Subaru BRZ launched – six-speed auto, RM247k

Subaru BRZ

After what has seemed like an eternity, the Subaru BRZ finally enters the Malaysian scene. The Toyota 86‘s body double was launched this morning amidst the start of the Super GT race weekend, and is available with a six-speed auto gearbox – the six-speed manual can be had through special order.

Like its Hachi-Roku twin sister, the sports coupe packs a 2.0 litre direct-injected DOHC flat-four capable of 200 PS at 7,000 rpm and 205 Nm between 6,400 and 6,600 rpm. This allows the 1,278 kg car a 0-100 km/h time of a little over eight seconds, and a 210 km/h top speed. Fuel consumption and CO2 emissions are quoted at 7.1 litres per 100 km and 164 grams per km respectively.

Subaru BRZ

The Subaru BRZ’s front bumper differs slightly from the Toyota 86’s. The former’s U-shaped grille contains a black plastic bar (holding the number plate) sitting above horizontal slats; the latter has a trapezoidal mesh grille. Their fog lamp housings are also differently shaped, and the Subaru’s front splitter is more pronounced.

The Subaru’s interior is trimmed in leather and Alcantara. It eschews the eye-catching colours and racy fonts of the Toyota’s gauges in favour of a more sedate white-on-black set-up with a plain background. The Subaru’s dashboard trim is light-coloured, while the Toyota’s is dark-coloured. The Subaru also gets heated front seats, which the Toyota doesn’t have.

The Subaru BRZ sits on MacPherson struts up front and double wishbones out back, and rolls on 17-inch aluminium alloys wrapped in 215/45 rubber. Drive goes to the back wheels via a Torsen LSD and front-rear weight distribution is 53:47.

Standard equipment includes auto HID headlamps with self-levelling and pop-up washers, keyless entry and start, power folding door mirrors, shift paddles, folding rear seats, cruise control, auto dual-zone air-con, aluminium pedals and a six-speaker audio system with USB and AUX inputs. On the safety front, there are seven airbags, VSC, ISOFIX and side door reinforcement beams.

The Subaru BRZ can be had in Satin White Pearl, Sterling Silver Metallic, WR Blue Mica, Galaxy Blue Silica, Lightning Red, Dark Grey Metallic or Crystal Black Silica. The price to pay is RM247,461, on-the-road with insurance. Offered is a five-year or 100,000 km warranty.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• akioz on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:25 pm

looks yummy. i mean the models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
    • Seriously on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Seriously those are some not pretty models. Plus they are sort of fat. Urgh. Motor image low budget?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
      • akioz on Jun 15, 2013 at 8:04 pm

at least they are well fed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • malaysians love fat girls on Jun 16, 2013 at 3:11 am

the title says it all. or maybe the photographer is just piss poor. then again, malaysian girls…don expect too much. come on la…where are the jap chicks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • flat_tire on Jun 16, 2013 at 11:08 pm

so you prefer bony models then..?

• Girls pls, don’t blocking the car! RM247k for this little slow fake sport? blue BMW F30 can tapau this and the 86 any minute! btw this is one sexy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
      • akioz on Jun 15, 2013 at 8:16 pm

there are a lot of pictures of the car by itself. you still cannot see? they have the interior shot, the engine, the exhaust, the rear lamp, the rims, the side profile of the car, well i hope you can see the rest. :)

• All you know is speed and tapau people? I guess you’ve never driven these BRZ, GT-86, MX-5 Miata or S2000 right? go drive one and you’ll know what’s fun actually is. You don’t have to be too fast to have fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • Alpha on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Please don’t lump S2000 in the same category as the MX5,BRZ or 86. That beast is faster in stock form than most Type Rs. It’s a hardcore car.

I do agree that you don’t have to be fast to have fun. But S2000 is a different beast. It’s freaking fast and freaking fun.

• Wow.. …. I mean the car…

• Such a high price! Who’s gonna buy it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Alpha on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Costing almost the same as the WRX STi, but far less power. Even the WRX STi is available in auto (or is it dual clutch?)

