Kia Cerato – name confirmed, launching on July 2

ceratoprebooking980

It’s confirmed – the Kia Forte K3 will be known as the Kia Cerato in Malaysia. The name has been officially unveiled on Naza Kia’s website, which also reveals the sedan as being the subject in the Project C contest. Also disclosed, the launch date for the car, which is July 2.

Pre-booking for the car has begun, and a number of features on the car are teased, among them HID xenon headlamps with DRLs and an air ventilated driver’s seat for the 2.0 litre variant. The intimation – as well as that advanced by the two homologation units caught in spyshots in May – suggests two engine versions; the other should be a 1.6 litre job.

Also mentioned are rear LED combination lamps and welcome lights that illuminate the car when the keyfob is sensed as you approach the vehicle. Not long now before we get the full picture on the Cerato and what’s on it, then.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sweet~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Petrolhead on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:28 pm

It’s finally here! I still prefer the name Forte, much bolder as compared to Cerato

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
      • gdntsk on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:47 pm

According to dictionary.com:
        Forte: a person’s strong suit, or most highly developed characteristic, talent, or skill; something that one excels in:

I prefer “Forte” more than “Cerato” because “Forte” has its meaning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Danny Wang on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Forte is more solid when you pronounce it whereas Cerato sounds slightly more crunchy. Hope the build is no crunchy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • carlies on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Just wonder why so much people “like” here but in the real world the sales report not as “liked” as that. Only those people commented here bought the car? haha. What a big joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • cerato on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:42 pm

and u guys already driven it today at fraser hill isn’t it??hope u guys can upload the performance review, overall rating and of course the price tag. cos it wearing kia badges.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Sound like potato… K3 or Forte r better! seriously this car is beautiful! Almera and Vios pls go home to hide ur face!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 10
      • alldisc on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:18 am

ppl said the same thing when forte was to be launched. and then again during the facelift.

but yet its sales was something that naza can be proud off. hardly a dent on vios sales (except now under the threat of Almera)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
      • rigid on Jun 19, 2013 at 5:46 pm

vios and almera are in b segment same as city. this cerato is must be compared with civic altis and lancer.

• true that.. however it can’t compare with civic cause it’s using torsion beam suspension on the rear while civic and those c segment class uses independent.. it’s a big deal in terms of comfort and handling… to me it’s the chassis setup determine the segment not just the size.. so while they love to call this C segment.. at most i could say it’s B+.. it’s using the same chassis setup like vios, city all that

• rigid on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:33 pm

some addition-almera and vios should be same segment as KIA RIO. luckily the new RIO is quite handsome..but his late brother RIO..ayyo..u all know it already (before the german chief designer comes in). hope new RIO will be the same par as vios/city in term of sales.

• Obama on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:08 am

Im gonna trade-in my 2 year old kia forte with a loss of about 30k and change to this one definitely!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Eh bro, if you got one of them Samsung GalaxyPad thingies, good news !

Apparently, you can ‘control’ your Kia Cerato with it ! I’m serious, I saw this on Top Gear Korea. Feel free to check it out on Youtube.

This car is clearly not meant for uncles. hehehe

• that’s what they called as UVO system which i dont think will be available here..
        but it’s a good feature though

• xhouse on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Housefly face Honda side profile Ford rear characteristics… u win!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
  • Vernon on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Liking the whole new corporate look of the current crop of Kia cars, starting from the Optima K5. Sweet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • A change of name much probably implies an increase in price category?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Ensco 105 on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:21 pm

RV aside, it’s a potentially decent car to be competing with CIVIC/ALTIS/COROLLA/MZ 3.

1.6 seems likely to be priced >100K and 2.0 ~115K.

Exciting times ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • ben yap on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:35 am

Last week the Kia salesman told me that the 1.6 will be priced at RM95K and the 2.0 at RM105K.

The 2.0 will come with sunroof while the lower spec doesn’t have any. In overseas the K3 gets self parking but in Malaysia none of the models will have it.

