SPYSHOTS: Porsche Cayenne second-gen facelift

Porsche Cayenne facelift 1

It’s spyshot time again. Our automotive peeping Toms from the Continent have served up more pics of the upcoming facelifted second-gen Porsche Cayenne undergoing tests in Germany (see the first set of spyshots here).

You’d be forgiven if you can’t tell what’s new at a glance – the changes appear to be rather minimal. But they’re there all the same – there is a restyled front bumper and reshaped head and tail lamps.

The upcoming iteration of the Porsche Cayenne is set to get a new engine (reports speculate a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 with 413 hp and 520 Nm of twist), new wheel designs and minor interior updates, according to CarPix.

A hybrid version is also said to be in the works, which could see a 316 hp 3.0 litre V6 working together with a 94 hp electric motor to offer a combined 410 hp and an electric-only range of 35 km.

The facelifted second-gen Porsche Cayenne is expected to first show in late 2014 before going on sale in 2015 to jostle for sales with the new BMW X5 and Mercedes-Benz M-Class.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Toe To Toe on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:47 am

People are so stupid to buy this. In the US, this car is only $49,000. Here, it is RM600,000. Even with your tax and excise maximizing at 130%, the car is sold at Rm600,000. So, SDAC makes a cool RM300,000 for the stupid person who buys it. Btw, SDAC will get it much cheaper directly from the German factory. So maybe even the price is $39,000 US dollars. Because if US is selling it at $49,000 USD, surely Porsche USA is making money and profit and also the government of US is collecting taxes and duties.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 103
    • Toe To Toe on Jun 17, 2013 at 9:57 am

Macai Red Bean detected……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 33
    • Beemer Boy on Jun 17, 2013 at 10:14 am

Don’t reveal your stupidity by posting such comments. People who can afford such luxury aren’t stupid bout finance, economy n global markets.

They very well know that they are paying a high premium price for such vehicles but will do anyway to bask in their hard work n success.

An imbecile like you should just concentrate on earning your own wealth n own one of these one day instead of criticising others who have made it in life.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 153 Thumb down 141
      • Anti Autobot on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:12 am

Beemer boy, are you using autobot to like your comment? You lack attention? Looks like you do. Maybe you should stop calling people names and deal with your Attention Deficit Disorder

• Pls la, dun simply call ppl stupid.. So, are you smart enough to earn 600K and put in ur pocket ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Alpha on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:20 pm

“I can’t afford a high end car because of the price is too expensive.”

Sounds silly, eh? It’s better if you say “I can’t afford high end cars because I’m a lazy bum who don’t work as hard as the others.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • rm600,000 is like a rm600 for mokhzani mahathir

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
    • Alpha on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Because only him and other politicians are rich in Malaysia?? How small your world is.

• Carrera 997 on Jun 17, 2013 at 5:45 pm

No doubt a luxury SUV.

But Cayenne shares the same chassis and wheelbase as the parent company, the VW Touareg

and VW is 50% cheaper

• US prices:

Cayenne: US$49,600
      Touareg: US$41,792

The Touareg is not really 50% cheaper… ;)

• Malaysian are not stupid, Malaysian is stronger than other countries as we can buy an expensive car although the car suppose to sell cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • hahaha on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:27 pm

ala.. dun worry la bro, jangan gaduh2 meh…
    those man not realy stupid… they ask their company @ RM1mil+, ask the company to scrap the car within 5 years time. after 5 years aaaa… the company sell to them (to private name) as cheaper as RM1 only. then next a few month they sell again into open market and earn a few hundred thousand….

so who’s smart and who’s stupid?…

lu pikir la sendiri aaa….

• hahaha on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:31 pm

* suppost to read…

they as their company to BUY the car @RM 1 million+….

same story goes to tajuddin ramli, buy daimler from MAS… just only @ RM1 only ma…

• ChongJunJie on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Perodua alza or this? Anyone can enlighten me?My twink want me to get this.

• Carlover on Jul 30, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Rm600K expensive to buy or not to buy depends on how easy and how fast you fill your pocket with the monies, either by your hard earn sweat and blood or through some EASY means…you should know the answer. Clearly, half of the car price goes to the gomen. The gomen is bias at smart ass ppl who can earn fast monies, so they pay double or triple.
    So, pick your choice.