Yeah, the BRZ might be something that chicks will look at like some kind of Ferrari, but all the guys know that only mat poyo will get this. Hehe.

You want something to show off?? Why a Subaru or Toyota that costs 250k?? You can get some nice conti coupes for around that price or slightly higher.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good RWD NA machine, but for that price? It might make more sense if it’s around the price of an FD2R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:15 pm

YEah, ,with that price range, WRX STi for me. When is Honda going to announce successor of FD2R? FB2R possible? We are luckily didn’t get that terrible Euro’s civic type R and get the JDM instead, review found that FD2R is miles better than that Euro crap.

• Jimmy on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:21 pm

It is very likely that Subaru will tone down the futuristic concept sportscar, it may not be as cantiq.
        BRZ needs turbo and moonroof to fight against 86, management you hear it.

• armandd on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:31 pm

I can’t believe the 6-speed manual can only be had through special order. It had to be standard on a car like this! Those who buy this car but can’t handle more than 2 pedals are …… (can’t find the word(s))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Welcome to Malaysia!

• lonelyobserve on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:19 pm

It is all about business and marketing trend. Due to the automotive policy, automatic/CVT/DSG is the main stream in this country while manual transmission to car dealers is a near non-moving stock for them to sell.

Good thing is Glen Tan still give hardcore manual transmission lovers to order manual version of BRZ, under back-to-back order basis.

P.S. Judging the price of 6AT BRZ, the manual transmission BRZ will have the price below RM200K due to the price difference between manual and auto is about RM5K.

• lonelyobserve on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Ignore the estimated price for BRZ manual. It should be around RM244K.

• the automotive policy makes drivers choose auto transmission? um, what?

• Whoever buys this with three-pedals, I don’t know who you are ,I’am going to find you, and I am going to offer you a free Frappuccino Vanti from Starbucks. Because it’s worth it;I am sick of seeing slushboxes in GT86.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • albag on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:37 pm

high end expensive price… cheap looking outdated interior… simply just wow… even a Myvi interior looks better than this… where’s the common sense go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:19 pm

When a car keep making you pay attention to all details and materials of the car while driving, you know it’s a really terrible and boring to drive car.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Which idiot priced a car like this, it should be priced below a Toyota Prius but….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Such a nice car BUT its overrated. And come on look at how much torque and power from the engine. Its lame! Unless it comes with forced induction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • war_ant on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Heated seats and snow mode. What i always wanted in my car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • ripper on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Now you knowtoyota is rip off company lol. Even preve already 200nm . Only lesser at hp or top speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:17 pm

But the amount of fun isn’t exist in preve. It’s easy to make a car fast but it’s not easy to make it fun and keep a smile on your face. Although I didn’t drove it before, but I wish I can drive it one day.

• ae101 on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:29 pm

4wd truck and lorry have far higher torque than preve. oh yes is forced induction too. go get one.

• Better you ask him to get an airplane. Preve is family car. To compare it with brz is unfair. Nevertheless preve has very good ride and handling. The point here is brz must have better torque. At least on par with prince 1.6 turbo

• btthrt on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Bila sebut proton/preve je ramai yg butthurt LOL

• seancorr on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:34 pm

The Toyota 86 and this BRZ should deserve some praise…its one of the best handling cars out there but only screwed up by our local pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Motorhead on Jun 15, 2013 at 2:51 pm

We have a discord in passion here. Malaysian car Dealers are only interested in maximizing profits without respect towards the consumer . Reminds me of the story of rm7 roti canai. Greed is the driver in both cases.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:13 pm

No Offence but I found the “Motor Image” models a bit no suitable & i start LOL when browse through. One model even wear a MEN Gold Watch!!!
    Anyway is a good car but price tak da Good lloorr

• Engine spec is super lembik. All show but no go.