• Though i hate proton. This kind of price i buy Inspira better lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • xavier lert on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:21 pm

another preve competitor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 44
    • Vader on Jun 19, 2013 at 7:28 am

Sorry to say that preve is totally out of the rim!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 31
      • namanama on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:49 am

preve still in competition,in term of handling&performance.just the price and refinement quality much lower than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 29
      • Apa bagus sangat ke cerato ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • ss427 on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:33 am

Preve competitor? The new Forte is generations ahead of the Preve la. Its amazing there are people out there who think Proton products can even be remotely competitive once it steps out of Malaysia.. LOL

Anyway, Singapore market used to have the nameplate Cerato for the current gen Forte. We will revert back to the proper Forte nameplate when this new Forte comes in sometime July.

Its ok la, a great car by any other name is still a great car.

We will get the fully loaded 1.6L Gamma GDI model. No word if the 2L Nu GDI engine option will be offered here.

Can’t wait for the car to arrive here too :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
      • jeremy on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:19 am

Unfortunately, we are not getting the GDI model…already confirmed by KIA salesman

• In terms of styling yes, but not Ride and handling. Preve much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
  • Varman on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Any idea how much will it cost ? 60-70k ? 70-90 k ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • Paul Chin on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Heard this car will cost 90k+ for 1.6, 110k for 2.0cc. For Kia, its not a replacement of Forte, is new segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
      • alldisc on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:20 am

a C+ segment? whom are they kidding, their ownselves?

• frenzyaustin on Jun 19, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Naza bought all the Forte parts extremely cheap from Kia and assembled here, sold it slightly lower than competitors, results, total profit.

• namanama on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:58 am

new segment?hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • prenk on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:47 am

Why not? They have more segemnts, mean more magnets for customers coming.

• namanama on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:09 pm

really tough when dealing with blind supporter.

• k-poopers on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:43 pm

in your dream..
      1.6 expected 97888-101k
      2.0 expected 116k-120k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • edith on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:31 am

When I asked a reputable SA in Kuching on the expected price as I was considering whether to wait for K3 rather than buy the existing Forte, I was told, K3 will be >RM 90k.It definitely won’t be in the same range as the current Forte.So unless I want to pay RM 90k ++, I’d better just get an existing Forte.Since Rio SX is RM 81k+++, I expect K3 to be RM 90k+++ also.

• sepul on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:29 pm

I still hope the Kia ceed is brought in as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Dr Cooper on Jun 19, 2013 at 6:50 am

No I don’t think so, CEED is exclusively for European country market. Hence its name CEED is actually Community European (CE) and European Design (ED)

• alldisc on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:22 am

may i correct it, it is actually Community of European Excellence Design.

even though Cee’d is only for europe, its sister car Hyundai i30 does appear in many countries worldwide.

• KORpengKIA on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Elantra better watch out,your ‘brother’ are coming to u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • Julian Lee on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Hopefully it will sell at RM60k. Any more it will be rip-off. After all it is Korean car, not German like BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 73
  • gdntsk on Jun 18, 2013 at 10:43 pm

If this Cerato is fully loaded & sold at a relatively cheap price tag, it’ll definitely kill its sibling (Elantra).
    On another note, talking about Hyundai in Malaysia, I personally suspect that Hyundai Sime Darby Motors is screwing Hyundai’s reputation now unlike around 10 years ago when 3 models that I know (Atos, Getz, & Matrix) were considered relatively popular in their respective car categories.

Any objection or criticism on my comment is welcomed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:02 am

Got a call from SD today on the specs of the new Inokom Santa Fe and pricing. The highest end spec diesel costs RM195K! The highest spec petrol (but much lower torque, higher mileage) will cost RM185K! But here is the real kicker, the whole range will only come with 2-airbags. Fantastic or not for the price? The SA can tell me that it still very good, at least GPS ada!

SD really killing the Hyundai brand with their overpriced Inokom CKDs, becoming like another UMW/DRB. Under specced yet high price!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
      • pinky on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:29 am

is K5 going to increase price for face lift version? RM115k & RM135k not much different but it’s different segment car.

