ferrari..!

• proton lies and u love it on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Have been lied over and over again and you guys still love this proton product.. and you know that its advisor is an ultra racist malay.. you still love it.. just why the hell you don’t have face anymore huh??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 69
  • Fauzi on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Ferruccio Lamborghini mencipta kereta Lamborghini kerana kereta Ferrari yg dibelinya susah nak shift gear tapi kedua-duanya masih ada peminat setia walaupun masih mempunyai kelemahan masing-masing.

• setuju bro…even super car sekalipun ada kelemahan masing-masing..klu nk kete yg totally perfect maybe ferrari, lamborghini, bentley, porsche, maserati kene join as a team to produce satu model…dh tu nk letak arge bape?..mcm kite mkn burger, ade nk mayonis lebih, ade nk sayur sikit, ade nak taknak sos…masing-masing ada taste sndri…simple rule, beli ikut kemampuan dan minat pada saya..look funny when they talk about saga vs and murchielago sv…

• want cheaper car free toll go somewhere else la on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:51 pm

why you improved public transport but more cars on road.. if cheaper cars can’t be avoided, then charge higher toll for private transportation.. now RM42.10 JB-KL, why not RM168.40 for JB-KL car (toll per full passenger).. public transport free toll.. so balik kampung people will think so many times to jam the highway.. kaniniah one person also want to drive car ha? use public transport lah!

• zainal abidin on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:44 pm

One avenue not yet explored by Proton is the 5 door Station Wagon based on the SAGA FLX. Well you know, the likes of the Datsun 120Y/130Y from yesteryear’s.

Proton,help make it a reality ASAP.

• zoulsham on Jul 13, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Kereta moden direkabentuk dengan tumpuan crumple zone di hadapan mahupun dibahagian belakang. Bahagian kabin pemandu pula ditumpukan kekuatan struktur untuk keselamatan pemandu. Bahagian crumple zone yang menempatkan enjin dan barangan di belakang menyerap hentakan jika berlaku perlanggaran.Ada sesetengah kereta akan patah lower armnya bila berlaku perlanggaran. Situasi ini mengelakkan kereta terhumban jauh akibat momentum dan kelajuannya. Tiada makna buat kereta kebal tetapi pengguna mati kat dalam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • get standard varian or exsekutif,,all you wrote have it.saga now have 3 segmen dude

• they don’t make them like they used to.

contrary to popular belief,the best Proton car is still the WIRA for me.nice to drive and sometimes when I’m alone in the car and the weather permits, I can even overtake the Vios on the highway. i’m also confident during cornering and more so than any other Malaysian made car.

if Proton didn’t have reliability issues (power window,central locking,alarm,poor aftersales service), I’d buy their newer models like Preve/Inspira instead of a Japanese car.

Proton and Perodua must address the many critisizms levelled at them or risk losing more customers.The ones who can afford non Malaysian cars, ignore Malaysian cars.

:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • saga sv is great but on Aug 08, 2013 at 3:58 pm

the govt should start thinking to triple the the toll for private transportation and diminish public transport toll. integrating public transport and special regulations for bus lane all over the country is a must.cheaper cars should not take place.cheaper public transport is desirable for many.saga sv is just another failed govt think tank.

• Wannabe on Nov 15, 2013 at 6:16 pm

I agreed but the express way to earn money is through selling the car to people. Who is control the market right now? You knew it.Public transport? LOL I think they are not interested. 20 years later maybe?

• Wannabe on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Own this car 2 months ago. Can go for 140km/h(so far) with 3k++ RPM. More stable than Myvi when cruising the highway. The CVT gearbox is actually using the belt and got no gear inside. Therefore, when you pedal from 0kmh, the rpm will remain at the certain point while the speed is increasing. Unlike the normal auto transmission which gives you the feel of engine kick.Tested the SAT button which gives the feel of auto transmission instead of smooth transmission.But it is sucks. Better stick with SAT button-off. Boot space is enough for luggage. There are 4 power windows installed, but the stupid rear window only can be winded down at half. Wtf? I have used semi-synthetic engine oil to prevent “injury” to the engine. Please don’t save the cost of engine oil,or you will suffer when the engine become rough and roar like hell. It doesn’t have central locking mechanism, so just lock the door manually when get into the car, or you can install an optional plug and play device RM70 to lock the door by stepping on the brake from accessory shop. So far got no any major noise come from engine or the back (as heard from others like “tek tek tek”). It’s funny when after raining, the water will accumulate under the door.The water is splashed out when you open the car door. So here comes the first issue: the engine oil signal lights on on my speedometer, fine . Then I cannot start the engine. So I check the engine oil level by pulling the indicator out and have a look. The engine oil level is still on somewhere maximum level.Then I open the engine oil cap and put it back. Finally I can start my car again. OK it’s ironic that I figured out that why the engine oil light will comes out suddenly? It’s usually lights on when the engine oil level dropped below minimum level right? So far driving like normal.

Advice to potential car buyers: buy this car if you really want to save money for a short term. For example , I only planned to drive for 3 years. If you want comfortable and reliable car on long term, better get other cars. I had no choice but forced to buy it because it’s quite cheap. Malaysia boleh to produce cheap car for poor citizen!

• enthusiasts national on Nov 26, 2013 at 6:10 pm

You can see a lot of poor people rich wannabe or daydreamers on the road driving this car… how sad to look at them is like looking at beggars… you know what i mean..

• Wannabe on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:19 am

A Bugatti driver will looking you as beggar too. Don’t talk crap okay. You know how Malaysia’s policy force the people here to buy this cheap car? Why I should pay more for extra tax (if I choose other car makers)? Yes I am not satisfy with this car too but a wise fresh grad will not invest all his money to afford a japan car. If you did, congratulation you will have financial trouble when comes to buy a 500k house. I bet you are staying in your dad house, spoon fed with cash, buying a luxury car which paid by dad. You were born to be rich? Come on, buy a Bugatti and show off in Malaysia. Bitch please.

• shamsuddin Bin Hj Osman on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:54 pm

I used to be the proud owner of Proton Wira.I bought the car for second hand at cheras used car the previous owner is a Punjabi Lady.She used the Wira for 8 years and I continue for another eight years before I sold it with mixed feeling.So to save fuel I used silicon cable and it does work.Maintenance is very important.So I think the new Saga will be marketable because the backside looks good.Power window tak naik,meter minyak tak naik brake drum bunyi itu biasa.So folks buy Malaysian.Plse forgive if out of topic.

• Even i hate dacing. but who cares? i love this car so much n i own one since september. and it serves me well… i use it becoz i only can afford this. moreover im just a student. good JOB PROTON :D

• Pencari Kedamaian on Feb 05, 2014 at 10:15 am

OK ke tidak kereta bukan bergantung kepada ‘harga’, ‘brand’& ‘spesifikasi’nya TETAPI bergantung kepada “Keberkatan Rezeki” kita membayarnya……..
    Renung2kan & selamat beramal….

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:06 am

My mom drives the first New Saga. She always service her car at Proton on time and a good driver. Just too bad Proton is just an unreliable car and the worst part Proton doesn’t even know how to fix the problems. Last weekend the car just went dead on the KL-Seremban highway and scared the hell out of the poor woman. I told her to sell the Saga, take my Altis instead (a good reason to get a sporty car) but she refused sign.

• zaltruis on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:52 am

Please improve the NEW SAGA interior and make 1.6L with manual.

• Please improve the NEW SAGA interior and also make 1.6L with manual.