• takatohou on Jun 15, 2013 at 3:56 pm

BRZ is priced kinda high if compared to WRX STI. If WRX is offered in Malaysia, the price should be lower than BRZ then. Thus, WRX will be a real bargain for AWD and better HP as compared to BRZ. Motor Image, please bring in WRX to Malaysia!

• syafeeq on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:14 pm

The Mini Countryman Cooper costs 219k

• AreYouSure on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Can a Passat B7 beat this car in terms of sprint? Maybe not. But for slightly less than RM200k don’t u think a Passat Sportline, will be a better choice with top notch safety feature, beautiful interior, pure angular Conti design, higher torque of 250nm arriving at 1,500 rpm, nice 18″ Kansas wheels, 235/40/R18W Conti Contact Sport 5 rubber, and much more? 1.8L engine remaped to 210 hp? Can ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:48 pm

VW salesman, please don’t keep doing sales on internet la, your so called “Premium” VW feels cheap if keep promoting on the internet.

• Simon Hoh on Jun 16, 2013 at 12:45 am

Actually the standard Golf TSI could, with century in 8s flat & a top speed of 220kmh. I’m kind of disappointed in what turned out. If only they stuck a better engine in this to live up to its image. They’ve got engines that churn out more that 100hp/liter, why not use those?
      Perhaps reserving that for a BRZ STI? :p

• frenzyaustin on Jun 17, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Straight lift in the Forester’s turbo in it, 250HP stable engine! If not enough, wait a 300HP version of forester instead.

• Then there comes a corner……..where the BRZ actually shines.

• saladin on Jun 15, 2013 at 4:50 pm

This car best for drift only. Not for majority of us including me who dont know how to drift.

• akula on Jun 15, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Slow Sport Car!!!!

• jimmy on Jun 15, 2013 at 9:50 pm

For the price i would buy the Megane RS, so much faster.

• Jimmy on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:32 pm

If I reduce my budget from 950k to 250k, I probably will choose the same like you.

• Chipping in on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Quite sure the Malaysian spec Toyota 86 auto has heated seats and snow mode. In any case, snow mode only makes sense on an auto car, not a manual Toyota 86 which you may be comparing this to. Please correct.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 15, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Such a sissy engine output cost 200k? What a joke.

But who cares? This car is mend for downhill race. Genting. Here it come.

• Annaeh on Jun 16, 2013 at 12:21 am

Is the price before or after 20% price reduction?

• So glad that I bought the rcz manual. The Toyota / BRZ doesn’t have the look, cheap interior, overpriced…and the only reason why it is so popular is because of the reviews done oversea, drifting here and there.

In actual daily driving, who is going to drift on Malaysian road? Drift using auto transmission? Changing the tyre every two months?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • fresco on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:32 am

Oii, Toyota 86 also comes with Sport/Snow mode la!! Paultan pls check your data.

• fresco on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:36 am

http://paultan.org/2012/07/02/driven-toyota-86-a-true-gem-under-the-veneer/dsc_0168-3/

• bashherebashthere on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:32 am

This is a rear wheel drive car, and most of the cheaper and powerful car mentioned here is front wheel drive or converted front wheel drive car to all wheel drive car.

I dont think there’s any cheaper brand new rear wheel drive car in malaysia

• overpriced..

• staticx on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:47 am

if this car goes around 160k – 180k should be ideal price for this sport car.. but RM250k?? almost can get a Golf R or the new A250 which i feel is more worthy in terms of quality and the exclusiveness..maybe even power/torque.. this the interior is seriously CRAP!! all plastic here and there.. come on Toyota/Subaru, be realistic..

• danny1221 on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:53 am

wait 1-2 year

japan AP version come.

aaaaaaaaaa

• SubaruKaki on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:04 am

Don’t whine about the price if you have 200k++ to spare go get other so call better car than brz.Since brz is enthusiast oriented.

Why ppl alway complain about pricing?instead of discuss about the car.

• straightguy on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:20 am

So many gay dude sarcastic the gal.Maybe next time
    Mi will arrange some men model than you will be thrilled.