• As far as the features shown, I could’t care much for those except….VENTED SEAT! u win Kia, thats a feature that can really be handy in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • namanama on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:50 am

rear passenger have to blow the driver hahaha…jk =P

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:33 am

I think the seat should suck air instead of blowing it out. Then when the driver farts everyone in the car will suffer, same case with heavy sweating by the driver as well.

• k-poopers on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:51 pm

both car wont get the uvo and auto assist parking

the 1.6 also doesnt have :-

-auto level headlamp
    -coloured screen on the cluster meter (u’ll get something like nokia 3310 screen one)
    -air ventilated seat
    -rear spoiler
    -sunroof
    -can someone cont. the list?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • ss427 on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:40 am

Except for the UVO system and spoiler option, Singapore market Forte 1.6 will have all these equipment as stated.

The auto parking system is already a standard item in the new Sorento. You gotta try it to believe it.

• CHRIS03 on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Wow, what a pretty car. Overall it looks nice. But.. the back looks just like a ford focus butt. Agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Maserati on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:13 am

The 1.6 shud be sold at 69,999 and the 2.0 RM 78,888 then ok. Anything higher than that and its definately doomed .

Pls dont try to price it similar to Japanese makes as Koreans are not on par with the Japs yet. Still long way to go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 109
    • BeemerFreak on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Koreans not on par with Japs yet……which century are you living in????

Even At RM95k it is still cheaper than its class rivals the nearest Jap being the CKD Mazda 3 at RM99k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • namanama on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:51 am

almost there for refinement and over japs for looks,but in term of handling and powertrain still far to go..

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:34 am

Your brain also not on par with 2013. Still stuck/stunted with your old 1999 brain.

• Sam Loo's twin Sam Lee on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:09 pm

That’s why you should keep on dreaming of maserati.

• civict on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:33 am

can it smole civic fb 2.0?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • civict on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:34 am

can it smoke civic fb 2.0?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Looser on Jun 19, 2013 at 3:06 pm

of coz.. civic fb is slow like snail

• namanama on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:57 am

have to try 1st,even my 1.8fd can smoke 2.0 forte…low end to mid torque kick just nicely.Civic powertrain is much better,its just civic don’t have looks (over-design I meant).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Titan on Jun 23, 2013 at 11:18 am

hayyaa want more power better take turbo car, no need to upgrade safe money and time no worry of mistaken modification

• proton cars dn even need ventilated seats

their aircond is cold as fk

truestory

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
  • meng meng on Jun 19, 2013 at 1:11 am

i wait u so long. finally launch in July.
    but very suprise it come with the air ventilated seat. very suitable for me always parking under sun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Honda Murugen is better

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 318 Thumb down 8
    • Titan on Jun 23, 2013 at 11:15 am

Honda’s models sucks nowadays why harr? changed the designer oledi mehh?

• rickyll on Jun 19, 2013 at 5:28 am

Nice looking. I get a message from the Kia salesman who handled the Forte I bought in Dec.2009. It’s comfirmed that it cost about 95K for 1.6 L engine and about 115 K for the 2.0 L engine. I was told that unlike Forte when it was launched, the first 500 units were CBU. This time around it’s neihter CBU nor CKD but SKD i.e semi knock down, the first few hundred will be imported from Korea without doors, which will then be fixed locally, a move that is supposed to save APs. How far it is true remains to be seen.

• ayamxxx on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:07 am

now every car manufacturer following peugeot under Naza style.

most of the Peugeot, like 308, 508, 5008 are cbu.
      except when it come to malaysia, naza will just install the Tyre and headlamp, thus create a CKD status.

• ben yap on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:37 am

Lim Tayar near my house also can install tyre and headlamp la…. maybe they should start importing cars too?

u sure naza only install tyres and headlamps?

• ?! What !? on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:57 am

Oh c’mon…. How cud it be possible that a CBU convert CKD for Peugeot cars pasang the tyres here?! Then explain how the cars got onto the vessel from France…. Doesn’t make sense. The doors, the headrest of the seats, the carpet mats, the small2 accessories to the cars, makes sense. The tyres or engine, does NoT make sense!

• The new Kia rio also follow suits SKD (indirectly cbu). Check the tyres, csc5 made in france. This is pretty high end tyres. Once CKD, probably some chorkia sime tyres.

• shashi on Jun 19, 2013 at 5:29 am

Interesting – probably will be priced at
    97000 for the 1.6
    115000 for the 2.0…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr on Jun 19, 2013 at 7:12 am

With all those new features in the car which are a welcome, I doubt it will be sold at Forte prices and I think its worth to pay for those features…I mean look at the teased stuff, its a Civic/Altis killer!

• Superma on Jun 19, 2013 at 7:48 am

Say bye bye to outdated Preve Hatchback…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 18
  • Abg Long on Jun 19, 2013 at 7:57 am

the ventilated seats part i like!

• gOOsh on Jun 19, 2013 at 8:17 am

another kia best seller in malaysia???
    … possible…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • brian on Jun 19, 2013 at 8:52 am

we are first premiere in asean country. cheer!!!

• ss427 on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:38 am

Ermm… actually Singapore will get the new Forte around the same time as your country bro.

We can’t wait for it to arrive too :)

• Brunei got it since May…

• The new Cerato is already running on Brunei roads. There’s a new Carens too..

• Laos refugee camp captain on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Cerato is on the roads in Laos already, yes you read it right. Laos.

• below rm120k this car will be the best value for money in c segmen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • Kia Cerato will beating elantra n the rest of japanese n marque ie. current civic,altis,sylphy,mazda 3, to become the leader of c-segment car in bolehland!

• CK Lee on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:42 am

I think there won’t be a 2.0 for this Cerato but a 1.8 and 1.6 variant. Similar to Hyundai Elantra as both might be sharing the same engine and chasis but different design and specs. Similar to Tuscon and Sportage. Waiting for an email by my previous Kia Forte dealer with the specs and price later today..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • There will be a 2.0 Nu Engine..somebody who went to the media test drive event leaked it by accident on Facebook yesterday.

• kia propa on Jun 19, 2013 at 3:31 pm

aiya if you go to the showroom they’ll show you the booklet. stated there 1.6 n 2.0 only

• kialover on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:01 am

I hope the air blown seat can be disabled…
    Imagine the driver not take baths for days or not wiped properly after going toilet…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • noname on Jun 19, 2013 at 12:00 pm

kialover, you don’t have to worry about the air blown seat. There will be a button to enable and disable the function.

• palehotak on Jun 19, 2013 at 1:03 pm

how to spell?kia kera-tu?or kia kertu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • ss427 on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:20 pm

It’s Sir-Ra-To

• Gokul on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Still have mixed feeling about this car.. When Forte was introduced long time ago, it seems as a giant leap for Kia..

• aureola taste like honey on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:21 pm

rear seat aircond blower please!

• Saw this on DUKE today, quite the looker…!

• frenzyaustin on Jun 19, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Kia’s design especially K5 really like their K-POP culture, shiny, noisy and beuty.. In terms of Gizmo and spec, definite winner but terms of driving dynamic, on par with Altis? Probably will become a hit here. But yeah, when Japan fell, Korean rise, power of Asian! Hope Japanese will rise up and get back in game like they did in 90’s!

• Mislony on Jun 19, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Kia Cerato can’t even match super power of MAZDA 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • look fantastic! Kudos to kia for becoming benchmark
    to other makers especially T&H.

• Vince on Jun 19, 2013 at 11:56 pm

New name, new price tag.
    Goodbye Forte…
    No more Preve killer

• McMahon on Jun 20, 2013 at 8:38 am

Of course lah Preve is safe…KIA just yes-man when MITI tells them to keep price Cerato above Preve Hatchback price…

MITI Oh MITI…let market forces dictate the price…stop using NAP excuses to keep Proton craps safe and sound…

• Titan on Jun 23, 2013 at 11:12 am

whatever, even I not like the model of Proton Preve but I still hope the Proton company will come out with the best quality, good handling, good lookin inside and out one day.. please Proton pls make me proud of you! Malaysia BOLEH!

• nazmin on Jun 20, 2013 at 12:26 am

hmmm k3 or k5 I hope the k5 facelift will hit malaysia sooner, then easy to choose…

• Rather take 408 2.0 than Cerato 2.0

• xkotak on Jun 20, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Better take Saga SV…show how successful you are when time balik kampung soon

• k-poopers on Jun 20, 2013 at 2:01 pm

satisfy yourself(cerato) or follow what people said(civic 1.8)..

already put prebooking order, but can claim back if you not satisfy with it on 2nd july.

• penguna K5 on Jun 20, 2013 at 2:57 pm

owned a K5, when driving on the road.. my nostril kembang kaw2.. kalau park just beside camry baru install DRL LED.. gua jeling..”eleh.. nak meniru la tuuu”
    cerato future owner.. u will feel the same

• totti on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Cerato or what to. this car will commit suicide If selling RM 90+.

• razak abang on Jun 20, 2013 at 8:26 pm

just paid my booking RM1000k today .
    hope to get this car by end July .
    every worth till single penny .
    yes Malaysian dream car .

• cerato on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:19 pm

1.6 sell RM 97888++ too expensive rather buy Elantra or Nissan Grand Livina both moderate maintenance fee than K3
    2.0 sell RM 115888++ rather buy Ford Focus 3 years free maintenance and warranty or Nissan Sylphy 2.0 XL Luxury quality was better than 2011.

• Fahmi yahya on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:20 am

If the price similar with civic n altis, i think people will choose japanese car.. Like forte, brand new is 85k..2nd hand Altis 2008 1.8G cost about 80k.. For me, i will choose altis, even it is 5 years old car..
    My friend use forte about 2month, the FC i quite high..

• Titan on Jun 23, 2013 at 11:00 am

sorry to disturb better you check by your own, I own Kia Forte around 3 years fc quite good better then my previous wira 1.5 MT

My Wira $70 of gas for 350km++, my Forte 1.6 AT $80 for almost 500km++

every good value used car will drop around 5k per year u can check by your self.

• limaplohsen on Jun 24, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Everyone has their own definition of fuel consumption I guess. For me, my FD 1.8 RM70 can go 520km also I consider quite high FC. Miss my old Jazz GD…

• Kamal on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:18 am

The prob abiut korean car is top soon changing new model. So what ‘s next? Forte resale value drop like crazy . Even now their resale value is already bad. Cerato will make it worse. Korean car is a korean car . They can never change the preception. Beatiful to the eyes but ugly in the heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • Titan on Jun 23, 2013 at 11:07 am

every auto manufactory will come out with new model every 5years except Proton (iswara and wira almost 10 year still on market). Proton also realize the mistake and will make a new model every 5years.

• Kamal on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:19 am

The prob about korean car is too soon changing new model. So what ‘s next? Forte resale value drop like crazy . Even now their resale value is already bad. Cerato will make it worse. Korean car is a korean car . They can never change the preception. Beatiful to the eyes but ugly in the heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • ceratoxls on Jun 21, 2013 at 3:13 pm

I know that Forte sounds better than cerato, but if it called Forte, then all the old stock would not able to sell….idiot….

• desirable car, period. Try changing the batch and put continental or Japanese, drool even more. Try change Preve batch as well.

• Massive on Jun 22, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Wow! Preve definitely better looking than this Cerato, good job Proton designers team! ~ said no one ever.

• Menaguna on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:02 am

Buy the car which u like the most. Dont worry abt second value.
    Forte 1.6 rm85800
    Altis 1.8rm125000
    Altis1.6 rm102000
    Civic 1.8 rm112000

So at beginning u gain arnd rm 20k, when selling u lost rm20k.
    So what all this marketing strategic. Ha ha ha ha….